DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 22, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on May 22, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Examination Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2009/0168280 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Huang teaches an integrated circuit (Fig. 1-Fig. 7), comprising:
a core circuit (320 – Fig. 3A);
a connecting pad (310 – Fig. 3A);
a high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3A) wherein a first terminal (A – Fig. 3A) (see annotated figure below) of the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3A) is coupled to the connecting pad (310 – Fig. 3A) (electrically connected);
an electrostatic discharge protection circuit (340 – Fig. 3A) coupled to the connecting pad (310 – Fig. 3A) and the first terminal (A – Fig. 3A) (see annotated figure below) of the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3A); and
an electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit (330 – Fig. 3A), wherein a first terminal (C – Fig. 3A) (see annotated figure below) of the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit (330 – Fig. 3A) is coupled to a second terminal (B – Fig. 3A) (see annotated figure below) of the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3A), and a second terminal (D – Fig. 3A) (see annotated figure below) of the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit (330 – Fig. 3A) is coupled to a signal terminal of the core circuit (320 – Fig. 3A).
With regard to claim 3, Huang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3A; Fig. 3B) comprises:
a capacitor (C1 – Fig. 3B), wherein a first terminal of the capacitor (C1 – Fig. 3B) is coupled to the first terminal (A – Fig. 3B) (see annotated figure below) of the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3B), and a second terminal of the capacitor (C1 – Fig. 3B) is coupled to the second terminal (B – Fig. 3B) (see annotated figure below) of the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3B); and
a resistor (R1 – Fig. 3B), wherein a first terminal of the resistor (R1 – Fig. 3B) is coupled to the second terminal of the capacitor (C1 – Fig. 3B) (electrically coupled), and a second terminal of the resistor (R1 – Fig. 3B) is coupled to a reference voltage line (VDD – Fig. 3B).
With regard to claim 5, Huang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit (330 – Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B) comprises:
a transistor (T5 – Fig. 3B), wherein a first terminal (source of T5 – Fig. 3B) of the transistor (T5 – Fig. 3B) is coupled to the second terminal (B – Fig. 3B) (see annotated figure below) of the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3B) and the signal terminal of the core circuit (320 – Fig. 3B) (electrically coupled), and a second terminal (drain of T5 – Fig. 3B) and a control terminal (gate of T5 – Fig. 3B) of the transistor (T5 – Fig. 3B) are coupled to a reference voltage line (electrically couple to VDD – Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2009/0168280 A1) in view of Ma (US 2015/0145098 A1).
With regard to claim 2, Huang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach the core circuit comprises an equalizer, a loss of signal detection circuit or an amplifier.
Ma teaches the core circuit (111 – Fig. 1) comprises an equalizer, a loss of signal detection circuit or an amplifier ([0072] lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the core circuit of Huang, to have the core circuit comprising an equalizer, a loss of signal detection circuit or an amplifier, as taught by Ma, in order to improve the integrated circuit since this configuration is well known in the art while the amplifier boost the signal strength, the loss of signal (LOS) detection circuit ensures reliability; and the equalizer compensates for signal distortion.
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2009/0168280 A1) in view of Wang (US 2017/0221879 A1).
With regard to claim 9, Huang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach a resistor termination network coupled to a conductor line connected to the connecting pad and the first terminal of the high-pass filter.
Wang teaches a resistor termination network (218 – Fig. 2) coupled to a conductor line (VCC18 – Fig. 2) connected to the connecting pad and the first terminal of the high-pass filter (212 – Fig. 2) (electrically connected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the integrated circuit of Huang, to have a resistor termination network coupled to a conductor line connected to the connecting pad and the first terminal of the high-pass filter, as taught by Wand, in order to generate a divided voltage according to the reference voltage, and output the divided voltage to set the bias voltage.
With regard to claim 10, Huang and Wang teach all the limitations of claim 9, but Huang does not teach the resistor termination network comprises:
a switch; and
a resistor, wherein the switch and the resistor are connected in series between the conductor line and a reference voltage line.
Wang teaches the resistor termination network (218 – Fig. 2) comprises:
a switch (M7 – Fig. 2); and
a resistor (R1 – Fig. 2), wherein the switch (M7 – Fig. 2) and the resistor (R1 – Fig. 2) are connected in series between the conductor line (VCC18 – Fig. 2) and a reference voltage line (VSS – Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the resistor termination network of Huang and Wang, to have a switch; and a resistor, wherein the switch and the resistor are connected in series between the conductor line and a reference voltage line as taught by Wand, in order to generate a divided voltage according to the reference voltage, and output the divided voltage to set the bias voltage.
Huang (US 2009/0168280 A1) – Annotated Fig. 3A
Huang (US 2009/0168280 A1) – Annotated Fig. 3B
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4, Huang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit (330 – Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B) comprises: a discharge switch (T5 – Fig. 3B), wherein a first terminal (source of T5 – Fig. 3B) of the discharge switch (T5 – Fig. 3B) is coupled to the second terminal (B – Fig. 3B) (see annotated figure above) of the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3B) and the signal terminal of the core circuit (320 – Fig. 3B) (electrically coupled). But, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “a second terminal of the discharge switch is coupled to a reference voltage line, and a control terminal of the discharge switch is controlled by an enable signal of the core circuit, wherein when the enable signal indicates disabling, the discharge switch is turned on, and when the enable signal indicates enabling, the discharge switch is turned off.”
With regard to claim 6, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit comprises: a diode, wherein a cathode of the diode is coupled to the second terminal of the high-pass filter and the signal terminal of the core circuit, and an anode of the diode is coupled to a reference voltage line.”
With regard to claim 7, Huang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit (330 – Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B) comprises: a discharge switch (T5 – Fig. 3B), wherein a first terminal (source of T5 – Fig. 3B) of the discharge switch (T5 – Fig. 3B) is coupled to the second terminal (B – Fig. 3B) (see annotated figure above) of the high-pass filter (360 – Fig. 3B) and the signal terminal of the core circuit (320 – Fig. 3B) (electrically coupled), a second terminal (drain of T5 – Fig. 3B) of the discharge switch (T5 – Fig. 3B) is coupled to a reference voltage line (electrically couple to VDD – Fig. 3). But, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “a control terminal of the discharge switch is controlled by an enable signal of the core circuit, when the enable signal indicates disabling, the discharge switch is turned on, and when the enable signal indicates enabling, the discharge switch is turned off; and a diode, wherein a cathode of the diode is coupled to the second terminal of the high-pass filter and the signal terminal of the core circuit, and an anode of the diode is coupled to the reference voltage line.”
With regard to claim 8, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “a resistor, wherein a first terminal of the resistor is coupled to the first terminal of the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit, and a second terminal of the resistor is coupled to the second terminal of the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit; a discharge switch, wherein a first terminal of the discharge switch is coupled to the first terminal of the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit, a second terminal of the discharge switch is coupled to a reference voltage line, a control terminal of the discharge switch is controlled by an enable signal of the core circuit, when the enable signal indicates disabling, the discharge switch is turned on, and when the enable signal indicates enabling, the discharge switch is turned off; and a transistor, wherein a first terminal of the transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the electrostatic discharge enhanced-protection circuit, and a second terminal and a control terminal of the transistor are coupled to the reference voltage line.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892.
Dundigal (US 2021/0407990 A1) teaches a chip, comprising: a pad; a driver having an output coupled to the pad; and one or more diodes coupled between the pad and a ground bus, wherein the one or more diodes are in a forward direction from the pad to the ground bus; and the one or more diodes comprises a single diode; and the one or more diodes comprises a stack of two or more diodes; and the output of the driver has a voltage swing of 0.4 V or less.
Maio (US 2003/0151865 A1) teaches an electrostatic discharge protection circuit for protecting from electrostatic destruction an Integrated Circuit (IC) formed from a CMOS material that is capable of handling high frequencies and can withstand low voltage. The electrostatic discharge protection circuit has NMOS transistors, which are diode-connected transistors oriented in opposite directions, connected in parallel between a ground line and a line connecting an input terminal of the IC and the gate of an NMOS transistor included in an amplifier. The electrostatic discharge protection circuit is highly resistive to a surge voltage without impairment by high-frequency characteristics including noise and signal loss. The size of the IC need not be significantly increased to incorporate the new electrostatic discharge protection circuit, which is also highly cost effective since it requires fewer manufacturing steps to produce.
Contact Information
/N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838