DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 12/12/2025 amended claim 1. Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruan (US 20100053563 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ruan teaches projection video display device comprising: an optical system (150) that projects video light; a projection lens (180) on which the video light is incident; a light blocking member (160, 170) that absorbs and converts into heat a part of unnecessary light unnecessary for the projection lens (180) in the video light, the light blocking member (160, 170) including a reflector (162b/c); and a light absorber (174) which absorbs a light reflected by the light blocking member (160, 170), wherein the reflector (162b/c) is disposed on an external surface of the light blocking member (160, 170) to be inclined at a predetermined inclination angle with respect to the external surface of the light blocking member (160, 170).
Regarding claim 3, Ruan further teaches the light blocking member (160, 170) has a curved surface (162) having a predetermined curvature (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Ruan further teaches the light blocking member (160, 170) is disposed at a position where a light from the optical system (150) enters (Fig. 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan in view of Kase (US 20180275497 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ruan does not teach a heat dissipator that dissipates heat of the light absorber to outside air.
Kase teaches a heat dissipator (90a, 92, 92a, 921) that dissipates heat of the light absorber (94) to outside air ([0060], [0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Ruan with Kase; because it prevents overheating that shorten the life of the projector.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan in view of Kase and in further view of Kang (US 20070268593 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Ruan does not explicitly teach the projection lens (180) and the light blocking member (160, 170) are made of a same material.
Kase teaches the blocking member (90, 91, 92, 921, and/or 93) being made of aluminum ([0060]). Kang teaches the projection lens being made of aluminum ([0049], Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to having the projection lens and the blocking member being made of aluminum; because it allows efficient heat dissipation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882