Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 9, 11, 13 - 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakami (US 9413040).
Regarding claim 1, Murakami discloses a system comprising:
a cabinet (the housing 10A, fig. 2) including an opening (the openings for drawers 100 and 110) configured to accept a battery management system (battery management unit BMU 16 inside the drawer 110; column 4, lines 24 - 26) for controlling one or more batteries (battery module MDL in the drawer 100); and
a landing plate (the part of the housing for mounting multiple connectors CB for blind mating with connectors CA on the drawers 110, Fig. 6) including one or more LP blind contacts (connectors CB) configured to mate with one or more BMS blind contacts (connectors CA on the drawers 110) located on the BMS to establish one or more electrical connections (electrical connection between CA and CB) between the BMS and one or more electrical conductors (the rest of the circuitry in the housing 10A) in the cabinet when the BMS (110) is inserted into the opening (10A).
Regarding claim 2, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Murakami further suggests the one or more electrical conductors (the connections in the circuitry to connect the battery MDL in the drawer 100 and BMU drawer 110) are configured to connect to the one or more batteries (MDL), wherein the one or more batteries and the BMS are electrically connected when the BMS is inserted in the opening (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Murakami further suggests the LP further includes one or more terminals (multiple connectors CB to be connected to the connector CA on the drawers 100 and 110), wherein at least one of the one or more terminals is electrically connected to the one or more electrical conductors (all the connectors and conductors are connected in the circuitry of the housing 10A).
Regarding claim 4, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Murakami further suggests at least one of the one or more terminals (CB) is configured to provide electrical connections to an external system (the external devices such as drawers 100 and 110).
Regarding claim 5, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 4. Murakami further suggests the external system comprises: at least one of a load (the circuitry of the drawer 100 and 110), an electrical grid, or a power source (battery MDL in the drawer 100).
Regarding claim 6, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Murakami further suggests the one or more terminals (CB) are on an opposite side of the LP than at least one of the one or more LP blind contacts (CB is on an opposite side with CA to electrical connection).
Regarding claim 7, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Murakami further suggests the system comprises an uninterruptible power supply (UPS 42).
Regarding claim 8, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Murakami further suggests the one or more LP blind contacts and the one or more BMS blind contacts form one or more blind mate connectors (the connectors CA and CB mate as the drawers 100 & 110 inserted into the housing 10A).
Regarding claim 9, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Murakami further suggests the one or more LP blind contacts include one or more male connectors (the part CN3, CN4, PB, and MB appear to be male connector; Fig. 5), wherein the one or more BMS blind contacts include one or more female connectors (the receiving recess A1 - A3 appear to be a female configuration; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Murakami further suggests the one or more LP blind contacts include one or more female connectors (the second connector CB is a female connector; see Murakami’s claim 1), wherein the one or more BMS blind contacts include one or more male connectors (the first connector CA is a male connector; see Murakami’s claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Murakami further suggests at least one of the BMS or the cabinet includes one or more guiding features (frame B1, Fig. 5) to align the one or more BMS blind contacts to the one or more LP blind contacts when the BMS is inserted into the opening of the cabinet (the wall of the housing 10A guild the inserting path of the drawer).
Regarding claim 14, Murakami discloses a battery management system (BMS) comprising:
a housing (the drawer 110 containing various component inside); and
one or more BMS blind contacts (connectors CA) attached to the housing configured to mate with one or more landing plate (LP) blind contacts (connectors B) located on an LP (the part of the housing for mounting multiple connectors CB for blind mating with connectors CA on the drawers 110, Fig. 6) of a cabinet (the housing 10A, Fig. 2) to establish one or more electrical connections (the connections between CA and CB) between the BMS and one or more electrical conductors (electrical conductors in the housing 10A) in the cabinet when the BMS is inserted into an opening (the opening in the housing 10A for drawers 100 and 110) of the cabinet.
Regarding claim 15, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14. Murakami further suggests the one or more electrical conductors are configured to connect to one or more batteries (battery MDL in the drawer 100), wherein the one or more batteries and the BMS are electrically connected when the BMS is inserted in the opening (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14. Murakami further suggests the one or more LP blind contacts and the one or more BMS blind contacts form one or more blind mate connectors (connectors CA and CB blind mate as drawer 110 inserted into the opening of the housing 10A).
Regarding claim 17, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14. Murakami further suggests the one or more LP blind contacts include one or more male connectors (the part CN3, CN4, PB, and MB appear to be male connector; Fig. 5), wherein the one or more BMS blind contacts include one or more female connectors (the receiving recess A1 - A3 appear to be a female configuration; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14. Murakami further suggests the one or more LP blind contacts include one or more female connectors (the second connector CB is a female connector; see Murakami’s claim 1), wherein the one or more BMS blind contacts include one or more male connectors (the first connector CA is a male connector; see Murakami’s claim 1).
Regarding claim 19, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14. Murakami further suggests at least one of the BMS or the cabinet includes one or more guiding features (frame B1, Fig. 5) to align the one or more BMS blind contacts to the one or more LP blind contacts when the BMS is inserted into the opening of the cabinet (the wall of the housing 10A guild the inserting path of the drawer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 9413040), in view of Balana (US 20210399501).
Regarding claim 10, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 9.
Murakami further suggests at least one of the one or more male connectors comprises a metal busbar (connection bars 120, 121, Fig. 8).
Murakami does not explicitly disclose a corresponding one of the one or more female connectors comprises a clamp.
Balana suggests the female connector (16, Fig. 3) include a fixation member (24) including screws (paragraph 21).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a clamp or fixation members along with the connectors in order to help holding the connectors in place to provide a reliable electrical connection.
Regarding claim 12, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11.
Murakami further suggests at least one of the one or more male connectors comprises a metal busbar (connection bars 120, 121, Fig. 8).
Murakami does not explicitly disclose a corresponding one of the one or more female connectors comprises a clamp.
Balana suggests the female connector (16, Fig. 3) include a fixation member (24) including screws (paragraph 21).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a clamp or fixation members along with the connectors in order to help holding the connectors in place to provide a reliable electrical connection.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (US 9413040), in view of Kikinis (US 5640302)
Regarding claim 20, Murakami discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14.
Murakami does not explicitly disclose a controller including one or more processors configured to execute program instructions stored in a memory device, wherein the program instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to at least one of monitor or control the one or more batteries.
Kikinis suggests a controller including one or more processors (CPU, in abstract, control operations inside the device using instructions) configured to execute program instructions stored in a memory device (RAM memory, see abstract), wherein the program instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to at least one of monitor or control the one or more batteries (internal batteries; column 6, lines 8 – 9; or external battery pack 101, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include the processing unit, memory and instruction in order to make sure the device function properly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Balana (US 20210399501) discloses a housing with opening for inserting a module, Fig. 6B.
Cho (US 9488977) discloses a housing with opening for inserting a module, Fig. 3.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848