DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bechtel et al. (US 2013/0299865).
(Claim 1) Bechtel et al. teach a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
at least one LED chip (10) configured to emit light with a first peak wavelength (blue light, paragraphs 10, 13, ) that is below 560 nanometers (nm);
a lumiphoric material (12) arranged to convert at least a portion of the light of the first peak wavelength to light with a second peak wavelength (yellow/red, paragraph 2) that is greater than the first peak wavelength; and
a filter structure (14/16, paragraphs13, 57) on the lumiphoric material (12), the filter structure configured to be more reflective than transmissive to light below 560 nm and more transmissive than reflective to light above 560 nm, the filter structure comprising:
a plurality of first dielectric layers (Table II, Nb2O5) of a first material in an alternating arrangement with a plurality of second dielectric layers (Table II, SiO2) of a second material that is different than the first material,
wherein a first layer (16) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is positioned closer to the at least one LED chip (12) than any other layer of the plurality of first dielectric layers, and
the first layer (16) of the plurality of first dielectric layers (Nb2O5) is at least two times thicker (500 nm) than a thinnest layer (7.82 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers.
(Claim 2) Bechtel et al. teach wherein the first layer (16) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is at least three times thicker (500 nm) than the thinnest layer (7.82 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers (Table II).
(Claim 3) Bechtel et al. teach wherein the first layer (16) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is a thickest layer (500 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers.
(Claim 7) Bechtel et al. teach wherein a second layer (Table II, 21.16 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers (Nb2O5) is positioned between the first layer (16) of the plurality of first dielectric layers and other layers of the plurality of first dielectric layers, and
the second layer (21.06 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is at least two times thicker than the thinnest layer (7.82 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers.
(Claim 16) Bechtel et al. teach wherein a total number of a sum of the plurality of first dielectric layers and the plurality of the second dielectric layers is in a range from eight layers to twenty-four layers (Table I).
Claims 1, 4, 8, 17 and 19 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bechtel et al. (US 2011/0220953).
(Claim 1) Bechtel et al. teach a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
at least one LED chip (10) configured to emit light with a first peak wavelength (paragraph 27) that is below 560 nanometers (nm);
a lumiphoric material (12) arranged to convert at least a portion of the light of the first peak wavelength to light with a second peak wavelength (yellow/red, paragraph 27) that is greater than the first peak wavelength; and
a filter structure (14) on the lumiphoric material (12), the filter structure configured to be more reflective than transmissive to light below 560 nm and more transmissive than reflective to light above 560 nm, the filter structure comprising:
a plurality of first dielectric layers (Table 2, Nb2O5) of a first material in an alternating arrangement with a plurality of second dielectric layers (Table 2, SiO2) of a second material that is different than the first material,
wherein a first layer (1) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is positioned closer to the at least one LED chip (12) than any other layer of the plurality of first dielectric layers, and
the first layer (Table 1 #1, 15.04 nm; Table 2 #1, 28.85 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers (Nb2O5) is at least two times thicker than a thinnest layer (Table 1 #7, 1.32 nm; Table 2 #5, 11.19 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers.
(Claim 4) Bechtel et al. teach wherein a last layer (Table 1 #21, 3.68 nm), ) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is positioned farther away from the at least one LED chip than any other layer of the plurality of first dielectric layers, and
the last layer (Table 1, 21, 3.68 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is at least two time thicker than the thinnest layer (Table 1, #7, 1.32 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers.
(Claim 8) Bechtel et al. teach wherein a last layer (Table 2 #18) of the plurality of second dielectric layers is positioned farther away from the at least one LED chip than any other layer of the plurality of second dielectric layers, and
the last layer (Table 2 #18, 203.49 nm) of the plurality of second dielectric layers is a thickest layer (203.49) of the filter structure.
(Claim 17) Bechtel et al. teach the LED package, further comprising a support structure (18), wherein the at least one LED (10) is mounted on the support structure (18), and
a portion of the lumiphoric material (12) and a portion of the filter structure (14) cover portions of the support structure (18) that are adjacent the at least one LED chip.
(Claim 19) Bechtel et al. teach a light-emitting diode (LED) package comprising:
at least one LED chip (10) configured to emit light with a first peak wavelength;
a lumiphoric material (12) arranged to convert at least a portion of the light of the first peak wavelength to light with a second peak wavelength that is different than the first peak wavelength; and
a filter structure (14) on the lumiphoric material, the filter structure configured to be more reflective than transmissive to light of the first peak wavelength and more transmissive than reflective to light of the second peak wavelength, the filter structure comprising (paragraph 27):
a plurality of first dielectric layers (Nb2O5) of a first material in an alternating arrangement with a plurality of second dielectric layers (SiO2) of a second material that is different than the first material (Table 2),
wherein a last layer (18) of the plurality of second dielectric layers (SiO2) is positioned farther away from the at least one LED chip than any other layer of the plurality of second dielectric layers, and the last layer of the plurality of second dielectric layers is a thickest layer (203.49 nm) of the filter structure.
(Claim 20) Bechtel et al. teach wherein the last layer (18, 203.49) of the plurality of second dielectric layers is at least two times thicker than a thinnest layer (14, 27.98) of the plurality of second dielectric layers.
(Claim 21) Bechtel et al. teach wherein the last layer (18, 203.49 nm) of the plurality of second dielectric layers is at least four times thicker than a thinnest layer (14, 27.98 nm) of the plurality of second dielectric layers.
(Claim 22) Bechtel et al. teach wherein a first layer (1, 25.85 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is positioned closer to the at least one LED chip than any other layer of the plurality of first dielectric layers and a last layer (17) of the plurality of first dielectric layers is positioned farther away from the at least one LED chip than any other layer of the plurality of first dielectric layers, and
the first layer (1, 25. 85 nm) and a second layer (3, 29.11 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers are both at least two times thicker than a thinnest layer (5, 11.19 nm) of the plurality of first dielectric layers.
(Claim 23) Bechtel et al. teach wherein a total number of a sum of the plurality of first dielectric layers and the plurality of the second dielectric layers is in a range from eight layers to twenty-four layers (paragraph 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bechtel et al. (US 2013/0299865) in view of Sanga et al. (US 2014/0185299).
(Claim 9) Bechtel et al. lack the LED package, further comprising a light-altering material positioned about lateral edges of the at least one LED chip, the lumiphoric material, and the filter structure.
However, Sanga et al. teach a light-altering material (fig. 1 #14) positioned about lateral edges of the at least one LED chip (6), the lumiphoric material (12), and the filter structure (12) for the benefit of reflecting back escaping light, thereby increasing light output (paragraph 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of increasing light output.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bechtel et al. (US 2013/0299865) in view of Sanga et al. (US 2014/0185299) and Yun et al. (US 2016/02407463).
(Claim 10) Bechtel/Sanga et al. lack the LED package, further comprising a lens over the at least one LED chip and one or more portions of the light-altering material.
However, Yun et al. teach an LED package, further comprising a lens over the at least one LED chip and one or more portions of the light-altering material for the benefit of concentrating or dispersing light rays.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of concentrating or dispersing light rays.
Claim 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bechtel et al. (US 2013/0299865) in view of Yausa et al. (US 2018/0351053).
(Claim 12) Bechtel et al. lack the LED package, further comprising a cover structure that includes a support element, wherein the filter structure is formed as part of the cover structure.
However, Yuasa et al. teach a LED package (fig. 1B), further comprising a cover structure (5) that includes a support element (3), wherein the filter structure (7) is formed as part of the cover structure (5) for the benefit of preventing light from leaking to the outside (paragraph 82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of preventing light from leaking to the outside.
(Claim 13) Bechtel et al. lack wherein the filter structure is between the support element and the lumiphoric material.
However, Yausa et al. teach wherein the filter structure (fig 1B #7) is between the support element (3) and the lumiphoric material (4) for the benefit of preventing light from leaking to the outside (paragraph 82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of preventing light from leaking to the outside.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 11, 14, 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
/IGWE U ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891
August 25, 2026