DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) teaches an ESD protection circuit (ESD protective circuit 1, Figure 1, paragraph 0008, line 1), comprising: a protective element having a first node (protection MOS transistor 5, Figure 1, paragraph 0008 lines 3-5 + paragraphs 0009 lines 1-5), placed between a power supply terminal (power supply terminal 2T + power supply line 2, Figure 1, paragraph 0061 line 2-4+ paragraph 0008 line 3-4) and a ground terminal (ground terminal 3T + ground line 3, Figure 1, paragraph 0061 line + paragraph 0008 line 3-5); an RC circuit (RC series circuit, Figure 1, paragraph 0009, lines 8-11) having a resistive element (resistive element R, Figure 1, paragraph 0009, line 8) connected to the power supply terminal at one end and a capacitive (capacitive element C, Figure 1, paragraph 0009, line 9) element connected to the ground terminal at one end and to the other end of the resistive element at the other end, the other ends of the resistive element and the capacitive element being a second node (potential VRC, Figure 1, paragraph 0012, lines 3-5); and an inverter (CMOS inverter 4, Figure 1, paragraph 0009, lines 11-14) connected to the second node of the RC circuit at its input and to the first node of the protective element at its output, wherein the inverter includes a p-type MOS transistor (PMOS transistor 4P, Figure 1, paragraph 0068) connected to the power supply terminal at its source, and an n-type MOS transistor (NMOS transistor 4N, Figure 1, paragraph 0068) connected to the ground terminal at its source, the p-type MOS transistor and the n-type MOS transistor are connected in common to the second node at their gates and to the first node at their drains (Figure 1, paragraph 0069, lines 4-6), and a gate length of the p-type MOS transistor is smaller than a gate length of the n-type MOS transistor (Figures 3-4, paragraph 0030, lines 1-4, teaches the structure of the MOS transistors), as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) teaches the ESD protection circuit of claim 1, wherein the protective element is a second n-type MOS transistor (protection MOS transistor 5, Figure 1, paragraph 0065, lines 1-3) connected to the first node at its gate, to the ground terminal at its source (Figure 1, paragraph 0065, lines 3-4), and to the power supply terminal at its drain (Figure 1, paragraph 0065, lines 4), as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) in view of Masuoka (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0145265A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) teaches the ESD protection circuit of claim 1, as claimed.
Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) is silent to teach wherein a thickness of a gate insulating film of the n-type MOS transistor is larger than a thickness of a gate insulating film of the p-type MOS transistor.
In an analogous art, Masuoka (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0145265A1) teaches wherein a thickness of a gate insulating film of the n-type MOS transistor (gate insulating film 106a, Figure 1, paragraph 0033) is larger than a thickness of a gate insulating film of the p-type MOS transistor (gate insulating film 106b, Figure 1, paragraph 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) with the teachings of Masuoka (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0145265A1) to show that the gate insulating films of the p-type and n-type transistors have different thicknesses with the thickness of the n-type gate insulating film being larger than the p-type gate insulating film, thereby reducing the gate leak current of the n-type MOS transistor and the potential of the second node, resulting in a decrease in gate leak current between the source and drain of the p-type MOS transistor and the ESD protection circuit overall, thus greatly reducing the power consumption.
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) teaches an ESD protection circuit (ESD protective circuit 1, Figure 1, paragraph 0008, line 1), comprising: a protective element having a first node (protection MOS transistor 5, Figure 1, paragraph 0008 lines 3-5 + paragraph 0009 lines 1-5), placed between a power supply terminal (power supply terminal 2T + power supply line 2, Figure 1, paragraph 0061 line 2-4+ paragraph 0008 line 3-4) and a ground terminal (ground terminal 3T + ground line 3, Figure 1, paragraph 0061 line + paragraph 0008 line 3-5); an RC circuit (RC series circuit, Figure 1, paragraph 0009, lines 8-11) having a resistive element (resistive element R, Figure 1, paragraph 0009, line 8) connected to the power supply terminal at one end and a capacitive element (capacitive element C, Figure 1, paragraph 0009, line 9) connected to the ground terminal at one end and to the other end of the resistive element at the other end, the other ends of the resistive element and the capacitive element being a second node (potential VRC, Figure 1, paragraph 0012, lines 3-5); and an inverter (CMOS inverter 4, Figure 1, paragraph 0009, lines 11-14) connected to the second node of the RC circuit at its input and to the first node of the protective element at its output, wherein the inverter includes a p-type MOS transistor (PMOS transistor 4P, Figure 1, paragraph 0068) connected to the power supply terminal at its source, and an n-type MOS transistor (NMOS transistor 4N, Figure 1, paragraph 0068) connected to the ground terminal at its source, the p-type MOS transistor and the n-type MOS transistor are connected in common to the second node at their gates and to the first node at their drains (Figure 1, paragraph 0069, lines 4-6), as claimed.
Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) is silent to teach a thickness of a gate insulating film of the n-type MOS transistor is larger than a thickness of a gate insulating film of the p-type MOS transistor.
In an analogous art, Masuoka (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0145265A1) teaches a thickness of a gate insulating film of the n-type MOS transistor (gate insulating film 106a, Figure 1, paragraph 0033) is larger than a thickness of a gate insulating film of the p-type MOS transistor (gate insulating film 106b, Figure 1, paragraph 0033), as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) with the teachings of Masuoka (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0145265A1) to show that the gate insulating films of the p-type and n-type transistors have different thicknesses with the thickness of the n-type gate insulating film being larger than the p-type gate insulating film, thereby reducing the gate leak current of the n-type MOS transistor and the potential of the second node, resulting in a decrease in gate leak current between the source and drain of the p-type MOS transistor and the ESD protection circuit overall, thus greatly reducing the power consumption.
Regarding claim 5, Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) and Masuoka (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0145265A1) teach the ESD protection circuit of claim 4, as claimed. Yamazaki (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0307410A1) further teaches, wherein the protective element (protection MOS transistor 5, Figure 1, paragraph 0065, lines 1-3) is a second n-type MOS transistor connected to the first node at its gate, to the ground terminal at its source (Figure 1, paragraph 0065, lines 1-4), and to the power supply terminal at its drain (Figure 1, paragraph 0065, lines 1-4).
Conclusion
/K.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898