DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search of one of the designated invention groups, each of which includes aspects of an apparatus with a grip assembly or structure to facilitate exercising, would naturally produce search results directed to the techniques, apparatuses, and/or other structure claimed within the other invention group. This is not found persuasive because a search for the invention of Group I would be limited to exercise devices involving grips attached to an exercise cable. However, a search for the invention of Group II would require a much broader search in areas involving multi-profile grips usable with virtually any type of exercise equipment, e.g., areas including ab rollers or rock-climbing walls.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/12/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3 line 4, “passed” should be changed to --passes--.
In claim 6 line 2, “to first end” should be changed to --the first end--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 7,662,073 (Baldwin).
Regarding claim 1, Baldwin discloses an apparatus (see weight lifting apparatus 600 embodiment of FIGS. 6A-9) comprising:
a cable end grip assembly 600 configured to attach to an end of an exercise cable 202 (see annotated FIG. 9 below), comprising:
a pliable strap 602 having a first end 604 adapted to attach to the end of the exercise cable 202 and a second end 606 comprising an attachment point adapted for connection to a cable attachment 202 (see annotated FIGS. 6A and 9 below); and
a grip structure 612 adapted to engage the pliable strap 602 between the first end 604 and the second end 606, the grip structure 612 and pliable strap 602 adapted to provide a grip interface for a cable exercise (see annotated FIGS. 6A and 9 below).
Regarding claim 2, Baldwin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the cable end grip assembly 600 is configured for use in an adjustable-height cable station and/or a cable resistance equipment (FIG. 9, Col 8:60-67).
Regarding claim 3, Baldwin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the grip structure 612 comprises molded rubber, plastic, and/or metal (grip structure 612 comprises plastic - Col 6:43-47) having at least one through-hole 624 through which the pliable strap 602 passes (see annotated FIGS. 6A-6B above); and wherein the pliable strap 602 passed through the through-hole 624 between the first end 604 and the second end 606 (see annotated FIGS. 6A-6B above).
Regarding claim 4, Baldwin teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the attachment point comprises a pliable strap loop 620 extending from an end of the at least one through-hole 624 of the grip structure 612 (see annotated FIG. 6A above); wherein the pliable strap loop 620 is adapted for attachment to a carabiner 114 and/or a threaded link (see annotated FIG. 9 above); and/or the first end of the pliable strap is adapted to attach to a U-bracket attachment point for the cable end (Due to the “and/or” conjunction prior to this limitation, this limitation is optionally required to be met by the prior art. Therefore, this limitation was not considered in the rejection.).
Regarding claim 5, Baldwin teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the grip structure 612 has a shape comprising a ball, a plug, a plug with a disk, and/or a flat disk (grip structure 612 has a plug with a disk shape as shown in FIG. 6B).
Regarding claim 6, Baldwin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses a fabric sleeve 628 (sleeve 628 is preferably made of fabric - Col 7:30-33) covering the pliable strap 602 from the end of the grip structure 612 to first end 604 (see annotated FIG. 6A above).
Regarding claim 7, Baldwin discloses a method of mitigating damage to exercise cables comprising:
providing a cable end grip assembly 600 configured to attach to an end of an exercise cable 202 (see annotated FIG. 9 below), comprising a pliable strap 602 having a first end 604 adapted to attach to the end of the exercise cable 202 and a second end 606 comprising an attachment point adapted for connection to a cable attachment 202 (see annotated FIGS. 6A and 9 below) and a grip structure 612 adapted to engage the pliable strap 602 between the first end 604 and the second end 606, the grip structure 612 and pliable strap 602 adapted to provide a grip interface for a cable exercise (see annotated FIGS. 6A and 9 below);
attaching the pliable strap 602 to an attachment point of the cable end (see annotated FIG. 9 below);
passing the pliable strap 602 through at least one hole 624 in the grip structure 612 (see annotated FIGS. 6A-6B below); and
attaching a pliable strap loop 620 extending from the hole 624 of the grip structure 612 to an attachment structure 114 (see annotated FIG. 9 below).
Regarding claim 8, Baldwin teaches the method of claim 7, and further discloses covering the pliable strap 602 with a pliable sleeve 628 from an end of the grip structure 612 to the first end 604 of the pliable strap 602 (see annotated FIG. 6A above).
Regarding claim 9, Baldwin teaches the method of claim 7, and further discloses wherein the attachment structure is a carabiner 114 (Col 7:61-63, see annotated FIG. 9 above), and wherein the method further comprises: attaching a multi-profile grip 612 to the carabiner 114, the multi-profile grip comprising an elongated body having a substantially flat side 622 adapted for pushing exercises and a curved side adapted for pulling exercises (tubular portion of grip 612 can be interpreted as the curved side - FIGS. 6A-6B; the grip 612 is capable of being used for pushing and pulling exercises and is attached to the carabiner 114 via the strap 602 components. Note that all components of the device are attached either directly together or via intermediary components).
Regarding claim 10, Baldwin teaches the method of claim 7, and further discloses performing an exercise using the pliable strap 602 and grip structure 612 as a handle for pulling the cable 202 (Col 8:60-67, see annotated FIG. 9 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Joshua Lee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784