Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s recitation in claims 1 and 22 of an ion optical system and related method employing radiations sources to effect cleaning/charge neutralization employs language such as “wherein the radiation source comprises one or more of an electron source…and an electromagnetic radiation source…” in claim 1 and “wherein (i): the radiation source comprises an electromagnetic radiation source…; and/or (ii) the radiation source comprises an electron source…
This is consistent with the specification which states that the radiation source may be the electromagnetic radiation source, the electron source, or an embodiment where both are combined. Claims 1 and 22 along with their dependent claims are interpreted to cover embodiments covering each type of radiation source individually, and the disclosed embodiment where the radiation source includes both electromagnetic and electron emission sources.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embodiment where the radiation source includes both electromagnetic and electron sources must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2003/0066975.
Regarding claims 1 and 22, ‘975 discloses an ion optical system and method for reducing charged contaminants [0003-5] comprising generating charged particles by exciting a radiation source (11) distinct from a contaminated surface where the radiation source is a UV light source, and hence is an electromagnetic radiation generating element which produces photons which interact with a surface being coated with a photoemitting material (16) including a “photocatalytic” layer composed of titanium dioxide for example and where the interaction of the UV light with the contaminant or photoemitting layer produces charged particles, such as radicals [0023] to neutralize charged contaminants.
Regarding claim 21, ‘975 discloses a sample, or substrate, is introduced into the apparatus and affixed on a wafer chuck [0018-0019], manipulated by the ion optical system prior to removal, and acted upon in accord with the method of claim 1 as noted above.
Regarding claims 2 and 23, ‘975 discloses a photoemitting material or photocatalyst for generating charged particles by interaction with the UV light [0020-0021].
Regarding claim 3, ‘975 discloses the photocatalyst includes metal [0020-0021].
Regarding claim 4, ‘975 discloses coating a photoemitting material on any surface in the vacuum chamber [0009], including an electrode of the illumination optical system [0016].
Regrading claims 5 and 11, ‘975 discloses a contaminated surface may include an electrodes [0005, 0016], such as the recited deflectors, coated as noted above in ‘975 and potentially contaminated as taught in ‘975.
Regarding claim 6, ‘975 discloses coating a vacuum chamber interior with the photoemitting/photocatalyst material the coating being distinct from the contaminated surface.
Regarding claim 7, ‘975 discloses that the photocatalyst material generates an electron 24 [0020].
Regarding claim 9, the electromagnetic radiation source of ‘975 comprises a UV generating source [0020].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 12-20, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DAVID A. VANORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878