DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Ohguro does not teach “conductive frames”, but a “substrate”, “first lead”, and “second lead” (Remarks, p. 11). However, no argument is made for why these elements of Ohguro do not correspond to the claimed elements other than having different names.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Applicant argues that Ikeda cannot be combined with Ohguro to teach the claimed three bent side plates, as cited in the previous Office action (Remarks, p. 12). Applicant states that Ohguro only has “distal” and “proximal” parts 181 and 183. These elements were previously cited to correspond to the cover plate and one side plate (see Ohguro, Fig. 6A, elements 181/183 and compare with Application Fig. 4, 33/333). Ikeda is cited as teaching a cover plate and three side plates, see Fig. 17 element 75 and [0129]. Applicant further states that Ikeda cannot be combined with the “two-part” structure of Ohguro for unexplained reasons, and does not address the motivation provided.
The rejections are maintained.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 9 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 refers to the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth electrodes. No antecedent basis is provided for the first through fourth electrodes in claim 5 or the claims from which it depends. For purposes of examination, in light of the disclosure, claim 5 will be interpreted to additionally recite that the first bare die has first and third electrodes and the second bare die has second and fourth electrodes. Examiner notes that the Remarks dated 8/25/26 state that the claim has been amended to overcome this rejection, however, no substantive amendment to the claim was made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohguro (U.S. PGPub 2022/0084917).
Regarding claim 1, Ohguro teaches a chip package module (Figs. 1-6), comprising:
a first conductive frame (111, Fig. 2, [0043]),
a first bare die disposed on the first conductive frame (140, [0046], Figs. 4-5)
a second conductive frame disposed at an interval from the first conductive frame (121, [0044], Fig. 2),
a third conductive frame disposed at an interval from the second conductive frame (131, Fig. 2, [0045]), wherein the first conductive frame, the second conductive frame, and the third conductive frame are connected to a pin (extension parts 112, 122, 132, [0043]-[0045]),
a first conductive connecting sheet, connected to a surface of the first bare die away from the first conductive frame, and extending to be lapped on the second conductive frame (160, [0053], Fig. 3),
a second bare die, laminated on the surface of the first bare die away from the first conductive frame, and connected to the first conductive connecting sheet (150, [0050]), and
a conductive cover plate, connected to a surface of the second bare die away from the first conductive frame, and extending to be connected to the first conductive frame (180, [0064], Fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 2, Ohguro teaches wherein
a first electrode of the first bare die is electrically connected to the first conductive frame (143, [0047]), and a second electrode of the second bare die is electrically connected to the conductive cover plate, to implement an electrical connection between the first electrode and the second electrode (153, [0051], [0063], Fig. 6A),
both a third electrode of the first bare die and a fourth electrode of the second bare die are electrically connected to the first conductive connecting sheet, to implement an electrical connection between the third electrode and the fourth electrode (Fig. 4, 141/151, [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Ohguro teaches wherein the chip package module further comprises a second conductive connecting sheet (170, [0038], Fig. 5),
the second conductive connecting sheet is connected to the surface of the first bare die away from the first conductive frame, and extends to be lapped on the third conductive frame, and the second conductive connecting sheet is disposed at an interval from the first conductive connecting sheet (Fig. 3, [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Ohguro teaches wherein both a fifth electrode of the first bare die and a sixth electrode of the second bare die are electrically connected to the second conductive connecting sheet, to implement an electrical connection between the fifth electrode and the sixth electrode (Fig. 5, 142/152, [0058]).
Regarding claim 5, Ohguro teaches wherein the first bare die comprises a first electrode and a third electrode and the second bare die comprises a second electrode and a fourth electrode (141/143, 151/153, Figs. 4-5), wherein the first electrode is a first source, the third electrode is a first drain, the fifth electrode is a first gate, the second electrode is a second source, the fourth electrode is a second drain, and the sixth electrode is a second gate ([0047], [0051]-[0060]),
the first source, the first drain, and the first gate are electrically connected in a one-to-one correspondence to the first conductive frame, the first conductive connecting sheet, and the second conductive connecting sheet; and the second source, the second drain, and the second gate are electrically connected in a one-to-one correspondence to the conductive cover plate, the first conductive connecting sheet, and the second conductive connecting sheet (Figs. 3-5, [0047], [0051]-[0060], [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Ohguro teaches wherein the first source is connected in parallel to the second source, the first drain is connected in parallel to the second drain, and the first gate is connected in parallel to the second gate ([0086]).
Regarding claim 7, Ohguro teaches wherein the first drain is electrically connected to the first conductive frame, the first gate is electrically connected to the first conductive connecting sheet, and the first source is electrically connected to the second conductive connecting sheet; and the second drain is electrically connected to the conductive cover plate, the second gate is electrically connected to the first conductive connecting sheet, and the second source is electrically connected to the second conductive connecting sheet ([0047], [0051]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Ohguro teaches wherein solder is disposed between the first bare die and the first conductive frame, and an electrical connection is implemented by soldering (143a, [0047], [0083]),
solder is disposed in regions in which the first conductive connecting sheet is lapped on the first bare die and the second conductive frame, and the first conductive connecting sheet is electrically connected to the first bare die and the second conductive frame by soldering (141a, 123, [0055]-[0056], [0083]),
solder is disposed in a region in which the second bare die is lapped on the first conductive connecting sheet, and the second bare die is electrically connected to the first conductive connecting sheet by soldering (151a, [0055], [0083]) and
solder is disposed between the conductive cover plate and the second bare die, and the conductive cover plate is electrically connected to the second bare die by soldering (153a, [0065], [0083]).
Regarding claim 14, Ohguro teaches a method, comprising:
providing a first conductive frame, a second conductive frame, and a third conductive frame, wherein the second conductive frame is disposed at an interval beside the first conductive frame, the third conductive frame is disposed at an interval from the second conductive frame (111, 121, 131, [0076], Fig. 7A),
the first conductive frame, the second conductive frame, and the third conductive frame are connected to a pin (extension parts 112, 122, 132, [0043]-[0045]),
attaching a first bare die to the first conductive frame (140, [0076], Fig. 7A),
arranging a first conductive connecting sheet, wherein the first conductive connecting sheet is connected to a surface of the first bare die away from the first conductive frame, and extends to be lapped on the second conductive frame (160, Figs. 8A and 4, [0078]),
attaching a second bare die to the surface of the first bare die away from the first conductive frame, wherein the second bare die is connected to the first conductive connecting sheet (150, Fig. 9B, [0080]),
arranging a conductive cover plate, wherein the conductive cover plate is connected to a surface of the second bare die away from the first conductive frame, and extends to be connected to the first conductive frame (180, Fig. 10B, [0082]).
Regarding claim 15, Ohguro teaches arranging a second conductive connecting sheet, wherein the second conductive connecting sheet is connected to the surface of the first bare die away from the first conductive frame and extends to be lapped on the third conductive frame, and the second conductive connecting sheet is disposed at an interval from the first conductive connecting sheet (170, Figs. 8A-8B, [0078]).
Regarding claim 17, Ohguro teaches wherein each of the first bare die and the second bare die comprises a plurality of electrodes, the plurality of electrodes of the first bare die comprise a source, a drain, and a gate, and the plurality of electrodes of the second bare die also comprise a source, a drain, and a gate ([0047], [0052]),
the source, the drain, and the gate of the first bare die are electrically connected in a one-to-one correspondence to the first conductive frame, the first conductive connecting sheet, and the second conductive connecting sheet ([0047], [0054], [0058]),
the source, the drain, and the gate of the second bare die are electrically connected in a one-to-one correspondence to the conductive cover plate, the first conductive connecting sheet, and the second conductive connecting sheet ([0054], [0058], [0063]), and
the source of the first bare die is connected in parallel to the source of the second bare die, the drain of the first bare die is connected in parallel to the drain of the second bare die, and the gate of the first bare die is connected in parallel to the gate of the second bare die ([0086]).
Regarding claim 18, Ohguro teaches wherein attaching the first bare die to the first conductive frame comprises: arranging solder on the first conductive frame, placing the first bare die on the solder, and then electrically connecting the first bare die to the first conductive frame by soldering ([0076], [0083])
arranging the first conductive connecting sheet and arranging a second conductive connecting sheet comprises:
arranging two groups of solder disposed at intervals on the surface of the first bare die away from the first conductive frame, arranging solder separately on the second conductive frame and the third conductive frame (Fig. 7A, 141aF, 142aF, 123F, 133F, [0077]), then placing the first conductive connecting sheet on one group of solder of the first bare die and the solder on the second conductive frame (160, Fig. 8A, [0078]),
arranging the second conductive connecting sheet on the other group of solder of the first bare die and the solder on the third conductive frame, and electrically connecting the first conductive connecting sheet to the first bare die and the second conductive frame by soldering and electrically connecting the second conductive connecting sheet to the first bare die and the third conductive frame by soldering (170, Fig. 8A, [0078], [0083]),
attaching the second bare die comprises: separately arranging solder on surfaces of the first conductive connecting sheet and the second conductive connecting sheet away from the first bare die (Fig. 8A, 151aF, 152aF, [0079]), placing the second bare die on the solder, and electrically connecting the second bare die to the first conductive connecting sheet and the second conductive connecting sheet by soldering (Fig. 9A, 150, [0080], [0083]), and
arranging the conductive cover plate comprises: arranging solder on the surface of the second bare die away from the first conductive frame, placing the flat plate of the conductive cover plate on the solder, and electrically connecting the conductive cover plate to the second bare die by soldering (153aF, [0081], [0083]).
Regarding claim 19, Ohguro teaches wherein the first conductive frame, the second conductive frame, and the third conductive frame all have a flat plate form (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Ohguro teaches wherein the first conductive frame, the second conductive frame, and the third conductive frame all have a flat plate form (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohguro (U.S. PGPub 2022/0084917) in view of Ikeda (U.S. PGPub 2020/0273833).
Regarding claim 8, Ohguro teaches wherein the conductive cover plate comprises a flat plate and a side plate that is bent and connected to the flat plate, the flat plate covers the surface of the second bare die away from the first conductive frame, and the side plate is connected between the flat plate and the first conductive frame (Figs. 1 and 6A, 181/183, [0064]).
Ohguro does not explicitly teach wherein the conductive cover plate comprises three side plates vertically connected to the flat plate.
Ikeda teaches a chip package comprising a first conductive frame, a first bare die, a first conductive connecting sheet, a second bare die, and a conductive cover plate stacked and electrically connected (Fig. 17, 11, 13, 60, 21, 70, [0054]-[0058]), wherein the conductive cover plate comprises three side plates connected to a flat plate and connected to the first conductive frame (Figs. 17-18, 75, [0128]-[0133]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Ikeda with Ohguro such that the conductive cover plate comprises three side plates connected to the flat plate for the purpose of increasing heat dissipation (Ikeda, [0130]).
Regarding claims 9-10, the combination of Ohguro and Ikeda teaches wherein each side plate is vertically connected to the flat plate (Ohguro, Figs. 1 and 6A, 181/183, [0064]; Ikeda, Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 16, Ohguro teaches wherein the conductive cover plate comprises a flat plate and a side plate that is bent and connected to the flat plate, the flat plate covers the surface of the second bare die away from the first conductive frame, and the side plate is connected between the flat plate and the first conductive frame (Figs. 1 and 6A, 181/183, [0064]).
Ohguro does not explicitly teach wherein the conductive cover plate comprises three side plates vertically connected to the flat plate.
Ikeda teaches a chip package comprising a first conductive frame, a first bare die, a first conductive connecting sheet, a second bare die, and a conductive cover plate stacked and electrically connected (Fig. 17, 11, 13, 60, 21, 70, [0054]-[0058]), wherein the conductive cover plate comprises three side plates connected to a flat plate and connected to the first conductive frame (Figs. 17-18, 75, [0128]-[0133]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Ikeda with Ohguro such that the conductive cover plate comprises three side plates connected to the flat plate for the purpose of increasing heat dissipation (Ikeda, [0130]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohguro (U.S. PGPub 2022/0084917) in view of Lopez (U.S. PGPub 2014/0063744).
Regarding claim 12, Ohguro teaches wherein the chips are power semiconductors ([0003]), and the chip package module according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1) but does not explicitly teach a power module, comprising a circuit board and the chip package module located on the circuit board.
Lopez teaches a chip package comprising a first conductive frame, a first bare die, a first conductive connecting sheet, a second bare die, and a conductive cover plate stacked and electrically connected (110, 120, 140, 130, 150, [0027]-[0030]) wherein the chip package is mounted to a PCB to form a power module ([0008]-[0009]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lopez with Ohguro such that the device comprises a power module, comprising a circuit board and the chip package module located on the circuit board for the purpose of forming a power module having a smaller footprint (Lopez, [0008]-[0009]; Ohguro, [0087]).
Regarding claim 13, Ohguro teaches wherein the chips are power semiconductors ([0003]), and the chip package module according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1) but does not explicitly teach an electronic device, comprising a circuit board and the chip package module located on the circuit board.
Lopez teaches a chip package comprising a first conductive frame, a first bare die, a first conductive connecting sheet, a second bare die, and a conductive cover plate stacked and electrically connected (110, 120, 140, 130, 150, [0027]-[0030]) wherein the chip package is mounted to a PCB to form an electronic device ([0008]-[0009]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lopez with Ohguro such that the device comprises an electronic device, comprising a circuit board and the chip package module located on the circuit board for the purpose of forming an electronic device having a smaller footprint (Lopez, [0008]-[0009]; Ohguro, [0087]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812