Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg 6, filed 04/15/26, with respect to claims 11 and 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 03/02/26 has been withdrawn. Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. The office action does not contain any new rejections and/or arguments.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re claim 1, applicant argues that Mori does not disclose “an assembly of the casing and cover accommodating at least the imaging device and the board" because “the cited reference does not satisfy this enclosure requirement” (Remarks p7).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a housing “enclosing” the imaging device and board) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The claim reads “an assembly of the casing and cover accommodating at least the imaging device and the board”. The term “accommodating” is not limiting to “enclosing”. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, accommodating means, providing sufficient space . Mori clearly discloses an assembly of the casing and cover accommodating at least the imaging device and the board (figs 3A-4C).
Additionally, applicant argues that “mechanical elements 60 and 70” are not “electrical connections” (pgs 7-8). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mori discloses “an external connector is fitted with the housing 63 of the rear case 60. As a result, the external connector is electrically connected to the rear protrusions 80b of the male contacts 80. In consequence, the image sensor is electrically connected to the external connector” (par [0046]). Therefore, element 60 is conductive via elements 63 and 80, which are illustrated as elements of 60 in figure 2. The electrical connections are further connected to element 70 as described in par [0050].
Finally, applicant argues that Mori does not disclose “this protrusion directly abuts the cover” (Remarks p8).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., protrusion “directly” abuts) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, as illustrated in figures 3A and 3B, element 92, and/or the circled portion below, read on the claimed protrusion as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mori et al. (US 2013/0293771, hereinafter Mori).
Re claim 1, Mori discloses, a camera module comprising: a lens (40 and/or 21); a holder (50) that accommodates the lens; an imaging device (20) configured to capture an image based on light passing through the lens, and output a signal based on the captured image (par [0035]); a board (30) configured to capture the signal outputted from the imaging device; a casing (70) having electrical conductivity and joined to the holder (figs 4A-4C); a cover (60) having electrical conductivity; and at least one fastening member configured to fasten the casing and the cover to each other, an assembly of the casing and cover accommodating at least the imaging device and the board (figs 3A-4C), the casing including: at least one abutment portion (71 and portion of 70 surrounding 71) arranged to abut onto the cover while the cover is fastened to the casing by the at least one fastening member (91a and 80b); a facing surface that faces the cover (right portion of 30, fig 3A); and at least one protrusion arranged to protrude from the facing surface toward the cover, so that the at least one protrusion abuts onto the cover to ensure electrical connection between the casing and the cover (figs 3A and 3B).
Re claim 2, Mori discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein: the at least one protrusion has an end that is in contact with the cover (fig 3B); and the end of the at least one protrusion is located on an imaginary stationary plane, the imaginary stationary plane being defined to pass through the at least one abutment portion while being perpendicular to an optical axis of the lens (figs 3A-4C).
Re claim 3, Mori discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein: the at least one protrusion has an end that is in contact with the cover; and the end of the at least one protrusion is located to be closer to the cover than an imaginary stationary plane is, the imaginary stationary plane being defined to pass through the at least one abutment portion while being perpendicular to an optical axis of the lens (figs 3A-4C).
Re claim 4, Mori discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein: the at least one protrusion abuts onto the cover so as to be plastically deformed (figs 3A-4C).
Re claim 5, Mori discloses, a camera module comprising: a lens (40 and/or 21); a holder (50) that accommodates the lens; an imaging device (20) configured to capture an image based on light passing through the lens, and output a signal based on the captured image (par [0035]); a board (30) configured to capture the signal outputted from the imaging device; a casing (60) having electrical conductivity and joined to the holder (figs 4A-4C); a cover (70) having electrical conductivity; and at least one fastening member configured to fasten the casing and the cover to each other, an assembly of the casing and cover accommodating at least the imaging device and the board (figs 3A-4C), the cover including: at least one abutment portion (71 and portion of 70 surrounding 71) arranged to abut onto the cover while the cover is fastened to the casing by the at least one fastening member (91a and 80b); a facing surface that faces the casing (right portion of 30, fig 3A); and at least one protrusion arranged to protrude from the facing surface toward the casing, so that the at least one protrusion abuts onto the cover to ensure electrical connection between the casing and the cover (figs 3A and 3B).
Claims 6-8 are rejected for the reasons stated in claims 2-4, respectively. The module as claimed would have been anticipated by the module of Mori.
Re claim 9, Mori discloses the limitations of claim 1 including wherein: the cover has opposing first and second major surfaces; the first major surface faces the facing surface of the casing; the cover has at least one recess formed on at least one corner thereof so as to be recessed into the at least one corner; the at least one fastening member is mounted through the at least one recessed corner of the cover; and a part of the at least one fastening member is held in the at least one recess (figs 3A-4C, recess containing 91 and 92).
Re claim 10, Mori discloses the limitations of claim 5 including wherein: the cover has opposing first and second major surfaces; the first major surface faces the facing surface of the casing; the cover has at least one recess formed on at least one corner thereof so as to be recessed into the at least one corner; the at least one fastening member is mounted through the at least one recessed corner of the cover; and a part of the at least one fastening member is held in the at least one recess (figs 3A-4C, recess containing 91 and 92).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claim 11, Mori fails to disclose “wherein: the at least one protrusion is integrally formed with the casing, and the casing and the cover electrically connected to each other through the at least one protrusion define a shielded housing that encloses the imaging device and the board”.
Claim 12 recites similarly allowed limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/JOEL W FOSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639