DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/673194, filed on 5/23/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claims 1-10 are a system, claims 11-17 are a method, and claims 18-20 are a computer readable medium. Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101. However, the claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A Prong 1: The independent claims (1, 11 and 17, taking claim 1 as a representative claim) recite:
An enhanced connectivity computer platform comprising:
a central handler comprising at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, the central handler configured to maintain a cloud-based infrastructure for a connector application downloadable and executable on a plurality of user computing devices in communication with the central handler;
a first instance of the connector application executed on a first user computing device, the first instance including executable instructions causing a first processor of the first user computing device to display an interactive graphical user interface (GUI) on the first user computing device; and
a background operator of the connector application executed via the first processor, the background operator including executable instructions causing the first processor to:
log user interaction with one or more software applications executed on the first user computing device; and
write an activity profile to at least one of (i) a first memory of the first user computing device or (ii) the at least one memory device of the central handler, the activity profile including a plurality of logged user interactions,
wherein, in response to receiving from a requestor device a first request for first information associated with a user of the first user computing device, the central handler is configured to:
access the activity profile to retrieve one or more data elements responsive to the first request; and
transmit the one or more data elements to the requestor device in a response message.
These limitations, except for the italicized portions, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, recite certain methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) as well as commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). The claimed invention recites steps for access the activity profile of a user containing user interactions in order to retrieve appropriate data elements to transmit in a response message. The steps under its broadest reasonable interpretation specifically fall under interactions between people, such as social activity of sharing information with others, and ultimately sales and marketing activities. The specification sets forth capturing the interaction data of the user to determine trends, preferences, and behaviors as learned elements [0028] which can then be used in actions such as “group ordering food” [0044], “passive preference sharing” targeting content to users [0051], “recommending service providers” to users [0058]. The Examiner notes that although the claim limitations are summarized, the analysis regarding subject matter eligibility considers the entirety of the claim and all of the claim elements individually, as a whole, and in ordered combination.
Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of
An enhanced connectivity computer platform comprising: a central handler comprising at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, the central handler configured to maintain a cloud-based infrastructure for a connector application downloadable and executable on a plurality of user computing devices in communication with the central handler; (Claim 1)
A computer-implemented method for enhanced resource sharing, the method implemented using a central handler including at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, the central handler configured to maintain a cloud-based infrastructure for a connector application downloadable and executable on a plurality of user computing devices in communication with the central handler, and a first instance of the connector application executed on a first user computing device including a first processor, the method comprising: (claim 11)
At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: maintain a cloud-based infrastructure for a connector application downloadable and executable on a plurality of user computing devices; (Claim 18)
a first instance of the connector application executed on a first user computing device, the first instance including executable instructions causing a first processor of the first user computing device to display an interactive graphical user interface (GUI) on the first user computing device; and
a background operator of the connector application executed via the first processor, the background operator including executable instructions causing the first processor to:
log user interaction with one or more software applications executed on the first user computing device; and
write an activity profile to at least one of (i) a first memory of the first user computing device or (ii) the at least one memory device of the central handler, the activity profile including a plurality of logged user interactions,
wherein, in response to receiving from a requestor device a first request for first information associated with a user of the first user computing device, the central handler is configured to:
access the activity profile to retrieve one or more data elements responsive to the first request; and
transmit the one or more data elements to the requestor device in a response message.
The additional elements emphasized above are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application – MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, these additional elements when considered individually or as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The independent claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong two, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component.
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of claim 1, 11, and 18 do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. Therefore, under Step 2B, there are no meaningful limitations in claims 1, 11, and 18 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05).
As such, independent claims 1, 11, and 18 are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-17, and 19-20 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to the same abstract idea of Independent Claims 1, 11 and 18 without significantly more.
Claim 2 recites wherein the requestor device is a newly executed software application being executed on the first user computing device for a first time and is a first type of application, and wherein the first request for first information requests the one or more data elements related to logged user interactions with previously executed applications of a same or similar type to the newly executed software application. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 3 recites wherein the requestor device is a second user computing device communicatively coupled to the first user computing device. The additional element of the second user computing device is recited at a high level of generality and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 4 recites wherein the first request is initiated with a second instance of the connector application executed on the second user computing device. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 5 recites wherein at least one of the background operator or the central handler is configured to process the logged user interactions to generate a plurality of learned data elements identifying preferences of the first user, and wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to display the GUI including the preferences of the first user and a request for validation of the preferences. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 6 wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to receive user input from the GUI including user validation of at least one of the preferences, and wherein the first instance of the software application or the background operator further causes the first processor to write the plurality of learned data elements to the activity profile when the preferences are validated by the first user. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 7 recites wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to: display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including user preferences; generate a plurality of manual data elements representing the user preferences; and write the plurality of manual data elements to the activity profile. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 8 recites wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including access parameters. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 9 recites wherein the central handler is further configured to determine, based upon the access parameters, the requestor device has permission to access the activity profile and the one or more data elements. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 10 recites wherein the access parameters define which entities have permission to access the activity profile, and which data elements of the activity profile can be accessed by each of the entities. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 12 recites further comprising: processing the logged user interactions to generate a plurality of learned data elements identifying preferences of the first user. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 13 recites further comprising: causing the first processor to display the GUI including the preferences of the first user and a request for validation of the preferences. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 14 recites further comprising: receiving user input from the GUI including user validation of at least one of the preferences; and writing the plurality of learned data elements to the activity profile. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 15 recites further comprising: causing the first processor to display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including user preferences; generating a plurality of manual data elements representing the user preferences; and writing the plurality of manual data elements to the activity profile. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 16 recites further comprising: causing the first processor to display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including access parameters, wherein the access parameters define which entities have permission to access the activity profile, and which data elements of the activity profile can be accessed by each of the entities; and determining, based upon the access parameters, the requestor device has permission to access the activity profile and the one or more data elements. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 17 recites further comprising: maintaining a repository of registered users that are registered with the central handler, wherein the first request includes a registration tag indicating the requestor device is or is associated with one of the registered users. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 19 recites wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: cause display of a prompt for the first user to provide biometric authentication data or a password before permitting access the activity profile or transmit the response message.
Claim 20 recites wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: cause display of the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide at least one of: (i) user input including user preferences, (ii) access parameters, or (iii) monitoring parameters.
For at least these reasons claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riva (US 20190294606) in view of Eberstadt (US 20090171964) .
Regarding claim 1, Riva discloses:
An enhanced connectivity computer platform comprising:
a central handler comprising at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, the central handler configured to maintain a cloud-based infrastructure for a connector application downloadable and executable on a plurality of user computing devices in communication with the central handler; (see Figure 12 with a cloud supported environment for the analytics service 1220 communicating with devices 1230, 1240, 1250; and see [0054-0056])
a first instance of the connector application executed on a first user computing device, the first instance including executable instructions causing a first processor of the first user computing device to display an interactive graphical user interface (GUI) on the first user computing device; and [0051] One or more of the apps 110 can be downloaded and installed in the app space of device 100, as apps 110a, . . . , 110b. Each of the apps may include a user interface (UI) framework 302a, . . . , 302b, respectively, which may allow one or more other components of device 100 (e.g., the analytics service 340) to subscribe for and get notifications upon occurrence of a UI event (e.g., a user using the app touches on a button, enters text, scrolls, likes a page, etc.)
a background operator of the connector application executed via the first processor, (the tracer 342 and the analyzer 344 are referred herein as an “analytics engine.” The tracer 342 may be operable to capture raw application content (e.g., in-app data 348); and see analytics service 340 running on plurality of applications in Figure 5; and main processor in [0055]) the background operator including executable instructions causing the first processor to: log user interaction with one or more software applications executed on the first user computing device; and [0052] The analytics service 340 may comprise suitable circuitry, interfaces, logic and/or code and may be operable to log user interactions with one or more of the apps 110a, . . . , 110b, analyze the user interactions using the templates 328, and extract one or more user data items 350, which may be stored in the store 346. The analytics service 340 may include a tracer component 342, an analyzer component 344, and a store component 346. The tracer 342 and the analyzer 344 are referred herein as an “analytics engine.” The tracer 342 may be operable to capture raw application content (e.g., in-app data 348), which may include one or more events 304 (e.g., user action such as button click, pressing a Like button, etc.) and a UI tree 306 with one or more text strings 307 (the UI tree may include the content consumed by a user in a given page class of an app, including text strings in that page class; e.g., a user may like a restaurant showing on a given restaurant app page, and the restaurant name will be a text string 307, the like action can be the event 304, and the page class where the Like action was entered can be the UI tree 306).
write an activity profile to at least one of (i) a first memory of the first user computing device or (ii) the at least one memory device of the central handler, the activity […] including a plurality of logged user interactions, [0025]The analytics service stores the behavioral data (e.g., BDIs/UDIs) collected from all apps in an OS-protected analytics store that apps (with permission) can programmatically query (e.g., using a SQL-like declarative language). The analytics service may also provide APIs for the OS, OS services, and apps to consume the behavioral information (e.g., the BDIs) from the analytics store or from another store (e.g., a cloud BDI/UDI store). [0054] The store 346 may be implemented at the device 100 (i.e., locally) and/or in the cloud (e.g., at the cloud server such as 512 in FIGS. 5, 310 and/or 320). The store 346 at device 100 stores the UDIs 350 associated with usage of the apps 110 at device 100. However, if the store is implemented in a cloud server, then the store 346 may store UDIs associated with application use not only at device 100 but at a plurality of other devices (of the same or different users). In this regard, the store 346 may additionally provide access to UDIs to apps, OS, OS services from the same device 100 and/or from other devices (of the same user or different users). Access to the UDI information may be provided using an API and upon access authentication (as illustrated in FIG. 4). In accordance with one or more embodiments, the store 346 may also provide UDIs automatically to one or more apps 110, the OS 112, an OS service (e.g., a digital personal assistant that may be an OS service or a stand-alone app), and/or one or more other devices that have pre-authorized access and have a subscription to one or more types of UDIs.
wherein, in response to receiving from a requestor device a first request for first information associated with a user of the first user computing device, the central handler is configured to: [0099] For example, one or more of the apps 110a, . . . , 110b may request access to the UDIs, and the access control module 402 (which may be part of the analytics service 340) may determine whether the requesting app is authorized to access the store 346 and/or the analyzer 344 to obtain UDIs. The access control 402 may be designated via a policy document, which may specify what type of data can be shared between apps, OS, OS services, and/or other devices (e.g., other devices of the same user). Information associated with the user is interpreted as the user data item representing user activity
access the activity […] to retrieve one or more data elements responsive to the first request; and transmit the one or more data elements to the requestor device in a response message. [0101]the example method 800 may start at 810, when in-app data for at least one of the plurality of apps (110a) running on a computing device (100) is extracted. The in-app data (348) includes content consumed by a user (e.g., 306, 307) while the at least one app is running, and/or at least one user action (304) taken in connection with the content. At 820, an entity template (328) associated with the at least one app may be used to classify a plurality of text strings (307) within the in-app data into at least one of a plurality of data types (354, . . . , 356) specified by the entity template (328). At 830, at least one user data item (UDI 350) is generated (e.g., by the analyzer 344) by combining at least a portion of the classified plurality of text strings (307). The at least one UDI 350 may be accessible by at least one of the following: a second app of the plurality of apps, an operating system (112) running on the computing device, a service of the operating system (e.g., a digital personal assistant service), and/or a service running on at least another device (e.g., at least another device of the user of device 100) and shown in Figures 3A and B.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
the activity profile
However Eberstadt teaches:
the activity profile [0090] In some implementations, applications may also send back to the shared system profile or activity information from the affiliate sites on system members. This information may be aggregated to enable analyses, reports, and applications that span affiliate sites. For example, a shared system user may buy books from multiple affiliate sites. By aggregating such purchase information for the shared system member across all affiliate sites, connections of that user could more easily discover whether that user had bought a particular book on any of those sites. Such analyses could be made available to users at the shared system site, or the aggregated information could be provided back to the affiliate sites to power multi-affiliate applications that run within the affiliate sites. [0036] A user profile manager 134 keeps track of all attributes of a system member, including demographic information such as age, state and country, and gender, and identification information such as name, telephone number, and email address. A wide variety of attributes may be defined for this purpose and may include contact information, communication preferences, photos, various types of descriptors, and other information associated with a member. And see [0042]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include an activity profile, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Regarding claim 11, Riva discloses:
A computer-implemented method for enhanced resource sharing, the method implemented using a central handler including at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device, the central handler configured to maintain a cloud-based infrastructure for a connector application downloadable and executable on a plurality of user computing devices in communication with the central handler, (see Figure 12 with a cloud supported environment for the analytics service 1220 communicating with devices 1230, 1240, 1250; and see [0054-0056]) and a first instance of the connector application executed on a first user computing device including a first processor, the method comprising: [0051] One or more of the apps 110 can be downloaded and installed in the app space of device 100, as apps 110a, . . . , 110b. Each of the apps may include a user interface (UI) framework 302a, . . . , 302b, respectively, which may allow one or more other components of device 100 (e.g., the analytics service 340) to subscribe for and get notifications upon occurrence of a UI event (e.g., a user using the app touches on a button, enters text, scrolls, likes a page, etc.)
executing, on the first processor, the first instance of the connector application;
causing, by the first instance of the connector application, the first processor to display an interactive graphical user interface (GUI) on the first user computing device; [0051] One or more of the apps 110 can be downloaded and installed in the app space of device 100, as apps 110a, . . . , 110b. Each of the apps may include a user interface (UI) framework 302a, . . . , 302b, respectively, which may allow one or more other components of device 100 (e.g., the analytics service 340) to subscribe for and get notifications upon occurrence of a UI event (e.g., a user using the app touches on a button, enters text, scrolls, likes a page, etc.)
executing, on the first processor, a background operator of the connector application; (the tracer 342 and the analyzer 344 are referred herein as an “analytics engine.” The tracer 342 may be operable to capture raw application content (e.g., in-app data 348); and see analytics service 340 running on plurality of applications in Figure 5; and main processor in [0055])
logging, by the background operator, user interaction with one or more software applications executed on the first user computing device; [0052] The analytics service 340 may comprise suitable circuitry, interfaces, logic and/or code and may be operable to log user interactions with one or more of the apps 110a, . . . , 110b, analyze the user interactions using the templates 328, and extract one or more user data items 350, which may be stored in the store 346. The analytics service 340 may include a tracer component 342, an analyzer component 344, and a store component 346. The tracer 342 and the analyzer 344 are referred herein as an “analytics engine.” The tracer 342 may be operable to capture raw application content (e.g., in-app data 348), which may include one or more events 304 (e.g., user action such as button click, pressing a Like button, etc.) and a UI tree 306 with one or more text strings 307 (the UI tree may include the content consumed by a user in a given page class of an app, including text strings in that page class; e.g., a user may like a restaurant showing on a given restaurant app page, and the restaurant name will be a text string 307, the like action can be the event 304, and the page class where the Like action was entered can be the UI tree 306).
writing, by the background operator, an activity […] to at least one of (i) a first memory of the first user computing device or (ii) the at least one memory device of the central handler, the activity […] including a plurality of logged user interactions; [0025]The analytics service stores the behavioral data (e.g., BDIs/UDIs) collected from all apps in an OS-protected analytics store that apps (with permission) can programmatically query (e.g., using a SQL-like declarative language). The analytics service may also provide APIs for the OS, OS services, and apps to consume the behavioral information (e.g., the BDIs) from the analytics store or from another store (e.g., a cloud BDI/UDI store). [0054] The store 346 may be implemented at the device 100 (i.e., locally) and/or in the cloud (e.g., at the cloud server such as 512 in FIGS. 5, 310 and/or 320). The store 346 at device 100 stores the UDIs 350 associated with usage of the apps 110 at device 100. However, if the store is implemented in a cloud server, then the store 346 may store UDIs associated with application use not only at device 100 but at a plurality of other devices (of the same or different users). In this regard, the store 346 may additionally provide access to UDIs to apps, OS, OS services from the same device 100 and/or from other devices (of the same user or different users). Access to the UDI information may be provided using an API and upon access authentication (as illustrated in FIG. 4). In accordance with one or more embodiments, the store 346 may also provide UDIs automatically to one or more apps 110, the OS 112, an OS service (e.g., a digital personal assistant that may be an OS service or a stand-alone app), and/or one or more other devices that have pre-authorized access and have a subscription to one or more types of UDIs.
in response to receiving from a requestor device a first request for first information associated with a user of the first user computing device, accessing, by the central handler, the activity profile to retrieve one or more data elements responsive to the first request; and [0099] For example, one or more of the apps 110a, . . . , 110b may request access to the UDIs, and the access control module 402 (which may be part of the analytics service 340) may determine whether the requesting app is authorized to access the store 346 and/or the analyzer 344 to obtain UDIs. The access control 402 may be designated via a policy document, which may specify what type of data can be shared between apps, OS, OS services, and/or other devices (e.g., other devices of the same user). Information associated with the user is interpreted as the user data item representing user activity
transmitting, by the central handler, the one or more data elements to the requestor device in a response message. [0101]the example method 800 may start at 810, when in-app data for at least one of the plurality of apps (110a) running on a computing device (100) is extracted. The in-app data (348) includes content consumed by a user (e.g., 306, 307) while the at least one app is running, and/or at least one user action (304) taken in connection with the content. At 820, an entity template (328) associated with the at least one app may be used to classify a plurality of text strings (307) within the in-app data into at least one of a plurality of data types (354, . . . , 356) specified by the entity template (328). At 830, at least one user data item (UDI 350) is generated (e.g., by the analyzer 344) by combining at least a portion of the classified plurality of text strings (307). The at least one UDI 350 may be accessible by at least one of the following: a second app of the plurality of apps, an operating system (112) running on the computing device, a service of the operating system (e.g., a digital personal assistant service), and/or a service running on at least another device (e.g., at least another device of the user of device 100) and shown in Figures 3A and B.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
the activity profile
However Eberstadt teaches:
the activity profile [0090] In some implementations, applications may also send back to the shared system profile or activity information from the affiliate sites on system members. This information may be aggregated to enable analyses, reports, and applications that span affiliate sites. For example, a shared system user may buy books from multiple affiliate sites. By aggregating such purchase information for the shared system member across all affiliate sites, connections of that user could more easily discover whether that user had bought a particular book on any of those sites. Such analyses could be made available to users at the shared system site, or the aggregated information could be provided back to the affiliate sites to power multi-affiliate applications that run within the affiliate sites. [0036] A user profile manager 134 keeps track of all attributes of a system member, including demographic information such as age, state and country, and gender, and identification information such as name, telephone number, and email address. A wide variety of attributes may be defined for this purpose and may include contact information, communication preferences, photos, various types of descriptors, and other information associated with a member. And see [0042]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include an activity profile, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Regarding claim 18, Riva discloses:
At least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: [0056] The system memory 113 may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces, and/or code that may enable permanent and/or non-permanent storage, buffering, and/or fetching of data, code and/or other information, which may be used, consumed, and/or processed. In this regard, the system memory 113 may comprise different memory technologies, including, for example, read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), Flash memory, solid-state drive (SSD), and/or field-programmable gate array (FPGA). The system memory 113 may store, for example, configuration data, which may comprise parameters and/or code, comprising software and/or firmware.
maintain a cloud-based infrastructure for a connector application downloadable and executable on a plurality of user computing devices; (see Figure 12 with a cloud supported environment for the analytics service 1220 communicating with devices 1230, 1240, 1250; and see [0054-0056])
execute, on a first user computing device, a first instance of the connector application; cause display of an interactive graphical user interface (GUI) on the first user computing device; [0051] One or more of the apps 110 can be downloaded and installed in the app space of device 100, as apps 110a, . . . , 110b. Each of the apps may include a user interface (UI) framework 302a, . . . , 302b, respectively, which may allow one or more other components of device 100 (e.g., the analytics service 340) to subscribe for and get notifications upon occurrence of a UI event (e.g., a user using the app touches on a button, enters text, scrolls, likes a page, etc.)
execute, on the first user computing device, a background operator; (the tracer 342 and the analyzer 344 are referred herein as an “analytics engine.” The tracer 342 may be operable to capture raw application content (e.g., in-app data 348); and see analytics service 340 running on plurality of applications in Figure 5; and main processor in [0055])
log user interaction with one or more software applications executed on the first user computing device; [0052] The analytics service 340 may comprise suitable circuitry, interfaces, logic and/or code and may be operable to log user interactions with one or more of the apps 110a, . . . , 110b, analyze the user interactions using the templates 328, and extract one or more user data items 350, which may be stored in the store 346. The analytics service 340 may include a tracer component 342, an analyzer component 344, and a store component 346. The tracer 342 and the analyzer 344 are referred herein as an “analytics engine.” The tracer 342 may be operable to capture raw application content (e.g., in-app data 348), which may include one or more events 304 (e.g., user action such as button click, pressing a Like button, etc.) and a UI tree 306 with one or more text strings 307 (the UI tree may include the content consumed by a user in a given page class of an app, including text strings in that page class; e.g., a user may like a restaurant showing on a given restaurant app page, and the restaurant name will be a text string 307, the like action can be the event 304, and the page class where the Like action was entered can be the UI tree 306).
write an activity profile to at least one memory, the activity […] including a plurality of logged user interactions; [0025]The analytics service stores the behavioral data (e.g., BDIs/UDIs) collected from all apps in an OS-protected analytics store that apps (with permission) can programmatically query (e.g., using a SQL-like declarative language). The analytics service may also provide APIs for the OS, OS services, and apps to consume the behavioral information (e.g., the BDIs) from the analytics store or from another store (e.g., a cloud BDI/UDI store). [0054] The store 346 may be implemented at the device 100 (i.e., locally) and/or in the cloud (e.g., at the cloud server such as 512 in FIGS. 5, 310 and/or 320). The store 346 at device 100 stores the UDIs 350 associated with usage of the apps 110 at device 100. However, if the store is implemented in a cloud server, then the store 346 may store UDIs associated with application use not only at device 100 but at a plurality of other devices (of the same or different users). In this regard, the store 346 may additionally provide access to UDIs to apps, OS, OS services from the same device 100 and/or from other devices (of the same user or different users). Access to the UDI information may be provided using an API and upon access authentication (as illustrated in FIG. 4). In accordance with one or more embodiments, the store 346 may also provide UDIs automatically to one or more apps 110, the OS 112, an OS service (e.g., a digital personal assistant that may be an OS service or a stand-alone app), and/or one or more other devices that have pre-authorized access and have a subscription to one or more types of UDIs.
in response to receiving from a requestor device a first request for first information associated with a user of the first user computing device, access the activity […] to retrieve one or more data elements responsive to the first request; and [0099] For example, one or more of the apps 110a, . . . , 110b may request access to the UDIs, and the access control module 402 (which may be part of the analytics service 340) may determine whether the requesting app is authorized to access the store 346 and/or the analyzer 344 to obtain UDIs. The access control 402 may be designated via a policy document, which may specify what type of data can be shared between apps, OS, OS services, and/or other devices (e.g., other devices of the same user). Information associated with the user is interpreted as the user data item representing user activity
transmit the one or more data elements to the requestor device in a response message. [0101]the example method 800 may start at 810, when in-app data for at least one of the plurality of apps (110a) running on a computing device (100) is extracted. The in-app data (348) includes content consumed by a user (e.g., 306, 307) while the at least one app is running, and/or at least one user action (304) taken in connection with the content. At 820, an entity template (328) associated with the at least one app may be used to classify a plurality of text strings (307) within the in-app data into at least one of a plurality of data types (354, . . . , 356) specified by the entity template (328). At 830, at least one user data item (UDI 350) is generated (e.g., by the analyzer 344) by combining at least a portion of the classified plurality of text strings (307). The at least one UDI 350 may be accessible by at least one of the following: a second app of the plurality of apps, an operating system (112) running on the computing device, a service of the operating system (e.g., a digital personal assistant service), and/or a service running on at least another device (e.g., at least another device of the user of device 100) and shown in Figures 3A and B.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
the activity profile
However Eberstadt teaches:
the activity profile [0090] In some implementations, applications may also send back to the shared system profile or activity information from the affiliate sites on system members. This information may be aggregated to enable analyses, reports, and applications that span affiliate sites. For example, a shared system user may buy books from multiple affiliate sites. By aggregating such purchase information for the shared system member across all affiliate sites, connections of that user could more easily discover whether that user had bought a particular book on any of those sites. Such analyses could be made available to users at the shared system site, or the aggregated information could be provided back to the affiliate sites to power multi-affiliate applications that run within the affiliate sites. [0036] A user profile manager 134 keeps track of all attributes of a system member, including demographic information such as age, state and country, and gender, and identification information such as name, telephone number, and email address. A wide variety of attributes may be defined for this purpose and may include contact information, communication preferences, photos, various types of descriptors, and other information associated with a member. And see [0042]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include an activity profile, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Regarding claim 3, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the requestor device is a second user computing device communicatively coupled to the first user computing device
However Eberstadt teaches:
wherein the requestor device is a second user computing device communicatively coupled to the first user computing device [0052] A user can invite people he knows to be connections of his within the shared system. Each of the invitees may accept, decline, or ignore the invitation. If an invitee accepts, then a two-way connection is established between the users. In establishing this two-way connection, the user who extends the invitation and the user who accepts the invitation by doing so automatically are each deemed to have authorized (given permission to) affiliate sites that exist as of the time of the establishment of the connection and those affiliate sites that join later to share information that they may have or acquire about them, which might otherwise be considered private, with the other user in the connection. A system user agreement and privacy policies (and general explanatory text on the shared SN system site) can contain statements to this effect and other statements regarding the sharing of information. This permission model implemented by the system automatically enables an affiliate site to access and share the user's SN information from the system repository without requiring any farther permission from the user SN.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include wherein the requestor device is a second user computing device communicatively coupled to the first user computing device, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Regarding claim 4, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the first request is initiated with a second instance of the connector application executed on the second user computing device
However Eberstadt teaches:
wherein the first request is initiated with a second instance of the connector application executed on the second user computing device [0054] In connection with the invitation process, the user can also set desired privacy preferences (e.g., permissions) for each invitee and add attributes or characteristics that describe the connection he intends to establish. If the invited connection is already also a system member, the connection need only accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. On the other hand, if the connection is not yet a member of the system, the connection must both join the system and accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. (The invitation e-mail can include information on becoming a system member.) The server of the shared SN system provides a user interface for extending (and accepting) these invitations and setting the privacy preferences and connection attributes.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include wherein the first request is initiated with a second instance of the connector application executed on the second user computing device, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Regarding claims 5, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above. Riva further discloses:
wherein at least one of the background operator or the central handler (the tracer 342 and the analyzer 344 are referred herein as an “analytics engine.” The tracer 342 may be operable to capture raw application content (e.g., in-app data 348); is configured to process the logged user interactions to generate a plurality of learned data elements identifying preferences of the first user, [0093] The analytics service 340 may provide two types of APIs (e.g., Table 1 in FIG. 7). Online, OS and apps can request the content currently displayed on screen or can request to be notified when specific user actions or type of entities occur (e.g., the page content when a click on “Like” happens). Through this API, it is possible to obtain a kind of snapshot into the user's current activity. Alternatively, which exposes an SQL-like interface. The following is an example of query to find out about the user's cuisine preferences; [0098] Other examples of how this API can be used are a shopping app that ranks cooking books based on cuisine preferences or one that suggests ringtones based on music preferences. And additional preference examples in Figure 7/Table 2
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
and wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to display the GUI including the preferences of the first user and a request for validation of the preferences.
However Eberstadt teaches:
and wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to display the GUI including the preferences of the first user and a request for validation of the preferences. [0054] In connection with the invitation process, the user can also set desired privacy preferences (e.g., permissions) for each invitee and add attributes or characteristics that describe the connection he intends to establish. If the invited connection is already also a system member, the connection need only accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. On the other hand, if the connection is not yet a member of the system, the connection must both join the system and accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. (The invitation e-mail can include information on becoming a system member.) The server of the shared SN system provides a user interface for extending (and accepting) these invitations and setting the privacy preferences and connection attributes.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include and wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to display the GUI including the preferences of the first user and a request for validation of the preferences, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Claims 12 and 13 recite parallel claim language to claim 5 and therefore are also rejected as claim 5 is rejected by Riva in view of Eberstadt.
Regarding claim 6, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to receive user input from the GUI including user validation of at least one of the preferences, and wherein the first instance of the software application or the background operator further causes the first processor to write the plurality of learned data elements to the activity profile when the preferences are validated by the first user.
However Eberstadt teaches:
wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to receive user input from the GUI including user validation of at least one of the preferences, and wherein the first instance of the software application or the background operator further causes the first processor to write the plurality of learned data elements to the activity profile when the preferences are validated by the first user. [0054] In connection with the invitation process, the user can also set desired privacy preferences (e.g., permissions) for each invitee and add attributes or characteristics that describe the connection he intends to establish. If the invited connection is already also a system member, the connection need only accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. On the other hand, if the connection is not yet a member of the system, the connection must both join the system and accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. (The invitation e-mail can include information on becoming a system member.) The server of the shared SN system provides a user interface for extending (and accepting) these invitations and setting the privacy preferences and connection attributes. And shown in the GUI display of Figure 7 and Figure 8 and see [0042]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to receive user input from the GUI including user validation of at least one of the preferences, and wherein the first instance of the software application or the background operator further causes the first processor to write the plurality of learned data elements to the activity profile when the preferences are validated by the first user, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Claim 14 recite parallel claim language to claim 6 and therefore are also rejected as claim 6 is rejected by Riva in view of Eberstadt.
Regarding claim 7, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including user preferences; generate a plurality of manual data elements representing the user preferences; and write the plurality of manual data elements to the activity profile.
However Eberstadt teaches:
display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including user preferences; generate a plurality of manual data elements representing the user preferences; and(shown in Figure 8 Yes, and in the future it is always ok to share my info with George on any site 251) write the plurality of manual data elements to the activity profile. [0042] Shared SN system information is stored in, for example, a database 148. The information includes all information needed for the operation of the modules of the system server and other applications that may be added over time. The information includes, but is not limited to, connection information, profile information, user privacy and permission preferences, users' invitations to other users to connect with them (much of which can be stored in the SN data tables 149), log information on activities of the system server and applications (for example, when new members have joined, when connections between users have been made), log information 151 on the activity of the various system widgets (including display of system member names), and information about activities of system members 153 provided to the system by affiliate sites and applications.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including user preferences; generate a plurality of manual data elements representing the user preferences; and write the plurality of manual data elements to the activity profile, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Claim 15 recite parallel claim language to claim 7 and therefore are also rejected as claim 7 is rejected by Riva in view of Eberstadt.
Regarding claim 8, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including access parameters.
However Eberstadt teaches:
wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including access parameters. [0054] In connection with the invitation process, the user can also set desired privacy preferences (e.g., permissions) for each invitee and add attributes or characteristics that describe the connection he intends to establish. If the invited connection is already also a system member, the connection need only accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. On the other hand, if the connection is not yet a member of the system, the connection must both join the system and accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. (The invitation e-mail can include information on becoming a system member.) The server of the shared SN system provides a user interface for extending (and accepting) these invitations and setting the privacy preferences and connection attributes. And shown in the GUI display of Figure 7 and Figure 8 and see [0042]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include wherein the first instance of the connector application further causes the first processor to display the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide user input including access parameters, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Regarding claim 9, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the central handler is further configured to determine, based upon the access parameters, the requestor device has permission to access the activity profile and the one or more data elements.
However Eberstadt teaches:
wherein the central handler is further configured to determine, based upon the access parameters, the requestor device has permission to access the activity profile and the one or more data elements. [0099] As shown in FIG. 24, some implementations of the system described here use a mode, called a one-way sharing mode 302, that does not require two-way agreement by two people 304, 306. Instead, a one-way consent 308 by a person 306 can be effective for, e.g., a third party 312 to be allowed (e.g., to have authority 309) to share information 310 (e.g., non-public information) of person 306 (sometimes called the sharer) with person 304 (sometimes called the recipient). And see [0100-0101]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include wherein the central handler is further configured to determine, based upon the access parameters, the requestor device has permission to access the activity profile and the one or more data elements, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Regarding claim 10, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the access parameters define which entities have permission to access the activity profile, and which data elements of the activity profile can be accessed by each of the entities.
However Eberstadt teaches:
wherein the access parameters define which entities have permission to access the activity profile, and which data elements of the activity profile can be accessed by each of the entities. (see Figure 8 elements 251, 253, 252, 254 [0061] As illustrated in FIG. 8, if an e-mail 250 is used to ask a connection to accept or decline 255 or 256 a sharing of his information, an ask-me-first request could also provide opportunities for the connection to manage his general preferences with respect the user requesting the sharing or with respect to the site to which the request applies. For example, as shown in FIG. 8, the connection could be permitted, from within the e-mail 250, to switch his preferences for the user to trusted 251 or he could remove the user entirely from his connections 252. The connection could also, with the same e-mail, switch his preferences with respect to the site from, for example, requiring compliance with his connection-preferences to permitting site-wide trusting of everyone 253, or make-everyone-ask-me-first, or to opting out of the site entirely 254. and see [0060, 0062]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to wherein the access parameters define which entities have permission to access the activity profile, and which data elements of the activity profile can be accessed by each of the entities, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Claim 16 recites parallel claim language to claims 8-10 and therefore are also rejected as claims 8-10 are rejected by Riva in view of Eberstadt.
Regarding claim 17, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
maintaining a repository of registered users that are registered with the central handler, wherein the first request includes a registration tag indicating the requestor device is or is associated with one of the registered users.
However Eberstadt teaches:
maintaining a repository of registered users that are registered with the central handler, wherein the first request [0022] The shared SN repository 103 can be created and maintained "once" without duplication of effort and then used by many sites (and users of the shared system and of other sites) in many ways and at many times. Because the users need only register (and provide other SN information) in one place to have their SN information available (with permission) at a large number of sites, they are freed from the need to register and maintain their node information and connection information redundantly at many different sites. includes a registration tag indicating the requestor device is or is associated with one of the registered users. [0035] An invitation manager 132 keeps track of invitations to connect that a system member (we sometimes call a user who has registered with the shared system a member; and see [0116]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include maintaining a repository of registered users that are registered with the central handler, wherein the first request includes a registration tag indicating the requestor device is or is associated with one of the registered users, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005).
Regarding claim 19, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: cause display of a prompt for the first user to provide biometric authentication data or a password before permitting access the activity profile or transmit the response message.
However Eberstadt teaches:
wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: cause display of a prompt for the first user to provide biometric authentication data or a password before permitting access the activity profile or transmit the response message. [0050] Access to all or part of a user's profile can be controlled by a password 216.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: cause display of a prompt for the first user to provide biometric authentication data or a password before permitting access the activity profile or transmit the response message., as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005) and for the purposes of privacy and security (paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 20, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: cause display of the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide at least one of: (i) user input including user preferences, (ii) access parameters, or (iii) monitoring parameters.
However Eberstadt teaches:
wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: cause display of the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide at least one of: (i) user input including user preferences, (ii) access parameters, or (iii) monitoring parameters. [0054] In connection with the invitation process, the user can also set desired privacy preferences (e.g., permissions) for each invitee and add attributes or characteristics that describe the connection he intends to establish. If the invited connection is already also a system member, the connection need only accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. On the other hand, if the connection is not yet a member of the system, the connection must both join the system and accept the invitation and add his privacy preferences for the inviter and any connection attributes. (The invitation e-mail can include information on becoming a system member.) The server of the shared SN system provides a user interface for extending (and accepting) these invitations and setting the privacy preferences and connection attributes. And see [0042]
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the logging of user activity in Riva to include wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: cause display of the GUI including an interface prompting the first user to provide at least one of: (i) user input including user preferences, (ii) access parameters, or (iii) monitoring parameters, as taught in Eberstadt, in order to enhance the experience of its users and improve the sales or other performance of the site (see paragraph 005) and for the purposes of privacy and security (paragraph 0054).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riva (US 20190294606) in view of Eberstadt (US 20090171964) in further view of Bosenick (US20100161506).
Regarding claim 2, Riva in view of Eberstadt teaches the limitations set forth above.
While Riva discloses the logging of user activity in order to determine the elements to show to a user on a GUI and Eberstadt teaches processing permissions set by users for accessing information across contacts and sites, the reference does not expressly disclose:
wherein the requestor device is a newly executed software application being executed on the first user computing device for a first time and is a first type of application, and wherein the first request for first information requests the one or more data elements related to logged user interactions with previously executed applications of a same or similar type to the newly executed software application
However Bosenick teaches:
wherein the requestor device is a newly executed software application being executed on the first user computing device for a first time and is a first type of application, [0033] The application program may be automatically executed after installation, and upon start-up of the mobile device thereafter. The installation of the application program may include determining specific capabilities of the mobile device such that the application program may be tailored to function according to the specific capabilities provided by the mobile device on which the application program executes. and wherein the first request for first information requests the one or more data elements related to logged user interactions with previously executed applications of a same or similar type to the newly executed software application [0035] In a step 304, data pertaining to the mobile device is collected and logged. The application program may continually monitor and gather information regarding the user's interaction with the mobile device, and log data pertaining to the user's interaction with the mobile device. The application program may also monitor and gather other information related to the mobile device, such as time of day, geographic position of the mobile device, number of missed phone calls, number of voice mails, or battery status. The information may be representative of the user's behavior with respect to the mobile device, software applications executing on the mobile device, network resources such as email and web sites accessed over a network via the mobile device, and/or the user's physical environment. The logging of data may be triggered by a particular event or pre-defined user interaction with the mobile device. And see Figure 3
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modification of the GUI in Riva in view of Eberstadt to include wherein the requestor device is a newly executed software application being executed on the first user computing device for a first time and is a first type of application, and wherein the first request for first information requests the one or more data elements related to logged user interactions with previously executed applications of a same or similar type to the newly executed software application, as taught in Bosenick, in order to collect user feedback to improve end user experience with the application (paragraph 009).
Relevant Art Not Cited
Dunn (US 20110119732) discloses determining existing access permissions set by a user.
Conclusion
VICTORIA E. FRUNZI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit TC 3689
/VICTORIA E. FRUNZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 12/11/2025