DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. PGPub 2023/0185033 A1 by Darmawikarta et al.
Regarding claim 1, Darmawikarta teaches a package (Fig. 1A, 1B) comprising: a first interconnect structure (electrical and optical connecting features within a multi-layer die subassembly 104 and below dies 102, 118) comprising a plurality of conductive features (electrical interconnects 130, 150) and a plurality of first waveguides (while Fig. 1A illustrates a single PIC die 102 in the subassembly 104 coupled to a single waveguide 131, between 3 to 20 layers of dies or a layer of 2 to 50 dies may be included, each of the PIC dies would be optically coupled to its corresponding one of a plurality of waveguides, ¶[0044]); a plurality of package modules (XPU 118, which, similar to above, may exist in plural in 3 to 20 layers and/or 2 to 50 dies) attached to the first interconnect structure; and a plurality of optical bridge modules (PICs 102 including optical elements 106, 108, 110 and optically coupling to an integrated optical surface component 140 and the optical waveguide 131) attached to the first interconnect structure, wherein the optical bridge modules (102) are optically coupled to the plurality of first waveguides (131, with an optical signal indicated by an arrow), wherein the optical bridge modules are electrically connected to the corresponding package modules through the first interconnect structure (the electrical interconnects 130 may enable electrical coupling between PIC 102, EIC 114, and XPU 118, ¶[0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Darmawikarta further teaches the plurality of package modules and the plurality of optical bridge modules are attached to opposite sides (left and right sides, Fig. 1A) of the first interconnect structure.
Regarding claim 3, Darmawikarta further teaches the first interconnect structure is an interposer (offers electrical connections between the dies and a package substrate 124 by way of TGVs 192).
Regarding claim 4, Darmawikarta further teaches the first interconnect structure laterally surrounds respective optical bridge modules of the plurality of optical bridge modules (the interconnect structure, including an underfill material 127 extend laterally beyond the optical bridge module 102 as illustrated in Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Darmawikarta further teaches the plurality of optical bridge modules is sandwiched between the first interconnect structure and a second interconnect structure (when the subassembly has between 3 and 20 layers, the interconnect structures and the modules of the subassembly 104 are duplicated in each layer and thus arranged sandwiching each other).
Regarding claim 7, Darmawikarta further teaches each optical bridge module respectively comprises a plurality of photonic components and a plurality of second waveguides, wherein the respective plurality of second waveguides is optically coupled to the respective plurality of photonic components (see Fig. 1B, in which optical components 106, 108 are connected to each other and to external components by waveguide segments 110).
Regarding claim 8, Darmawikarta further teaches an encapsulant laterally separates package modules from adjacent optical bridge modules (step 412, Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 9-12, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. PGPub 2023/0366913 A1 by Kamineni et al.
Regarding claim 9, Kamineni teaches a package (Fig. 1A) comprising: an interposer (optical interposer or backplane 120, ¶[0046]) comprising a first waveguide (122); a first package module (electronic backplane device 140 on right) attached to a front side (top side) of the interposer; and a first optical package module (a middle one of three illustrated EPIC die stacks 110) comprising a second waveguide (waveguide coupler 116 on the left, expanded illustration in Fig. 1B), wherein the second waveguide is optically coupled (indicated by arrows on the left, Fig. 1B) to the first waveguide (122); and a second optical package module (a right one of the three illustrated EPIC die stacks 110) comprising a third waveguide (waveguide coupler 116 on the right, Fig. 1B), wherein the third waveguide is optically coupled to the first waveguide (indicated by arrows on the right).
Regarding claim 10, Kamineni further teaches the first optical package module and the second optical package module are attached to the front side of the interposer (top side, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 11, Kamineni further teaches the first optical package module and the second optical package module are within the interposer (lateral disposed within the interposer 120).
Regarding claim 12, Kamineni further teaches the first waveguide (122, between two 116s) is between the first optical package module (central 110) and the first package module (right 140).
Regarding claims 14, 15, Kamineni further teaches the interposer comprises a glass substrate, wherein the first optical package module and the second optical package module are attached to the glass substrate, and the first waveguide is within the glass substrate (waveguides are formed within a BOX layer oxidized on a silicon wafer, ¶[0055]).
Regarding claim 16, Kamineni further teaches top surfaces of the first package module, the first optical package module, and the second optical package module are level (three die stacks 110, Fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamineni as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of U.S. PGPub 2023/0185033 A1 by Darmawikarta et al.
Regarding claim 13, Kamineni teaches the first and second optical package modules on the interposer but does not specify using an encapsulant to laterally surround the modules. Darmawikarta also teaches a package (Fig. 1) comprising an interposer on which optical packages (multiple PIC dies 102) are disposed and further teaches an encapsulant laterally separates package modules from adjacent optical bridge modules (step 412, Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kamineni’s invention, by encapsulating the first and second optical package modules (110) with an insulative material, for the purpose of protecting and insulating the modules, as is very commonly known and practiced in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 of copending Application No. 18/659,287 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the terms used in claim 1 such as “interconnect structure” and “package modules” are fully disclosed by corresponding terms “redistribution structure” and “dies”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Darmawikarta is considered the closest identified prior art and while Darmawikarta discloses using multiple dies in each layer or multiple layers of dies, interconnects between one or more dies, or non-adjacent layers, are said to be conductive interconnects and/or conductive pathways, and thus fails to disclose or render obvious that at least one first waveguide of the plurality of first waveguides is optically coupled to two or more optical bridge modules of the plurality of optical bridge modules, when considered in view of the rest of the limitations of the claimed invention.
Claims 21-24 are allowed. Prior art of record fails to teach or suggest all of the claimed features including an optical bridge structure comprising a plurality of first waveguides; a plurality of photonic components over the plurality of first waveguides; an interconnect structure over the plurality of photonic components; and a first semiconductor die bonded to the interconnect structure; an interposer structure bonded to the optical bridge, wherein the interposer structure comprises a plurality of second waveguides and a plurality of conductive features within a plurality of insulating layers, wherein the optical bridge structure is bonded to the interposer structure using metal-to-metal bonding, wherein the plurality of first waveguides are optically coupled to the plurality of second waveguides after bonding; and a second semiconductor die bonded to the interposer structure with metal-to-metal bonding. Darmawikarta does not use both an interconnect structure over the plurality of photonic components and an interposer; Kamineni does not use an interposer having a plurality of second waveguides and a plurality of conductive features within a plurality of insulating layers, with which the optical bridge structure if bonded metal-to-metal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPub 20250123449, 20250253276 disclose relevant and related inventions but do not qualify as prior art due to having a common inventorship.
/CHARLIE Y PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874