DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05-21-2024, 10-04-2024, 08-28-2025, and 07-13-2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2011-175937 A [cited in IDS filed 05-21-2024] hereinafter Yoshida in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0088128 hereinafter Matsuura, and as evidenced by (US 2018/0366716 A1) hereinafter Gong, (US 2020/0227715 A1) hereinafter Koo, and (EP 3694013 A1/ US 20200212379) hereinafter Shi.
Yoshida discloses an end cap (see sealing body 1, [0025], FIG. 1), comprising:
a cap body (see sealing plate 13, [0026], FIG. 2 and 3a) having a first surface (see outer surface of the sealing plate 13 flush with imaginary surface 18a, [0028], FIG. 3b and 3c); and
a groove (see groove formed by formation of valve body 6 in the open hole 17 below the imaginary surface 18a, [0028], 3b and 3c) provided in the cap body to form a pressure relief zone in a region of the cap body where the groove is provided ([0025] discloses that the purpose of valve body 6 is to release gas inside the battery in the case of an abnormal increase in internal pressure), the groove being recessed from the first surface in a thickness direction of the cap body (FIG. 3b and 3c) (Claim 1);
wherein the cap body is provided with a pressure relief indentation (see crushing groove 6a, [0028], FIG. 3) located in the pressure relief zone (FIG. 3); and
the pressure relief indentation is a closed groove extending along an end-to-end closed trajectory ([0028], FIG. 3) (Claim 12).
Yoshida discloses groove side faces (see point of meeting between chamfered portion 20 and base of valve body 6, FIG. 3b and 3c; note that as [0017] discloses that the radius of curvature of the chamfered portion 20 can be 0.5t to 5, this point of meeting can constitute a vertical face, i.e. constitute a groove face) connected to the first surface via chamfer faces (see chamfered portion 20, [0017], [0051], FIG. 3), wherein the groove side faces and chamfer faces are present around the entirety of the groove ([0019], FIG. 3).
However, Yoshida discloses a track-shaped groove ([0052], FIG. 3) and therefore does not disclose the groove side faces of the groove comprising corner faces at corners of the groove; wherein each corner face is connected to the first surface via a first chamfer face, wherein the groove side faces further comprise a first side face connected to the corner face, the first side face being connected to the first surface via a second chamfer face, wherein in the circumferential direction of the groove, two ends of the second chamfer face are connected to the first chamfer faces, wherein the groove side faces further comprise a second side face, the second side face and the first side face are located in different orientations of the groove, the second side face is connected to the first side face via the corner face, and the second side face is connected to the first surface via a third chamfer face, wherein in the circumferential direction of the groove, two ends of the third chamfer face are connected to the first chamfer faces, nor wherein the groove side faces comprise two first side faces and two second side faces, the two first side faces are arranged opposite each other in a first direction, and the two second side faces are arranged opposite each other in a second direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction.
Matsuura teaches an end cap (see covering body 22, [0050], FIG. 1 and 3), comprising: a cap body having a first surface (see top surface of covering body 22 shown in e.g. FIG. 1 and 3); and a groove (see safety valve 40, [0051], FIG. 1 and 3) provided in the cap body to form a pressure relief zone in a region of the cap body where the groove is provided ([0051]). Matsuura teaches that the groove can be formed in typical shapes including a racetrack shape ([0009]), an elliptical shape ([0009], [0075], FIG. 11), an oval shape ([0009], [0057], FIG. 4), or a long rounded rectangular shape ([0009], [0072], FIG. 10), wherein the long rounded rectangular shape comprises groove side faces comprising corner faces (see curved outer edges 145 at the four corner portions, [0072], FIG. 10) at corners of the groove, two first side faces (see straight outer edge portions 144A that extend in the longer direction, [0072], FIG. 10) connected to the corner faces, and two second side faces (see straight outer edge portions 144B that extend in the shorter direction, [0072], FIG. 10) located in different orientations of the groove from the two first side faces, and being connected to the first side faces via the corner faces (FIG. 10), the two first side faces arranged opposite each other in a first direction, and the two second side faces are arranged opposite each other in a second direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction (FIG. 10).
Yoshida and Matsuura are analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of pressure relief mechanisms for batteries. KSR Rationale B (see MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to perform “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results”. As taught by Matsuura, racetrack, elliptical, oval, and long rounded rectangular are all known shapes for the groove. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the track-shaped groove of Yoshida for the long rounded rectangular-shaped groove of Matsuura, to obtain the predictable result of formation of a functional pressure relief zone in the region of the cap body where the groove is provided. One of ordinary skill in the art will understand that such a substitution will necessarily result in the end cap of modified Yoshida comprising: groove side faces comprising corner faces at corners of the groove, wherein each corner face is connected to the first surface via a first chamfer face; two first side faces connected to the corner faces, the first side faces being connected to the first surface via second chamfer faces, wherein in the circumferential direction of the groove, the two ends of each second chamfer face are connected to first chamfer faces; and two second side faces, the two second side faces and the two first side faces located in different orientations of the groove, the second side faces being connected to the first side faces via the corners faces, the second side faces being connected to the first surface via third chamfer faces, wherein in the circumferential direction of the groove, two ends of each of the third chamfer faces are connected to first chamfer faces, the two first side faces are arranged opposite each other in a first direction, the two second side faces are arranged opposite each other in a second direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction (note that the connections of the chamfer faces as described above will necessarily be present because Yoshida discloses, as stated previously, that that the chamfer faces are present around the entirety of the groove).
Yoshida discloses ([0011]) that chamfer faces serve to lessen the impact transmitted to the groove in the case of a drop or the like, thus preventing malfunction of the valve body such as fracture and leakage, and ([0018]) that chamfer faces should particularly be applied to portions of the groove where stress is most concentrated. It is well-known in the field of pressure relief for batteries that stress on a pressure relief indentation is more easily concentrated in regions with greatest curvature, as evidenced by Gong ([0058]). Thus for the end cap of modified Yoshida, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the portions of the groove where stress is most easily concentrated will be the portions of the pressure relief indentation which have the greatest curvature (which, due to the fact that the curvature of the pressure relief indentation mimics the curvature of the groove faces of modified Yoshida as shown in e.g. Yoshida FIG. 3, will correspond to the groove faces which have the greatest curvature).
A person of ordinary skill in the art will therefore understand, given the above, that the curvature of a groove face in the circumferential direction at any given point dictates the stress concentration at that point on the groove, and that such stress concentration can be alleviated by increasing the radius of the corresponding chamfer face at that point. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end cap of modified Yoshida such that the radius of the chamfer face at each point in the circumferential direction of the groove has a magnitude that is proportional to the curvature of the groove side face at that given point, as doing so will serve to alleviate stress concentration via chamfering in the curved areas of the groove where stress is most easily concentrated, and thus malfunction of the groove due to impact from a drop or the like can be better prevented. A person of ordinary skill will understand that the curvature of the groove side faces and the corresponding radius of the chamfer faces changes in a smooth and continuous manner such that the radii of adjacent chamfer faces will necessarily be equal at any connection position.
Yoshida further discloses a battery cell (see sealed battery, Yoshida [0024], FIG. 1), comprising: a housing (see outer can 2, Yoshida [0025], FIG. 1) provided with an opening (see opening, Yoshida [0025]); an end cap of Claim 1, wherein the cap body closes the opening (Yoshida [0025], FIG. 1 and 2).
Shi teaches an end cap comprising: a cap body (see cap assembly 3, [0022], FIG. 1 and 4) having a first surface (see surface of cap plate 31, [0026], FIG. 1 and 4); and a groove provided in the cap body (see combination of through-hole 311, [0031], FIG. 5, and vent piece 32, [0026], FIG. 4 and 5) to form a pressure relief zone in a region of the cap body where the groove is provided ([0033]), the groove being recessed from the first surface in a thickness direction of the cap body (FIG. 5). Shi further teaches a protective member (see protecting piece 35, [0050], FIG. 1, 4, and 5), wherein the protective member is connected to the cap body and covers the groove ([0050], FIG. 1, 4, and 5). Shi teaches ([0050]) that the protective member prevents foreign materials from damaging the groove. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end cap of modified Yoshida such that it further comprises a protective member, wherein the protective member is connected to the cap body and covers the groove, as taught by Shi, for the purpose of preventing foreign materials from damaging the groove.
Koo teaches an end cap (see cap assembly 180, [0030], FIG. 1) comprising: a cap body (see cap plate 181, [0045], FIG. 1 and 2) having a first surface (see top surface of cap plate, FIG. 1 and 2); and a groove provided in the cap body (see combination of safety vent 182, [0067], FIG. 1 and 2, and vent hole 181a, [0066], FIG. 2) to form a pressure relief zone in a region of the cap body where the groove is provided ([0067]), the groove being recessed from the first surface in a thickness direction of the cap body (FIG. 2). Koo further teaches wherein the cap body is provided with an exhaust passage (see pressure equalization structure 210, [0030], FIG. 1–3) which is an exhaust groove provided in the cap body ([0065], FIG. 1–3; note that the exhaust passage is a narrow channel made in the cap body, i.e. a groove), the exhaust groove penetrating the first surface ([0065], [0077], FIG. 1–3). Koo teaches ([0077]) that the exhaust groove allows the internal and external pressure of the battery case to be in an equalized state at all times. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end cap of modified Yoshida such that the cap body is provided with an exhaust passage which is an exhaust groove provided in the cap body, the exhaust groove penetrating the first surface, as taught by Koo, for the purpose of ensuring that the internal and external pressure of the battery case can be in an equalized state at all times.
The combination teaches an electrical device that comprises the battery described above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest that a radius of the first chamfered face increases progressively from both ends to a middle position along a circumferential direction of the groove.
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752