DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This final office action is a response to the reply received on 03/18/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, and 12-20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments overcome the previous 102 rejections.
Applicant’s additional arguments with respect to Claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et. al. (US 20240057501 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20210326640 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Martin discloses:
A spatial localization imaging system for a machine, comprising: (See at least Figure 1 via a system including a working machine and at least one marker including indicia denoting a machine-readable optic image)
an imaging device mounted to the machine; (See at least Figure 1 and ¶0050 via "Perception sensor(s) 55 may include any sensor to drive a perception system 51 implemented by the controller 21 of the working machine (e.g., a camera, LiDAR, radar, or any other perception sensor, now known or later developed)")
a target configured to interact with the imaging device; and (See at least Figure 2 via Targets 53, as well as ¶0047 via "In various embodiments, one or more markers with one or more QR codes or other machine readable optical images may be placed at one or more predefined positions (e.g., one or more specific known geographic locations) to allow the vehicle to recognize where it is in absolute terms (e.g., work area A, row 1 start or work area B row 30 end, or work area refill station 2, etc.) This may allow the working machine to recognize an absolute geographic position in order to perform operations corresponding to its work tasks (e.g., start, pause, unload, finish, etc.)".)
a controller connected to an implement of the machine, (See at least Figure 1 via controller 21 and motorized device(s) of a transportation system or a motorized implement 40)
configured to receive target data from the imaging device, (See at least Figure 1 via controller 21 and perception system 51, as well as ¶0027-¶0029 via "Operator places a system of a working vehicle into a “mapping” mode; …Operator drives the working vehicle around the boundary of environment to collect data about placement of markers; and/or…System generates a landmark map and saves to storage.", also see ¶0047 via "machine readable optical images" and ¶0050)
provide a real-time estimate of a location of the machine within the site, and (See at least ¶0047 via "…This may allow the working machine to recognize an absolute geographic position in order to perform operations corresponding to its work tasks…")
provide an automated input for the implement (See at least ¶0051 via "The working machine 100 may include one or more motorized devices 40, which may be components of a motorized transportation system or the working machine and/or a motorized implement of the working machine. Actuator(s) 30 may drive movement of the motorized devices 40, under control of a controller 21." and ¶0053 via "The controller 21 may autonomously or semi-autonomously operate the actuator(s) 30 and the motorized device(s) 40 based on the mission").
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the target data including the height of the target relative to a ground surface.
Nevertheless, Wang--who is directed towards a method and apparatus for positioning a vehicle--discloses: wherein the target data includes a height of the target relative to a ground surface of a site, (See at least ¶0052 via "In some embodiments, the mapping vehicle 150 may sense the three-dimensional position associated with the positioning marker 120-1 by using the laser radar, the inertial navigation system, etc. The three-dimensional position includes but not is limited to the latitude, the longitude, and the height (e.g., an altitude and/or height relative to the road surface)" and ¶0053-¶0054 via "…the three-dimensional position and the feature data may be associated and included in the map 160…the positioning mark data 165 may be stored as a layer in the map 160…" **Wherein the positioning marker is observed by the camera, and the target data is derived from the imaging device which includes height).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Martin's acquisition of target data in view of Wang's height information relative to a ground surface in order to improve positioning/localization precision and accuracy by providing additional spatial information: "a positioning marker is arranged in a specific environment region, and a pose (i.e., position and posture) of the vehicle is adjusted for matching by using a high-precision map including positioning mark data and a captured image including the positioning marker, thereby implementing the high-precision positioning" [Wang ¶0021], which improves the system that may "operate on steep or uneven ground" [Martin ¶0003] and perform operations that engage with the ground such as "…harvesting, planting, digging, mining, leveling, or the like." [Martin ¶0004].
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Martin discloses the spatial localization imaging system of Claim 7.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: further comprising a sensor mounted to the machine, configured to provide an additional estimate of the location of the machine within the site such that the additional estimate augments the real-time estimate (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates location determining system 25 that communicates with controller 21. Also see at least ¶0059 via "During the mission, the controller 21 may perform GNSS navigation and/or feature navigation. In GNSS navigation, the controller 21 may utilize a location determining system 25 including a GNSS receiver (the location determining system 25 may include other sensors such as an inertial measurement unit 26, or any other sensor now known or later developed). The location determining system 25 may continuously determine an absolute position of the working machine 100 based on sensor data from the GNSS receiver 27. The controller 21 may use these absolute positions to navigate around the field or other area to complete the mission.").
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Martin discloses the spatial localization imaging system of Claim 8.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: wherein the sensor is an inertial measurement unit (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates location determining system 25--which includes an inertial measuring unit 26--that communicates with controller 21. Also see at least ¶0059 via "During the mission, the controller 21 may perform GNSS navigation and/or feature navigation. In GNSS navigation, the controller 21 may utilize a location determining system 25 including a GNSS receiver (the location determining system 25 may include other sensors such as an inertial measurement unit 26, or any other sensor now known or later developed). The location determining system 25 may continuously determine an absolute position of the working machine 100 based on sensor data from the GNSS receiver 27. The controller 21 may use these absolute positions to navigate around the field or other area to complete the mission.")
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Martin discloses the spatial localization imaging system of Claim 8.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: wherein the sensor is a global positioning sensor (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates location determining system 25 that communicates with controller 21. Also see at least ¶0059 via "During the mission, the controller 21 may perform GNSS navigation and/or feature navigation. In GNSS navigation, the controller 21 may utilize a location determining system 25 including a GNSS receiver (the location determining system 25 may include other sensors such as an inertial measurement unit 26, or any other sensor now known or later developed). The location determining system 25 may continuously determine an absolute position of the working machine 100 based on sensor data from the GNSS receiver 27. The controller 21 may use these absolute positions to navigate around the field or other area to complete the mission.". Additionally, see ¶0016 via "the machine localization system is coupled to one or more GNSS receivers, such as Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver(s) located on the machine").
Regarding Claim 12, Martin discloses the spatial localization imaging system of Claim 7.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: wherein the imaging device is a camera, and (See at least ¶0021 via "In some embodiments, the IR markers may be observed with an IR flood light or an IR camera as well")
wherein the target is a signpost containing a quick response (QR) code configured to be read by the camera (See at least Figure 1-2 as well as ¶0044 via "…the marker may be a digital sign or other electronic display capable of displaying a QR code…").
Claims 1-6, 10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et. al. (US 20240057501 A1) in view of Harada et al. (US 20200283996 A1) and Wang et al. (US 20210326640 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Martin discloses:
A machine, comprising: (See at least Figure 1 via Working Machine 100)
(See at least ¶0051 via "motorized implement")
an implement configured to move relative to the (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates the motorized devices 40--which can be an implement--that is controlled by the controller 21 and ¶0051 via "motorized implement of the working machine")
an imaging device, mounted to the machine, (See at least Figure 1 and ¶0050 via "Perception sensor(s) 55 may include any sensor to drive a perception system 51 implemented by the controller 21 of the working machine (e.g., a camera, LiDAR, radar, or any other perception sensor, now known or later developed)")
configured to determine target data associated with a target of a spatial localization imaging system,(See at least ¶0047 via "In various embodiments, one or more markers with one or more QR codes or other machine readable optical images may be placed at one or more predefined positions (e.g., one or more specific known geographic locations) to allow the vehicle to recognize where it is in absolute terms (e.g., work area A, row 1 start or work area B row 30 end, or work area refill station 2, etc.) This may allow the working machine to recognize an absolute geographic position in order to perform operations corresponding to its work tasks (e.g., start, pause, unload, finish, etc.)". Additionally see Figure 2 and ¶0050)
a controller configured to calculate, based on the target data a map of the site, (See at least ¶0027-¶0029 via "Operator places a system of a working vehicle into a “mapping” mode; …Operator drives the working vehicle around the boundary of environment to collect data about placement of markers; and/or…System generates a landmark map and saves to storage.", also see ¶0047 via "machine readable optical images" and ¶0050)
provide, based on the map of the site, a real-time estimate of a location of the machine within the site, (See at least ¶0047 via "…This may allow the working machine to recognize an absolute geographic position in order to perform operations corresponding to its work tasks…")
and provide, based on the real-time estimate of the location of the machine within the site, an automated input for the implement (See at least ¶0051 via "The working machine 100 may include one or more motorized devices 40, which may be components of a motorized transportation system or the working machine and/or a motorized implement of the working machine. Actuator(s) 30 may drive movement of the motorized devices 40, under control of a controller 21." and ¶0053 via "The controller 21 may autonomously or semi-autonomously operate the actuator(s) 30 and the motorized device(s) 40 based on the mission").
However, although Martin discloses: motorized devices of a transportation system (See Figure 1 via item 40), wheels (See ¶0003 and ¶0007), and an operator steering a vehicle using a steering wheel (See ¶0007); Martin does not explicitly disclose the specific arrangement of structure of the frame, engine, drivetrain, etc.
Nevertheless, Harada--who is directed towards a control system for a work vehicle--discloses: a frame; an engine supported by the frame; a drivetrain connected to the engine, the drivetrain connected to a ground-engaging member; an operator cabin supported by the frame; (See at least Figure 1 via vehicle body 11, operating cabin 14, engine via engine compartment 15, crawler belt(s) 16. Also see Figure 2 via engine 22 and transmission device 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Martin in view of explicitly disclosing the known structural components of the working machine such as in Harada in order to define the structural arrangement of the vehicle to include components that allow the machine to run because Martin already discloses that the working machine can include "utility vehicles, such as tractors, lawnmowers, construction vehicles, agriculture vehicles, mining vehicles, or the like." [Martin ¶0003], which are well known to include the conventional structural components that allow the machine to run.
However, Modified Martin does not explicitly disclose the target data including the height of the target relative to a ground surface.
Nevertheless, Wang--who is directed towards a method and apparatus for positioning a vehicle--discloses: wherein the target data includes a height of the target relative to a ground surface of a site, (See at least ¶0052 via "In some embodiments, the mapping vehicle 150 may sense the three-dimensional position associated with the positioning marker 120-1 by using the laser radar, the inertial navigation system, etc. The three-dimensional position includes but not is limited to the latitude, the longitude, and the height (e.g., an altitude and/or height relative to the road surface)" and ¶0053-¶0054 via "…the three-dimensional position and the feature data may be associated and included in the map 160…the positioning mark data 165 may be stored as a layer in the map 160…" **Wherein the positioning marker is observed by the camera, and the target data is derived from the imaging device which includes height)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin's acquisition of target data in view of Wang's height information relative to a ground surface in order to improve positioning/localization precision and accuracy by providing additional spatial information: "a positioning marker is arranged in a specific environment region, and a pose (i.e., position and posture) of the vehicle is adjusted for matching by using a high-precision map including positioning mark data and a captured image including the positioning marker, thereby implementing the high-precision positioning" [Wang ¶0021], which improves the system that may "operate on steep or uneven ground" [Martin ¶0003] and perform operations that engage with the ground such as "…harvesting, planting, digging, mining, leveling, or the like." [Martin ¶0004].
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Martin discloses the machine of Claim 1.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: further comprising a sensor, mounted to the (See at least Figure 1)
configured to provide an additional estimate of the location of the machine within the site such that the additional estimate augments the real-time estimate (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates location determining system 25 that communicates with controller 21. Also see at least ¶0059 via "During the mission, the controller 21 may perform GNSS navigation and/or feature navigation. In GNSS navigation, the controller 21 may utilize a location determining system 25 including a GNSS receiver (the location determining system 25 may include other sensors such as an inertial measurement unit 26, or any other sensor now known or later developed). The location determining system 25 may continuously determine an absolute position of the working machine 100 based on sensor data from the GNSS receiver 27. The controller 21 may use these absolute positions to navigate around the field or other area to complete the mission.").
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the sensor mounted to the frame.
Nevertheless, Harada discloses: the frame (See Figure 1 via vehicle body 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin in view of explicitly disclosing the known structural components of the working machine such as in Harada in order to define the structural arrangement of the vehicle because Martin already discloses that the working machine can include "utility vehicles, such as tractors, lawnmowers, construction vehicles, agriculture vehicles, mining vehicles, or the like." [Martin ¶0003], which are well known to include the conventional structural components. Mounting to a frame would also enable the sensor to be mounted stably on the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Martin discloses the machine of Claim 2.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: wherein the sensor is an inertial measurement unit (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates location determining system 25--which includes an inertial measuring unit 26--that communicates with controller 21. Also see at least ¶0059 via "During the mission, the controller 21 may perform GNSS navigation and/or feature navigation. In GNSS navigation, the controller 21 may utilize a location determining system 25 including a GNSS receiver (the location determining system 25 may include other sensors such as an inertial measurement unit 26, or any other sensor now known or later developed). The location determining system 25 may continuously determine an absolute position of the working machine 100 based on sensor data from the GNSS receiver 27. The controller 21 may use these absolute positions to navigate around the field or other area to complete the mission.").
However, Modified Martin does not explicitly disclose the orientation being measured.
Nevertheless, Harada discloses: an inertial measurement unit configured to measure an orientation (See at least ¶0041 via "The IMU 33 is an inertial measurement device. The IMU 33 obtains vehicle body inclination angle data. The vehicle body inclination angle data includes the angle (pitch angle) relative to horizontal in the vehicle front-back direction and the angle (roll angle) relative to horizontal in the vehicle lateral direction. The controller 26 obtains the vehicle body inclination angle data from the IMU 33.")
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin in view of Harada's IMU that can measure orientation in order to improve the machine/vehicles determination of its own positioning, as well as determine the positioning of the implement/blade: "The controller 26 computes a blade tip position Pb from the lift cylinder length L, the vehicle body position data, and the vehicle body inclination angle data" [Harada ¶0042] which yields more accurate operation.
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Martin discloses the machine of Claim 2.
However, although Martin discloses a motorized implement, Martin does not explicitly disclose the hydraulic cylinder or the distance sensor.
Nevertheless, Harada discloses: further comprising: a hydraulic cylinder, connecting the frame and the implement, configured to provide motive force to the implement, (See at least Figure 1 as well as ¶0036 via "The control valve 27 is disposed between the hydraulic pump 23 and hydraulic actuators such as the lift cylinder 19. The control valve 27 controls the flow rate of the hydraulic fluid supplied from the hydraulic pump 23 to the lift cylinder 19. The controller 26 generates a command signal to the control valve 27 so that the blade 18 moves.")
wherein the sensor is a distance sensor configured to measure an actuation distance of the hydraulic cylinder (See at least ¶0037 via "The work implement sensor 29 detects the position of the work implement 13 and outputs a work implement position signal which indicates the position of the work implement 13. The work implement sensor 29 may be a displacement sensor that detects displacement of the work implement 13. Specifically, the work implement sensor 29 detects the stroke length (referred to below as “lift cylinder length L”) of the lift cylinder 19. ").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin in view of Harada's hydraulic cylinder to enable the blade/implement to move, as well as the sensor to measure an actuation distance in order to improve the determining of the positioning of the implement/blade: "The controller 26 computes a blade tip position Pb from the lift cylinder length L, the vehicle body position data, and the vehicle body inclination angle data" [Harada ¶0042] which yields more accurate operation.
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Martin discloses the machine of Claim 2.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: further comprising a global positioning system (GPS) mounted to the (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates location determining system 25 that communicates with controller 21. Also see at least ¶0059 via "During the mission, the controller 21 may perform GNSS navigation and/or feature navigation. In GNSS navigation, the controller 21 may utilize a location determining system 25 including a GNSS receiver (the location determining system 25 may include other sensors such as an inertial measurement unit 26, or any other sensor now known or later developed). The location determining system 25 may continuously determine an absolute position of the working machine 100 based on sensor data from the GNSS receiver 27. The controller 21 may use these absolute positions to navigate around the field or other area to complete the mission.". Additionally, see ¶0016 via "the machine localization system is coupled to one or more GNSS receivers, such as Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver(s) located on the machine").
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the sensor mounted to the frame.
Nevertheless, Harada discloses: the frame (See Figure 1 via vehicle body 11)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Martin in view of explicitly disclosing the known structural components of the working machine such as in Harada in order to define the structural arrangement of the vehicle because Martin already discloses that the working machine can include "utility vehicles, such as tractors, lawnmowers, construction vehicles, agriculture vehicles, mining vehicles, or the like." [Martin ¶0003], which are well known to include the conventional structural components. Mounting to a frame would also enable the sensor to be mounted stably on the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Martin discloses the machine of Claim 1.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: wherein the implement is a ground-engaging tool configured to cut the ground surface proximate the machine (See at least ¶0004-¶0006 via " In addition to the transportation system, these working machines may include tools for performing a work task, such as a residential operation, commercial operation, or industrial operation…Motorized implements, such as a powered hitch to position a plow, a mower, a digger, a lawn edger, or the like…").
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Martin discloses the spatial localization imaging system of Claim 8.
However, although Martin discloses an implement, Martin does not explicitly disclose the hydraulic cylinder or the distance sensor.
Nevertheless, Harada--who is directed towards a control system for a work vehicle--discloses: wherein the implement includes a hydraulic cylinder, and (See at least Figure 1 as well as ¶0036 via "The control valve 27 is disposed between the hydraulic pump 23 and hydraulic actuators such as the lift cylinder 19. The control valve 27 controls the flow rate of the hydraulic fluid supplied from the hydraulic pump 23 to the lift cylinder 19. The controller 26 generates a command signal to the control valve 27 so that the blade 18 moves.")
wherein the sensor is a distance sensor configured to measure an actuation distance of the hydraulic cylinder (See at least ¶0037 via "The work implement sensor 29 detects the position of the work implement 13 and outputs a work implement position signal which indicates the position of the work implement 13. The work implement sensor 29 may be a displacement sensor that detects displacement of the work implement 13. Specifically, the work implement sensor 29 detects the stroke length (referred to below as “lift cylinder length L”) of the lift cylinder 19. ").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin in view of Harada's hydraulic cylinder to enable the blade/implement to move, as well as the sensor to measure an actuation distance in order to improve the determining of the positioning of the implement/blade: "The controller 26 computes a blade tip position Pb from the lift cylinder length L, the vehicle body position data, and the vehicle body inclination angle data" [Harada ¶0042] which yields more accurate operation.
Regarding Claim 15, Martin discloses:
A method of spatial localization of a machine on a site, comprising: (See at least Figure 4)
receiving, by a controller, target data associated with a target configured to interact with an imaging device of the machine, (See at least ¶0047 via "In various embodiments, one or more markers with one or more QR codes or other machine readable optical images may be placed at one or more predefined positions (e.g., one or more specific known geographic locations) to allow the vehicle to recognize where it is in absolute terms (e.g., work area A, row 1 start or work area B row 30 end, or work area refill station 2, etc.) This may allow the working machine to recognize an absolute geographic position in order to perform operations corresponding to its work tasks (e.g., start, pause, unload, finish, etc.)". Additionally see Figure 2, Figure 1, and ¶0050 via "Perception sensor(s) 55 may include any sensor to drive a perception system 51 implemented by the controller 21 of the working machine (e.g., a camera, LiDAR, radar, or any other perception sensor, now known or later developed)" )
generating, by the controller, a map of the site; (See at least ¶0027-¶0029 via "Operator places a system of a working vehicle into a “mapping” mode; …Operator drives the working vehicle around the boundary of environment to collect data about placement of markers; and/or…System generates a landmark map and saves to storage.", also see ¶0047 via "machine readable optical images")
estimating, by the controller and based on the map, a real-time location of the machine on the site; and (See at least ¶0047 via "…This may allow the working machine to recognize an absolute geographic position in order to perform operations corresponding to its work tasks…")
automating, by the controller and based on the estimated real-time location, a positioning of an implement of the machine (See at least ¶0051 via "The working machine 100 may include one or more motorized devices 40, which may be components of a motorized transportation system or the working machine and/or a motorized implement of the working machine. Actuator(s) 30 may drive movement of the motorized devices 40, under control of a controller 21." and ¶0053 via "The controller 21 may autonomously or semi-autonomously operate the actuator(s) 30 and the motorized device(s) 40 based on the mission").
However, although Martin discloses: motorized devices of a transportation system (See Figure 1 via item 40), wheels (See ¶0003 and ¶0007), and an operator steering a vehicle using a steering wheel (See ¶0007); Martin does not explicitly disclose the specific arrangement of structure of the frame, engine, drivetrain, ground engaging members, etc.
Nevertheless, Harada--who is directed towards a control system for a work vehicle--discloses: relative to a frame of the machine (See at least Figure 1 via vehicle body 11, operating cabin 14, engine via engine compartment 15, crawler belt(s) 16, implement/Blade 18. Also see Figure 2 via engine 22 and transmission device 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Martin in view of explicitly disclosing the known structural components of the working machine such as in Harada in order to define the structural arrangement of the vehicle because Martin already discloses that the working machine can include "utility vehicles, such as tractors, lawnmowers, construction vehicles, agriculture vehicles, mining vehicles, or the like." [Martin ¶0003], which are well known to include the conventional structural components. Additionally, it would have been obvious to disclose the establishing the origin/starting point to the controller, such as in Harada, so the system can be controlled accurately.
However, Modified Martin does not explicitly disclose the target data including the height of the target relative to a ground surface.
Nevertheless, Wang--who is directed towards a method and apparatus for positioning a vehicle--discloses: wherein the target data includes a height of the target relative to a ground surface of a site, (See at least ¶0052 via "In some embodiments, the mapping vehicle 150 may sense the three-dimensional position associated with the positioning marker 120-1 by using the laser radar, the inertial navigation system, etc. The three-dimensional position includes but not is limited to the latitude, the longitude, and the height (e.g., an altitude and/or height relative to the road surface)" and ¶0053-¶0054 via "…the three-dimensional position and the feature data may be associated and included in the map 160…the positioning mark data 165 may be stored as a layer in the map 160…" **Wherein the positioning marker is observed by the camera, and the target data is derived from the imaging device which includes height).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin's acquisition of target data in view of Wang's height information relative to a ground surface in order to improve positioning/localization precision and accuracy by providing additional spatial information: "a positioning marker is arranged in a specific environment region, and a pose (i.e., position and posture) of the vehicle is adjusted for matching by using a high-precision map including positioning mark data and a captured image including the positioning marker, thereby implementing the high-precision positioning" [Wang ¶0021], which improves the system that may "operate on steep or uneven ground" [Martin ¶0003] and perform operations that engage with the ground such as "…harvesting, planting, digging, mining, leveling, or the like." [Martin ¶0004].
Regarding Claim 16, Modified Martin discloses the method of Claim 15.
However, although Martin discloses that the implement can be multiple types of tools, Martin does not explicitly disclose the fixed depth.
Nevertheless, Harada discloses: wherein the implement is a ground-engaging tool, (See at least Figure 1 via Blade 18, also see Figure 3 which illustrates the operation. Additionally see at least ¶0055 via "The controller 26 generates command signals for the work implement 13 so as to move the blade tip position of the blade 18 in accordance with the target design topography 70. ")
and wherein automating the positioning of the implement further comprises positioning the ground-engaging tool at a fixed depth relative to the ground surface (See at least ¶0064 via " In step S205, the controller 26 determines a plurality of reference points. As illustrated in FIG. 9, the controller 26 determines, as respective reference points B1 and B2, spots displaced downward by the target depth L3 from the first preceding division point A1 and from the second preceding division point A2." )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin in view of Harada's blade and fixed depth in order to enable the machine to operate with regards to achieving goals such as the desired design topography: "The final design topography is the final target shape of the surface of a work site. The work site topography data is, for example, a civil engineering diagram map in a three-dimensional data format. " [Harada ¶0044].
Regarding Claim 17, Modified Martin discloses the method of Claim 16.
Furthermore Harada discloses: further comprising: causing cutting of the ground surface with the ground-engaging tool at the fixed depth (See at least ¶0068 via "When the first target design topography 70_1 is determined as indicated above, the controller 26 controls the work implement 13 in accordance with the first target design topography 70_1 in accordance with the abovementioned process of step S105 as illustrated in FIG. 11." as well as Figure 11)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin in view of Harada's blade and fixed depth in order to enable the machine to operate with regards to achieving goals such as the desired design topography: "The final design topography is the final target shape of the surface of a work site. The work site topography data is, for example, a civil engineering diagram map in a three-dimensional data format. " [Harada ¶0044].
Regarding Claim 18, Modified Martin discloses the method of Claim 15.
Furthermore, although Martin discloses an IMU, Martin does not explicitly detail the method steps.
Nevertheless, Harada also discloses an IMU, and further discloses: further comprising: receiving an inertial measurement of the machine; and (See at least ¶0041 via "The IMU 33 is an inertial measurement device. The IMU 33 obtains vehicle body inclination angle data. The vehicle body inclination angle data includes the angle (pitch angle) relative to horizontal in the vehicle front-back direction and the angle (roll angle) relative to horizontal in the vehicle lateral direction. The controller 26 obtains the vehicle body inclination angle data from the IMU 33.")
augmenting the real-time location of the machine based on the inertial measurement (See at least ¶0042 via "The controller 26 computes a blade tip position Pb from the lift cylinder length L, the vehicle body position data, and the vehicle body inclination angle data…The controller 26 calculates the global coordinates of the blade tip position Pb based on the global coordinates of the GNSS receiver 32, the local coordinates of the blade tip position Pb, and the vehicle body inclination angle data" **Wherein the blade tip is a part of the machine and thus is the location of the machine).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the give invention to modify Modified Martin in view of the steps of determining the location of the machine based on the inertial measurement such as in Harada to aid in ensuring that the work machine/components are in the desired locations/positions in order to accurately perform operations efficiently and with good quality: "perform work efficiently and with a good finish quality" [Harada ¶0074].
Regarding Claim 19, Modified Martin discloses the method of Claim 15.
Furthermore, Harada discloses: further comprising: receiving an actuation distance of a hydraulic cylinder of the machine; and (See at least ¶0037 via "The control system 3 includes a work implement sensor 29. The work implement sensor 29 detects the position of the work implement 13 and outputs a work implement position signal which indicates the position of the work implement 13. The work implement sensor 29 may be a displacement sensor that detects displacement of the work implement 13. Specifically, the work implement sensor 29 detects the stroke length (referred to below as “lift cylinder length L”) of the lift cylinder 19.")
augmenting the real-time location of the machine based on the actuation distance (See at least ¶0042 via "The controller 26 computes a blade tip position Pb from the lift cylinder length L, the vehicle body position data, and the vehicle body inclination angle data…The controller 26 calculates the global coordinates of the blade tip position Pb based on the global coordinates of the GNSS receiver 32, the local coordinates of the blade tip position Pb, and the vehicle body inclination angle data" **Wherein the blade tip is a part of the machine and thus is the location of the machine).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the give invention to modify Modified Martin in view of the steps of determining the location of the machine based on the inertial measurement such as in Harada to aid in ensuring that the work machine/components are in the desired locations/positions in order to accurately perform operations efficiently and with good quality: "perform work efficiently and with a good finish quality" [Harada ¶0074].
Regarding Claim 20, Modified Martin discloses the method of Claim 15.
Furthermore, Martin discloses: further comprising: receiving an instant positioning of the machine; and (See at least Figure 1 which illustrates location determining system 25 that communicates with controller 21. Also see at least ¶0059 via "During the mission, the controller 21 may perform GNSS navigation and/or feature navigation. In GNSS navigation, the controller 21 may utilize a location determining system 25 including a GNSS receiver (the location determining system 25 may include other sensors such as an inertial measurement unit 26, or any other sensor now known or later developed). The location determining system 25 may continuously determine an absolute position of the working machine 100 based on sensor data from the GNSS receiver 27. The controller 21 may use these absolute positions to navigate around the field or other area to complete the mission.". Additionally, see ¶0016 via "the machine localization system is coupled to one or more GNSS receivers, such as Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver(s) located on the machine").
augmenting the real-time location of the machine based on the instant positioning (See at least ¶0036 via " In some embodiments, the processor may perform sensor fusion to perform high confidence localization using low cost GNSS components (e.g., a low cost GNSS receiver and/or a low cost GNSS service) in combination with any perception sensor now know, or later developed.").
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et. al. (US 20240057501 A1) and Wang et al. (US 20210326640 A1) in view of Agarwal et. al. (US 20240096111 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Martin discloses the spatial localization imaging system of Claim 7.
Furthermore, Martin discloses the site where the map is generated: established on the site for generating a map (See at least ¶0027-¶0029 via "Operator places a system of a working vehicle into a “mapping” mode; …Operator drives the working vehicle around the boundary of environment to collect data about placement of markers; and/or…System generates a landmark map and saves to storage.", also see ¶0047 via "machine readable optical images")
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the two-dimensional spatial data.
Nevertheless, Agarwal--who is directed towards determining lane associations based on images--discloses: wherein the target data further comprises two-dimensional spatial information of the target relative to an origin (See at least ¶0081 via "For example, the systems and techniques may obtain or determine a nearest-to-camera corner point p of a two-dimensional bounding box based on a three-dimensional bounding box. Point p may be defined as p=[p.sub.x, p.sub.y, p.sub.z], where p.sub.x and p.sub.y describe a pixel location of the point in image frame 800 (in an xy coordinate system), and p.sub.z describes a distance between the tracking vehicle and the point p." **Wherein there are two-dimensional spatial components (x, y) of target data represented in an image coordinate system even if the target data further includes the depth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin in view of Agarwal's two dimensional spatial information when tracking/determining the location of targets, in order to provide a way of representing the targets (such as in a coordinate system) for the tracking/detecting of targets detected by a perception system in Martin, which yields accurate and predictable results of representing the spatial location of the target in an image two-dimensionally so the work machine can navigate more accurately: "a tracking object can determine positions of target objects in an environment so that the tracking object can accurately navigate through the environment (e.g., to make accurate motion planning and trajectory planning decisions)." [Agarwal ¶0003].
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Martin discloses the spatial localization imaging system of Claim 7.
Furthermore, Martin discloses the site where the map is generated: established on the site for generating a map (See at least ¶0027-¶0029 via "Operator places a system of a working vehicle into a “mapping” mode; …Operator drives the working vehicle around the boundary of environment to collect data about placement of markers; and/or…System generates a landmark map and saves to storage.", also see ¶0047 via "machine readable optical images")
However, Martin does not explicitly disclose the three-dimensional spatial data.
Nevertheless, Agarwal discloses: wherein the target data further comprises three-dimensional spatial information of the target relative to an origin established on the site for generating a map (See at least Figure 8 and ¶0066 via "Three-dimensional bounding boxes 802 may be determined using an object-detection and/or object-tracking technique. The three-dimensional bounding boxes 802 may be axis aligned, for example, a bottom edge of each of three-dimensional bounding boxes 802 may be aligned with a bottom edge of image frame 800. Each of three-dimensional bounding boxes 802 may be based on a respective one of target vehicles 804 (including target vehicle 804a, target vehicle 804b, and target vehicle 804c)." as well as ¶0071 via "As an example, the systems and techniques may determine a point p, of a two-dimensional bounding box based on a three-dimensional bounding box. Point p may be defined as p=[p.sub.x,p.sub.y,p.sub.z], where p.sub.x, p.sub.y, and p.sub.z, describe a three-dimensional location of the point in the camera frame (e.g., in an xyz camera coordinate frame where x describes right and left, y describes up and down, and z describes forward). The systems and techniques may determine whether point p belongs to a lane l (e.g., the lane of the tracking vehicle) based on distances between point p and lane boundaries.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Martin in view of Agarwal's three dimensional spatial information when tracking/determining the location of targets, in order to provide a way of representing the targets (such as in a coordinate system) for the tracking/detecting of targets detected by a perception system in Martin, which yields accurate and predictable results of representing the spatial location of the target in an image three-dimensionally so the work machine can navigate more accurately: "a tracking object can determine positions of target objects in an environment so that the tracking object can accurately navigate through the environment (e.g., to make accurate motion planning and trajectory planning decisions)." [Agarwal ¶0003].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et. al. (US 20200217667 A1)
Nojiri (US 20210191423 A1)
Kiyota et. al. (US 20200291614 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/BHAVESH V AMIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657