DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 16, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-15 remain pending in this application. Claims 6 and 12 have been cancelled at applicant’s request. Claims 1 and 13 have been amended. No claims have been added. No new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,687,452 B1 to Hiroshi Kishibe (hereafter Kishibe) in view of US 7,227,804 B1 to Badrinarayanan Kothandaraman, et al. (hereafter Kothandaraman) and further in view of US 8,310,894 B1 to Jason T. Su, et al. (hereafter Su).
Regarding Claim 1, Kishibe discloses a semiconductor memory device comprising:
a plurality of memory cells (Disclosing memory cells: Kishibe, col.3:66);
a first power supply line (A first power supply line 61: Kishibe, Figure 1) to which a power supply voltage is supplied (VDD supplied to the first supply line: Kishibe, Figure 1);
a second power supply line (A second power supply line 63: Kishibe, Figure 1) serving as a power supply voltage line of the plurality of memory cells (Power supply line providing power to a memory circuit 20: Kishibe, Figure 1);
a first transistor and a second transistor (A first transistor 41 and a second transistor 42: Kishibe, Figure 1)
that are connected in parallel between the first power supply line and the second power supply line (Transistors 41 and 42 connected in parallel between the first and second power supply lines: Kishibe, Figure 1); and
a control circuit (Control circuit 50: Kishibe, Figure 1) that,
in accordance with a first signal for switching between a first mode and a second mode (Control circuit having two modes: Kishibe, col.4:62-63),
the first mode being a mode for supplying the power supply voltage to the plurality of memory cells, the second mode being a mode for not supplying the power supply voltage to the plurality of memory cells (The two modes being on and off: Kishibe, col.4:62-63),
(i) switches off the first transistor and the second transistor in a period of the second mode (During the off mode, the first and second control switches being off: Kishibe, Figure 2) and
(ii) switches on the first transistor when switching from the second mode to the first mode is performed (Control signal switching on the first transistor during transition to the first mode: Kishibe, Figure 2) and
switches on the second transistor after the first transistor is switched on (Switching on the second transistor after the first transistor is switched on: Kishibe, Figure 2).
Kishibe expressly discloses the parallel power supply being provided to the memory peripheral circuits, not specifically the memory cell array itself. Kothandaraman, however, discloses a memory device including transistors arranged in parallel between a first power supply line 210 and a second power supply line 204 wherein the second power supply line supplies power voltage to the plurality of memory cells (Kothandaraman, Figure 2). Kothandaraman teaches this arrangement allows for precise control of power supply (Kothandaraman, col.7:14-20) in a compact arrangement (Kothandaraman, col.3:26-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to take the dual switching control circuit of Kishibe and apply it directly to the memory cells as in Kothandaraman, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of memory circuit power supply and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Kishibe fails to disclose a write assist circuit that decreases, during data writing to the plurality of memory cells, a voltage of the second power supply line to a voltage lower than the voltage of the second power supply line at a time other than during the data writing, wherein the write assist circuit includes the first transistor and the second transistor, during the first mode and a period other than during the data writing, the first transistor and the second transistor are turned on, and during the first mode and the data writing, one of the first transistor or the second transistor is turned off, and another of the first transistor or the second transistor is turned on. Su, however, discloses a write-assist circuit:
wherein the write assist circuit includes the first transistor and the second transistor (The write assist circuit including transistors 26 and 28: Su, Figure 3),
during the first mode and a period other than during the data writing, the first transistor and the second transistor are turned on (During a read operation, transistors 26 and 28 switched on to pull the supplied voltage to near Vdd: Su, col.5:1-8), and
during the first mode and the data writing, one of the first transistor or the second transistor is turned off, and another of the first transistor or the second transistor is turned on (During a write operation, transistor 26 remains on while transistor 28 is turned off: Su, col.5:16-23).
Su teaches reducing the supply voltage through transistor control may increase write margin during a write operation and/or may reduce current leakage during a power-down operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to combine the write-assist power supply circuitry of Su with the power supply modes of Kishibe, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of write-assist power supply management and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Regarding Claim 2, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 1,
wherein the second transistor has a drive performance higher than a drive performance of the first transistor (Disclosing the two transistors having different capacities: Kishibe, col.5:8-14).
Regarding Claim 3, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit includes
a delay circuit that generates a second signal by delaying the first signal (Disclosing a delay circuit that delays the operational control signals: Kishibe, col.6:49-50),
the first signal is supplied to a control terminal of the first transistor (The first signal controlling the first transistor: Kishibe, Figure 2), and
the second signal is supplied to a control terminal of the second transistor (The delayed second signal controlling the second transistor: Kishibe, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 3, further comprising:
a plurality of memory blocks (Disclosing a plurality of memory blocks 10, 20, and 30: Kishibe, Figure 1) each including the plurality of memory cells (Each memory block including an array of memory cells 12, 22, and 32: Kishibe, Figure 1),
wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are provided in each of the plurality of memory blocks (A power supply circuit 11, 21, and 31 provided within each memory block: Kishibe, Figure 1; Wherein the power supply circuit connected directly to the memory array consists of a plurality of transistors: Kothandaraman, Figure 2), and
the second signal generated by the delay circuit is supplied to the control terminal of each of two or more second transistors (The delayed second signal controlling the second transistor: Kishibe, Figure 2) provided in two or more of the plurality of memory blocks (The control circuit being tied directly to the power supply switches within the memory blocks: Kishibe, Figure 1).
Regarding Independent Claim 13, Kishibe discloses a control method for controlling a semiconductor memory device that includes
a plurality of memory cells (Disclosing memory cells: Kishibe, col.3:66),
a first transistor, and a second transistor (A first transistor 41 and a second transistor 42: Kishibe, Figure 1),
the control method having
a first mode for supplying a power supply voltage to the plurality of memory cells (Control circuit having two modes: Kishibe, col.4:62-63) and
a second mode for not supplying the power supply voltage to the plurality of memory cells (The two modes being on and off: Kishibe, col.4:62-63),
the control method comprising:
supplying the power supply voltage to the plurality of memory cells
via the first transistor during a first period (Control signal switching on the first transistor during transition to the first mode: Kishibe, Figure 2)
after switching from the second mode to the first mode is performed (During the off mode, the first and second control switches being off: Kishibe, Figure 2), and
supplying the power supply voltage to the plurality of memory cells
via the first transistor and the second transistor during a second period after the first period (Switching on the second transistor after the first transistor is switched on: Kishibe, Figure 2).
Kishibe expressly discloses the parallel power supply being provided to the memory peripheral circuits, not specifically the memory cell array itself. Kothandaraman, however, discloses a memory device including transistors arranged in parallel between a first power supply line 210 and a second power supply line 204 wherein the second power supply line supplies power voltage to the plurality of memory cells (Kothandaraman, Figure 2). Kothandaraman teaches this arrangement allows for precise control of power supply (Kothandaraman, col.7:14-20) in a compact arrangement (Kothandaraman, col.3:26-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to take the dual switching control circuit of Kishibe and apply it directly to the memory cells as in Kothandaraman, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of memory circuit power supply and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Kishibe fails to disclose a write assist circuit that decreases, during data writing to the plurality of memory cells, a voltage of the second power supply line to a voltage lower than the voltage of the second power supply line at a time other than during the data writing, wherein the write assist circuit includes the first transistor and the second transistor, during the first mode and a period other than during the data writing, the first transistor and the second transistor are turned on, and during the first mode and the data writing, one of the first transistor or the second transistor is turned off, and another of the first transistor or the second transistor is turned on. Su, however, discloses a write-assist circuit wherein:
a power supply for the plurality of memory cells (A write assist power supply circuit: Su, col.2-57-58),
configured for:
decreasing, through a write assist circuit including the first transistor and the second transistor, during data writing to the plurality of memory cells (Reducing the power supply during a write operation: Su, col.4:63-67), a voltage of the power supply line to a voltage lower than the voltage of the power supply line at a time other than during the data writing (The write assist circuit decreasing the supply voltage to less than Vdd: Su, col.2:64-68);
during the first mode and a period other than during the data writing, turning on the first transistor and the second transistor (During a read operation, transistors 26 and 28 switched on to pull the supplied voltage to near Vdd: Su, col.5:1-8); and
during the first mode and the data writing, turning off one of the first transistor or the second transistor, and turning on another of the first transistor or the second transistor (During a write operation, transistor 26 remains on while transistor 28 is turned off: Su, col.5:16-23).
Su teaches reducing the supply voltage through transistor control may increase write margin during a write operation and/or may reduce current leakage during a power-down operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to combine the write-assist power supply circuitry of Su with the power supply modes of Kishibe, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of write-assist power supply management and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Regarding Claim 14, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 1,
wherein the semiconductor memory device is included in one memory functional block included in an integrated circuit (Showing the memory device as a functional block: Kishibe, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 1,
wherein the semiconductor memory device is included in one memory macro included in an integrated circuit (Showing the memory device as an integrated macro: Kishibe, Figure 1; Note: In the absence of an applicant definition, ‘macro’ is understood to be a reusable functional circuit block. Although Kishibe describes some pre-charge circuits within and without a particular macro, see col.6:34-46, this doesn’t preclude the existence of a larger macro encompassing both).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,687,452 B1 to Hiroshi Kishibe (hereafter Kishibe) and US 7,227,804 B1 to Badrinarayanan Kothandaraman, et al. (hereafter Kothandaraman) in view of US 2007/0257727 A1 to Ban Hok Goh (hereafter Goh).
Regarding Claim 5, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose the further limitations of Claim 5. Goh, however, discloses a power supply management circuit as in Claim 1, wherein:
the control circuit detects a voltage of the second power supply line (A control circuit monitoring the voltage at a point: Goh, ¶[0022]), and
after the first transistor is switched on when switching from the second mode to the first mode is performed, and when the voltage of the second power supply line reaches a predetermined voltage, the control circuit switches on the second transistor (Switching on additional transistors once the reference voltage reaches a predetermined level: Goh, ¶[0022]).
Goh teaches this configuration allows for the intelligent sequencing of power supply voltage changes without additional circuits and at set reference voltages after appropriate delays (Goh, ¶0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to combine the intelligent voltage monitoring and sequencing of Goh with the dual switching control circuit of Kishibe, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of power supply management and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,687,452 B1 to Hiroshi Kishibe (hereafter Kishibe) and US 7,227,804 B1 to Badrinarayanan Kothandaraman, et al. (hereafter Kothandaraman) in view of US 2015/0294713 A1 to Robert Charles Beat (hereafter Beat).
Regarding Claim 6, Kishibe discloses a semiconductor memory device as in Claim 1:
wherein the write assist circuit includes the first transistor and the second transistor (The power supply circuit including the first and second transistors: Kishibe, Figure 1), and
one of the first transistor or the second transistor is off during the data writing (Turning off one of the two available transistors would inherently affect the capacity of the circuit).
Kishibe does not disclose a write assist circuit that decreases a voltage of the second power supply line during a data writing operation. Beat, however, discloses a semiconductor memory device as in Claim 1, further comprising
a write assist circuit (A write assist circuit: Beat, Figure 7) that decreases a voltage of the second power supply line (Decreasing the voltage supplied to the memory circuit: Beat, ¶[0044])
to a voltage lower than the voltage of the second power supply line at a time other than during the data writing (Reducing the voltage below what would be otherwise available for other memory operations: Beat, ¶[0044])
during data writing to the plurality of memory cells (Reducing the supply voltage only during writing operations: Beat, ¶[0044]),
Beat teaches lowering the supply voltage to a memory cell assists in ensuring a proper voltage differential across the cell, making it easier to write a ‘1’ to memory (Beat, ¶¶[0043-0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to combine the voltage assisted writing operation of Beat with the dual switching control circuit of Kishibe, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of memory power supply management and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,687,452 B1 to Hiroshi Kishibe (hereafter Kishibe) in view of US 2022/0130455 A1 to Sanjeev Kumar Jain, et al. (hereafter Jain).
Regarding Independent Claim 7, Kishibe discloses a semiconductor memory device comprising:
a plurality of memory cells (Disclosing memory cells: Kishibe, col.3:66);
a first pre-charge circuit and a second pre-charge circuit (A first transistor 41 and a second transistor 42: Kishibe, Figure 1); and
a control circuit that, in accordance with a first signal for switching between a first mode and a second mode,
(i) switches off the first pre-charge circuit and the second pre-charge circuit in a period of the second mode (During the off mode, the first and second control switches being off: Kishibe, Figure 2) and
(ii) switches on the first pre-charge circuit when switching from the second mode to the first mode is performed (Control signal switching on the first transistor during transition to the first mode: Kishibe, Figure 2) and switches on the second pre-charge circuit after the first pre-charge circuit is switched on (Switching on the second transistor after the first transistor is switched on: Kishibe, Figure 2),
the first mode being a mode for pre-charging the first bit line, the second mode being a mode for not pre-charging the first bit line (The two modes being on and off: Kishibe, col.4:62-63).
Kishibe expressly discloses the parallel power supply being provided to the memory peripheral circuits, not specifically the memory cell array itself. By extension, Kishibe does not disclose the first and second pre-charge circuits being connected to first and second bit lines, nor a circuit where the first pre-charge circuit includes: a first transistor that includes a source and a drain, one of which is connected to the first bit line, and a gate to which the first signal is to be supplied; and a second transistor that includes a source and a drain, one of which is connected to the second bit line, and a gate to which the first signal is to be supplied, the second pre-charge circuit includes: a third transistor that includes a source and a drain, one of which is connected to the first bit line, and a gate to which a second signal is to be supplied; and a fourth transistor that includes a source and a drain, one of which is connected to the second bit line, and a gate to which the second signal is to be supplied, in the period of the second mode, the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, and the fourth transistor are switched off based on the first signal and the second signal, and when the switching from the second mode to the first mode is performed,(i) the first transistor and the second transistor are switched on, and(ii) the third transistor and the fourth transistor are switched on after the first transistor and the second transistor are switched on, wherein (i) and (ii) are performed based on the first signal and the second signal.
Jain, however, discloses a pre-charge control circuit wherein:
a first bit line and a second bit line that are connected to the plurality of memory cells (First and second bitlines BL and BLB connected to a plurality of memory cells: Jain, ¶[0022]);
a first pre-charge circuit and a second pre-charge circuit that are connected to the first bit line and the second bit line (First and second pre-charge circuits connected to the first and second bit lines: Jain, ¶[0025]); and
the first pre-charge circuit includes:
a first transistor that includes a source and a drain (Transistors: Jain, ¶[0027]),
one of which is connected to the first bit line (Transistors connected to first and second bit lines: Jain, ¶[0027]), and
a gate to which the first signal is to be supplied (Transistor gate controlled by the sleep signal: Jain, ¶[0027]); and
a second transistor that includes a source and a drain (Transistors: Jain, ¶[0027]),
one of which is connected to the second bit line (Transistors connected to first and second bit lines: Jain, ¶[0027]), and
a gate to which the first signal is to be supplied (Transistor gate controlled by the sleep signal: Jain, ¶[0027]),
the second pre-charge circuit includes:
a third transistor that includes a source and a drain (Second pre-charge circuit transistors: Jain, ¶[0029]), one of which is connected to the first bit line (Transistors connected to first and second bit lines: Jain, ¶[0029]), and a gate to which a second signal is to be supplied (Transistor gate controlled by the sleep signal: Jain, ¶[0029]); and
a fourth transistor that includes a source and a drain (Second pre-charge circuit transistors: Jain, ¶[0029]), one of which is connected to the second bit line (Transistors connected to first and second bit lines: Jain, ¶[0029]), and a gate to which the second signal is to be supplied (Transistor gate controlled by the sleep signal: Jain, ¶[0029]),
in the period of the second mode, the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, and the fourth transistor are switched off based on the first signal and the second signal (The first through fourth transistors controlled by the first and second signal: Jain, ¶¶[0027 & 0029]; Note: In circuitry, a transistor being switched on or off by the control signal is routinely substituted one for the other with predictable results), and
when the switching from the second mode to the first mode is performed,
(i) the first transistor and the second transistor are switched on (The first and second transistors being controlled by the first signal: Jain, ¶[0027]), and
(ii) the third transistor and the fourth transistor are switched on after the first transistor and the second transistor are switched on (The third and fourth transistors being controlled by a second signal after a delay: Jain, ¶[0029]),
wherein (i) and (ii) are performed based on the first signal and the second signal (The first through fourth transistors controlled by the first and second signal: Jain, ¶¶[0027 & 0029]).
Jain teaches controlled pre-charging of bit lines is necessary, otherwise the circuits may suffer from a large in-rush current, which may cause component failure and excess power draw in constrained devices (Jain, ¶[0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to apply the staged pre-charge architecture described in Kishibe to the memory cell bit line pre-charge method of Jain, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the art of memory array pre-charge circuits and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Regarding Claim 8, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 7,
wherein the second transistor has a drive performance higher than a drive performance of the first transistor (Disclosing the two transistors having different capacities: Kishibe, col.5:8-14).
Regarding Claim 9, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 7, wherein the control circuit includes
a delay circuit that generates a second signal by delaying the first signal (Disclosing a delay circuit that delays the operational control signals: Kishibe, col.6:49-50),
the first signal is supplied to a control terminal of the first transistor (The first signal controlling the first transistor: Kishibe, Figure 2), and
the second signal is supplied to a control terminal of the second transistor (The delayed second signal controlling the second transistor: Kishibe, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 9, further comprising:
a plurality of memory blocks (Disclosing a plurality of memory blocks 10, 20, and 30: Kishibe, Figure 1) each including the plurality of memory cells (Each memory block including an array of memory cells 12, 22, and 32: Kishibe, Figure 1),
wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are provided in each of the plurality of memory blocks (A power supply circuit 11, 21, and 31, inherently consisting of transistors, provided within each memory block: Kishibe, Figure 1), and
the second signal generated by the delay circuit is supplied to the control terminal of each of two or more second transistors (The delayed second signal controlling the second transistor: Kishibe, Figure 2) provided in two or more of the plurality of memory blocks (The control circuit being tied directly to the power supply switches within the memory blocks: Kishibe, Figure 1).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,687,452 B1 to Hiroshi Kishibe (hereafter Kishibe) and US 2022/0130455 A1 to Sanjeev Kumar Jain, et al. (hereafter Jain) in view of US 2007/0257727 A1 to Ban Hok Goh (hereafter Goh).
Regarding Claim Claim 11, Kishibe discloses the semiconductor memory device according to claim 7, but fails to explicitly disclose the further limitations of Claim 5. Goh, however, discloses a power supply management circuit as in Claim 1, wherein:
the control circuit detects a voltage of the second power supply line (A control circuit monitoring the voltage at a point: Goh, ¶[0022]), and
after the first transistor is switched on when switching from the second mode to the first mode is performed, and when the voltage of the second power supply line reaches a predetermined voltage, the control circuit switches on the second transistor (Switching on additional transistors once the reference voltage reaches a predetermined level: Goh, ¶[0022]).
Goh teaches this configuration allows for the intelligent sequencing of power supply voltage changes without additional circuits and at set reference voltages after appropriate delays (Goh, ¶0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to combine the intelligent voltage monitoring and sequencing of Goh with the dual switching control circuit of Kishibe, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of power supply management and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues prior art Jain discloses two pre-charge circuits connected to different bit line pairs and does not disclose two pre-charge circuits connected to the same bit line pair, as required by Claim 7 (Applicant Arguments/Remarks, p.8¶7). Applicant is correct that Jain discloses a pre-charge operation for multiple bit lines (two bit lines pairs). Claim 7, however, does not require any particular relationship between the first and second bit lines, other than that they be connected to first and second pre-charge circuit in the described manner. While it is true that claims should be read in the light of the specification, broadest reasonable interpretation requires reading the claim as written, without implicit restrictions. Therefore, while Jain does not show the first and second pre-charge circuits connected to the same bit line pair, that limitation is not expressed by claim 7.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the remaining claims have been fully considered but are thought to be fully addressed by the modified and new grounds of rejections above. Applicant’s response is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7,499,310 B2 to Chul-Sung Park, et al.: Disclosing cross connected bit line voltage switches.
US 7,751,267 B2 to Rajiv V. Joshi, et al.: Disclosing a set of cross-connected transistors managing parallel bit line voltages.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER LANE REECE/Examiner, Art Unit 2824 /HAN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824