DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: conveying apparatus in claim 1, lifting mechanism in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 12, 14, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Moriaski (2010/0047448).
Moriaski teaches a device for processing a wafer, comprising:
- a conveying apparatus and at least one reaction apparatus, see Fig. 8 with conveying apparatus 201 connected to a reaction apparatus 100, the conveying apparatus is interpreted under 112(f) as including a robot with at least an arm as depicted in Figs. 1 and 4 and per [0075], and equivalents thereof, 201 of Moriaski has the same parts,
- wherein the reaction apparatus comprises a reaction chamber, a gas supply module and a gas extraction module, see Figs. 3, 4 and 7, particularly also per [0110-114] wherein gas supply and extraction (exhaust/pump) is described, and are positioned on opposite sides of the chamber (see also inlet 130/
- as per Fig. 7 and the noted text, the conveying apparatus (entering chamber through 101B) is on the same side as the gas supply module, nozzle (101C) [0112], and, as per the citation, the conveying apparatus loads/unloads the substrates.
‘High temperature’ and ‘processing of an epitaxial layer’ are intended use of the apparatus. It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). The prior art apparatus is useable for a “high-temperature” process and an epitaxial process is a selection of process, not system.
Regarding claim 2, the system further includes a:
- reaction chamber body, see 101 per the noted figures wherein it is connected to the gas supply, extraction and conveying apparatus as noted above,
- a lifting mechanism, the lifting mechanism is interpreted under 112(f) as per above and includes at least a drive component and an execution component as described and depicted and the equivalents; Moriaski teaches a drive part (movable unit 109) and shaft (execution component) that effect up/down movement [0083];
- and a tray – see transfer plate 110 [0083] that is understood to be detachably provided as it is transferable and used for loading the wafers (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 7-9, there is a transfer channel, see 101B [0112], Fig. 7 and a gas supply tube is provided in the reaction chamber, see Fig. 4 at least 101a and/or 101C, but also per 101C wherein the gas tube and transfer channel are vertically arranged and per claim 9 there is at least one channel in the gas tube (as would be necessary to convey a gas).
Regarding claim 12, while it is not clear what the gas is “separately adjusted” relative to, the use of the apparatus is intended use in any case. The gas flow of the prior art is understood to have a flow rate of some value. There are no limitations on structure as to how to adjust it.
Regarding claim 14, the conveying apparatus includes a chamber and mechanical arm (see robot arm) as described above and per Fig. 7 as noted.
Regarding claim 15, there are chambers 202 connected to the conveying chamber and, even though the use is intended use and not limited, is used for storing/transferring wafers [0116-18].
Regarding claim 17, the mechanical arms is held as per Fig. 7, the arm includes:
- a fixed seat in the conveying chamber – taken as the circular portion at the base,
- a mechanical arm module, the movable part that includes the 3 arms,
- a gripper component – see 201A which includes a transfer arm for holding the wafer.
It is understood as depicted and described [0111] that the mechanical arm module drives the gripper which holds the substrate and as depicted moves in and out of the reaction chamber, thereby meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 18, initially it is noted that the arm components aren’t specifically limited by their intended use, however, they are limited by ability to function as claimed. The teachings include the active arm component, which is the component originating from the described fixed seat (furthest from the reaction chamber), and rotates on the fixed seat as depicted/described, a passive arm component that is attached to the active arm component as depicted with the cantilever rod component attached to the passive arm with gripper attached (not shown but described/understood as in the process chamber) – all as per below in the annotated version of Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 19, the teachings do not specify a motor, however, as per MPEP 2144.01, it is proper to take into account both explicit and implicit teachings of a reference. In the art, it would be well understood that there is some type of a motor to drive the robot as taught by Moriaski.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 10, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriaski in view of Takahashi (2016/0319424).
Regarding claim 3, Moriaski teaches a lifting component as noted per claim 2 above – in regard to the lifting execution component is provided on a bottom plate and with a sealing fit – the teachings include a bottom plate (see Fig. 4). The penetration through the bottom plate is analogous to the instant figures which depict a similar relationship of the bottom plate with the execution component (i.e. shaft) protruding through, but Moriaski does not specifically teach a “sealing fit”. Takahashi teaches, however, that it is useful to include a bellows around a lifting rod in a system that allows a substate holder to be raised and lowered, see Fig. 1 and particularly [0099-0104]. The bellows (equivalent to the “scalable sealing sleeve” of claim 4) helps to protect the chamber from contamination from the moving parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to include the bellows of Takahashi in the system of Moriaski as it would allow for an effective manner of sealing the moving parts from the chamber as taught by Takahashi. The combined art further includes a bottom plate of the chamber of Takahashi where the bellows contacts.
In regard to the tray, the tray is depicted as at the lifting execution component upper portion and as above described as detachable. As described here and above per claim 2 and per [0083], the lifting drive component is connected to the execution component as claimed with the tray rising and falling as described [0083].
Regarding claim 4, in regard to the parts of the lifting execution component, Moriaski includes at least the lifting rod and some type of lifting seat where the lifts from the drive component (109). The scalable sealing device is the bellows of Takahashi and as understood in the combination, it seals with the bottom plate as per Takahashi. In regard to the specific arrangement, it is generally taught by the combined art in implementing the bellows contacting the bottom plate of Takahashi in the apparatus of Moriaski, however, in view of the claimed arrangement, it is generally equivalent but wherein the rod is connected to a bracket, such a modification is a mere rearrangement of parts. Rearrangement of parts is routine, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C. and parts like brackets, and inserting various components into adjoining components is generally known and not patentable, brackets and insertion of parts is a mere method of connecting various parts in such systems. The test for obviousness is not whether the claimed invention is expressly suggested in any one or all of the references, but rather whether the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art in the light of the combined teachings of those references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981). One of ordinary skill can use his or her ordinary skill, creativity, and common sense to make the necessary adjustments and further modifications to result in a properly functioning device. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (“a court can take into account the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ”).
Regarding claim 5, as depicted, the bellows is a corrugated pipe.
Regarding claim 6, per [0083] and Fig. 4, the lifting mechanism is capable of rotation as well.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Moriaski is silent on a gate valve, but Takahashi teaches such an arrangement is known between a chamber and a transfer chamber [0099]. The further combination of the references would have been obvious for the purpose of sealing off between the transfer and process chamber. In further regard to claim 11, Examiner takes Official Notice that the claimed composition of the gate valve is a known gate valve and not patentable wherein the art teaches a gate valve. The Office further notes the arguments in regard to the combination of parts and obviousness of using ordinary skill for a properly functioning device – it is noted that a gate valve would be generally understood to include a component to drive the valve as well as a plate or means of sealing as well as a channel to open and close the valve in order to function as desired.
Regarding claim 16, as per claim 10 above, Takahashi teaches a gate valve between two chambers. This rejection does not rely on the combination of the references as per claim 3; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply the gate valve of Takahashi for the purpose of effectively separating/sealing the chambers.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriaski.
Regarding claim 13, Moriaski does not specifically teach multiple gas channels in the supply tube or the relative size thereof. But such modifications are obvious wherein the purpose of the purpose is to supply gases to the chamber. As per Fig. 3, multiple gases are available and the use of multiple gas channels would have been a routine duplication of parts, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. and modification of size also obvious, see 2144.04 IV. A. Both having multiple channels and the modification of the size is obvious and not shown as critical within the scope of the invention. Such modifications would have been obvious for performing processes with the system for gas control.
Regarding claim 20, the teachings do not include a motor such as a servo or stepper, but Examiner takes Official notice that such motors are well known for controlling robotic movements in a process chamber.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712