DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 8-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lai 20210126013.
a. As to claim 1Lai teaches A semiconductor device, comprising: a first channel structure extending in a first direction in a stack structure(figure 5a-b and 2a and figure 3a item 104 or item 104/116 on the left nearest to the center item 116); a conductive layer extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and surrounding at least partial of the first channel structure (item 114 see figure 2C item WCG); a first isolation structure extending in the first direction and the second direction (item 116); and a second isolation structure extending in the first direction and the second direction item 116 on the left edge), wherein the first channel structure and the conductive layer are disposed between the first isolation structure and the second isolation structure (figure 2a item 114 and the channel 104 are between the center 116 and the left 116), and wherein a first distance between a center of the first channel structure and the first isolation structure is less than a second distance between the center of the first channel structure and the second isolation structure (see figure 2a).
b. As to claim 2, Lai teaches wherein the first channel structure comprises: a semiconductor core extending in the first direction in the stack structure (alternative channel item 104); and a gate dielectric layer laterally surrounding the semiconductor core and extending in the first direction in the stack structure(items 110 and 112).
c. As to claim 3, Lai teaches wherein the gate dielectric layer is in contact with the first isolation structure (see figure 2 item 110 and 112 in contact with item 116).
d. As to claim 4, Lai teaches wherein the gate dielectric layer is in contact with the conductive layer (see figure items 112 and item 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai in view of Chien 20230081427.
a. As to claim 5, Lai teaches paragraph 28:
With continued reference to FIGS. 1A-1C, the semiconductor channel 104 extends from the lower source/drain region 106l to the upper source/drain region 106u. The semiconductor channel 104 may, for example, be doped or undoped and may, for example, be or comprise polysilicon on and/or some other suitable semiconductor material(s). The semiconductor channel 104 may, for example, have a thickness (e.g., in an X direction) of about 10-30 nanometers, about 10-20 nanometers, about 20-30 nanometers, or some other suitable value.
Lai does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor core comprises indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO).
Chien teaches forming the channels from oxide semiconductors (see abstract).
However, IZGO was known to be used for semiconductor channel for power efficiency and lower leakage.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the channel from IZGO for power efficiency and low leakage current.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Lai does not teach the feature of claim 6 or 7.
Lai 11171157 teaches 1a to 2a a similar structure with item 104 as a channel and item 106 as a dielectric. It is noted that a portion of item 104 would be between vertical 106s but 104 is a different channel thus it does not teach the feature of claim 6:
wherein the first channel structure comprises: a semiconductor core extending in the first direction in the stack structure; a first gate dielectric layer laterally surrounding a first portion of the semiconductor core; and a second gate dielectric layer laterally surrounding a second portion of the semiconductor core, wherein the first gate dielectric layer is separated from the second gate dielectric layer by a third portion of the semiconductor core between the first portion and the second portion since the first portion and second portion are different devices figure 3 in the vertical direction 203 is between 206a and 206b.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896