DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites: “wherein the first surface of the main member is opposed to the second surface of the main member and about 0.2 mm to about 3 mm.” It is not certain what is meant by “about 0.2 mm to about 3 mm.” This could mean that the first surface is about 0.2 mm to about 3 mm thick, or that the first surface is positioned about 0.2 mm to about 3 mm from the second surface. The metes and bounds are indeterminable.
Claim 20 recites the limitations "the subject" and “the first position” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the image detector" in each of lines 8, 10, and 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is assumed that this is “the x-ray detector” and has been treated as such.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,071,507 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims of the patent are identical in scope with the corresponding independent claims of the instant application, with the addition of “wherein the first surface of the first covering member is positioned on and in contact with the first surface of the main member.” The claims of the instant application are broader and therefore anticipated by the claims of the patent.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,070,344 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 of the patent recite the same elements as claims 1-2 of the instant application, with the addition of “wherein the first surface of the first covering member is positioned on and in contact with the first surface of the main member.” The claims of the instant application are broader and therefore anticipated by the claims of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox (US 2013/0202087 A1) in view of Tretiakov et al. (USPN 6,940,948 B1).
With respect to claim 1, Cox discloses a system including a filter assembly (Fig. 1 - 2 & 3), comprising: a main member (3) having a first surface and a second surface, wherein at least a first slot and a second slot are formed through the main member and the first surface and the second surface (Fig. 2 - 3 slots shown in main member (3)); a first covering member (2) having a first surface and an opposed second surface, wherein the first surface (surface facing main member (3)) is substantially co-extensive with the main member first surface and fixed relative to the main member; wherein the main member is formed of a x-ray blocking material (paragraph 0110); wherein the first slot is defined between a first internal surface and a second internal surface formed in the main member;
Cox does not specifically disclose wherein a first distance between the first internal surface and the second internal surface is about .01 mm to about 6 mm; and wherein a second distance between the third internal surface and the fourth internal surface is about .01 mm to about 6 mm. Tretiakov et al. disclose a collimator with a slit having a desired width in the range of 0.2 mm and 5 mm (column 7, lines 32-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Cox to have a first distance between the first internal surface and the second internal surface be about .01 mm to about 6 mm; and wherein a second distance between the third internal surface and the fourth internal surface is about .01 mm to about 6 mm, as these are desired ranges, and would be a matter of design choice depending on the specific application being done, as taught by Tretiakov et al.
With respect to claim 2, Cox/Tretiakov et al. discloses wherein the main member (Cox - Fig. 2 (3)) further comprises a third slot; wherein the third slot is defined between a fifth internal surface and a sixth internal surface formed in the main member; wherein a third distance between the fifth internal surface and the sixth internal surface is about .01 mm to about 6 mm (Tretiakov et al. - column 7, lines 32-39).
With respect to claim 3, Cox/Tretiakov et al. discloses wherein the first distance, the second distance, and the third distance are all about 4 mm (Tretiakov et al. - column 7, lines 32-39).
With respect to claim 5, Cox/Tretiakov et al. discloses wherein the first covering member (Cox - 2) is formed of an aluminum alloy (paragraph 0022).
With respect to claim 7, Cox/Tretiakov et al. discloses wherein the first surface of the main member is opposed to the second surface of the main member and about 0.2 mm to about 3 mm (Tretiakov et al. - column 7, lines 32-39). This rejection is made to the extent the claim is understood.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox (US 2013/0202087 A1) in view of Tretiakov et al. (USPN 6,940,948 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mazess (USPN 5,745,544).
With respect to claim 14, Cox/Tretiakov et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the first distance and the second distance substantially eliminate parallax in an image generated with image data acquired with an x-ray source and x-ray detector spaced from the main member. Mazess discloses a collimator that eliminates parallax in an image generated with image data acquired with an x-ray source (12) and x-ray detector (13) spaced from a collimator (column 3, lines 30-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Cox/Tretiakov et al. to have the first distance and the second distance substantially eliminate parallax in an image generated with image data acquired with an x-ray source and x-ray detector spaced from the main member, to produce a radiograph with high contrast, as taught by Mazess.
Conclusion
/JURIE YUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
February 18, 2026