DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informality:
In claim10, line 2, “are formed as formed from” should be written as “are formed as
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“Raised insulating features,” which has been interpreted as raised insulators, and equivalents thereof (Applicant’s published application, paragraph 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 14-15,17, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2015/0171405 A1).
With respect to claim 11, Lee teaches a terminal plate comprising: a baseplate; a positive terminal opening in the baseplate providing access to a positive terminal of a battery; a negative terminal opening in the baseplate providing access to a negative terminal of the battery [Paragraph 0043, lines 7-10; Fig 4]. Lee also teaches one or more raised insulating features between the positive terminal opening and the negative terminal opening [Paragraph 0051, line 1; Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 12 and 13, Lee teaches the terminal plate in claim 11 and at least one of a width or a composition of the one or more raised insulating features is selected to prevent an electrical short between conductors on opposing sides of the one or more raised insulating features for a selected voltage range [Paragraph 0051, lines 1-2; Fig 4]. It is noted that “selected voltage range” is not quantified and thus is not distinguishing, since the insulator must be effective for a particular voltage range. The selected voltage range must be higher than a combined voltage of a number of batteries in order for the prevention of the electrical short.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the terminal plate in claim 11 and at least one of a position, design, or orientation of at least one of the one or more raised insulating features on the terminal plate is selected to prevent contact of a busbar connected to one of the positive or negative terminals of the battery with a busbar connected to another of the positive or negative terminals of the battery. [Paragraph 0050, lines 1-7 & Fig 3 & 4].
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the terminal plate in claim 11 and the terminal plate as a first terminal plate, wherein the one or more raised insulating features of the first terminal plate forms a gap when combined with one or more raised insulating features of a second terminal plate, wherein the gap provides a space for placement of a busbar between the first terminal plate and the second terminal plate [Paragraph 0050, lines 1-7 & Fig 3 & 4].
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches the terminal plate in claim 11 and the one or more raised insulating features oriented orthogonal to a line connecting the positive terminal opening and the negative terminal opening [Paragraph 0054, lines 2-5; Fig 5].
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches the terminal plate in claim 11 and the one or more raised insulating features formed as a single monolithic component [Paragraph 0054, lines 2-5; Fig 5].
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches the terminal plate in claim 11 and the one or more raised insulating features are formed as two or more joined components [Paragraph 055, lines 4-6; Fig 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,7, 9-10, & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150171405 A1) in view of Kwon (US 20190334141 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a plurality of terminal plates comprising: a baseplate; a positive terminal opening in the baseplate providing access to a positive terminal of a corresponding one of the plurality of batteries; a negative terminal opening in the baseplate providing access to a negative terminal of a corresponding battery of the plurality of batteries [Paragraph 0043, lines 7-10; Fig 4]. Lee also teaches one or more raised insulating features between the positive terminal opening and the negative terminal opening [Paragraph 0051, line 1; Fig 4]. Lee does not teach a battery cabinet comprising: an enclosure and a plurality of racks for securing a plurality of batteries within the enclosure; and a plurality of terminal plates for at least some of the plurality of batteries. Kwon teaches a battery cabinet comprising: an enclosure and a plurality of racks for securing a plurality of batteries within the enclosure; and a plurality of terminal plates for at least some of the plurality of batteries [Paragraph 0065 & 0077; Fig 1 & Fig 2]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a plurality of racks to securely house a plurality of battery modules and to increase cooling efficiency as taught by Kwon [Paragraph 0007, lines 1-2].
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Lee teaches at least one of a width or a composition of at least one of the one or more raised insulating features being selected to prevent an electrical short between conductors on opposing sides of the at least one of the one or more raised insulating features for a selected voltage range [Paragraph 0049, lines 8-10; Figs 3 & 4]. It is noted that “selected voltage range” is not quantified and thus is not distinguishing, since the insulator must be effective for a particular voltage range. The selected voltage range must be higher than a combined voltage of a number of batteries in order for the prevention of the electrical short.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches at least one of a position, design, or orientation of the one or more raised insulating features on a corresponding one of the plurality of terminal plates being selected to prevent contact of a busbar connected to one of the positive or negative terminals of any of the plurality of batteries with a busbar connected to another of the positive or negative terminals of another of the plurality of batteries [Paragraph 0050, lines 1-7 & Fig 3 & 4].
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches at least one of the one or more raised insulating features of a first terminal plate of the plurality of terminal plates forming a gap when combined with another one of the one or more raised insulating features of a second terminal plate of the plurality of terminal plates, wherein the gap provides a space for placement of a busbar between the first terminal plate and the second terminal plate [Paragraph 0050, lines 1-7 & Fig 3 & 4].
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches at least one of the one or more raised insulating features of at least one of the plurality of terminal plates being oriented orthogonal to a line connecting the positive terminal opening and the negative terminal opening [Paragraph 0054, lines 1-5; Fig 5].
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches at least one of the plurality of terminal plates and the corresponding one or more raised insulating features formed as a single monolithic component [Paragraph 0051, lines 1-2; Fig 4].
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches at least one of the plurality of terminal plates and the corresponding one or more raised insulating features formed from two or more joined components [Paragraph 0055, lines 1-2; Fig 5].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150171405 A1) in view of Kwon (US 20190334141 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, While Lee does teach the raised insulating features, it fails to teach the diagonal orientation. However, it has been held that a change in shape or rearrangement of parts is generally obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 IVB and VIC). Applicant’s specification does not disclose any superior benefit of orienting in a diagonal manner. It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to orient the insulating feature in different ways, including diagonally, to accommodate the various parts of the terminal plate.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150171405 A1), as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches the terminal plate of claim 11 [Paragraph 0043, lines 7-10; Fig 4 & Paragraph 0051, line 1; Fig. 4]. Lee also teaches the raised insulating features [Paragraph 0051, line 1; Fig 4]. Lee does not teach the diagonal orientation. However, it has been held that a change in shape or rearrangement of parts is generally obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 IVB and VIC). Applicant’s specification does not disclose any superior benefit of orienting in a diagonal manner. It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to orient the insulating feature in different ways, including diagonally, to accommodate the various parts of the terminal plate.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150171405 A1) in view of Kwon (US 20190334141 A1) in further in view of Lee (US 20250087846 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee ‘405 in view of Kwon teaches the battery cabinet of claim 1 [Paragraph 0065 & 0077; Fig 1 & Fig 2]. Lee ‘405 does not teach the one or more raised insulating features formed from at least one of plastic, glass, or ceramic. Lee ‘846 teaches the one or more raised insulating features formed from at least one of plastic, glass, or ceramic [Paragraph 0051, lines 1-4]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the raised insulating features of Lee ‘405 out of at least plastic, a known material for forming battery insulators, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150171405 A1) in view of Lee (US 20250087846 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Lee’405 teaches the terminal plate of claim 11[Paragraph 0043, lines 7-10; Fig 4 & Paragraph 0051, line 1; Fig. 4]. Lee’405 does not teach the one or more raised insulating features formed from at least one of plastic, glass, or ceramic. Lee’846 teaches the one or more raised insulating features formed from at least one of plastic, glass, or ceramic [Paragraph 0051, lines 1-4]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the raised insulating features out of at least plastic, a known material for forming battery insulators, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/BRIANNE NUNEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745