DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 22, 2024 and December 9, 2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
Twenty-one sheets for formal drawings were filed May 22, 2024 and have been accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5 and 17-25 of copending Application No. 18/671882. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3, 5 and 17-25 of copending Application No. 18/671882 teach or suggest all of the limitations of claims 1 and 5-13 of the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 1, “the fused fiber combiner” in the last line of the claim does not have sufficient antecedent basis because no fused fiber combiner was previously cited. For the purposes of examination, “the fused fiber combiner” will be changed to “a fused fiber combiner”.
Regarding claim 13, “a non-circular core fiber, an offset splice a coil, one or more macro-bends, or one or more micro-bends” should be changed to “a non-circular core fiber, an offset splice, a coil, or one or more micro-bends” for grammatical purposes.
Appropriate change is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Keen et al. (GB 2582331 A from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement) in view of Gross et al. (10,877,220 B2 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claim 1, Keen discloses a method (Fig. 1; abstract) of generating adjustable composite beam shapes (21, 22) in response to controllable perturbation (53), the method comprising: receiving, via inputs of multiple input fibers (3), different laser beams (1, 2) so as to provide at each output a corresponding intermediate beam; combining the outputs from the multiple input fibers into a divergence-preserving fiber (7) that preserves a combined divergence distribution of the intermediate beams at a fused fiber combiner (23); and converting at an output lens (17) the combined divergence distribution to an output transverse spatial intensity distribution defining a composite beam shape of an output beam, the output transverse spatial intensity distribution including a superposition of individual channel output beams corresponding to the multiple input fibers, and at least one of the multiple input fibers having a tunable fiber assembly (53).
Still regarding claim 1, Keen teaches the claimed invention except for a tunable fiber assembly having first to third portions. Gross discloses a tunable fiber assembly (Fig. 29; column 27, line 38 to column 28, line 19) having a series of first, second, and third portions, the first portion configured to adjust an input transverse spatial intensity distribution in response to a controllable perturbation (2904), the second portion configured to convert the input transverse spatial intensity distribution to an intermediate divergence distribution (2906), and the third portion configured to preserve the intermediate divergence distribution that is delivered to a fused fiber combiner (2910, 2912). Since both of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a tunable fiber assembly as disclosed by Gross in the device of Keen for the purpose of controlling the beam characteristics.
Regarding claim 2, Gross, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, further discloses modulating the output transverse spatial intensity distribution based on an amount of perturbation applied according to a predetermined frequency in column 24, lines 53-60.
Regarding claim 3 and 4, Gross, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, further discloses applying time-dependent power to different sets of the multiple input fibers so as to change the composite shape as a function of time in column 10, lines 4-15
Regarding claims 5-7, the proposed combination of Keen and Gross teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the divergence-preserving fiber or the tunable fiber assembly includes a splice. However, Gross discloses the first and second portions are lengths of GRIN fiber (see column 16, lines 27-34 and column 20, lines 18-29) and more than two fibers used (see column 16, lines 48-49). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use first and second portions which are lengths of GRIN fiber spliced to the third portion for the purpose of enhanced tuning of the beam profile while maintaining a robust optical device. Further, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art for the splice steps up or down a diameter of one or both a core and a cladding in order to control the beam diameter.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the proposed combination of Keen and Gross teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the claimed an FFC or an FFS. However, Gross further discloses an FFC or an FFS in column 9, line 65 to column 10, line 3 column 23, lines 38-45. As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use an FFC or an FFS in the divergence-preserving fiber, thereby establishing an input divergence-preserving fiber, an output divergence-preserving fiber, and the FFC or the FFS therebetween and in which one or both of a core and a cladding of the input divergence-preserving fiber to the FFC or the FFS is smaller or larger than one or both of a core and a cladding of the output divergence-preserving fiber from the FFC or the FFS, for the purpose of further adjustment of the beam.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Gross, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, further discloses cladding light strippers (CLSs) in column 16, lines 54-60.
Regarding claim 12, Gross, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, further discloses the divergence-preserving fiber is a step-index fiber and includes a mode-distribution homogenization portion with a mode-scrambling portion in column 15, lines 65 to column 16, line 60.
Regarding claim 13, Gross, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, further discloses a non-circular core fiber, an offset splice, a coil, or one or more micro-bends provides the mode-distribution homogenization portion in column 10, lines 9-21 and column 15, line 65 to column 16, line 4.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 July 15, 2026