DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 09/01/2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 26 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720).
Regarding claim 21, Lomnes discloses a device, comprising: a probe ([0044] discloses: 240, endoscope) configured to (i) direct a beam of light from a light source ([0044] discloses: 227, light source) to an imaging subject ([0034] discloses: 8, subject) and (ii) collect light from said imaging subject upon said beam of light contacting said imaging subject ([0044] discloses: the functions of 226, beam splitter, 228, and 230 cameras and 229 and 231, filters 223, excitation source and 227, white light source, are substantially the same as the corresponding elements in FIG. 1; [0037] discloses: light reflected by 8, subject, is received through lens an beam splitter and into cameras); and a light filtering device ([0044] discloses: 220, imaging unit) in optical communication with said probe ([0037] discloses: light reflected by 8, subject received through 129, and 131 filters, analogous to 229 and 231, see [0044], of Figure 2; Examiner notes that the filters receive the light from 240, endoscope; therefore considered to be in optical communication with the 220, imaging unit),
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said light filtering device comprises (a) a chamber having (i) an input configured to receive said light collected by said probe and (ii) an output configured to transmit a focused portion of said light away from said chamber through an output aperture and (b) a plurality of reflectors disposed in said chamber, wherein said plurality of reflectors is configured to direct said light received, in an optical path from said input to said output via reflectance of said light between reflectors of said plurality of reflectors, wherein said chamber and said output aperture are configured to reject out of focus light along said optical path, wherein said output aperture is located on said optical path between said sensor and said plurality of reflectors. Lomnes and Bourcier are related because both disclose optical systems.
Bourcier teaches a device wherein said light filtering device comprises (a) a chamber ([0057] teaches: strip selection mirror MO and slots M1-M5; Examiner notes that the collective of mirrors is considered an optical chamber and functions equivalently; Examiner notes that the mirrors would be mounted along the interior walls of 120, imaging unit of Lomnes to correct for stray light before imaging) having (i) an input ([0054] teaches: MO, scanning mirror; considered to be the input of the optical chamber) configured to receive said light collected by said probe (Figure 1 depicts: light from O, object, collected by MO, scanning mirror and introduced into system) and (ii) an output ([0061] teaches: M5, imaging mirror) configured to transmit a focused portion of said light away from said chamber ([0061] teaches: M5, imaging mirror, reflects beams to the detection assembly) and (b) a plurality of reflectors disposed in said chamber ([0057] teaches: strip selection mirror MO and slots M1-M5; therefore considered a plurality of reflectors disposed in said chamber; Examiner notes that he mirrors make up the optical chamber), wherein said plurality of reflectors is configured to direct said light received ([0057] – [0061] teach), in an optical path from said input to said output via reflectance of said light between reflectors of said plurality of reflectors (see Figure 1), wherein said chamber is configured to reject out of focus light along said optical path ([0057] teaches: removing stray light via mirror MO and slot M1-5). Lomnes and Justus are related because both disclose optical systems.
Justus teaches a device with an output configured to transmit a focused portion of said light away from said chamber through an output aperture (Figures 2, 13B-15 collectively depict; Col. 4 lines 16-32 and Col. 9 lines 45-58 teaches: light is repeatedly focused by the mirrors and exits through 99, output aperture); and said output aperture is located on said optical path between said sensor and said plurality of reflectors (Figures 13B-15 depict: 99, output aperture is downstream of 43, 44, and 43, mirror arrangement and upstream of 133, photodetector). Lomnes and White are related because both disclose optical systems.
White teaches a device wherein and said output aperture are configured to reject out of focus light along said optical path (Figure 2; Col. 4 lines 1-16 teach: 31, diaphragm to limit light reaching detector, for beam spot; thus considered the diaphragm is configured to reject out of focus light, see abstract for light emanated from points spatially displaced from the beam spot).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Bourcier, Justus and White and provide a device wherein said light filtering device comprises (a) a chamber having (i) an input configured to receive said light collected by said probe and (ii) an output configured to transmit a focused portion of said light away from said chamber through an output aperture and (b) a plurality of reflectors disposed in said chamber, wherein said plurality of reflectors is configured to direct said light received, in an optical path from said input to said output via reflectance of said light between reflectors of said plurality of reflectors, wherein said chamber and said output aperture are configured to reject out of focus light along said optical path, wherein said output aperture is located on said optical path between said sensor and said plurality of reflectors. Doing so would allow for removal of stray light from the optical path (Bourcier: 0057), thereby improving the overall efficiency and performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 26, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21, wherein said output is configured to direct a focused portion of said light to a collector ([0034] discloses: 80, processing engine; Figure 2 depicts: light, focused by mirrors, filters and cameras, sent to 80, processing engine via 81, communications channel, therefore considered a collector) wherein said device comprises said collector (Figure 2 depicts: device containing 80, processing engine).
Regarding claim 33, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21, further comprising a beam splitter disposed between said probe and said light filtering device, wherein said beam splitter is configured to (i) split said light to generate a split light and (ii) direct at least a portion of said split light to said light filtering unit ([0037] discloses: 126, beamsplitter, divides light into channels going to 129 and 131, considered elements of the light filtering device).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720), as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Yuan et al. (US 2021/0018736, of record).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein a cross sectional diameter of said output is greater than or equal to about 0.1 times a cross sectional diameter of said input. Lomnes and Yuan are related because both disclose optical systems.
Yuan teaches a device wherein a cross sectional diameter of said output is greater than or equal to about 0.1 times a cross sectional diameter of said input ([0030] teaches: beam expander, and optical filters; Examiner notes that beam expanders expand the cross section of beams, therefore Yuan teaches an output beam with a greater cross sectional diameter than the input beam).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Stein and provide teaches a device wherein a cross sectional diameter of said output is greater than or equal to about 0.1 times a cross sectional diameter of said input. Doing so would allow for expanding and shaping the laser beam (Yuan: 0030), thereby improving the overall functionality and efficiency of the optical system.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720), as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Wax et al. (US 2011/0157596, of record).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21, wherein said chamber has a longest internal linear dimension (Figure 2 depicts: 220, imaging unit, with a longest internal linear dimension; with the mirrors mounted on the imaging unit walls, the beam path is influenced by chamber geometry).
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said optical path has a path length that is at least 3 times a length of said longest linear dimension. However, optimizing the path length relative to chamber geometry is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Wax teaches in paragraph [0037] that the path length of the reference beam is set by adjusting the retroreflector and established multi-reflection path length scaling as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the path length and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the path length described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose or produces an unexpected result. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to adjust to the path length to any number of options that optimize the system efficiency since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 24, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said optical path has a pathlength greater than or equal to 0.25 meters, 0.5 meters, or 1 meter. However, optimizing the path length relative to chamber geometry is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Wax teaches in paragraph [0037] that the path length of the reference beam is set by adjusting the retroreflector and established multi-reflection path length scaling as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the path length and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the path length described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose or produces an unexpected result. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to adjust to the path length to any number of options that optimize the system efficiency since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 25, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein at least one reflector of said plurality of reflectors is a retroreflector. Lomnes and Wax are related because both disclose optical systems.
Wax teaches a device wherein at least one reflector of said plurality of reflectors is a retroreflector ([0037] teaches: 22, retroreflector, as part of plurality of reflectors in system).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Wax and provide a device wherein at least one reflector of said plurality of reflectors is a retroreflector. Doing so would allow for setting the path length and direction of the reference beam, thereby improving the overall efficiency of the optical system.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720), as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Hunter (US 4,357,075, of record).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said plurality of reflectors includes a first reflector, wherein said plurality of reflectors are arranged to direct a focused portion of the light in an optical path between the reflectors, and wherein the optical path returns to the first reflector a plurality of times before reaching the output. Lomnes and Hunter are related because both disclose reflection systems.
Hunter teaches a device wherein said plurality of reflectors includes a first reflector (Col. 3, lines 22-29 teach: back reflector and first reflector), wherein said plurality of reflectors are arranged to direct a focused portion of the light in an optical path between the reflectors (in at least abstract teaches: a reflective focusing system; two confocal concave reflectors forming intermediate and final foci, the optical path between reflectors is focused due to confocal geometry), and wherein the optical path returns to the first reflector a plurality of times before reaching the output (Col. 3, lines 22-29 teach: back reflector and first reflector, reflects from first reflector to back reflector and again on first reflector; which constitutes at least two reflections at the first reflector, therefore satisfying “plurality”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Hunter and provide a device wherein said plurality of reflectors includes a first reflector, wherein said plurality of reflectors are arranged to direct a focused portion of the light in an optical path between the reflectors, and wherein the optical path returns to the first reflector a plurality of times before reaching the output. Doing so would allow for extra radiation to be collected without increasing the size of the first reflector (Col. 3, lines 22-29), thereby improving the overall performance and efficiency of the optical system.
Claims 28-29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720), as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Hunter (US 4,357,075, of record) in view of Wax et al. (US 2011/0157596, of record).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said plurality of reflectors comprises a first reflector at a first location within said chamber and a second reflector at a second location within said chamber, which first reflector is configured to direct said light to said second reflector, and said optical path has a path length, wherein said first reflector and said second reflector are separated by a distance and wherein said pathlength is at least five times said distance. Lomnes and Hunter are related because both disclose reflection systems.
Hunter teaches a device wherein said plurality of reflectors comprises a first reflector at a first location within said chamber and a second reflector at a second location within said chamber (Col. 3, lines 22-29 teach: back reflector and first reflector), which first reflector is configured to direct said light to said second reflector (Col. 3, lines 22-29 teach: back reflector and first reflector, reflects from first reflector to back reflector and again on first reflector;), and said optical path has a path length (Examiner notes that the reflectors that reflect the light necessarily have a path length), wherein said first reflector and said second reflector are separated by a distance (Figure 2 depicts: reflectors separated by a distance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Hunter and provide a device wherein said plurality of reflectors comprises a first reflector at a first location within said chamber and a second reflector at a second location within said chamber, which first reflector is configured to direct said light to said second reflector, and said optical path has a path length. Doing so would allow for extra radiation to be collected without increasing the size of the first reflector (Col. 3, lines 22-29), thereby improving the overall performance and efficiency of the optical system.
The modified Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said first reflector and said second reflector are separated by a distance and wherein said pathlength is at least five times said distance of reflector separation distance. However, optimizing the path length relative to chamber geometry is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Wax teaches in paragraph [0037] that the path length of the reference beam is set by adjusting the retroreflector and established multi-reflection path length scaling as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the path length and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the path length described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose or produces an unexpected result. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to adjust to the path length to any number of options that optimize the system efficiency since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 29, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 28.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said pathlength that said light traverses is from five times to thirty times said distance. However, optimizing the path length relative to chamber geometry is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Wax teaches in paragraph [0037] that the path length of the reference beam is set by adjusting the retroreflector and established multi-reflection path length scaling as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the path length and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the path length described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose or produces an unexpected result. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to adjust to the path length to any number of options that optimize the system efficiency since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Examiner notes that this is the same optimization as claim 28.
Regarding claim 34, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said device is configured for confocal imaging. Lomnes and Hunter are related because both disclose optical systems.
Hunter teaches a device wherein said device is configured for confocal imaging (title teaches: confocal reflection system).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Hunter and provide a device wherein said device is configured for confocal imaging. Doing so would allow for extra radiation to be collected, thereby improving the overall performance and efficiency of the optical system.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720), as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Own et al. (US 9,564,291, of record).
Regarding claim 30, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device further comprising a scanning unit disposed between said light source and said probe, wherein said scanning unit is configured to scan said beam of light across said imaging subject. Lomnes and Own are related because both disclose optical systems.
Own teaches a device further comprising a scanning unit disposed between said light source and said probe, wherein said scanning unit is configured to scan said beam of light across said imaging subject (Figure 1 depicts: 190, beam scanners, between 30, probe and 35, beam source; in at least abstract teaches: beam is a light beam; Claim 4 teaches: beam scanner to scan the light beam across the sample).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Own and provide a device further comprising a scanning unit disposed between said light source and said probe, wherein said scanning unit is configured to scan said beam of light across said imaging subject. Doing so would allow to scan said light beam across the sample, thereby improving the overall functionality of the optical system.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720), as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Michel et al. (US 2022/0291429, of record).
Regarding claim 31, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said probe comprises an objective configured to collimate said light. Lomnes and Michel are related because both disclose optical systems.
Michel teaches a device wherein said probe comprises an objective configured to collimate said light ([0011] teaches: diffractive optical element to collimate the probe laser beam).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Michel and provide a device wherein said probe comprises an objective configured to collimate said light. Doing so would allow for collimation of light in a compact probe, thereby improving the overall efficiency and performance of the optical system.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720), as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0029521, of record).
Regarding claim 32, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21, further comprising an alignment unit disposed between said probe and said light filtering device ([0044] discloses: 240, endoscope may contain proximal or distal detectors, therefore considered to be an alignment unit).
Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein said alignment unit is configured to (i) direct said light to said light filtering device and (ii) adjust an angle of entry of said light into said chamber. Lomnes and Kim are related because both disclose optical systems.
Kim teaches a device further comprising an alignment unit disposed between said probe and said light filtering device, wherein said alignment unit is configured to (i) direct said light to said light filtering device and (ii) adjust an angle of entry of said light into said chamber ([0109] teaches: driving unit, to finely adjust reflection angle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Kim and provide a device wherein said alignment unit is configured to (i) direct said light to said light filtering device and (ii) adjust an angle of entry of said light into said chamber. Doing so would allow for fine adjustments and control of reflection angle of light, thereby improving the overall efficiency of the optical system.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Bourcier et al. (US 2019/0018230, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720), as applied to claim 21 above, in view of Mahecic et al. (US 2022/0026695, of record).
Regarding claim 35, the modified Lomnes discloses the device of claim 21.
Lomnes fails to disclose a device further comprising a beam de-expander unit positioned between said beam of light and said light filtering device. Lomnes and Mahecic are related because both disclose optical systems.
Mahecic teaches a device further comprising a beam de-expander unit ([0066] teaches: 16, beam de-expander).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Mahecic and provide a device further comprising a beam de-expander unit. Doing so would allow for controlled de-expanding of beam, thereby improving the overall performance of the optical system.
The modified Lomnes fails to disclose a device wherein the beam de-expander unit is positioned between said beam of light and said light filtering device. However, choosing a location for an optical device such as a beam de-expander is a design choice and well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), and In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to design choice to place the beam de-expander wherever needed in the system for performance or compactness since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable designs by routine experimentation. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the beam de-expander unit between beam of light and light filtering device described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any number of arrangements of optical elements, and success in doing so would have been predictable. Therefore, the claimed use of a device wherein the beam de-expander unit is positioned between said beam of light and said light filtering device represents a routine variation within the skill of the art.
Claims 36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Hunter (US 4,357,075, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720) in view of Wax et al. (US 2011/0157596, of record).
Regarding claim 36, Lomnes discloses a method for imaging an imaging subject, comprising:(a) providing a probe ([0044] discloses: 240, endoscope) in optical communication with (i) a light filtering device ([0044] discloses: 220, imaging unit; Examiner notes that the imaging unit images the subject through the endoscope, therefore considered in optical communication with) comprising a chamber (Examiner notes that 220, imaging unit is considered a chamber) and (ii) said imaging subject ([0034] discloses: 8, subject); (b) transmitting said beam of light from a light source to an imaging subject via said probe and collecting light from said imaging subject upon said beam of light contacting said imaging subject ([0044] discloses: the functions of 226, beam splitter, 228, and 230 cameras and 229 and 231, filters 223, excitation source and 227, white light source, are substantially the same as the corresponding elements in FIG. 1; [0037] discloses: light reflected by 8, subject, is received through lens an beam splitter and into cameras).(c) using said probe to provide a beam of light to said imaging subject and collect a resulting return beam of light from said imaging subject (Figure 2 depicts: light from light source, sent through probe, [0044] discloses: return light beam for image using imaging unit);(d) directing said return beam of light from said imaging subject to said chamber of said light filtering device (Examiner notes that the endoscope functions to send the light from the imaging subject to 220, imaging unit), to generate an image of said imaging subject (in at least abstract discloses: image processing).
Lomnes fails to disclose a method comprising (e) repeatedly directing said beam of light from a first reflector to a second reflector within said chamber of said light filtering device such that a pathlength that said beam of light traverses between said first reflector and said second reflector is at least three times a distance separating said first reflector and said second reflector, and directing said beam of light from said second reflector through an optical aperture to filter out of focus light, wherein said optical aperture is located on an optical path between said second reflector and said optical aperture. Lomnes and Hunter are related because both disclose optical systems.
Hunter teaches a method comprising (e) repeatedly directing said beam of light from a first reflector to a second reflector within said chamber (Col. 3, lines 22-29 teach: back reflector and first reflector, reflects from first reflector to back reflector and again on first reflector).
The modified Lomnes fails to disclose pathlength that said beam of light traverses between said first reflector and said second reflector is at least three times a distance separating said first reflector and said second reflector. However, optimizing the path length relative to chamber geometry is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Wax teaches in paragraph [0037] that the path length of the reference beam is set by adjusting the retroreflector and established multi-reflection path length scaling as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the path length and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the path length described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose or produces an unexpected result. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to adjust to the path length to any number of options that optimize the system efficiency since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Justus teaches a method with an output configured to transmit a focused portion of said light away from said chamber through an output aperture (Figures 2, 13B-15 collectively depict; Col. 4 lines 16-32 and Col. 9 lines 45-58 teaches: light is repeatedly focused by the mirrors and exits through 99, output aperture; thus at least suggesting the claimed method); and said output aperture is located on said optical path between said sensor and said plurality of reflectors (Figures 13B-15 depict: 99, output aperture is downstream of 43, 44, and 43, mirror arrangement and upstream of 133, photodetector; thus at least suggesting the claimed method). Lomnes and White are related because both disclose optical systems.
White teaches a method wherein and said output aperture are configured to reject out of focus light along said optical path (Figure 2; Col. 4 lines 1-16 teach: 31, diaphragm to limit light reaching detector, for beam spot; thus considered the diaphragm is configured to reject out of focus light, see abstract for light emanated from points spatially displaced from the beam spot).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Hunter, Justus and White and provide a device a method comprising (e) repeatedly directing said beam of light from a first reflector to a second reflector within said chamber of said light filtering device, and directing said beam of light from said second reflector through an optical aperture to filter out of focus light, wherein said optical aperture is located on an optical path between said second reflector and said optical aperture. Doing so would allow for removal of stray light from the optical path, thereby improving the overall efficiency and performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 40, the modified Lomnes discloses the method of claim 36.
Lomnes fails to disclose a method wherein said pathlength said beam of light traverses is at least five times said distance separating said first location and said second location. However, optimizing the path length relative to chamber geometry is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Wax teaches in paragraph [0037] that the path length of the reference beam is set by adjusting the retroreflector and established multi-reflection path length scaling as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the path length and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the path length described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose or produces an unexpected result. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to adjust to the path length to any number of options that optimize the system efficiency since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claims 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lomnes et al. (US 2009/0236541, of record) in view of Hunter (US 4,357,075, of record) in view of Justus et al. (US 5,867,329) in view of White (US 5,032,720) in view of Wax et al. (US 2011/0157596, of record), as applied to claim 36 above, in view of Mahecic et al. (US 2022/0026695, of record).
Regarding claim 37, the modified Lomnes discloses the method of claim 36.
Lomnes fails to disclose a method further comprising, prior to (d), directing said return beam of light to a beam de-expander unit. Lomnes and Mahecic are related because both disclose optical systems.
Mahecic teaches a method further comprising, a beam de-expander unit ([0066] teaches: 16, beam de-expander).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Mahecic and provide a device further comprising a beam de-expander unit. Doing so would allow for controlled de-expanding of beam, thereby improving the overall performance of the optical system.
The modified Lomnes fails to dislcsoe a method prior to (d), directing said return beam of light to a beam de-expander unit. However, choosing a location, and therefore order, for an optical device such as a beam de-expander is a design choice and well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), and In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to design choice to place the beam de-expander wherever needed in the system for performance or compactness since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable designs by routine experimentation. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the beam de-expander unit between beam of light and light filtering device described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any number of arrangements of optical elements, and success in doing so would have been predictable. Therefore, the claimed use of a device wherein the beam de-expander unit is positioned between said beam of light and said light filtering device represents a routine variation within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 39, the modified Lomnes discloses the method of claim 37.
Lomnes fails to disclose a method further comprising using said light for confocal imaging. Lomnes and Hunter are related because both disclose optical systems.
Hunter teaches a method further comprising using said light for confocal imaging (title teaches: confocal reflection system).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lomnes to incorporate the teachings of Hunter and provide a device wherein said device is configured for confocal imaging. Doing so would allow for extra radiation to be collected, thereby improving the overall performance and efficiency of the optical system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Sipes whose telephone number is (703)756-1372. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 4:30-9:30/12:30-7:30 (CT).
John Sipes
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872