DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected for containing “unlabeled generic box elements” (see 21, 22, 23, 25, Figures 1 & 2). Correction is required in accordance with 37 CFR 1.83 as stated below.
Further, 37 CFR 1.83 – Content of Drawing:
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
(b) When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
(c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
[31 FR 12923, Oct. 4, 1966; 43 FR 4015, Jan. 31, 1978; paras. (a) and (c) revised, 60 FR 20195, Apr. 25, 1995, effective June 8, 1995; para. (a) revised, 69 FR 56481, Sept. 21, 2004, effective Oct. 21, 2004; para. (a) revised, 78 FR 62368, Oct. 21, 2013]
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6-9 and 11-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a battery power transport vehicle” in lines 1-2, “a plurality of transport vehicles” in line 3, and “the vehicle” in line 6. The claim should be amended to clarify which vehicle or vehicles the method applies to.
In claim 1, line 5, there is no antecedent basis for “the other direction”.
In claim 6, line 2, there is no antecedent basis for “the charger”.
In claim 7, line 2, “the battery” should be changed to --the at least one battery--.
In claim 8, line 3, there is no antecedent basis for “the systems”.
In claim 9, line 2, --the-- should inserted before “charging system”.
In claim 9, line 2, “the appropriate amount of energy” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 9, line 3, “the connector” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 9, line 3, “the operator” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 11, line 2, --the-- should inserted before “charging system”.
In claim 12, line 2, --the-- should inserted before “charging system”.
In claim 13, line 2, “the temperature” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 14, line 2, “the cell temperatures” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 15, the claim includes parentheses. Parentheses are usually used to enclose reference characters. The use of parentheses as recited does not conform to standard claim formatting and may cause confusion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “appropriate” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “appropriate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “amount of energy” is rendered indefinite.
The term “long” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “cycle life” as rendered indefinite.
The term “low” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “current scenario” is rendered indefinite.
The term “high” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “current” is rendered indefinite.
Claim 19 is dependent from claim 18 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 18.
The term “optimum” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “optimum” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “state of charge” is rendered indefinite.
The above mentioned claim objections and claim rejections under 112(b) are not a complete and thorough listing, and are only intended to illustrate the extensive revision required. Applicant is required to revise all of the claims completely, and not just correct the language mentioned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHOLEWA (Pub. No.: US 2018/0111496 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHOLEWA discloses a method for lifting materials on a mining ramp (12, Fig. 1; ¶ 0016: FIG. 1 shows a haul truck 10 according to the present invention ascending a rising mine tunnel, ramp, or other pathway 12. The haul truck 10 carries ore or waste rock between a load point and a dump point, which are often at different elevations) using a battery powered transport vehicle (10, Fig. 1; ¶ 0017: haul truck 10 includes one or more lithium-titanate (LTO) cells or batteries 14 configured to power haul truck 10. The one or more LTO cells or batteries 14 will be referred to in the below as battery 14 for sake of brevity) comprising:
transporting bulk materials in a plurality of transport vehicles along an inclined ramp from a first location to a second location where the ramp is inclined upwardly in one direction and declined in the other direction (¶ 0016: see above; ¶ 0018: haul truck 10 begins its ascent at a starting length 16 of the tunnel 12. The starting length 16 may be a substantially horizontal length of the tunnel 12. The haul truck 10 ascends a rising length 18 of the tunnel 12 before arriving at a substantially horizontal ending length 20 of the tunnel 12. The rising length 18 can be rise at an even grade, as depicted, or can have a more complicated profile. Irrespective of the specific profile of the rising length 18, the ending length 20 is at a higher elevation than the starting length 16);
such that in a cycle of operation the vehicle moves from the first location to the second location and back to the first location so as to undergo one upward incline and one decline (¶ 0030: FIG. 3 shows example load indicator data and example regenerative braking power generation data over one cycle, or round trip, of the haul truck 10 driving the elevated ending length 20 of the tunnel 12, descending the rising length 18, driving the lower starting length 16, ascending the rising length 18, and finishing at the elevated ending length 20 where the charging station 22 is located);
providing on each of the vehicles a supply of energy in at least one battery (14, Fig. 1) for driving the vehicle (¶ 0017: see above);
providing a charging system (22, 24, Fig. 1) for charging said at least one battery (¶ 0020: A stationary high-power charge station 22 is provided at the ending length 20 of the tunnel 12. The high-power charge station 22 is configured to rapidly charge the battery 14);
wherein said at least one battery contains only enough energy for two or less cycles of operation (¶ 0008: charge controller is configured to determine an amount of charge to be provided to the battery for an upcoming trip based on regenerative braking power generation and load indication measured during a previous trip. The charge controller is further configured to command a battery charger to charge the battery up to the determined amount of charge and to stop charging the battery once the determined amount of charge has been reached; ¶ 0021: the capacity of the battery 14 is selected, in view of the location of the charge station 22, to last for one trip between visits to the charge station 22. This advantageously reduces or minimizes the size and weight of the battery 14. Thus, instead of running the haul truck for several trips and then charging it for an extended period of time, the haul truck 10 is run for one trip and then its LTO battery 14 is charged quickly using the high-power charge station 22; ¶ 0030: the charge controller 40 can be configured to compute the charge to be provided to the battery 14 at the charging station 22 based on a load indicator measurement 70 made during a previous ascent and based on the regenerative braking power generated 60, as measured during a previous descent. The charge controller 40 is provided with logic instructing that higher load indications require more charge from the charging station 22 and that higher regenerative braking powers require less charge from the charging station 22. Averages of measurements 60, 70 may be taken over one or more trip cycles and the charge controller 40 can be configured to compute the charge needed based on such average values. Accordingly, the charge controller 40 is configured to reduce or minimize charge time).
Regarding claim 2, CHOLEWA discloses said at least one battery contains only enough energy for less than two cycles of operation (¶ 0008, 0021, 0030).
Regarding claim 3, CHOLEWA discloses the charging system is located at one of the first and second locations (¶ 0020).
Regarding claim 6, CHOLEWA discloses the charging system includes movable engaging elements for connecting the charger and a receptacle mounted on the vehicle (¶ 0020).
Regarding claim 10, CHOLEWA discloses the vehicle is recharged at the charging system while being loaded or unloaded (¶ 0016, 0019, 0030-0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOLEWA.
Regarding claim 4, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 1, and further discloses said at least one battery is discharged during the upward incline and recharged during the decline (¶ 0030).
CHOLEWA fails to disclose the charging system is located at the second location at the bottom of the incline.
However, the application discloses the charging system can be located at either the first or second location (abstract, page 4, lines 3-8 of the specification as originally filed), and therefore the location of the charging system lacks criticality. CHOLEWA discloses the charging system is located at the first location at the top of the incline (as shown in Fig. 1 and explained in ¶ 0018-0020). It is submitted that locating the charging system at the second location at the bottom of the incline would not provide new or unexpected results, and would be an obvious modification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the charging system located at the bottom of the incline in order to provide operational efficiency based on various factors and as a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Regarding claim 5, CHOLEWA discloses said at least one battery is substantially discharged at the top of the incline (¶ 0030).
Regarding claim 11, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 1 but fails to disclose said at least one battery and charging system has a charge rate in the range 2 to 4 megawatts.
However, CHOLEWA discloses said at least one battery and charging system has a charge rate that is a result effective variable (¶ 0020), and providing the charge rate “in the range 2 to 4 megawatts” would not provide new or unexpected results, and would be an obvious optimization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the charge rate as recited in order to safely and efficiently charge the battery based on battery specifications.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOLEWA as applied to claims 1-3, 6, and 10 above, and further in view of KONG (Pub. No.: WO 2024183141 A1; English Machine translation is included with office action).
Regarding claim 16, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose said at least one battery has a capacity of between 400 to 900 KW-hrs, a mass of mass in of the order of 10,000 to 20,000 kilograms and a long cycle life greater than 40,000 cycles.
However, CHOLEWA discloses the capacity and mass as result effective variables (¶ 0021), and providing the capacity and mass as recited would not provide new or unexpected results, and would be an obvious optimization. Also, KONG discloses a long cycle life greater than 40,000 cycles (¶ 0061, 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the battery capacity, mass, and cycle life as recited in order to ensure the battery is operationally and economically viable for the given application.
Claim(s) 7-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOLEWA as applied to claims 1-3, 6, and 10 above, and further in view of SARKAR (Pub. No.: US 2013/0193918 A1).
Regarding claim 7, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 6, but fails to disclose the interconnection between the battery and the charger includes an automatic detection, interlock, and breaker that does not require human intervention.
SARKAR discloses the interconnection between the battery and the charger includes an automatic detection, interlock, and breaker that does not require human intervention (¶ 0003, 0008, 0079, 0082-0083, 0112-0114, 0128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interconnection between the battery and the charger as recited in order to ensure a proper charge every time and allow for continuous, efficient operation of the vehicle (SARKAR, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 8, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 6, but fails to disclose the vehicle includes a wireless automated control system which communicates with the charging system and monitors the systems and enables the charger when the vehicle is ready to accept current.
SARKAR discloses the vehicle includes a wireless automated control system which communicates with the charging system and monitors the systems and enables the charger when the vehicle is ready to accept current (¶ 0047-0049, 0052-0053, 0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the wireless automated control system as recited in order to ensure a proper charge every time and allow for continuous, efficient operation of the vehicle (SARKAR, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 9, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 6, but fails to disclose the vehicle and charging system communicate to provide the appropriate amount of energy to the vehicle and when charging is complete the connector retracts and the operator is given a signal to continue driving.
SARKAR discloses the vehicle and charging system communicate to provide the appropriate amount of energy to the vehicle (¶ 0074, 0127) and when charging is complete the connector retracts (¶ 0079-0080, 0092, 0129) and the operator is given a signal to continue driving (¶ 0136, 0140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the appropriate amount of energy, connector retraction, and operator signal as recited in order to ensure a proper charge every time and allow for continuous, efficient operation of the vehicle (SARKAR, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 12, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose said at least one battery and charging system has a charge rate sufficient to recharge in less than 7 minutes.
SARKAR discloses said at least one battery and charging system has a charge rate sufficient to recharge in less than 7 minutes (¶ 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the charge rate sufficient to recharge in less than 7 minutes in order to maximize operational efficiency and reduce downtime.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOLEWA as applied to claims 1-3, 6, and 10 above, and further in view of KLOSE (Pub. No.: US 2021/0188127 A1).
Regarding claim 13, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 1, and further discloses said at least one battery has a cooling system (¶ 0028).
CHOLEWA fails to disclose said at least one battery has a cooling system arranged to maintain the temperature of any one of the cells to less than 45° C. during said charging.
KLOSE discloses said at least one battery has a cooling system arranged to maintain the temperature of any one of the cells to less than 45° C. during said charging (¶ 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the cooling system as recited in order to provide a method and a system for regulating a charging temperature of a vehicle battery, in which the charging procedure is sped up or the required charging time is reduced (KLOSE, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 14, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 1 but fails to disclose cooling is maintained during the cycle and acts to reduce the cell temperatures in preparation for the next charging.
KLOSE discloses cooling is maintained during the cycle and acts to reduce the cell temperatures in preparation for the next charging (¶ 0015, 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include cooling is maintained during the cycle as recited in order to provide a method and a system for regulating a charging temperature of a vehicle battery, in which the charging procedure is sped up or the required charging time is reduced (KLOSE, ¶ 0005).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOLEWA in view of KLOSE as applied to claims 13-14 above, and further in view of YOSHIDA (Pub. No.: US 2020/0406784 A1).
Regarding claim 15, CHOLEWA as modified by KLOSE teaches the method as applied to claim 13 but fails to disclose the cooling system includes conductive cooling plates located on a transverse axis of prismatic cells to maximize the rate of heat conduction wherein the cooling plates are on the bottom of the cells (away from bus bars) to minimize any potential condensation issues and wherein the plates are directly cooled by embedded refrigerant cooling pipes.
YOSHIDA discloses the cooling system includes conductive cooling plates (3, Figs. 1 & 13) located on a transverse axis of prismatic cells (1, 2, Figs. 1 & 13) to maximize the rate of heat conduction wherein the cooling plates are on the bottom of the cells (away from bus bars) (12, Fig. 2) to minimize any potential condensation issues and wherein the plates are directly cooled by embedded refrigerant cooling pipes (31A, Figs. 1 & 13; ¶ 0041-0043, 0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the cooling system including plates and cooling pipes as recited in order to increase the life of the battery cell and prevent a chain of thermal runaway even when a power source device is not activated (YOSHIDA, ¶ 0002-0006).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOLEWA as applied to claims 1-3, 6, and 10 above, and further in view of CONLON (Pub. No.: US 2019/0283611 A1).
Regarding claim 17, CHOLEWA discloses the method as applied to claim 1 but fails to disclose said at least one battery has an arrangement of cells that can charge in series and discharge in parallel.
CONLON discloses said at least one battery has an arrangement of cells that can charge in series and discharge in parallel (¶ 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the arrangement of cells that can charge in series and discharge in parallel in order to reduce current load and thermal stress on the cells and/or take advantage of high-voltage charging infrastructure.
Regarding claim 18, CHOLEWA as modified by CONLON teaches the method as applied to claim 17, but fails to teach the charging arrangement allows the batteries to be charged in series at a voltage above 4000 volts DC and low current scenario and discharged in parallel in a lower voltage in the range 800 to 1200 volts DC at a high current.
CONLON further discloses the charging arrangement allows the batteries to be charged in series at a voltage and low current scenario and discharged in parallel in a lower voltage at a high current (¶ 0030, 0045, 0049; the series “low current” and parallel “high current” is implied). CONLON discloses the series and parallel voltages as result effective variables (¶ 0005, 0009, 0030), and therefore providing the claimed voltages would be an obvious optimization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the series charge and parallel discharge as recited in order to reduce current load and thermal stress on the cells and/or take advantage of high-voltage charging infrastructure.
Regarding claim 19, CHOLEWA as modified by CONLON teaches the method as applied to claim 18, but fails to teach there is provided a battery controller which interconnects at least two battery sub-modules so as to support charging one or more battery sub-modules in series and discharging one or more battery sub-modules in parallel.
CONLON further discloses there is provided a battery controller (50, Fig. 2) which interconnects at least two battery sub-modules (12A, 12B, Fig. 2) so as to support charging one or more battery sub-modules in series and discharging one or more battery sub-modules in parallel (¶ 0007, 0029-0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the battery controller supporting series charge and parallel discharge as recited in order to reduce current load and thermal stress on the cells and/or take advantage of high-voltage charging infrastructure.
Regarding claim 20, CHOLEWA as modified by CONLON teaches the method as applied to claim 19, but fails to teach the battery controller connects or disconnects the battery sub-modules during operation to maintain an optimum state of charge across all battery sub-modules.
CONLON further discloses the battery controller connects or disconnects the battery sub-modules during operation to maintain an optimum state of charge across all battery sub-modules (¶ 0044, 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the battery controller maintaining an optimum state of charge as recited in order to prevent battery damage and extend battery lifespan.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 10/15/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859