DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0133576 A1 (Marcus) further in view of ASTM International Standard Practice Microetchants for metals and alloys (ASTM International Standard Practice) further in view of JP 2009164250 A (Uda).
Re claim 17, Marcus teaches a method of etching a workpiece comprising a lead component (first facet layer which can be lead [0048]), which method comprises: forming a mask (PMMA resist mask [0100-0102]) on the lead component, the mask defining exposed regions of the lead component; and contacting the exposed regions with an etchant composition (in examples the weak link center portion is formed by wet etching the metal first facet layer [0106]).
However, Marcus is silent with regards to an appropriate etchant composition for lead wet etching.
ASTM international Standard practice for microetching metals and alloys teaches that acetic acid mixed with an oxidizing agent such as hydrogen peroxide is a common wet etchant for lead (etchants 112-117 page 15).
Uda teaches that etching rates of acetic acid based wet etchants can be adjusted by adding a common solvent like isopropyl alcohol.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to use a wet etchant solution comprising acetic acid as taught by ASTM International Standard Practice and additionally comprising isopropyl alcohol as taught by Uda to perform the wet etching of the lead film of Marcus.
The motivation to do so is that Marcus is silent with regards to appropriate wet etchants for when the lines are made of lead and thus the person of ordinary skill would look to the standard practice for acceptable etchants for Pb. Additionally, the wet etch of Marcus must be precisely controlled so that only the first facet layer over the weak link area is removed and thus the ordinary skilled artisan would look to Uda to find ways to control the etch rate of the acetic acid based etch.
Re claim 18, ASTM Standard Practice further teaches wherein the acetic acid is present in the etchant composition in an amount in the range 10 % to 20 % by volume (etchants 112-117 page 15).
Re claim 19, Marcus, ASTM International Standard Practice and Uda further teach wherein the workpiece further comprises an aluminium component (the semiconductor nanowire can be AlSb [0064] Marcus); and wherein the method further comprises contacting the aluminium component with the etchant composition to oxidise the aluminium component (the etchant of ASTM International standard comprises oxidizer hydrogen peroxide and is used to etch away the metal material covering a portion of the AlSb nanowire. Aluminum is highly reactive to oxygen therefore the ordinary skilled artisan would expect that exposure of the AlSb to hydrogen peroxide would form aluminum oxide portions on the surface).
Re claim 22, Marcus further teaches wherein the forming the mask on the lead component comprises exposing a resist selected from an acrylate polymer and a methylmethacrylate-methacrylic acid copolymer (PMMA resist mask [0100-0102]).
Re claim 23, Marcus further teaches manufacturing a semiconductor-superconductor hybrid device including the lead component (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-32 are allowed.
Claims 20-21, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach etching lead using acetic acid. The rejection relies on Marcus which establishes that the epitaxial growth of metals such as lead on semiconductor material ([0048]). Marcus further teaches that in the creation of a Josephson junction device using these materials the structure is masked off on the overlying metal is etched ([0100]). However, Marcus provides no information about the etchants which can be used to etch lead. The rejection then relies on Standard Practice for Microetching Metals and Alloys (ASTM) which is a reference document that identifies standard etchants used for various metals and their alloys. Thus document supports the use of acetic acid as the base etchant for pure lead which is present in etchant compositions 57, 112, 113 along with other additives.
Applicant argues that the ASTM document only teaches etchants for microscopic examination. This is unpersuasive as the reference clearly states that the uses of the listed etchants 57, 112 and 113 explicitly for etching. Applicant has provided no evidence that the acetic acid based etchants for pure lead will not perform etching which is the gradual removal of the target material.
Applicant further argues that while Uda does teach the incorporation of propan-2-ol (isopropanol or IPA) in an acetic acid based etchant there is no motivation for the ordinary skilled artisan to add IPA to the acetic acid etchant as taught by ASTM because Uda does not explicitly teach etching lead. However, this is not persuasive as Uda is merely being relied upon to teach the known use of IPA to lower the reactivity of acetic acid when used as an etchant and as the Marcus reference states that the etching of the Josephson junction must be carefully controlled it would be obvious to the ordinary skilled artisan having the benefit of the listed references to find a way to control the etch rate of the acetic acid so as not to over etch the junction. Additionally, Applicant has provided no evidence that adding IPA to acetic acid does not change the etch reactivity of lead. In the absence of any teaching stating otherwise it is well within the expertise of the ordinary skilled artisan to expect the teaching of Uda to perform the same when the same etchant is used.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896