DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/21/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,027,010. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application substantially claims same limitations as the patent, with one exception. The current application fails to claim a wager acceptor that converts the wager to credit balance used to play a game. It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to modify the gaming device currently claimed to include a wager acceptor to allow players an opportunity to earn awards/rewards when participating in the game.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crowder Jr. et al. (US Patent 8,272,957; referred to hereinafter as Crowder).
Claims 1, 2, 8 & 16: Crowder disclose an electronic gaming machine (figure 1), comprising: a housing (figure 1), a processor (figure 2), a display coupled to the housing and operative to display a game played by a player (figures 1-3), a component passthrough defined as at least one of a recess in an edge of the display or an aperture within an area of the display (col. 10: 37-61, disclose an aperture within the display to allow portion of the information to protrude through the opening), and an electronic component at least partially disposed within the housing (cols. 10-11: 62-22, game reels), configured to communicate with an external environment of the electronic gaming machine through the component passthrough (col. 11: 33-50, game reels being displayed).
Claim 3: Crowder disclose wherein the display is curved (figure 1 & abstract).
Claims 4 & 9: Crowder disclose wherein the electronic component is a wager acceptance mechanism (figure 1).
Claims 5 & 6: Crowder disclose wherein the component passthrough is filled with an opaque material (col. 10: 37-61, LCD).
Claim 10: Crowder disclose wherein the gaming component protrudes through the component passthrough (col. 10: 37-61).
Claim 11: Crowder disclose wherein the gaming component protrudes through the component passthrough (col. 6: 5-40).
Claim 12: Crowder disclose wherein the material is transparent to sound or electromagnetic waves (touchscreen).
Claim 13: Crowder disclose the component passthrough extends through a display layer of the display and a cover layer of the display (col. 10: 37-61), and the gaming component extends at least partially through the display layer of the display and the cover layer of the display (figures 3-6).
Claim 14: Crowder disclose wherein a player is able to physically interact with the gaming component (figure 1, buttons).
Claim 15: Crowder disclose the component passthrough extends through a display layer of the display and a cover layer of the display (col. 10: 37-61) and the gaming component extends through the display layer of the display but not the cover layer of the display (figures 3-6, disclose gaming component extends through the display layer only).
Claim 17: Crowder disclose at least a second part of the gaming component is not concealed from view by the display (figure 1, element 24).
Claim 18: Crowder disclose wherein a player is able to physically interact with the second part of the gaming component (col. 5: 28-39).
Claim 19: Crowder disclose wherein the second part of the gaming component is an input of the gaming component (col. 13: 66-13).
Claim 20: Crowder disclose wherein the component passthrough is stepped in cross-section (col. 10: 37-61).
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kelly (20120220360) refers to a gaming machines projecting video images onto a curved display are disclosed herein. A display manager receives one or more video signals from a controller and one or more video signals from the system device and displays one or multiple video signals on the curved display. The display manager sends the multiple video signals to a projector which projects the multiple video signals on the curved display. The curved display may be split between multiple signals, or one or more signals may overlay one or more background signals. The overlaid signals may completely obscure the background signals, or they may provide a level of transparency by allowing the background signal to be partially or completely visible. The display manager the video signals regarding how to split, overlay, superimpose, and otherwise share the display among the video input signals.
Lee (9,101,826) refers to a display device for a slot machine. The display device for a slot machine includes: a front display part outputting a first image and a rear display part disposed at a rear side of the front display part to output a second image. The second image of the rear display part can be viewed through a predetermined area of the front display part, the front display part includes: a liquid crystal panel, a light guide plate, disposed at a rear side of the liquid crystal panel, the light guide plate having a viewing window at a position corresponding to the predetermined area so that the second image of the rear display part is transmitted, and a light source is disposed around the light guide plate to provide backlight to the liquid crystal panel.
Castro (20180075689) refers to usually uniform multi-level, multi-sectioned deck for a gaming machine player interface is disclosed. Sections of the interface are configured with modular panel assemblies having corresponding sets of electronic components. The panel assemblies may be exchanged to customize and flexibly configure the player interface. The deck includes partitions housing individual modular panel assemblies engaged via mated fastener components, shielding visibility of the installed electronic components from the player position until activated. A plurality of the modular panel assemblies, each having distinct and functional sets of electronic components, are available for engagement in each of the partitions of the deck. The assembled deck comprising a plurality of interchangeable modular panel assemblies, each having distinct and functional sets of electronic components, provides a configurable player interface having spatially segregated and demarked functional areas that appear uniform from the player position until activated.
The referenced citations made in the rejection(s) above are intended to exemplify areas in the prior art document(s) in which the examiner believed are the most relevant to the claimed subject matter. However, it is incumbent upon the applicant to analyze the prior art document(s) in its/their entirety since other areas of the document(s) may be relied upon at a later time to substantiate examiner's rationale of record. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). However, "the prior art's mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed ...." In re Fulton, 391F.3d 1195, 1201,73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
/SUNIT PANDYA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715