DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed September 9th, 2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/17/2026 are noted.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 1, 10, and 17 are amended; Claim 11 is now canceled; Claim 21 is newly added; Claims 1-10 and 12-21 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-10 and 12-21 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (U.S. PG Pub No US2023/0207719A1) (of record) in view of Gates (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0099813A1) (of record) and Sze (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0105812A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Chien teaches a photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] (SPAD) [0014, 0026], comprising:
a substrate (comprising 102) fig. 3A [0014];
an absorption region (113’) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] (see annotated fig. 3A below for 113’ boundaries defined for purposes of Examination) disposed (laterally) within the substrate (102) and in proximity to a surface (102u) fig. 3A [0014] of the substrate (102), the absorption region (113) comprising (at least partially hosting):
a bulk region (122 with 124) fig. 3A [0025] having a first p-type doping concentration (relatively higher p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 122) [0025]; and
a lightly doped layer (defined as composite ‘layer’ of 112 Germanium layer material [0025] comprising sublayer 130 with sublayer 126; at least 126 portion being relatively lighter doped) fig. 3A [0025] under the bulk region (122 with 124) and in proximity to a bottom side of the absorption region (113’), wherein the lightly doped layer (comprising 130) has a second p-type doping concentration (relatively lower/lighter p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 130) [0025] less than the first p-type doping concentration (relatively higher p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 122) [0025];
a multiplication region (115) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] disposed (laterally) within the substrate (102) and (vertically) separated from the absorption region (113’) (based on boundaries of 110 and 113’ assigned in fig. 3A of Chien); and
a channel region (118) fig. 3A [0014, 0056] disposed (vertically) between the multiplication region (115) and the absorption region (113’), and
wherein the (at least partially) lightly doped layer (comprising 126 with 130) has a U-shaped cross-sectional profile (collective shape of 126 with 130 has substantially right angled “U” shape) along a bottom side and lateral side (right/left sidewall) of the bulk region (122 with 124), and thereby the bulk region (122 with 124) is laterally surrounded by a vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the (at least partially [0025]) lightly doped layer (126 with 130).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (SR )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (113’)]
Annotated fig. 3A of Chien
However, Chien does not explicitly disclose wherein the channel region (118) and the multiplication region (115) meet at a p-n junction (118 is disclosed as “intrinsic” [0014] / undoped silicon rather than n-doped, while multiplication region 115 interfacing 118 is shown as p-type [see fig. 3A, 0017], thus, channel region 118 and multiplication region 115 meet at i-p junction not n-p / p-n junction),
a/the vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the lightly doped layer (126 with 130) having the second p-type doping concentration (p-dopant concentration of vertically extended portion 126 of 112 not specified).
Gates teaches a photodetector device (400) fig. 11 [0122-0123] wherein the channel region (440) fig. 11[0123] (“charge region” 440 acting as a channel for charge transfer between absorption region 430 and multiplication region 450 [0123]) (may be n-doped instead of undoped [0123]) and the multiplication region (450) fig. 11 [0123] (may be p-doped [0123] meet at a p-n junction (charge/channel region 440 may be n-doped [0123] while multiplication region 450 is p-doped [0123], such that 450-440 interface is p-n junction [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor channel region the photodetector of Chien to be n-doped instead of undoped/intrinsic [0123] in order to selectively vary dopant density of the charge-transferring channel region between the absorption region and the multiplication region [0132] so as to minimize band-gap discontinuities between them [0132] and optimize electric field distribution characteristics [0132], as taught by Gates.
However, Chien in view of Gates does not explicitly disclose a/the vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the lightly doped layer (126 with 130) having the second p-type doping concentration (p-dopant concentration of vertically extended portion 126 of 112 not specified).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] comprising a/the vertically extended portion (vertically-extending portion of 146 laterally surrounding 206) (see annotated fig. 16 below) of the lightly doped layer (146) fig. 16 [0067] having the second p-type doping concentration (entirety of uniformly-shaded region of 146, including vertically extending portions indicated in annotated fig. 16 below, has relatively ‘light’ p-type concentration, approximately 3x10^16 atoms/cm^3 or less [0067], which is less than heavily doped p-type 206 [0069] – corresponding to first p-type concentration [0069]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vertically extended portion of 146 of laterally surrounding 206 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 16 of Sze
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien in view of Gates such an entire portion of the lightly-doped p-type layer of the absorption region [0067, 0036-0038], including the vertically-extending portions of the U-shape portion surrounding the heavily-doped region [0067, 0069], has a dopant concentration of boron of 3×10^16 atoms/cm3 or less [0067] in order to optimize light absorption [0036-0038] properties of the lightly doped layer according to art recognized suitable parameters [0067], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 2, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 1. However, Chien does not explicitly disclose wherein the second p-type doping (relatively lower p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 130) fig. 3A [0025] concentration is no greater than about 5e16 atoms/cm3 (concentration of p-dopants not explicitly disclosed).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] wherein the second p-type doping (layer 146 outside of 206) fig. 16 [0067] (146 has relatively lower p-type concentration than heavily doped p-type 206 – corresponding to first p-type concentration) fig. 16 [0069] concentration is no greater than about 5e16 atoms/cm3 (concentration of 146 may be approximately 3x10^16 atoms/cm^3 or less [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien such that the lightly-doped p-type layer of the absorption region [0067, 0036-0038] has a dopant concentration of boron of 3×1016 atoms/cm3 or less [0067] in order to optimize light absorption [0036-0038] properties of the lightly doped layer according to art recognized suitable parameters [0067], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 4, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 1. Chien also teaches wherein a regional p-type doping concentration along a vertical direction from a top side of the absorption region (113’) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] to a bottom side of the absorption region (113) substantially comprises a decreasing trend (p-type doping concentration of 113 region comprising 122 and 124 may decrease [0025] from greater concentration at top area comprising 122 to lower concentration in underlying 124 layer [0025] and even lower concentration of p-dopant in underlying layer 130).
Regarding claim 5, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 1. Chien in view of Gates also teaches wherein the channel region (118) fig. 3A [0014, 0056] comprises an n-type region (when modified by Gates to be n-doped [0123, 0132 Gates]), and the multiplication region (115) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] comprises an n-type region (108) fig. 3A [0014] and a p-type region (106) fig. 3A [0014] (see fig. 1 for label), wherein the p-type region (106) of the multiplication region (115) is disposed (vertically) between the channel region (118) and the n-type region (108) of the multiplication region (115).
Regarding claim 6, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 1. Chien also teaches further comprising:
a surface region (SR) annotated fig. 3A above [0014, 0025] extending around a bottom side and a lateral side of the absorption region (113’) (as defined in annotated fig. 3A above), wherein the surface region (SR) has a third p-type doping concentration (concentration of p-doped 120 layer) fig. 3A [0022].
However, Chien does not explicitly disclose the surface region (SR comprising 120) has a third p-type doping concentration (concentration of p-doped layer 120) different from each of the first p-type doping concentration (relatively high p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 122) [0025] and the second p-type doping concentration (relatively low p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 130) [0025] (relative p-doping concentration of 120 not explicitly disclosed).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] wherein the surface region (comprising 142) fig. 16 [0067] has a third p-type doping concentration (10^18-10^19 atoms/cm^3) [0067] different from (greater than) each of the first p-type doping concentration (10^16-10^18 atoms/cm^3) (doping concentration of p-type layer 206) [0069] and the second p-type doping concentration (relatively low p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 130) [0025] (concentration of 146 may be approximately 3x10^16 atoms/cm^3 or less [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien such that the p-type layer surrounding the layers of the absorption region [0067] is heavily doped with a greater concentration of p-dopants than the internal layers [0067-0069] in order to provide a sufficient degree of electrical isolation between the internal circuitry [0022] and adjacent devices [0022], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 7, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 1. However, Chien does not explicitly disclose wherein the first p-type doping concentration (relatively lower p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 122) fig. 3A [0025] is in a range of from about 5e16 atoms/cm3 to about 5e17 atoms/cm3 (concentration of 122 not explicitly disclosed).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] wherein the first p-type doping concentration (206) fig. 16 [0069] is in a range of from about 5e16 atoms/cm3 to about 5e17 atoms/cm3 (10^16 atoms/cm^3 – 10^18 atoms/cm^3) [0069] (encompassing the claimed range).
While Sze does not explicitly disclose the first p-type doping concentration in a range from about 5x10^16-5x10^17 atoms/cm^3, Sze discloses a broader range of 10^16 atoms/cm^3-10^18 atoms/cm^3 [0069]. Sze’s disclosed range encompasses the narrower, claimed range. Therefore, in the absence of evidence of criticality for the narrower claimed range, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the range of “from about 5x10^16-5x10^17 atoms/cm^3” obvious over the teachings of Sze [0069]. (See MPEP 2144.05, I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien such that the heavily doped p-type layer of the absorption region [0067, 0036-0038] has a dopant concentration of boron of 10^16-10^18 atoms/cm3 or less [0067] in order to optimize light absorption [0036-0038] and conductivity [0068-0069] properties of the doped layer according to art recognized suitable parameters [0069], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 8, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 6. Chien in view of Gates and Sze also teaches wherein a trend of a cross-regional p-type doping concentration along a vertical direction from a top side of the absorption region (113’) (as defined in annotated fig. 3A of Chien above) to a bottom side of the surface region (SR) annotated fig. 3A above [0014, 0025] substantially comprises a turning point in proximity to an interface between the lightly doped layer (130) fig. 3A [0025] and the surface region (when Chien is modified by Sze such that layer 120 of SR is doped to have a higher concentration of p-type dopants than both 130 and 122, regional p-type dopant increases at an interface from 130 to 120 in Chien after decreasing from 122 to 130 in Chien [0025] and therefore, the interface from 130 to 120 of Chien modified by Sze has a turning point of increase in p-type dopant concentration relative to the decrease in p-type dopant concentration from 122 to 130 – in a vertical concentration profile defined from 122 to 130 to 120 of Chien modified by Sze).
Regarding claim 9, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 6. Chien in view of Gates and Sze also teaches wherein a cross-regional p-type doping concentration along a vertical direction from a top side of the absorption region (113’) (in a vertical concentration profile defined from 122 to 130 to 120 of Chien modified by Sze - as defined in annotated fig. 3A of Chien above) to a bottom side of the surface region (SR) annotated fig. 3A above [0014, 0025] substantially comprises a decreasing trend and an increasing trend sequentially (when Chien is modified by Sze such that layer 120 of SR is doped to have a higher concentration of p-type dopants than both 130 and 122, in a vertical concentration profile defined from 122 to 130 to 120 of Chien modified by Sze, p-type dopant concentration decreases from 122 to 130 [0025 Chien] and then increases from 130 to 120 [assuming relative concentrations specified by 0067-0069 of Sze, as applied in claim 6 above]).
Regarding claim 10, Chien teaches a photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] (SPAD) [0014, 0026], comprising:
a substrate (comprising 102) fig. 3A [0014];
an absorption region (113’) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] (see annotated fig. 3A below for 113’ boundaries defined for purposes of Examination) disposed (laterally) within the substrate (102) and in proximity to a surface (102u) fig. 3A [0014] of the substrate (102), the absorption region (113) comprising (at least partially hosting):
a bulk region (122 with 124) fig. 3A [0025] having a first p-type doping concentration (relatively higher p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 122) [0025]; and
a lightly doped layer (defined as composite ‘layer’ of 112 Germanium layer material [0025] comprising sublayer 130 with sublayer 126; at least 126 portion being relatively lighter doped) fig. 3A [0025] laterally surrounding the bulk region (122 with 124), wherein the (at least partially) lightly doped layer (126 with 130) has a second p-type doping concentration (in 130 portion; relatively lower p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 130) [0025] less than the first p-type doping concentration (relatively higher p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 122) [0025];
a multiplication region (115) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] disposed (laterally) within the substrate (102) and (vertically) separated from the absorption region (113’) (based on boundaries of 110 and 113’ assigned in annotated fig. 3A of Chien below); and
a channel region (118) fig. 3A [0014, 0056] disposed (vertically) between the multiplication region (115) and the absorption region (113’), and
wherein the (at least partially) lightly doped layer (comprising 126 with 130) has a U-shaped cross-sectional profile (collective shape of 126 with 130 has substantially right angled “U” shape) along a bottom side and lateral side (right/left sidewall) of the bulk region (122 with 124), and thereby the bulk region (122 with 124) is laterally surrounded by a vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the (at least partially [0025]) lightly doped layer (126 with 130).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (SR )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (113’)]
Annotated fig. 3A of Chien
However, Chien does not explicitly disclose wherein the channel region (118) and the multiplication region (115) meet at a p-n junction (118 is disclosed as “intrinsic” [0014] / undoped silicon rather than n-doped, while multiplication region 115 interfacing 118 is shown as p-type [see fig. 3A, 0017], thus, channel region 118 and multiplication region 115 meet at i-p junction not n-p / p-n junction),
a/the vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the lightly doped layer (126 with 130) having the second p-type doping concentration (p-dopant concentration of vertically extended portion 126 of 112 not specified).
Gates teaches a photodetector device (400) fig. 11 [0122-0123] wherein the channel region (440) fig. 11[0123] (“charge region” 440 acting as a channel for charge transfer between absorption region 430 and multiplication region 450 [0123]) (may be n-doped instead of undoped [0123]) and the multiplication region (450) fig. 11 [0123] (may be p-doped [0123] meet at a p-n junction (charge/channel region 440 may be n-doped [0123] while multiplication region 450 Is p-doped [0123], such that 450-440 interface is p-n junction [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor channel region the photodetector of Chien to be n-doped instead of undoped/intrinsic [0123] in order to selectively vary dopant density of the charge-transferring channel region between the absorption region and the multiplication region [0132] so as to minimize band-gap discontinuities between them [0132] and optimize electric field distribution characteristics [0132], as taught by Gates.
However, Chien in view of Gates does not explicitly disclose a/the vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the lightly doped layer (126 with 130) having the second p-type doping concentration (p-dopant concentration of vertically extended portion 126 of 112 not specified).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] comprising a/the vertically extended portion (vertically-extending portion of 146 laterally surrounding 206) (see annotated fig. 16 below) of the lightly doped layer (146) fig. 16 [0067] having the second p-type doping concentration (entirety of uniformly-shaded region of 146, including vertically extending portions indicated in annotated fig. 16 below, has relatively ‘light’ p-type concentration, approximately 3x10^16 atoms/cm^3 or less [0067], which is less than heavily doped p-type 206 [0069] – corresponding to first p-type concentration [0069]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vertically extended portion of 146 of laterally surrounding 206 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 16 of Sze
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien in view of Gates such an entire portion of the lightly-doped p-type layer of the absorption region [0067, 0036-0038], including the vertically-extending portions of the U-shape portion surrounding the heavily-doped region [0067, 0069], has a dopant concentration of boron of 3×10^16 atoms/cm3 or less [0067] in order to optimize light absorption [0036-0038] properties of the lightly doped layer according to art recognized suitable parameters [0067], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 12, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 10. Chien also teaches wherein in the absorption region (113’) (as defined in annotated fig. 3A above) comprises boron-doped germanium (113’ is formed in p-doped germanium region 112 [0025], however, boron is not specified as the p-dopant [0025]).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] wherein in the absorption region (comprising 146) fig. 16 [0067, 0036-0038] comprises boron-doped germanium (germanium doped with boron [0067]; boron used as p-dopant of germanium [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien such that the p-type dopant of Germanium is Boron [0067, 0036] because of the art-recognized suitability and preferability [0067] of boron as a p-type dopant for germanium in an photodetector [0067, 0036, 0005], as evidenced by Sze.
Regarding claim 13, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 10. However, Chien does not explicitly disclose a trend of a regional p-type doping concentration along a horizontal direction between two sides of the absorption region (113’) fig. 3A [0025] substantially comprises a decreasing trend and an increasing trend (assumed to be a substantially flat/uniform concentration profile in horizontal direction).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] wherein a trend of a regional p-type doping concentration along a horizontal direction between two sides of the absorption region (110) fig. 16 [0066-0068] substantially comprises a decreasing trend and an increasing trend (in a cross-sectional plane defined as crossing through 202 then intervening 146 then 206, p-dopant profile decreases from 202 to 146 [0067-0069] then increases from 146 to 206 [0067-0069] assuming concentrations of p-dopants specified by [0067-0069] of Sze for respective layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien such that the horizontally-disposed areas of the absorption region [0067, 0036-0038] have the relative p-type dopant concentrations specified by [0067] of Chien in order to optimize light absorption [0036-0038] and conductivity [0068-0069] properties of the doped regions according to art recognized suitable parameters [0067-0069], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 14, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 10. Chien also teaches further comprising:
a surface region (SR) annotated fig. 3A above [0014, 0025] extending around a bottom side and a lateral side of the absorption region (113’) (as defined in annotated fig. 3A above), wherein the surface region (SR) has a third p-type doping concentration (concentration of p-doped 120 layer) fig. 3A [0022].
However, Chien does not explicitly disclose the surface region (SR comprising 120) has a third p-type doping concentration (concentration of p-doped layer 120) different from each of the first p-type doping concentration (relatively high p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 122) [0025] and the second p-type doping concentration (relatively low p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 130) [0025] (relative p-doping concentration of 120 not explicitly disclosed).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] wherein the surface region (comprising 142) fig. 16 [0067] has a third p-type doping concentration (10^18-10^19 atoms/cm^3) [0067] different from (greater than) each of the first p-type doping concentration (10^16-10^18 atoms/cm^3) (doping concentration of p-type layer 206) [0069] and the second p-type doping concentration (relatively low p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 130) [0025] (concentration of 146 may be approximately 3x10^16 atoms/cm^3 or less [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien such that the p-type layer surrounding the layers of the absorption region [0067] is heavily doped with a greater concentration of p-dopants than the internal layers [0067-0069] in order to provide a sufficient degree of electrical isolation between the internal circuitry [0022] and adjacent devices [0022], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 15 Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 14. Chien in view of Gates and Sze (with reference to Sze) also teaches wherein the third p-type doping (comprising 142) fig. 16 [0067] concentration is greater than about 5e17 atoms/cm3 (10^18-10^19 atoms/cm^3 is entirely greater than 5x10^17 atoms/cm^3) [0067].
Regarding claim 16, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 14. Chien in view of Gates and Sze (with reference to Sze) also teaches wherein the third p-type doping (10^18-10^19 atoms/cm^3) fig. 16 [0067] concentration is (entirely) greater than the first p-type (doping concentration of p-type layer 206) fi. 16 [0069] doping concentration (10^16-10^18 atoms/cm^3).
Regarding claim 17, Chien teaches a photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] (SPAD) [0014, 0026], comprising:
a silicon substrate (comprising 102) fig. 3A [0014];
a germanium-based absorption region (113 formed in Ge-based 112) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] disposed (laterally) within the silicon substrate (102) and in proximity to a surface (102u) fig. 3A [0014] of the silicon substrate (102), the absorption region (113) comprising (at least partially hosting):
a lightly doped layer (130) fig. 3A [0025-0026] (in 130 relatively lower/lighter p-type doping concentration of p-type layer 130 than 122/124) [0025] in proximity to (hosting) an interface between the silicon substrate (102) and the germanium-based absorption region (113) (102 and 113 interface at 118 region),
a multiplication region (115) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] disposed (laterally) within the silicon substrate (102) and under the germanium-based absorption region (113); and
a channel region (118) fig. 3A [0014, 0056] disposed (vertically) between the multiplication region (115) and the absorption region (113), and
wherein the (at least partially) lightly doped layer (comprising 126 with 130) has a U-shaped cross-sectional profile (collective shape of 126 with 130 has substantially right angled “U” shape) along a bottom side and lateral side (right/left sidewall) of the bulk region (122 with 124), and thereby the bulk region (122 with 124) is laterally surrounded by a vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the (at least partially [0025]) lightly doped layer (126 with 130).
However, Chien does not explicitly disclose the lightly doped layer (130) having a doping concentration no greater than about 5e16 atoms/cm^3 (concentration not specified),
wherein the channel region (118) and the multiplication region (115) meet at a p-n junction (118 is disclosed as “intrinsic” [0014] / undoped silicon rather than n-doped, while multiplication region 115 interfacing 118 is shown as p-type [see fig. 3A, 0017], thus, channel region 118 and multiplication region 115 meet at i-p junction not n-p / p-n junction),
a/the vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the lightly doped layer (126 with 130) having the doping concentration of no greater than 5e16 atoms/cm^3 (p-dopant concentration of vertically extended portion 126 of 112 not specified).
Gates teaches a photodetector device (400) fig. 11 [0122-0123] comprising the lightly doped layer (light doped portion of 430) fig. 11 [0140] having a doping concentration no greater than about 5e16 atoms/cm3 (defines lightly doped as being less than 10^16 atoms/cm^3) [0140],
wherein the channel region (440) fig. 11 [0123] (“charge region” 440 acting as a channel for charge transfer between absorption region 430 and multiplication region 450 [0123]) (may be n-doped instead of undoped [0123]) and the multiplication region (450) fig. 11 [0123] (may be p-doped [0123] meet at a p-n junction (charge/channel region 440 may be n-doped [0123] while multiplication region 450 Is p-doped [0123], such that 450-440 interface is p-n junction [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the semiconductor channel region the photodetector of Chien to be n-doped instead of undoped/intrinsic [0123] in order to selectively vary dopant density of the charge-transferring channel region between the absorption region and the multiplication region [0132] so as to minimize band-gap discontinuities between them [0132] and optimize electric field distribution characteristics [0132], as taught by Gates. Moreover, Gates evidences that the relatively-lightly doped p-type material of the absorption region of Chien could be doped in a concentration range of less than 10^16 atoms/cm^3 [0140].
However, Chien in view of Gates does not explicitly disclose a/the vertically extended portion (126 portion) of the lightly doped layer (126 with 130) having the doping concentration of no greater than 5e16 atoms/cm^3 (p-dopant concentration of vertically extended portion 126 of 112 not specified).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] comprising a/the vertically extended portion (vertically-extending portion of 146 laterally surrounding 206) (see annotated fig. 16 below) of the lightly doped layer (146) fig. 16 [0067] having the doping concentration of no more than 5e16 atoms/cm^3 (entirety of uniformly-shaded region of 146, including vertically extending portions indicated in annotated fig. 16 below, has relatively ‘light’ p-type concentration, approximately 3x10^16 atoms/cm^3 or less [0067], which is less than 5x10^16 atoms/cm^3 [0067]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vertically extended portion of 146 of laterally surrounding 206 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 16 of Sze
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien in view of Gates such an entire portion of the lightly-doped p-type layer of the absorption region [0067, 0036-0038], including the vertically-extending portions of the U-shape portion surrounding the heavily-doped region [0067, 0069], has a dopant concentration of boron of 3×10^16 atoms/cm3 or less [0067] in order to optimize light absorption [0036-0038] properties of the lightly doped layer according to art recognized suitable parameters [0067], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 18, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 17. Chien also teaches a surface region (collective 120 material) fig. 3A [0021-0022] extending (at least partially) around a bottom side and a lateral side of the germanium-based absorption region (113).
Regarding claim 19, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 18. However, Chien does not explicitly disclose wherein a trend of a cross-regional p-type doping concentration along a vertical direction from a top side of the germanium-based absorption (113) fig. 3A [0026, 0017] region to a bottom side of the surface region (120) fig. 3A [0021-0022] substantially comprises a turning point in proximity to the bottom side of the germanium-based absorption region (113) (decreases from 122 to 130 [0025-0026], however, relative concentration of 130 to 120 not disclosed).
Sze teaches a photodetector device (1600) fig. 16 [0073, 0005, 0011] (considered from flipped perspective of annotated fig. 16 below) wherein a trend of a cross-regional p-type doping concentration (from 206 to 146 with 144 to 142) fig. 16 [0067-0069] along a vertical direction from a top side (comprising top of 206) of the germanium-based absorption (146) fig. 16 [0067] region to a bottom side of the surface region (bottom of 142) fig. 3A [0021-0022] substantially comprises a turning point in proximity to the bottom side of the germanium-based absorption region (comprising bottom of 144) (concentration decreases from 206 wherein concentration is 10^16-10^18 atoms/cm^3, for example, 10^17 atoms/cm^3 - to 146 with 144, where concentration is less than 3x 10^16 atoms/cm^3 [0067], then increases from 144 to 142 [0067-0069], where the concentration of 10^18-10^19 atoms/cm^3 [0069]).
Annotated fig. 16 of Sze
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien such that the p-type layer surrounding the layers of the absorption region [0067] is heavily doped with a greater concentration of p-dopants than the internal layers [0067-0069] in order to provide a sufficient degree of electrical isolation between the internal circuitry [0022] and adjacent devices [0022], as taught by Sze. Further, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien such that the vertically-disposed areas of the absorption region [0067, 0036-0038] have the relative p-type dopant concentrations specified by [0067] of Chien in order to optimize light absorption [0036-0038] and conductivity [0068-0069] properties of the doped regions according to art recognized suitable parameters [0067-0069], as taught by Sze.
Regarding claim 20, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 19. Chien in view of Gates and Sze (with reference to Sze) also teaches wherein the germanium-based absorption region (110) fig. 16 [0066-0068] comprises a bulk region (206) fig. 16 [0069] laterally surrounded by the lightly doped layer (remaining portion of 146 with 144) fig. 16 [0067-0069], a thickness of the lightly doped layer (146 sidewalls) is (visually) greater than a thickness of the bulk region (206 contained therein).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (U.S. PG Pub No US2023/0207719A1) (of record) modified by Gates (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0099813A1) (of record) and Sze (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0105812A1) (of record), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Lu (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0066529A1).
Regarding claim 3, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 1. However, Chien does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the lightly doped layer (comprising 130) fig. 3A [0025] is ranging from about 1 Å to about 300 nm.
Lu teaches a photodetector device (100d) fig. 1D [0143] wherein a thickness of the lightly doped layer (202) fig. 1D [0144] (positioned between 10 and 201) is ranging from about 1 Å to about 300 nm (ranges from about 10 nm / 100 angstroms – about 500nm [0144] – which overlaps with the claimed range).
While Lu does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the p-doped layer underlying the absorption region as having a thickness from about 100 angstroms to about 300 nanometers, Lu discloses a range of thicknesses of about 100 angstroms to about 500 nanometers. These ranges overlap. Therefore, in the absence of evidence of criticality for the slightly different claimed range, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the range of “1 angstrom to about 300 nanometers” obvious over the teachings of Lu [0144]. (See MPEP 2144.05, I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thickness of the p-doped layer underlying the absorption region to have a thickness ranging from an order of tens of nanometers to hundreds of nanometers [0144] in order to optimally form the doped layer to, along with other features, produce favorable electric field characteristics and reduced dark current in the photodetector device [0144], as taught by Lu.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (U.S. PG Pub No US2023/0207719A1) (of record) modified by Gates (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0099813A1) (of record) and Sze (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0105812A1) (of record), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (U.S. PG Pub No US2023/0065873A1).
Regarding claim 21, Chien in view of Gates and Sze teaches the photodetector device (100) fig. 3A [0014, 0025-0026] of claim 1. Chien in view of Gates also teaches further comprising:
a vertical connection region (vertically extending region of “connection region” 116) see annotated fig. 3A-II of Chien below [0016] extending from a lateral connection region (horizontally extending region of “connection region” 116) see annotated fig. 3A-II of Chien below [0016] under the p-n junction (interface of 118/115; modified by Gates to be p-n junction), wherein the vertical connection region (vertically extending region of “connection region” 116) see annotated fig. 3A-II of Chien below [0016] vertically pasts (extends vertically beyond) a bottom surface of the absorption region (113’) fig. 3A [0026, 0017].
[AltContent: textbox (118/115 interface made p/n junction by Gates )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vertical connection region of 114)][AltContent: textbox (Lateral connection region of 114)][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 3A-II of Chien
However, Chien in view of Gates does not explicitly disclose a contact structure extending from a top of the vertical connection region (vertically extending region of “connection region” 116) (referred to also as “guard ring” [0016]) to a top surface of the substrate (comprising 102) fig. 3A [0014],
wherein a doping concentration of the contact structure is greater than a doping concentration of the vertical connection region (116) (referred to as n-type “guard ring” [0015]).
Lee teaches a photodetector device (4) fig. 13 [0117] comprising a contact structure (122) fig. 13 [0117-0120] extending from a top of the vertical connection region (500) fig. 13 [0118] (referred to as n-type “guard ring”) to a (level of) top surface of the substrate (comprising top of 110) fig. 13 [0073-0074],
wherein a doping concentration of the contact structure (122) [0082, 0117-0120] is greater than a doping concentration of the vertical connection region (500) [0111, 0117-0120] (“contact” 122 may have greater concentration of n-type dopants than 120 [0082], while “guard ring” 500 may have less concentration of n-type dopants than 120 [0111], implying contact region may have greater concentration than 500 as well [0082, 0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the photodetector device of Chien in view of Gates to include the formation of heavily doped contact structures [0082] above the guard ring region [0117-0120] in order to facilitate and strengthen the degree of electrical connections/interconnectivity between the photodetector cell and external circuitry [0082], as taught by Lee.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Particularly, Applicant has not specifically addressed the teachings of Sze (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0105812A1) (of record) as it pertains to Applicant’s amendment(s) of independent claims 1, 10, and 17 – as applied in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 10, and 17 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references newly-added to PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature photodetector devices with doped, U-shaped regions.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 11/07/2026