DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 2 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper structure" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the burial hole" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pre-formed burial hole" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the burial hole” and “the pre-formed burial hole”. These limitations are indefinite because it is unclear as to whether these are the same feature or not. Based on the identical reference numbers, the Examiner assumes they are the same feature. However, it is noted that consistent nomenclature across multiple references to the same feature is required to obviate the indefinite-ness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Tomchesson et al. (US 2016/0186403).
Regarding claim 1, Tomchesson discloses a foundation pile comprising: a central axis member [145] that extends vertically in the up-down direction; a base plate [top of 225 best seen in Figure 1] formed on the upper end of the central axis member to fix the upper structure [driving and connecting components best seen in Figure 2] at the upper end; and a circumferential member [sleeve element best seen in Figures 1 & 2] provided on the upper side circumference of the central axis member to reinforce the upper side circumference of the central axis member, wherein the upper surface of the circumferential member is formed so as to come into contact with the lower surface of the base plate without any gap [Figure 2].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Tomchesson et al. (US 2016/0186403) discloses an upper and lower plate with the lower plate having a greater diameter however it is not installed beneath the ground. Holdeman (US 5066168) discloses two plates of identical diameter that are contiguous and not installed beneath the ground. Fuller (US 11851839) and Perko (US 6722821) do not disclose the intermediate plate. Rupiper (US 7004683) discloses two plates of the same diameter with holes for installing connecting bolts between the two that are not installed beneath the ground. As such, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest – either alone or in combination – a foundation pile having an intermediate plate that is installed beneath the ground surface and has a larger diameter than an upper plate; as explicitly recited in the instant claims.
Conclusion
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619