Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “pulling hot air through the wet basemat via vacuum through drying to form a dried basement.” It’s unclear what is meant by “through drying.” Examiner assumes this must mean the step causes drying of the wet basement to a dried basement, but the language is awkward and unclear. Examiner recommends: “pulling hot air through the wet basement via a vacuum to cause drying [[to]] and form a dried basement.” This language is clearer and more semantically appropriate to the intended step.
Claims 2-12 recite “an acoustical panel.” This should be “the acoustical panel” to make clear this refers back to the panel formed in Claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “a facing side.” Claim 2 also recites “a facing side.” This is unclear because it is unclear if this is the same facing side previously referenced (since it uses the exact same terminology), or a different facing side (since it does not use antecedent language). Examiner assumes it may refer to either facing side. If this is the case, Examiner recommends stating the laminating occurs on one of a first or second facing side and then specify in claim 2, whether the painting also may occur on either the first or second facing side. This uses proper antecedent basis and clear terminology unlike the current claim.
Claims 2, 4, 7, 10, 11, and 12 all recite “the basemat” without providing antecedent basis for this term. Previously, both a wet and dried basement are defined, which have differing thicknesses at different times. No general “basemat” is recited and it is not clear how this related to the wet and dried basemat of Claim 1. Applicant must either specifically define how “basemat” relates to the wet or dried basemat, or specify which basemat is being specified, especially with regard to thickness, which varies over the process. Examiner assumes the thickness in Claim 11 is directed to the dried basemat.
Claim 3, dependent on Claim 1, refers to “the decorative coating” without providing antecedent basis for this term. Examiner assumes Claim 3 should be dependent on Claim 2, where this term is introduced. If not, Applicant should not use antecedent language.
Regarding Claim 6, proper antecedent basis is not utilized since a vacuum is previously introduced and no step was specifically termed as “vacuum drying.” Examiner recommends: “…wherein [[a]] the vacuum [[of]] is about 1.5 inches of mercury (inHg) to about 15 inHg
Claim 8 uses “chosen from the group of,” which is incorrect Markush language. This should be “selected from the group consisting of” to make clear the choice is limited to those listed for the group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englert et al. (US 7,862,687) in view Frank et al. (US 2017/0204604).
Regarding Claims 1, 8, 9, and 11, Englert et al. teaches a process for manufacturing an acoustical panel (See Abstract) comprising:
mixing an aqueous slurry comprising water and ingredients on a dry basis (See col. 7, lines 15-19, teaching mixing an aqueous slurry), by weight percent (wt.%);
at least about 90 wt.% of mineral wool (See col. 5, lines 33-34, teaching 90-95% mineral wool by dry weight), and
about 1 wt.% to about 10 wt.% of a binder (See col. 5, lines 30-36 and 50-60, teaching 6-7% binder including 1.5-2% starch and 4.5-5% latex);
continuously flowing the aqueous slurry onto a moving foraminous support wire to form a wet basemat (See col. 6, line 28-34, col. 7, line 27-31, and col. 7, 58-62, wherein the slurry is fed onto a porous metal wire forming surface, i.e. a foraminous support wire, in a process that may form a continuous sheet, suggesting the feeding/flowing must be continuous);
dewatering the wet basemat, the dewatering step including pressing the wet basemat to a thickness of about 1.1 inches to about 2.0 (See Fig. 3A, col. 7, lines 31-36, col. 8, lines 1-2, and col. 9, lines 64-65, teaching pressing with a nip [80] during dewatering to form a final pre-coated mat up to 1.2 inches, suggesting pressing to about this thickness or marginally thicker if minor compression occurs during further drying, but surely less than 1.4 inches, or at least rendering obvious a 1.1-1.4 inch range as claimed); and
pulling hot air through the wet basemat via a vacuum and drying to form a dried basemat (See Fig. 3B and col. 8, lines 29-33, wherein dryer [100] emits hot air that is pulled through the base mat [65] by vacuums [92]-[95]);
laminating a porous scrim to a facing side of the dried basemat (See col. 8, lines 49-54, teaching after drying that lamination may occur on a surface, and although silent as to the exact layer laminated, it would have been apparent any well-known layers would have been suitable, including non-woven scrims, which are known to be porous, see col. 2, lines 25-28, teaches a related product in the background wherein the laminated layer is a non-woven fiberglass scrim facer, which is a well-known porous facer for acoustic panels);
wherein the acoustical panel has a density between about 7 pounds per cubic foot (Ibs/ft3) to about 12 Ibs/ft3 (See col. 4, lines 31-36 and col. 10, lines 14-16, teaching densities in the claimed range and as low as 10.9 lbs/ft3 for the formed panel), wherein the acoustical panel has a thickness of greater than about 1.1 inches (See col. 9, lines 64-65, teaches finished basemat thicknesses of up to 1.2 inches before coating),
wherein the acoustical panel has a noise reduction coefficient (NRC) of about 0.80 to about 1.00, and
wherein the acoustical panel has a ceiling attenuation class (CAC) of about 30 to about 50 (See col. 4, lines 3-10, teaching the low-density panel formed has an NRC of 0.80-0.85 and a CAC of 33-36).
Englert et al. teaches the mineral wool is made from “fine filament” (See col. 5, lines 41-43), but is silent as to any specific diameter. However, in similar acoustical panels having a similar final density with nearly identical mineral fiber and binder loadings and similarly designed for excellent NRC and CAC characteristics (See, for example, Frank et al., page 1, paragraphs [0014]-[0016] and page 2, paragraphs [0032]-[0033]), it is known to utilize mineral wool with a diameter of about 6 microns in order to improve loft, reduce density, and improve tensile strength of the final acoustic panel product (See Frank et al., page 3, paragraph [0034], teaching specific advantages for using mineral fiber diameter of around 6 microns in acoustic panels). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize 6-micron fibers as the “fine filaments” of the mineral fiber utilized in the acoustic panel of Englert et al. Such fibers would have predictably been suitable for forming an acoustic panel as desired in Englert et al. while providing ideal loft, lower density, and improved tensile strength.
Regarding Claim 2, Engler et al. teaches painting and/or laminating (See col. 8, lines 51-55), thus suggesting painting, i.e. a decorative coating, may occur in association with laminating.
Regarding Claim 6, Englert et al. teaches a vacuum of 2-4 inHg (See col. 9, lines 25-30).
Regarding Claims 7 and 12, Engler et al. makes clear all further additives such as those recited in 7 and 12 are optional, and the panel may be substantially free of these additives (See col. 5, lines col. 5, line 63 to col. 6, line 9 and Table I, indicating additional additives are optional and specifically disclosing the lower range loading as 0%).
Regarding Claim 10, Englert et al. teaches “flocculants” as an additive that may be included (See col. 5, lines col. 5, line 63 to col. 6, line 9). Flocculants, which cause clumping and aggregation in slurries, would have been understood as flocculation/retention aid by keeping the slurry together during dewatering, etc.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englert et al. and Frank et al. as applied to Claim 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Kragness et al. (US 2020/0173172).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Englert et al. and Frank et al. teach the method of Claims 1 and 2 above. Englert et al. teaches coatings may be applied to a front and side-side of the acoustic panel, but is silent as to the coating weights. However, it would have been apparent known coating weight for coatings applied to acoustic panels would have predictably been suitable for the coatings in Englert et al. Examiner submits 10-70 g/ft2 is a known suitable coating weight range for coatings on acoustic panels (See, for example, Kragness et al., page 8, paragraph [0110], teaching a range of dry coating weights for coatings on a similar acoustic panel). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the coating weights as claimed for the front and back coating. These coating weights fall within a typical range known for similar coatings in the prior art and thus would have predictably been suitable dry coating weights for the front and back coatings.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Englert et al. and Frank et al. as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Englert et al. (US 2008/0060871, herein after “Englert2”).
Regarding Claims 5, Englert et al. and Frank et al. teach the method of Claim 1 above. Englert et al. teaches hot air drying as described above and teaches starch and thermoplastic latex binder with a Tg around 100 Celsius, suggesting heating should be above this range to integrate the binder during drying, but is silent as to specific drying conditions. However, using temperatures within the claimed range to implement drying in acoustical boards is well-known, such as 300 F or 149 C (See, for example, Englert2, Abstract, page 3, paragraph [0028] and page 5, paragraph [0045], teaching drying of the wet slurry of a acoustic panel including latex thermoplastic binder may occur at 300 F). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize hot air temperatures within the claimed range for drying. Such temperatures are known for drying similar panels and would have predictably been suitable for the hot air in Englert et al.
Conclusion
/SCOTT W DODDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746