DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 19 have been considered, but they are not persuasive. Please see the ground(s) of rejection below. Thus, Applicant’s traversal of the instant rejection on these grounds is deemed unsuccessful.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 16 and 18 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,867,296).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 3, Kim discloses a printed circuit board comprising: a first insulating layer (108); a pad (106) disposed on an upper side of the first insulating layer; a protrusion (113) disposed on the pad; and a metal post (115) disposed on the pad and covering the protrusion, wherein the metal post has a tapered shape, such that a width of an upper surface of the metal post is smaller than a width of a lower surface of the metal post (Figure 3), and the metal post covers at least a portion of a side surface of the protrusion (bump 115 covers the inner side surface of layer 113).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein a width of the metal post is smaller than a width of the pad (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a solder resist layer disposed on the first insulating layer (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the solder resist layer has an opening exposing at least a portion of the pad and at least a portion of the metal post (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses a surface treatment layer covering at least a portion of an upper surface of the pad and at least a portion of the metal post (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the pad comprises a first metal layer disposed on the first insulating layer, and a second metal layer disposed on the first metal layer (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the protrusion includes a metal material (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a connection member disposed on the metal post (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a semiconductor chip disposed on the metal post and including a body and a connection pad, and the connection member connects the metal post and the semiconductor chip to each other (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses wherein a width of a surface of the connection member facing the connection pad is greater than a width of a surface of the connection member facing the metal post (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, in Figure 3, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a printed circuit board, comprising: forming a pad (106) on a first insulating layer (108); forming a protrusion (113) on the pad; and forming a metal post (115) on the pad to cover the protrusion, wherein the metal post has a tapered shape, such that a width of an upper surface of the metal post is smaller than a width of a lower surface of the metal post (Figure 3), and the metal post covers at least a portion of a side surface of the protrusion (bump 115 covers the inner side surface of layer 113).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses wherein the forming a metal post comprises forming a dry film on the first insulating layer, exposing and developing at least a portion of the dry film to expose at least a portion of the pad and at least a portion of the protrusion, and forming the metal post on the pad (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses wherein the developing at least a portion of the dry film comprises injecting a developer containing a liquid material, to form an opening having a tapered shape, such that a width of an upper surface of the opening is smaller than a width of a lower surface of the opening (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses wherein the forming a pad comprises forming a first metal layer on the first insulating layer by electroless plating, and forming a second metal layer on the first metal layer by electroplating, the forming a protrusion comprises forming the protrusion on the second metal layer by electroplating, and the forming a metal post comprises forming the metal post on the second metal layer by electroplating (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses after the forming a metal post, forming a connection member on the metal post. (Figure 3)
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses before the forming a connection member, planarizing the metal post (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses wherein the metal post has a tapered shape, such that a width of an upper surface of the metal post is smaller than a width of a lower surface of the metal post (Figure 3)
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses wherein a width of the metal post is smaller than a width of the pad (Figure 3).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0189451).
Regarding claim 17, in Figure 5, You discloses a printed circuit board comprising: a first insulating layer (200); a pad (110P) disposed on an upper side of the first insulating layer; a protrusion (protrusion disposed on upper surface of pad 110P, not labeled) disposed on and protruding upwardly from an upper surface of the pad, the protrusion having a width smaller than a width of the pad (Figure 5); and a metal post (500BP) disposed on the pad and covering an upper surface and a side surface of the protrusion (Figure 5), wherein the metal post contacts at least a portion of the upper surface of the pad (bump 500BP is filled in the hole H and covers the protrusion, thus, a small portion of the bottom surface of bump 500BP contacts pad 110P).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847