DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Radic et al. (US Pub. No. 2009/0294843 A1), hereafter referred to as Radic.
As to claim 13, Radic discloses a semiconductor device (fig 9; [0020]), comprising:
a substrate (40) including a base section (26/27), a first active pattern (N+ source 24 on left of the gate) on the base section (26), and a second active pattern (N+ source 24 on right of the gate) on the base section (26);
a first gate structure (poly gate 60’ on left side) and a second gate structure (poly gate 60’ on the right side) between the first active pattern and the second active pattern (N+ source patterns 24); and
a gate separation layer (71/74) between the first gate structure (60’ on left) and the second gate structure (60’ on the right),
wherein the substrate (40) includes a first doping region in the first active pattern (N+ dopant in 24 on left), a second doping region in the second active pattern (N+ dopant in 24 on right), and a third doping region in the base section (N+ dopant in 27), and
wherein a level of a lowermost portion of the gate separation layer (71/74) is lower than a level of a lowermost portion of the first gate structure (poly gate 60’ on left) and a level of a lowermost portion of the second gate structure (poly gate 60’ on the right).
As to claim 14, Radic discloses the semiconductor device of claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first gate structure (60’ on left) and the second gate structure (60’ on right) are spaced apart from the first doping region (24), the second doping region (24), and the third doping region (27).
As to claim 16, Radic discloses the semiconductor device of claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein the gate separation layer (71) is in contact with the third doping region (27).
As to claim 18, Radic discloses the semiconductor device of claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first active pattern, the second active pattern and the base section of the substrate include impurities of a first conductivity type (P-type region 25 on left, right and lower portion), and
the first doping region, the second doping region, and the third doping region include impurities of a second conductivity type (N-type dopant in 24 on left, 24 on right and drain region 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radic as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hoshi (US Pub. No. 2022/0069072 A1).
As to claim 15, Radic discloses the semiconductor device of claim 13 (paragraphs above).
Radic does not disclose a device isolation layer spaced apart in a first direction from the first doping region and the first gate structure,
wherein a width in the first direction of the gate separation layer is smaller than a width in the first direction of the device isolation layer.
Nonetheless, Hoshi discloses a device isolation layer spaced apart in a first direction from a first doping region and a first gate structure ([0125], fig 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the device isolation layer with a greater width than the gate separation layer in the structure of Radic as taught by Hoshi since this will ensure sufficient electrical separation of devices on the substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 and 19-20 are allowed.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of independent claims 1 or 19. Specifically, a second gate conductive layer between the gate separation layer and the first gate conductive layer and wherein the gate separation layer extends in a second direction to a bottom surface of the first gate dielectric layer, and wherein a level of top surface of the gate separation layer is same level as a level of a top surface of the second gate conductive layer, as recited in claim 1; and wherein each of the first gate structure and the second gate structure include a first gate dielectric layer in contact with the substrate, a first gate conductive layer on the first gate dielectric layer, a second gate dielectric layer on the first gate dielectric layer and the first gate conductive layer, and a second gate conductive layer between the gate separation layer and the first gate conductive layer, wherein a level of a lowermost portion of the gate separation layer is lower than a level of a bottom surface of the device isolation layer, as recited in claim 19. Claim 17 is objected to because the prior art fails to teach or suggest wherein a top surface of the first active pattern, a top surface of the second active pattern, a top surface of the first gate structure, and a top surface of the gate separation layer are coplanar with each other.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 20 are allowable because of their dependence from one of claims 1 or 19.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2022/0302266A1; and US Patent No. 11,715,773B2.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 9/11/2026