DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on May 18, 2026, is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the “Brief Description of the Drawings” at paragraph [0031] fails to individually describe each of Figure 5 through Figure 10. Please provide a brief description of these drawings. MPEP 608.01(f).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen et al (US 2017/0365487 A1).
Shen discloses an etching gas composition comprising:
an organic fluorine compound (hydrofluorocarbon, e.g., 1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoropropane [0190]; hydrofluorocarbon etching gas [0221]); and
carbon disulfide [0224].
As to claim 2, Shen discloses that the content of the second etch gas, which in one embodiment comprises carbon disulfide, is 0.01%v/v to 99.99% v/v, [0232]. This range encompasses the cited range.
As to claim 3, Shen discloses that the organic fluorine compound comprises three carbon atoms, as cited (see rejection of claim 1).
As to claims 9-10, Shen discloses that the etching composition further comprises an inert gas (such as argon [0225]); and a reactive gas (such as oxygen O2 [0222]).
As to claim 11, Shen discloses an etching gas composition comprising:
an organic fluorine compound having three carbon atoms as cited (hydrofluorocarbon, e.g., 1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoropropane [0190]; hydrofluorocarbon etching gas [0221]), which is within the cited range;
carbon disulfide [0224];
an inert gas (such as argon [0225]); and
a reactive gas (such as oxygen O2 [0222]).
As to claim 12, Shen discloses that the content of the second etch gas, which in one embodiment comprises carbon disulfide, is 0.01%v/v to 99.99% v/v, [0232]. This range encompasses the cited range.
As to claim 13, Shen discloses that the organic fluorine compound comprises C3F6 (see rejection of claim 11).
As to claim 14, Shen discloses 1,1,2,2,3,3-hexafluoropropane [0190].
Claims 1-4, 7-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al (US 2015/0294880 A1).
Anderson discloses an etching gas composition comprising:
an organic fluorine compound (e.g., 1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene [0127] and its isomer (trans, cis, [0127]; hexafluoroisobutene [0127]); and
carbon disulfide [0151].
As to claim 2, Anderson discloses that the content of the additional etching gas, which in one embodiment comprises carbon disulfide, is 0.01%v/v to 99.99% v/v, [0151]. This range encompasses the cited range.
As to claim 3, Anderson discloses that the organic fluorine compound comprises four carbon atoms, as cited (see rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 4, Anderson discloses that both a 3-carbon (see rejection of claim 1) and a 4-carbon organic fluorine compound may be included in the etching gas composition, as cited (C4F6, [0151]).
As to claims 7-8, Anderson discloses at least two isomers as cited, [0127], see rejection of claim 1.
As to claims 9-10, Anderson discloses that the etching composition further comprises an inert gas (such as argon [0146]); and a reactive gas (such as oxygen O2 [0150]).
As to claim 11, Anderson discloses an etching gas composition comprising:
an organic fluorine compound having four carbon atoms (e.g., 1,1,1,4,4,4-hexafluoro-2-butene [0127] and its isomer (trans, cis, [0127]; hexafluoroisobutene [0127]), which is within the cited range;
carbon disulfide [0151];
an inert gas (such as argon [0146]); and
a reactive gas (such as oxygen O2 [0150]).
As to claim 12, Anderson discloses that the content of the additional etching gas, which in one embodiment comprises carbon disulfide, is 0.01%v/v to 99.99% v/v, [0151]. This range encompasses the cited range.
As to claim 13, Anderson discloses that the etching composition may comprise CF4, C4F6, C4F8 [0151].
As to claim 15, Anderson discloses hexafluoroisobutene [0127].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al (US 2015/0294880 A1), as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Shen et al (US 2017/0365487 A1).
As to claim 5, Anderson fails to disclose at least two isomers of an organic fluorine compound having 3 carbon atoms.
Anderson discloses that the hydrofluorocarbon etching gases deposit a polymer passivation layer to improve etching profiles [0140].
The discussion of Shen from above is repeated here. Shen teaches that the etching composition may comprise isomers of 1,1,2,2,3,3-hexafluoropropane [0190] as a hydrofluorocarbon component of an etching gas [0190]. Shen teaches that the hydrofluorocarbon etching gases deposit a polymer passivation layer to improve etching profiles [0202]. Accordingly, both Anderson and Shen include hydrofluorocarbons to improve etching profiles.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two isomers such as of 1,1,2,2,3,3-hexafluoropropane in the composition of Anderson because Shen teaches that they are useful for controlling the etch profile, which Anderson already recognizes as desirable, and such is expected to give the predictable result of an improved etching profile.
As to claim 6, see the rejection of claim 5 which teaches isomers of 1,1,2,2,3,3-hexafluoropropane.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Guo et al (US 2025/0379062 A1) is cited to show carbon disulfide and hydrofluorocarbon etch gases [0258], [0276], inert gas [0268], and oxidizer [0274].
/ANITA K ALANKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713