DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 18 recites a method of electronic gaming implemented by at least one processor in communication with at least one memory, the method comprising: randomly determining a first segment of a travel path for a selection indicium between a starting symbol position and an intermediate symbol position. The limitation of randomly determining a first segment of a travel path for a selection indicium between a starting symbol position and an intermediate symbol position, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “memory” and “processor,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “memory” and “processor” language, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally selecting a game piece to move. Similarly, the limitations of: determining, and causing are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The same interpretation is applied to the remaining steps in claim 18. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites a couple additional elements – memory and processor. The memory and processor is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor implementing a step) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using memory and processor amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Similar reasoning is applied to claims 1-17, 19, and 20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,557,168; claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,721,161; claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,033,456. Although the claims are not identical, the claims of the current application are encompassed by the claims of the patents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2014/0162750 A1 to Ryan (hereinafter “Ryan”).
Concerning claim 1, Ryan discloses an electronic gaming device comprising: at least one memory device with instructions stored thereon; and at least one processor in communication with the at least one memory device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 3, paragraphs [0038], [0066]), cause the at least one processor to:
randomly determine a first segment of a travel path for a selection indicium between a starting symbol position and an intermediate symbol position (paragraphs [0095], [0104]-[0106], [0148], [0149] – first segment of a travel path is determined having a position between a starting symbol and an intermediate symbol);
randomly determine a second segment of the travel path for the selection indicium between the intermediate symbol position and an ending symbol position (paragraphs [0095], [0104]-[0106], [0148], [0149] – second segment of the travel path is determined having a position between an intermediate symbol and an ending symbol);
cause display of the selection indicium traversing the travel path on a display device of the electronic gaming device for an electronic game (paragraphs [0095], [0104]-[0106], [0148], [0149] – the selection indicum transverses the travel path); and
provide an output for the electronic game, wherein the output is associated with the ending symbol position and comprises at least one upgrade to be applied to a next play of the electronic game (paragraphs [0147]-[0149] – output is displayed based on the ending symbol position and award is applied to next game).
Concerning claims 2 and 11, Ryan discloses wherein the at least one upgrade comprises an additional selection indicium to be displayed for the next play of the electronic game (paragraphs [0147]-[0149] – additional selection indicum are displayed for the next game).
Concerning claims 3 and 12, Ryan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to cause display of the selection indicium and the additional selection indicium during the next play of the electronic game, wherein the selection indicium and the additional selection indicium traverse respective randomly determined travel paths during the next play of the electronic game (paragraphs [0095], [0104]-[0106], [0148], [0149] – additional selection indicum are displayed for the next game which transverse the travel paths during the next play of the game).
Concerning claims 4 and 13, Ryan discloses wherein the at least one upgrade comprises at least one of a first jackpot symbol being upgraded to a second jackpot symbol, at least one row being added to a matrix comprising the starting symbol position, the intermediate symbol position, and the ending symbol position, at least one column being added to the matrix comprising the starting symbol position, the intermediate symbol position, and the ending symbol position, or at least one additional play of the electronic game being provided (paragraphs [0150]-[0153] – upgrades include jackpot symbols).
Concerning claims 6 and 15, Ryan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to cause display of the selection indicium traversing the travel path at varying speeds (paragraph [0121] - speed is increased in game).
Concerning claims 7, 16, and 19, Ryan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive a message associated with a game outcome for the electronic game from a server; and provide the output based on the game outcome associated with the message (paragraph [0120] – message is provided with respect to the outcome).
Concerning claim 8, Ryan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive a message associated with the travel path from a server; and randomly determine at least one of the first segment or the second segment based on the message (paragraphs [0095], [0104]-[0106], [0148], [0149] – message is provided based on the travel path).
Concerning claim 9, Ryan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to identify the starting symbol position for the selection indicium based on a message received from a server (paragraphs [0095], [0104]-[0106], [0148], [0149] – starting symbol is determined based on message).
Concerning claims 10 and 18, see the rejection of claim 1.
Concerning claims 17 and 20, Ryan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to cause the selection indicium to be displayed as traversing the travel path on the display device by transmitting at least one message associated with at least one of the travel path or the output to the electronic gaming device displaying the electronic game (paragraphs [0095], [0104]-[0106], [0148], [0149] – message related to travel path is displayed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan in view of US Publication No. 2019/0392677 A1 to Halvorson (hereinafter “Halvorson”).
Concerning claims 5 and 14, Ryal lacks specifically disclosing, however, Halvorson discloses wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to convert each wheel segment of a plurality of wheel segments to a respective symbol position of a plurality of symbol positions for the electronic game, wherein each wheel segment and corresponding respective symbol position are associated with a respective output amount, and wherein the plurality of symbol positions includes the starting symbol position, the intermediate symbol position, and the ending symbol position (paragraph [0117] – symbol moving around a path may be presented by a wheel segment). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of a wheel as disclosed by Halvorson in the system of Ryan in order to provide a variety of displays in the game, thereby increasing player interest.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715