DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II (claims 8-19) in the reply filed on January 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant contends that the Group II method claims are particularly suited to the Group I apparatus. This is not found persuasive because, as stated in the restriction, the recited invention does not make a contribution over the prior art of Taga et al. (US 20140202386). Furthermore, the special technical feature of Invention I, wherein the first and second chucks are thermally isolated from respective support structures is even recited in Invention II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Chuck tempering device in claim 10, disclosed as comprising of a tempering circuit 80 and/or a heating element 94 in the body of the first and/or second chuck in Fig. 1;
Gas tempering device in claim 15, disclosed as component 34 comprising of a tempering module/container 64 and a tempering material 65 having two channels 66 (Fig. 1; P19, L21-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "wherein the gas is tempered" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first pressure port and the second pressure port" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purposes of examination, it is presumed that claim 15 is meant to be dependent upon claim 13 which first mentions respective first and second gases which pass through first and second respective ports in respective first and second chucks.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first gas pressure and second gas pressure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (JP 2015103757).
As to claim 8, D1 discloses a method for bonding a first substrate W1 to a second substrate W2 using a bonding device comprising a first chuck 400 and a second chuck 420, the method comprising the following steps: equalizing the temperatures of the first chuck and the second chuck, placing the first substrate on the first chuck and fixing the first substrate to the first chuck, placing the second substrate on the second chuck and fixing the second substrate to the second chuck, and moving the first chuck and the second chuck relative to each other towards each other at least until the first substrate and the second substrate are in contact with one another (Abstract; Fig. 3, 5, 12; ¶16, 35, 109).
As to claim 9, the method of claim 8 is taught as seen above. D1 discloses that the chucks are brought into “direct contact with one another” through the substrates laminated (Id.) in the same manner that Applicant discloses in the drawings, wherein the temperatures of the chucks are equalized to a desired temperature.
As to claims 10 and 12, the method of claim 8 is taught as seen above. D1 discloses that the bonding device may have a chuck tempering device in the form of a heating element 450, 451 (¶136; Fig. 27).
As to claim 19, the method of claim 8 is taught as seen above. D1 discloses that both the upper and lower chucks have respective chucks have respective vacuum ports 403, 423 for holding a first and second respective gas pressure at the chuck surfaces for holding the substrates during the movement of said chucks during lamination (61-76, Fig. 12), such that the incident angle between the substrates is split evening by the final flat plane of the substrates (Fig. 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (JP 2015103757) in view of McMillin et al. (US 5835334).
As to claim 11, the method of claim 10 is taught as seen above. The above references as combined fail to specifically teach or disclose whether the first and second chucks may have chuck tempering channels for circulating a fluid from a chuck tempering device to said channels to control the temperature of the chucks. McMillin discloses a variable temperature chuck (Abstract). McMillin discloses that it is known and conventional to provide chuck tempering channels 6a for circulating a fluid from a chuck tempering device 22 to said channels to provide control the temperature of a chuck on top of the heating elements used in the chuck (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to modify the method D1 to include the chuck tempering channels with chuck tempering device of McMillan and would have been motivated to do so because one of ordinary skill would recognize that the addition of said channels would allow for the more precise control of the temperature of the chucks as desired. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the chuck tempering channel system of McMillan in the method taught by D1 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional means of precisely controlling the temperatures of the chuck as desired. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 17, the method of claim 8 is taught as seen above. Claim 17 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 11 above. McMillin discloses that the chuck is provided with a temperature sensor so as to measure the temperature of the chuck (C5, L33-50). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a temperature sensor in the chucks and would have been motivated to do so because McMillan teaches that this allows for the measurement and control of the temperature of said chuck.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (JP 2015103757) in view of Shaikh et al. (US 20190062918).
As to claim 13, the method of claim 8 is taught as seen above. D1 fails to specifically teach or disclose that the first and second chucks have respective pressure ports to supply respective first and second gases to press substrates towards one another as currently claimed. Shaikh discloses a deposition system for wafer substrates (Abstract; Fig. 1A, 1B, 5B). Shaikh discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to supply upper and lower chucks in a lamination apparatus with respective gas pressure ports 108, 112 (Id.). Shaikh teaches that the incorporation of said ports allows for the temperature stabilization of the wafers during processing (¶55). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of D1 to include the use of respective gas pressure ports in the respective chucks and would have been motivated to do so because Shaikh teaches that said gas ports allows for a temperature stabilization step to be performed on the substrates to be laminated.
As to claim 14, the method of claim 13 is taught as seen above. The method of the above references as combined would require that the gas enter at a different temperature, i.e. “tempered”, relative to the materials processed to achieved the desired temperature stabilization taught by Shaikh.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 15, none of the prior art teaches or discloses a lamination method which uses first and second chucks with respective first and second gases supplied through respective first and second pressure ports, wherein said gasses pass through a gas tempering device, wherein the gas directed to the first pressure port and the second pressure port passes through a common gas tempering material of the gas tempering device, in particular the temperature of the common gas tempering material being controlled as currently claimed.
As to claim 16, none of the prior art teaches the recited gas temperature sensors at the first and second pressure ports in the first and second respective chucks as currently claimed.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745