DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on May 23, 2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-19 are currently presented in the instant application.
Priority
This application claims benefit of 63/468,426 on May 23, 2023 thereof.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/12/2025, 8/19/2025, 10/06, 2025 and 11/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, in line 1, --wherein-- should be inserted before “said television”
Claim 13, in line 1, “will” should be changed to --is configured to--
Claim 14, in line 2, “SPD” should be changed to --spectral power distribution (SPD)--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by David (US 2019/0041699).
With respect to claim 1, David discloses in figure 20G a display comprising: an array of pixels (2051-2059, e.g., a pixel array), each pixel comprising at least a red (R-1), green (G-1) and violet subpixel (V-1, e.g., as described in paragraph 0226 that “only have violet, green and red subpixels” thereof) to produce a low- circadian stimulus (CS) light (paragraph 0175, e.g., “reduce circadian stimulation” or paragraph 0213, e.g., “reduce circadian entrainment” as well).
With respect to claim 7, David discloses that wherein said array of pixels are emissive pixels (see figure 20G, e.g., where the pixels 2051-2059 are emissive pixels).
With respect to claim 8, David discloses that wherein each subpixel comprises a microLED or an OLED (paragraph 0119, e.g., “OLED”).
With respect to claims 9-11, David discloses that wherein said green subpixel emits green light with a peak wavelength of about 520nm to about 580nm, wherein said green subpixel emits green light with a peak wavelength of about 540 to about 560nm, or wherein said green subpixel emits green light with a peak wavelength of about 545 to about 555nm (paragraphs 0145-0146, e.g., “a green component range 500 nm to 550 nm”).
With respect to claim 12, David discloses that wherein said display is a television (paragraph 0002, e.g., “a typical LCD display for a computer, hand held device, television or other common electronic device”).
With respect to claim 13, David discloses that said television will emit only said low- circadian stimulus (CS) light (paragraph 0175, e.g., “reduce circadian stimulation” or paragraph 0213, e.g., “reduce circadian entrainment” as well).
With respect to claim 14, David discloses that wherein, when each subpixel is emitting light (figure 20G shows each subpixel having OLED to emit light thereof), said low- circadian stimulus (CS) light has an overall SPD power (see paragraph 0175) and a blue SPD power between 460 and 485nm, wherein the blue SPD power is less than 2% of the overall SPD power (see paragraph 0068, e.g., “a blue power between 440-500 nm, wherein the blue power is less than 20% of the overall SPD power”).
With respect to claim 15, David discloses that wherein said blue SPD power is less than 1% of the overall SPD power (see paragraph 0068).
With respect to claim 16, David discloses that further comprising a backlight (paragraph 0002-0010, e.g., a display device having a backlight thereof).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wyatt (US 2021/0097943).
With respect to claim 1, Wyatt discloses in figure 86 a display comprising: an array of pixels (paragraph 0086, e.g., large dense pixel arrays), each pixel comprising at least a red, green and violet subpixel (paragraph 0152, e.g., “violet-green-red … subpixel elements”) to produce a low- circadian stimulus (CS) light (see paragraph 0395, e.g., “lowest circadian stimulation at night time”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David (US 2019/0041699) in view of Holbert et al. (US 10,022,556).
With respect to claims 2-6 and 17, David discloses all claimed limitations, as expressly recited in claim 1, except for specifying that wherein said CS is less than 1, less than 0.6, less than 0.5, less than 0.4, or less than 0.3.
David discloses in figures 1-2 a display comprising a light source (108) for producing a low circadian stimulus light (column 9 in lines 39-67, e.g., “circadian light CL, circadian stimulus CS”), wherein said CS is less than 1, less than 0.6, less than 0.5, less than 0.4, or less than 0.3 (column 10 in lines 15-35, e.g., “values of CS range from 0 to 0.7” as shown in equation 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of David with a CS range as taught by Holbert for the purpose of adjusting the luminous intensity distribution level of the display thereof since this configuration for the stated purpose would have been obvious as evidenced by the teaching of Holbert (see column 10 in lines 15-43).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of David and Holbert disclose that wherein said white light has an overall SPD power (see paragraph 0070 of David) and a blue SPD power between 460 and 485nm, wherein the blue SPD power is less than 2% of the overall SPD power (see paragraph 0068 of David, e.g., “a blue power between 440-500 nm, wherein the blue power is less than 20% of the overall SPD power”).
With respect to claim 19, the combination of David and Holbert disclose that wherein said blue SPD power is less than 1% of the overall SPD power (see paragraph 0068 of David).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art Johnson et al. – US 2024/0387481
Prior art David – US 2022/0050331
/TUNG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 May 28, 2026