DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 16-17, 19-27 and 29-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12-13 and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,617,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they include all the limitations of the present application as filed.
Claim 16 is rejected under Claims 1 and 7 of US Patent No. 12,617,538.
Claim 17 is rejected under Claims 1 and 7 of US Patent No. 12,617,538.
Claim 19 is rejected under Claims 4 and 8 of US Patent No. 12,617,538.
Claims 20-27 and 29-30 are rejected, respectively, under Claims 13, 1 and 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 12-13, 15, 16 and 17 of US Patent No. 12,617,538.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the monitored parameter" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18, from which claim 20 depends, does not recite a monitored parameter.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “monitor a parameter” in Line 3.
For purpose of examination Claim 20 is interpreted as depending from claim 19.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the first threshold" in Line 4; and “the second threshold” in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 22, from which claim 24 depends, does not recite a first threshold nor a second threshold.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “a first threshold and a second threshold” in Line 2.
For purpose of examination Claim 24 is interpreted as depending from claim 23.
Claim 26 depends from claim 24 and is rejected under 112(b) for the same reasons as identified above.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the first threshold is an upper voltage threshold and the second threshold is a lower voltage threshold” in Lines 4-5.
Claim 23, from which claim 24 depends, recites the limitation “a first threshold and a second threshold respectively separating the first range and the second range from the intermediate range”.
Claim 22, from which claim 23 depends, recites the limitations: “a first range indicative of a power demand of the load being relatively low” in Line 5; and “ a second range indicative of the power demand of the load being relatively high” in Lines 7-8.
As per claim 22, the first range is lower than the intermediate range; and the second range is higher than the intermediate range. As per claim 23, the first threshold separates the first range from the intermediate range; and the second threshold separates the second range from the intermediate range.
It is unclear how a first threshold being an upper voltage threshold and a second threshold being a lower voltage threshold, as recited in claim 24, meet the limitations of claims 22-23 as claimed.
The first threshold separating the first range (indicative of low demand) from the intermediate range should encompass a lower voltage threshold; and the second threshold separating the second range (indicative of high demand) from the intermediate range should encompass a higher voltage threshold.
For purpose of examination the limitation of claim 24 are interpreted as reciting: the first threshold is a lower voltage threshold and the second threshold is an upper voltage threshold.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 19-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tucker et al. (US 2006/0194082).
Claim 16: Tucker teaches an electrical system (150) (Fig.2A) comprising:
a battery (152) (Par.50);
a fuel-cell pack (20) (Par.50);
a load (158) electrically coupled to the fuel cell pack (20) (Fig.2A) (Par.51);
a switching arrangement (154 and 164) electrically coupled to the battery (152), the fuel-cell pack (20) and the load (158) (Fig.2A) (Par.53); and
a control system (102) (Par.53);
wherein the switching arrangement (154 and 164) is operable to selectively configure the electrical system (150) in a battery-isolation mode (Fig.3A; Medium) (Par.59) and at least one of a battery-charge mode (Par.61) and a combined-drive mode (Fig.3A; High) (Par.55);
wherein in the battery-isolation mode the battery (152) is decoupled from the fuel-cell pack (20) and the load (158), and the fuel-cell pack (20) is coupled to the load (158) for driving of the load (158) by the fuel- cell pack (20) (Par.59);
wherein in the battery-charge mode the battery (152) is coupled in series to the fuel-cell pack (20) and the load (158) for simultaneous charging of the battery (152) and driving of the load (158) by the fuel- cell pack (20) (Par.61) (Fig.2A);
wherein in the combined-drive mode the battery (152) is coupled in series to the fuel-cell pack (20) and the load (158) for driving of the load (158) by both the battery (152) and the fuel-cell pack (20) (Fig.2C) (Par.55); and
wherein the control system (102) is configured to operate the switching arrangement (154 and 164) to selectively reconfigure the electrical system (150) between the battery-isolation mode and the at least one of the battery-charge mode and the combined-drive mode (Par.53 and 61) (Fig.3A).
Claim 17: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches wherein the control system (102) is configured to operate the switching arrangement (154 and 164) to selectively reconfigure the electrical system (150) between the battery-isolation mode and the at least one of the battery-charge mode and the combined-drive mode to meet a power demand of the load (158) (Fig.3B; 184) (Par.55-60).
Claim 19: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches wherein the control system (102) is configured to: monitor a parameter of an electrical power provided by the fuel-cell pack (20) (Par.64); operate the switching arrangement (154 and 164) to selectively reconfigure the electrical system (150) between the battery-isolation mode and the at least one of the battery-charge mode and the combined-drive mode based on the monitored parameter of the electrical power provided by the fuel-cell pack (20) (Par.53-60 and 64).
Claim 20: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 19 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches wherein the monitored parameter of the electrical power provided by the fuel-cell pack (20) is a voltage across the fuel-cell pack (20) (Par.64).
Claim 21: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches wherein the switching arrangement (154 and 164) is operable to selectively configure the electrical system (150)in each of: the battery-charge mode (Par.61); the combined-drive mode (Par.53 and 55) (Fig.3A; high); and the battery-isolation mode (Par.59) (Fig.3A; medium); the control system (102) is configured to operate the switching arrangement (154 and 164) to selectively reconfigure the electrical system (150) (Par.53 and 61) between the battery-charge mode (Par.61), the combined-drive mode (Par.55) and the battery-isolation mode (Par.59).
Claim 22: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 19 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches wherein the control system (102) is configured to: operate the switching arrangement (154 and 164) to selectively reconfigure the electrical system (150) (Par.53 and 61) in: the battery-charge mode in response to a determination that the monitored parameter is in a first range indicative of a power demand of the load (158) being relatively low (Par.61; Power demand of load satisfied; therefore, fuel cell generates enough energy to power the load and charge the battery.); the combined-drive mode in response to a determination that the monitored parameter is in a second range indicative of the power demand of the load (158) being relatively high (Par.55) (Fig.3A; high); and the battery-isolation mode in response to a determination that the monitored parameter is in an intermediate range defined between the first range (below 182) (Fig.3B) and the second range (above 180) (Par.59) (Fig.3A; medium).
Claim 25: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches wherein the control system (102) is further configured to: monitor a voltage across the fuel-cell pack (20) (Par.64); and vary a reactant flow rate of the fuel-cell pack (20) to maintain the monitored voltage across the fuel-cell pack (20) within a target fuel-cell pack voltage range (Par.94 and 104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker et al. (US 2006/0194082) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Teichmann et al. (US 2019/0214663).
Claim 18: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches wherein the control system (102) is configured to operate the switching arrangement (154 and 164) to selectively reconfigure the electrical system (150) between the battery-isolation mode and the at least one of the battery-charge mode and the combined-drive mode (Par.54-60).
Tucker does not explicitly teach operate the switching arrangement so as to maintain a voltage across the load within a target load voltage range.
Teichmann teaches operating a switching arrangement (404 and 418) so as to maintain a voltage across a load within a target load voltage range (Par.27 and 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Teichmann in the system of Tucker to have had catered to different voltage requirements of connected loads (Par.24) while preventing loads from breaking down due to receiving more voltage than they can withstand (Par.27).
Claims 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker et al. (US 2006/0194082) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2022/0209262).
Claim 23: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 22 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches a first threshold (182) (Fig.3B) and a second threshold (180) respectively separating the first range (below 182) and the second range (above 180) from the intermediate range (Fig.3B).
Tucker does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first threshold and the second threshold is determined based on a state-of-charge of the battery.
Tsai teaches at least one of a first threshold (VL) (Fig.8) and a second threshold (VH) is determined based on state of charge of a battery (104) (Fig.1A) (Par.26 and 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Tsai in the system of Tucker to have had taken into consideration the charging status of a battery of the system which affects power generation of fuel cells (Par.52) thereby efficiently providing power to a load.
Claims 24 and 26: Tucker in view of Tsai teach the limitations of claim 23 as disclosed above. Tucker teaches wherein the monitored parameter of the electrical power provided to the load (158) is a voltage across the load (Par.64).
Tucker does not explicitly teach the first threshold is an upper voltage threshold and the second threshold is a lower voltage threshold; and the load is associated with a design operating voltage range which corresponds to the intermediate range; wherein the target fuel-cell pack voltage range corresponds to the intermediate range.
Tsai teaches the first threshold (VL) (Fig.8) is an upper voltage threshold and the second threshold (VL) is a lower voltage threshold (Par.52); and a load is associated with a design operating voltage range which corresponds to the intermediate range (Par.46); wherein the target fuel-cell pack voltage range corresponds to an intermediate range (Par.49 and 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Tsai in the system of Tucker to have had maintained a load voltage within an expected range (Par.3-4) to have had eased burden on a secondary battery while ensuring smooth power supply to the load (Par.5).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker et al. (US 2006/0194082) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Miftakhov et al. (US 2021/0320353).
Claim 27: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker does not explicitly teach wherein the load is associated with a design operating voltage; and the battery has a peak output voltage of no greater than 60% of the design operating voltage.
Miftakhov teaches a load is associated with a design operating voltage (Par.4; 600-700V); and a battery has a peak output voltage of no greater than 60% of the design operating voltage (Par.4; 200-250V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Miftakhov in the system of Tucker to have had reduced cost and complexity required by larger batteries (Par.4).
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker et al. (US 2006/0194082) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Clarke et al. (US 2022/0055762).
Claim 28: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker does not explicitly teach further comprising a DC-DC converter coupled between the battery and the switching arrangement.
Clarke teaches comprising a DC-DC converter (2254) coupled between a battery (2109) and a switching arrangement (2264) (Fig.4D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Clarke in the system of Tucker to have had regulated the voltage provided to and from the battery (Par.60-61) thereby allowing adequate power being provided from/to the battery thereby improving battery safety.
Claim 30: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker does not explicitly teach an aircraft comprising the electrical system of claim 16.
Tsai teaches an aircraft (2700) (Par.84) comprising an electrical system (2250) (Fig.4D) comprising a battery (2109); a fuel cell pack (2103); and a switching arrangement (2264) (Par.64-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had comprised an electrical system as taught in Tucker in an aircraft as disclosed in Clarke to have had optimized operation of an aerial vehicle (Par.10) by comprising an energy system that adequately handles the requirements of different amounts of power during different stages of use of the aircraft (Par.74).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker et al. (US 2006/0194082) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Horiguchi et al. (US 2010/0221626).
Claim 29: Tucker teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Tucker wherein the switching arrangement includes: a first pair of switching devices coupled in series through a first junction, and a second pair of switching devices coupled in series through a second junction; the first pair of switching devices and the second pair of switching devices are coupled in parallel with each other with respect to a pair of battery connection terminals; and the fuel-cell pack and the load are coupled to or couplable to the switching arrangement at the first junction and the second junction; the battery is coupled to or couplable to the switching arrangement at the pair of battery connection terminals.
Horiguchi teaches a switching arrangement (12) (Fig.1) includes: a first pair of switching devices (Qa and -Qa) coupled in series through a first junction, and a second pair of switching devices (Qb and -Qb) coupled in series through a second junction (Fig.1); the first pair of switching devices (Qa and -Qa) and the second pair of switching devices (Qb and -Qb) are coupled in parallel with each other with respect to a pair of battery (Vsb) connection terminals (Fig.1) (Par.27) and a fuel-cell pack (Vfc) and a load (Load) are coupled to or couplable to the switching arrangement (12) at the first junction (between Qa and -Qa) and the second junction (between Qb and -Qb) (Fig.1) (Par.27); the battery (Vsb) is coupled to or couplable to the switching arrangement (12) at the pair of battery connection terminals (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Horiguchi in the system of Tucker to have had the expected result of efficiently controlling power transfer between the battery, the fuel cell and the load (Par.53-54 and 56).
Conclusion
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859