DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 2/10/2026 wherein claims 3, 7-8, 15-16, 19, 21-23, and 25 are canceled, claim 14 is withdrawn and claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-13, 17-18, 20, 24, and 26-30 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-14, 17-18, and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species IV (Figure 10), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/2024.
Claims 20 and 26-30 are examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “combustion section further comprises one or more centerbodies, with at least one centerbody of the one or more centerbodies including a central fuel channel having a set of fuel jets opening into the open interior (Claims 27 and 28) in combination with either “wherein the curvilinear centerline defines a spiral formation at the outlet such that the outlet defines a spiral-shaped opening that opens to the combustion chamber” (Claim 20) or “wherein the curvilinear centerline defines a tortuous-shaped formation at the outlet” (Claim 26) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). In addition, the “combustion section further comprises a set of vortex generators provided along the fuel nozzle body and extending into the open interior” (Claims 29 and 30) in combination with either “wherein the curvilinear centerline defines a spiral formation at the outlet such that the outlet defines a spiral-shaped opening that opens to the combustion chamber” (Claim 20) or “wherein the curvilinear centerline defines a tortuous-shaped formation at the outlet” (Claim 26) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 27-28 require at least one centerbody including a central fuel channel having a set of fuel jets opening into the open interior. Although Applicant’s specification describes some embodiments including a centerbody having a central fuel channel, Applicant’s specification does not describe and the drawings do not show a centerbody having a central fuel channel in the embodiment where the fuel nozzle body has a spiral shaped curvilinear centerline. Therefore, the claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one having ordinary skill in the art that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myers et al. (US 2024/0288170).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Myers teaches (Figures 1-23) a turbine engine (1) comprising:
a compression section (2), a combustion section (4), and a turbine section (6) in serial flow arrangement (see Figures 1-2), the combustion section (4) comprising:
a wall (48) at least partially forming a combustion chamber (within 46; see Figure 2), the wall (48) having a fuel nozzle opening (the opening in 48 for the passage of 370; see Figure 15); and
a fuel nozzle (300) extending through the fuel nozzle opening (80), the fuel nozzle (300) comprising:
a fuel nozzle body (320, 370) having a centerline (a central axis through 320; see Figures 14-18) and a continuous curvilinear structure (320; see Figures 14 and 17) bounding an open interior (at 80), the open interior (80) opening to the combustion chamber (within 48) at an outlet (at the side of 320 facing the combustion chamber; see Figures 14-18), the continuous curvilinear structure (320) terminating at the outlet (at the side of 320 facing the combustion chamber; see Figures 14-18) and having a curvilinear centerline at the outlet (see Figures 14-17); and
a set of fuel injection channels (340) provided within the fuel nozzle body (320) and opening into the open interior (80) at a set of fuel injection orifices (the outlet opening of 340; see Figures 14-17); and
wherein the curvilinear centerline (a central axis through 320; see Figures 14-18) defines a spiral formation (see Figures 14 and 17) at the outlet (at the side of 320 facing the combustion chamber) such that the outlet defines a spiral-shaped opening (see Figure 17), the spiral formation (see Figures 14 and 17) extending between a first circumferential end (at 330) and a second circumferential end (at 310), wherein the first circumferential end (at 330) is greater than 2π radians and less than or equal to 20π radians (see Figure 17) from the second circumferential end (at 310).
Regarding Independent Claim 26, Myers teaches (Figures 1-23) a turbine engine (1) comprising:
a compression section (2), a combustion section (4), and a turbine section (6) in serial flow arrangement (see Figures 1-2), the combustion section (4) comprising:
a wall (48) at least partially forming a combustion chamber (within 46; see Figure 2), the wall (48) having a fuel nozzle opening (the opening in 48 for the passage of 370; see Figure 15); and
a fuel nozzle (300) extending through the fuel nozzle opening (80), the fuel nozzle (300) comprising:
a fuel nozzle body (320, 370) having a centerline (a central axis through 320; see Figures 14-18) and a continuous curvilinear structure (320; see Figures 14 and 17) bounding an open interior (at 80), the open interior (80) opening to the combustion chamber (within 48) at an outlet (at the side of 320 facing the combustion chamber; see Figures 14-18), the continuous curvilinear structure (320) terminating at the outlet (at the side of 320 facing the combustion chamber; see Figures 14-18) and having a curvilinear centerline at the outlet (see Figures 14-17); and
a set of fuel injection channels (340) provided within the fuel nozzle body (320) and opening into the open interior (80) at a set of fuel injection orifices (the outlet opening of 340; see Figures 14-17); and
wherein the curvilinear centerline (a central axis through 320; see Figures 14-18) defines a tortuous-shaped formation (see Figures 14 and 17) at the outlet (at the side of 320 facing the combustion chamber) such that the outlet defines a tortuous-shaped opening (see Figure 17) that opens to the combustion chamber (within 48).
Regarding Claim 27, Myers teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Myers further teaches (Figures 1-23) wherein the combustion section (4) further comprises one or more centerbodies (250; see Figures 4-12 and 18), with at least one centerbody (250) of the one or more centerbodies (see Figures 4-12 and 18) including a central fuel channel (254) having a set of fuel jets (264) opening into the open interior (80).
Regarding Claim 28, Myers teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Myers further teaches (Figures 1-23) wherein the combustion section (4) further comprises one or more centerbodies (250; see Figures 4-12 and 18), with at least one centerbody (250) of the one or more centerbodies (see Figures 4-12 and 18) including a central fuel channel (254) having a set of fuel jets (264) opening into the open interior (80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers et al. (US 2024/0288170) in view of Boardman et al. (US 11,454,396).
Regarding Claim 29, Myers teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Myers does not teach wherein the combustion section further comprises a set of vortex generators provided along the fuel nozzle body and extending into the open interior.
Boardman teaches (Figures 1-7C) vortex generators (480, 600, 900; see abstract and Figures 5-7C) provided along a fuel nozzle body (410, 615) and extending into an open interior (the opening within 410; see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Myers to have a set of vortex generators provided along the fuel nozzle body and extending into the open interior, as taught by Boardman, in order to generate a vortex pair that accelerates the mixing of air and fuel being injected (see abstract of Boardman).
Regarding Claim 30, Myers teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Myers does not teach wherein the combustion section further comprises a set of vortex generators provided along the fuel nozzle body and extending into the open interior.
Boardman teaches (Figures 1-7C) vortex generators (480, 600, 900; see abstract and Figures 5-7C) provided along a fuel nozzle body (410, 615) and extending into an open interior (the opening within 410; see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Myers to have a set of vortex generators provided along the fuel nozzle body and extending into the open interior, as taught by Boardman, in order to generate a vortex pair that accelerates the mixing of air and fuel being injected (see abstract of Boardman).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Myers does not teach a spiral shaped opening that opens to the combustion chamber because the interior of tube 320 is circular in shape. In response, it is noted that the interior of the tube is not interpreted as being the outlet of the fuel nozzle. Instead, the open interior is interpreted as the opening of 80 that is bounded by tube 320. Therefore, the curvilinear centerline (a central axis through 320; see Figures 14-18) defines a spiral formation (see Figures 14 and 17) at the outlet (at the side of 320 facing the combustion chamber) such that the outlet defines a spiral-shaped opening (formed by the walls of 320; see Figure 17 below).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741