DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 8/7/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Shih US 2018/0102311.
Regarding claim 1, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method of manufacturing an electronic device (1a, Fig. 14, [0055]), the method comprising: providing internal interconnects (510, Fig. 14, [0040]) and a bridge assembly (101, Fig. 14, [0029]), wherein the bridge assembly (101, Fig. 14, [0029]) comprises a bridge base (300, Fig. 10, [0031]) and a bridge signal redistribution structure (101, Fig. 14, [0029]); encapsulating (with 550) (550, Fig. 14, [0039]) the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 14, [0040]) and the bridge assembly (200, Fig. 14, [0025]) in a lower encapsulant (550, Fig. 14, [0039]); removing the bridge base (300, Fig. 10, [0031]) from the bridge assembly; covering an upper side of the lower encapsulant with an upper substrate (700, Fig. 10, [0041]) such that an upper substrate conductive structure (700, Fig. 10, [0041]) is coupled to the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 10, [0040]) and to the bridge signal redistribution structure (200, Fig. 14, [0025]); coupling, via the upper substrate (700), first interconnects (111, Fig. 14, [0051]) of a first electronic component (11, Fig. 14, [0051]) to the bridge signal redistribution structure (200, Fig. 14, [0025]) and second interconnects (918, Fig. 14, [0051]) of the first electronic component (11, Fig. 14, [0051]) to the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 14, [0040]); and coupling, via the upper substrate, first interconnects (121, Fig. 14, [0051]) of a second electronic component (12, Fig. 14, [0051]) to the bridge signal redistribution structure (200, Fig. 14, [0025]) and second interconnects (918, Fig. 14, [0051]) of the second electronic component (12, Fig. 14, [0051]) to the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 14, [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method, wherein the removing the bridge base (300, Fig. 10, [0031]) comprises grinding (300, Fig. 10, [0031, 0040] (grinding)) lower sides of the internal interconnects (Fig. 10, [0031, 0040] (grinding)), a lower side of the lower encapsulant, and a lower side of the bridge assembly to remove a lower portion of the internal interconnects (Fig. 10, [0031, 0040] (grinding)), a lower portion of the lower encapsulant, and a lower portion of the bridge assembly (300, Fig. 10, [0031, 0040] (grinding))
Regarding claim 3, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method, wherein the lower portion of the bridge assembly includes the bridge base (300, Fig. 10, [0031, 0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method wherein coupling the first interconnects (111, Fig. 14, [0051]) of the first electronic component (11, Fig. 14, [0051]) to the bridge signal redistribution structure (200, Fig. 14, [0025]) and coupling the first interconnects (111, Fig. 14, [0051]) of the second electronic component (12, Fig. 14, [0051]) to the bridge signal redistribution structure (200, Fig. 14, [0025]) couples one or more of the first interconnects (111, Fig. 14, [0051]) of the first electronic component (11, Fig. 14, [0051]) to one or more of the first interconnects (111, Fig. 14, [0051]) of the second electronic component (12, Fig. 14, [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method, comprising providing external interconnects (810, Fig. 14, [0052]) coupled to lower sides of the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 14, [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method comprising covering a lower side of the lower encapsulant (550, Fig. 14, [0039]) with a lower substrate (700, Fig. 14, [0055]) such that a lower substrate (700, Fig. 14, [0055]) conductive structure is coupled to the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 14, [0040]) and the bridge signal redistribution structure (200, Fig. 14, [0025]).
Regarding claim 13, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method comprising providing external interconnects (810, Fig. 14, [0052]) coupled to lower sides of the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 14, [0040]) via the lower substrate (700, Fig. 14, [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method, comprising encapsulating (with 550) (550, Fig. 14, [0039]) the first electronic component (11, Fig. 14, [0051]) and the second electronic component (12, Fig. 14, [0051]) in an upper encapsulant (Fig. 14, [0053](electronics will be covered by a molding)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih as applied to claims 1-3,10-14, and further in view of Wu et al., (Wu) US 2021/0098421.
Regarding claim 4, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method, wherein the removing the bridge base (300, Fig. 10, [0031, 0040]).
Shih differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device having a method that comprises grinding upper sides of the internal interconnects, an upper side of the lower encapsulant, and an upper side of the bridge assembly to remove an upper portion of the internal interconnects, an upper portion of the lower encapsulant, and an upper portion of the bridge assembly.
Wu discloses a method that comprises grinding upper sides of the internal interconnects (Fig. 5A-5C, [0063-0069](grinding 432,432b,140)), an upper side of the lower encapsulant (Fig. 5A-5C, [0063-0069](grinding 432,432b,140)), and an upper side of the bridge assembly to remove an upper portion of the internal interconnects (Fig. 5A-5C, [0063-0069](grinding 432,432b,140)), an upper portion of the lower encapsulant (Fig. 5A-5C, [0063-0069](grinding 432,432b,140)), and an upper portion of the bridge assembly (Fig. 5A-5C, [0063-0069](grinding 432,432b,140)).
Wu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Shih. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wu in the device of Shih because it would improve the planarity (e.g., flatness) of the underlying structure [0044].
Regarding claim 5, Shih, in view of Wu discloses, a method wherein the upper portion of the bridge assembly (Fig. 5A-5C, [0063-0069] (assembly 432,432b,140)) includes the bridge base.
Wu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Shih. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wu in the device of Shih because it would improve the planarity (e.g., flatness) of the underlying structure [0044].
Regarding claim 6, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method, wherein the removing the bridge base (300, Fig. 10, [0031, 0040]).
Shih differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device having a method of etching lower sides of the internal interconnects, a lower side of the lower encapsulant, and a lower side of the bridge assembly to remove a lower portion of the internal interconnects, a lower portion of the lower encapsulant, and a lower portion of the bridge assembly.
Wu discloses a method of etching lower sides of the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 5A-5C)[0063-0069]), a lower side of the lower encapsulant (550, Fig. 5A-5C)[0063-0069]), and a lower side of the bridge assembly (101, Fig. 9,13)[0040]) to remove a lower portion of the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 5A-5C)[0063-0069]), a lower portion of the lower encapsulant (550, Fig. 5A-5C)[0063-0069]), and a lower portion of the bridge assembly (101, Fig. 9,13)[0040]).
Wu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Shih. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wu in the device of Shih because it would improve the planarity (e.g., flatness) of the underlying structure [0044].
Regarding claim 7, Shih, in view of Wu discloses, a method wherein the lower portion of the bridge assembly (101, Fig. 9,13) [0040]) includes the bridge base.
Wu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Shih. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wu in the device of Shih because it would improve the planarity (e.g., flatness) of the underlying structure [0044].
Regarding claim 8, Shih discloses and shows in Fig. 1-14, a method, wherein the removing the bridge base (300, Fig. 10, [0031, 0040]).
Shih differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device having a method of etching upper sides of the internal interconnects, an upper side of the lower encapsulant, and an upper side of the bridge assembly to remove an upper portion of the internal interconnects, an upper portion of the lower encapsulant, and an upper portion of the bridge assembly.
Wu discloses a method of etching upper sides of the internal interconnects (510, Fig. 5A-5C)[0063-0069]), an upper side of the lower encapsulant (550, Fig. 5A-5C)[0063-0069]), and an upper side of the bridge assembly to remove an upper portion of the internal interconnects, an upper portion of the lower encapsulant (550, Fig. 5A-5C)[0063-0069]), and an upper portion of the bridge assembly (101, Fig. 9,13)[0040]).
Wu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Shih. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wu in the device of Shih because it would improve the planarity (e.g., flatness) of the underlying structure [0044].
Regarding claim 9, Shih, in view of Wu discloses, a method wherein the upper portion of the bridge assembly (Fig. 5A-5C, [0063-0069] (assembly 432,432b,140)) includes the bridge base (Fig. 5A-5C, [0063-0069] (assembly 432,432b,140)).
Wu is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Shih. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wu in the device of Shih because it would improve the planarity (e.g., flatness) of the underlying structure [0044].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih as applied to claims 1-3,10-14, and further in view of We et al., (We) US 2016/0141234.
Regarding claim 15, Shih, in view of Wu discloses, a first (11, Fig. 14, [0051]) and second (12, Fig. 14, [0051]) electronic component.
Shih differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a method comprising providing an underfill between a lower side of the first electronic component and an upper side of the upper substrate.
We discloses [0069] a method comprising providing an underfill (Fig. 2, (250) [0069]) between a lower side of the first electronic component (Fig. 2, (206) [0069]) and an upper side of the upper substrate.
We is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Shih. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of We in the device of Shih because it would provide a device with high density interconnects [0007].
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813