DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, “a box for battery” should read as “a box for a battery” in order to correct the grammar of the claim.
In claim 18, line 1, “a battery according to claim 12” should read as “the battery according to claim 12” in order to more clearly and consistently refer to the battery in claim 12.
Appropriate correction is required. Suggested corrections are underlined for emphasis only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the bearing member” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Thus, it is unclear what this limitation is referring to. Given that a bearing member is introduced in claim 13, it is assumed that claim 14 is intending to refer to the bearing member in claim 13. Thus, for examination purposes, claim 14 will be read as if it is dependent upon claim 13.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the bearing member” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Thus, it is unclear what this limitation is referring to. Given that a bearing member is introduced in claim 13, it is assumed that claim 15 is intending to refer to the bearing member in claim 13. Thus, for examination purposes, claim 15 will be read as if it is dependent upon claim 13.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the bearing member” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Thus, it is unclear what this limitation is referring to. Given that a bearing member is introduced in claim 13, it is assumed that claim 16 is intending to refer to the bearing member in claim 13. Thus, for examination purposes, claim 16 will be read as if it is dependent upon claim 13.
Claim 17 is also rejected due to its dependence upon rejected claim 16.
Appropriate correction is required in order to overcome the indefiniteness rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deng et al. (CN 108039434 with English Machine Translation) (Deng).
Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses a box for a battery (title), wherein the box comprises: a main body (1) formed with an accommodating cavity (11) for accommodating a battery cell (see Figs. 3 and 5; [0052]; [0054]), wherein the top (12) of the main body (1) forms at least a portion of the top of the box (see Figs. 1, 4, and 5; [0054]), and the battery is mounted to an external apparatus (electric vehicle) via the top of the box ([0062]; see also Fig. 4); and the main body (1) has a circumferential sidewall (13+14+15+16) disposed around a top outer edge of the main body (1) (see Figs. 3 and 4; [0054]-[0056]); and a lateral beam (125+126+18) is disposed on the circumferential sidewall (13+14+15+16) (see Figs. 4, 9, and 12; [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Deng further discloses that the lateral beam (125+126+18) comprises at least two sub-beams (125, 126, 18), the sub-beams being sequentially spaced spart along the circumferential sidewall (see Fig. 4; [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Deng further discloses that at least one of the sub-beams (125, 126) comprises an upper arm beam and a lower arm beam, and the upper arm beam and the lower arm beam are vertically spaced apart and both connected to the main body (1) (see Modified Figure 10 below).
Modified Figure 10, Deng
Regarding claim 4, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 3. Deng further discloses that the lower arm beam is a hollow beam (see Modified Figure 10 above; [0056]; [0060]), anticipating the limitation that at least one of the upper arm beam and the lower arm beam is a hollow beam.
Regarding claim 5, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Deng further discloses that the circumferential sidewall (13+14+15+16) comprises two first wall sections (15, 16) extending along a first direction and spaced apart (see Fig. 4; [0054]-[0057]); and the at least two sub-beams (125, 126, 18) comprise two first sub-beams (125, 126), wherein the two first sub-beams (125, 126) are respectively arranged on the two first wall sections (15, 16) and both extend along the first direction (see Fig. 4; [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 5. Deng further discloses that the circumferential sidewall (13+14+15+16) further comprises two second wall sections (13, 14) extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and spaced apart (see Fig. 4; [0054]-[0057]), wherein the first wall sections (15, 16) are alternately connected to the two section wall sections (13, 14) (see Fig. 4; [0054]-[0057]); and the at least two sub-beams (125, 126, 18) further comprise two second sub-beams (18), wherein the two second sub-beams (18) are respectively arranged on the two second wall sections (13, 14) and both extend along the first direction (see Fig. 4; [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Deng further discloses that the top of the lateral beam (125+126+18) is constructed with a mounting portion (4), and the battery is mounted to the external apparatus (electric vehicle) through the mounting portion (4) (see Modified Figure 4 below; [0062]).
Modified Figure 4, Deng
Regarding claim 8, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 7. Deng further discloses that the mounting portion comprises at least one mounting hole disposed on the top of the lateral beam (125+126+18) (see Modified Figure 4 above; [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Deng further discloses that the main body (1) comprises a bearing member (12) and a frame (13+14+15+16) (see Fig. 4; [0054]-[0057]), wherein the frame (13+14+15+16) encloses a cavity (11) with at least a top end being open, the bearing member (12) covers the top end of the cavity (11), and the bearing member (12) and the frame (13+14+15+16) enclose at least a portion of the accommodating cavity (11) (see Figs. 3 and 4; [0052]; [0054]-[0057]); and the lateral beam (125+126+18) is disposed on the circumferential sidewall (13+14+15+16) defined by the frame (13+14+15+16) (see Figs. 4, 9, and 12; [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 10. Deng further discloses that part of the lateral beam (125+126+18) is integrally formed with part of the frame (14+15+16) (see Figs. 4, 9, and 12; [0056]-[0057]), anticipating the limitation in claim 11 requiring that the lateral beam is fixedly connected or integrally formed with the frame.
Regarding claim 12, Deng discloses a battery (title; abstract; [0054]; [0057]), comprising: the box according to claim 1 (see Figs. 3-5; [0053]-[0054]; [0056]-[0057]); and a battery cell accommodated in the accommodating cavity (11) ([0054]; [0057]; [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 12. Deng further discloses that the main body (1) comprises a bearing member (12) located on the top of the box and configured for defining the accommodating cavity (11) (see Figs. 3 and 4; [0054]-[0057]), the battery cell being provided on the bearing member (12) ([0054]).
Regarding claim 18, Deng discloses an electric apparatus (electric vehicle), comprising the battery according to claim 12 ([0012]; [0052]; [0062]), wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical energy to the electric apparatus (electric vehicle) ([0004]; [0052]; [0056]; [0062]).
Claims 1, 7-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (US 2020/0324827) (Ahn).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a box (60) for a battery (see Fig. 1; abstract; [0027]), wherein the box (60) comprises: a main body (61+62) formed with an accommodating cavity for accommodating a battery cell ([0032]), wherein the top (62) of the main body (61+62) forms at least a portion of the top of the box (60), and the battery is mounted to an external apparatus (vehicle body) via the top of the box (60) (see Fig. 1; [0030]-[0036]); and the main body (61+62) has a circumferential sidewall (61) disposed around a top outer edge of the main body (61+62) (see Fig. 1; [0032]); and a lateral beam (63) disposed on the circumferential sidewall (61) (see Fig. 4; [0049]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Ahn further discloses that the top of the lateral beam (63) is constructed with a mounting portion (64), and the battery is mounted to the external apparatus (vehicle body) through the mounting portion (64) (see Fig. 4; [0045]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Ahn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 7. Ahn further discloses that the mounting portion (64) comprises at least one mounting hole disposed on the top of the lateral beam (63) (see Fig. 4; [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Ahn further discloses that the box (60) comprises a sealing member (80), wherein the sealing member (80) is disposed on the top (62) of the main body (61+62) and configured to be sealedly connected to the external apparatus (vehicle body) (see Figs. 1-3; [0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Ahn further discloses that the main body (61+62) comprises a bearing member (62) and a frame (61), wherein the frame (61) encloses a cavity with at least a top end being open, the bearing member (62) covers the top end of the cavity, and the bearing member (62) and the frame (61) enclose at least a portion of the accommodating cavity (see Figs. 1 and 4; [0032]); and the lateral beam (63) is disposed on the circumferential sidewall (61) defined by the frame (61) (see Fig. 4; [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Ahn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 10. Ahn further discloses that that the lateral beam (63) is integrally formed with the frame (61) (see Fig. 4; [0049]), anticipating the limitation in claim 11 requiring that the lateral beam is fixedly connected or integrally formed with the frame.
Regarding claim 12, Ahn discloses a battery (title; abstract), comprising: the box (60) according to claim 1; and a battery cell accommodated in the accommodating cavity (see Fig. 1; [0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Ahn discloses an electric apparatus (vehicle), comprising the battery according to claim 12, wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical energy to the electric apparatus (vehicle) (see Fig. 2; [0027]; [0045]; [0053]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Ahn discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 18. Ahn further discloses that the electric apparatus comprises a vehicle (title; [0027]-[0036]; see also Fig. 2), the battery being provided at the bottom (10) of the vehicle body, wherein the top of the box (60) is configured to form at least a portion of a chassis of the vehicle body (see Figs. 1, 2, and 4; [0027]-[0030]; [0040]-[0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 108039434 with English Machine Translation) (Deng) in view of Ahn et al. (US 2020/0324827) (Ahn).
Regarding claim 9, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Deng further discloses that the main body (1) comprises a bearing member (12) on the top of the main body (1), wherein the main body (1) is mounted to the external apparatus (electric vehicle) via the bearing member (12) (see Figs. 3 and 4; [0062]; [0064]). Deng fails to disclose, however, a sealing member disposed on top of the main body (1) and configured to be sealedly connected to the external apparatus (electric vehicle).
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Ahn teaches a similar box (60) for a battery (see Fig. 1; abstract; [0027]), wherein the box (60) comprises a main body (61+62) formed with an accommodating cavity for accommodating a battery cell ([0032]), wherein the top (62) of the main body (61+62) forms at least a portion of the top of the box (60), and the battery is mounted to an external apparatus (vehicle body) via the top of the box (60) (see Fig. 1; [0030]-[0036]). Ahn further teaches a sealing member (80) disposed on the top (62) of the main body (61+62) and configured to be sealedly connected to the external apparatus (vehicle body) (see Figs. 1-3; [0034]-[0036]). Ahn further teaches that configuring the main body (61+62) with this sealing member (80) allows for the battery box (60) to be effectively secured to the external apparatus (vehicle body) while also allowing for easy replacement or repair of the battery box (60) ([0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery box disclosed by Deng to have the claimed sealing member, as taught by Ahn, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would allow for the battery box to be effectively secured to the external apparatus while also allowing for easy replacement or repair of the battery box.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 18. Deng further discloses that the electric apparatus comprises a vehicle ([0012]; [0052]; [0062]), and the battery is connected to the vehicle body via the top of the box/top (12) of the main body (1) (see Figs. 3 and 4; [0062]; [0064]). Deng fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the battery is provided at the bottom of the vehicle body or that the top of the box is configured to form at least a portion of a chassis of the vehicle body.
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Ahn teaches a similar box (60) for a battery (see Fig. 1; abstract; [0027]), wherein the box (60) comprises a main body (61+62) formed with an accommodating cavity for accommodating a battery cell ([0032]), wherein the top (62) of the main body (61+62) forms at least a portion of the top of the box (60), and the battery is mounted to a vehicle body via the top of the box (60) (see Fig. 1; [0030]-[0036]). Ahn further teaches that the battery is provided at the bottom (10) of the vehicle body, wherein the top of the box (60) is configured to form at least a portion of a chassis of the vehicle body (see Figs. 1, 2, and 4; [0027]-[0030]; [0040]-[0048]). Ahn further teaches that configuring the vehicle body and the battery box (60) in this way can reduce the weight and manufacturing cost of the vehicle ([0030]), allow for easy replacement or repair of the battery box (60) ([0036]), improve durability and increase the range of the electric vehicle ([0045]), and prevent deformation of the battery box (60) ([0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electric vehicle disclosed by Deng such that the battery is provided on the bottom of the vehicle body and is configured to form at least a portion of a chassis of the vehicle body, as taught by Ahn, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would reduce the weight and manufacturing cost of the vehicle, allow for easy replacement or repair of the battery bod, improve durability, increase the range of the electric vehicle, and prevent deformation of the battery box.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 108039434 with English Machine Translation) (Deng) in view of Yang et al. (US 2013/0181826) (Yang) (of record).
Regarding claims 14-17, Deng discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claims 12 and 13. Deng fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the battery cell is suspended from and bonded to the bearing member (12). Deng also fails to explicitly disclose a location of electrode terminals on the battery cell or relative to the bearing member (12).
However, the claimed configurations are known in the art. For instance, Yang teaches a similar battery (title) comprising a box (3) with a main body (31+32) formed with an accommodating cavity, wherein a battery cell (1) is accommodated in the accommodating cavity (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0031]). Yang further teaches that the main body (31+32) comprises a bearing member (31) located on the top of the box (3) and configured for defining the accommodating cavity, the battery cell (1) being provided on the bearing member (31) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0031]). Yang further teaches that the battery box (3) is mounted to an external apparatus (vehicle) such that the battery cell (1) is upside down and suspended from and bonded to the bearing member (31) (see Fig. 1; [0031]; [0034]). Yang further teaches that an outer surface of the battery cell (1) facing the bearing member (31) is a first outer surface, the battery cell comprises electrode terminals (11), and the electrode terminals (11) are arranged on a second outer surface of the battery cell (1) facing away from the first outer surface (see Fig. 1; [0031]-[0032]). Yang further teaches that configuring the battery box (3) in this way improves the safety of the battery box (3) by allowing electrolyte leaks from the battery cell (1) to be detected ([0025]; [0032]-[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Deng such that the battery cell is suspended from and bonded to the bearing member, with the electrode terminals facing away from the bearing member, as taught by Yang, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would improve the safety of the battery box.
Conclusion
/BRENDON CHARLES DARBY/Examiner, Art Unit 1749