Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, comprising Figures 5 and 6, in the reply filed on 10/7/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 12, 18, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/7/26.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to because elected Figs. 5-6 do not show a fan positioned downstream from a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger as recited in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 11, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8, line 2 recites “pressure” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11, lines 2-3 recite “a first heat exchanger” and “a second heat exchanger” (emphasis added) which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the heat exchangers recited in claim 11 are the same or different from the “one or more heat exchangers” recited in parent claim 7, line 7. For the purposes of substantiative examination, this limitation will be interpreted as being met if the first and second heat exchangers are the same or different from the one or more heat exchangers.
Claim 14, lines 2-3 are rejected for the same or substantially the same reason and will therefore be interpreted in the same way.
Claim 16, lines 2-3 and claim 19, lines 1-2 are rejected for the same or substantially the same reason and will therefore be interpreted in the same way. Note the “one or more heat exchangers” are recited in base claim 15, line 7.
Amendments to the claims are kindly requested for clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Wood et al. (US2509899A, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/22/25, hereafter Wood).
Regarding claim 1, Wood discloses an environmental control system pack (Col. 1, lines 3-5, “a system for cooling the ventilating air introduced into the cabin of a pressurized, high speed, high altitude aircraft” and Col. 2, line 15, air conditioning system) for an aircraft (Col. 1, line 5, aircraft), the environmental control system pack comprising:
a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37) that receives air from an atmosphere on an exterior of the aircraft (Col. 3, lines 14-18, “An intake duct 22 leads to the primary section of the heat exchanger and is provided with an intake opening 23, which may be directed into the relative wind as shown”. See Col. 1, lines 5-28) and expels the air through an outlet back into the atmosphere (Fig. 1, discharge duct 24 and Col. 3, lines 17-22, “A discharge duct extends from the primary section of the exchanger to a discharge nozzle 25 directed to the ambient atmosphere rearwardly of the direction of flight of the aircraft.”), the ram air circuit comprising a fan to direct the air towards the outlet (Fig. 1, fan 37);
a bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, ducts leading from supply duct 14 to aircraft cabin 13, which includes at least supply duct 14 and discharge duct 17) that receives bleed air from an engine of the aircraft (Col. 2, lines 48-50, “air is bled from the compressor of the jet engine by means of a supply duct 14”) and cools the air prior to the bleed air being delivered to an interior space of the aircraft (Fig. 1, aircraft cabin 13), the bleed flow circuit comprising a turbine (Col. 2, lines 48-53, “air is bled from the compressor of the jet engine by means of a supply duct 4, which leads to…an expansion or cooling engine 6, preferably, though not necessarily, a turbine as indicated.”);
wherein the turbine is operatively connected to the fan (Fig. 1, via shaft 36); and
wherein energy from the bleed air drives the turbine which in turn drives the fan to increase a compression power of the air in the ram air circuit to increase a thrust of the air exiting the ram air circuit (Fig. 1 and Col. 3, lines 48-51, “The expansion turbine 16 is provided with a shaft, 3S which extends into the discharge duct 24. On the end of the shaft a fan 3 is provided which absorbs the energy output of the turbine and serves to induce or aid the flow of coolant air across the primary section of the heat exchanger. The primary coolant air is discharged to the ambient atmosphere through rearwardly directed nozzle 25, where some jet thrust may be recovered.”).
Regarding claim 2, Wood discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 1, further comprising a shaft (Fig. 1, shaft 36) that extends between and operatively connects the turbine (Fig. 1, expansion or cooling engine 6, which is a turbine per Col. 2, lines 48-53, as quoted in claim 1) and the fan (Fig. 1, fan 37).
Regarding claim 3, Wood discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 1, wherein the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37) comprises heat exchangers (Fig. 1, primary section 20 and exchanger section 21 and Col. 2, lines 57-62, “primary section 20 of the heat exchanger 15, where it is initially cooled by air from the ambient atmosphere. From the primary section the air passes into the regenerative heat exchanger section 21”) and the bleed air from the bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, supply duct 14) is moved through the heat exchangers to reduce a temperature of the bleed air (Col. 3, lines 55-59, “air for the pressurization of the cabin is extracted from the jet engine compressor 10 and is conducted by means of duct 14~ to the primary section 20 of the heat exchanger 15, where it is initially cooled by air from the ambient atmosphere”).
Regarding claim 7, Wood discloses an environmental control system pack (Col. 1, lines 3-5, “a system for cooling the ventilating air introduced into the cabin of a pressurized, high speed, high altitude aircraft”) for an aircraft (Col. 1, line 5, aircraft), the environmental control system pack comprising:
a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37; and Col. 3, lines 14-18, “An intake duct 22 leads to the primary section of the heat exchanger and is provided with an intake opening 23, which may be directed into the relative wind as shown,”) comprising:
a duct comprising an inlet (Fig. 1, intake duct 22) that receives air from the atmosphere (Col. 3, lines 14-18, “An intake duct 22 leads to the primary section of the heat exchanger and is provided with an intake opening 23, which may be directed into the relative wind as shown”) and an outlet (Fig. 1, discharge nozzle 25) through which the air is expelled back into the atmosphere (Col. 3, lines 17-22, “A discharge duct extends from the primary section of the exchanger to a discharge nozzle 25 directed to the ambient atmosphere rearwardly of the direction of flight of the aircraft.”);
a fan to direct the air through the duct (Fig. 1, fan 37);
one or more heat exchangers (Fig. 1, primary section 20 and exchanger section 21 and Col. 2, lines 57-62, “primary section 20 of the heat exchanger 15, where it is initially cooled by air from the ambient atmosphere. From the primary section the air passes into the regenerative heat exchanger section 21”);
a bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, ducts leading from supply duct 14 to aircraft cabin 13, which includes at least supply duct 14 and discharge duct 17) comprising ducts that direct bleed air to the one or more heat exchangers and to an interior space of the aircraft (Fig. 1 and Col. 2, lines 48-55, “air is bled from the compressor of the jet engine by means of a supply duct 14, which leads to a heat exchanger, generally indicated at 15, and thence to an expansion or cooling engine 16, preferably, though not necessarily, a turbine as indicated. A discharge duct 17 extends from the expansion turbine to a distribution outlet 18 in the cabin of the aircraft”), the bleed flow circuit comprising a turbine (Col. 2, lines 48-53, “air is bled from the compressor of the jet engine by means of a supply duct 4, which leads to…an expansion or cooling engine 6, preferably, though not necessarily, a turbine as indicated.”);
wherein the bleed air from the one or more heat exchangers drives the turbine (Col. 2, lines 48-53, “air is bled from the compressor of the jet engine by means of a supply duct 14, which leads to a heat exchanger, generally indicated at 15, and thence to an expansion or cooling engine 16, preferably, though not necessarily, a turbine as indicated”); and
wherein the turbine drives the fan to increase a thrust produced by the ram air circuit (Fig. 1 and Col. 3, lines 48-51, “The expansion turbine 16 is provided with a shaft, 3S which extends into the discharge duct 24. On the end of the shaft a fan 3 is provided which absorbs the energy output of the turbine and serves to induce or aid the flow of coolant air across the primary section of the heat exchanger. The primary coolant air is discharged to the ambient atmosphere through rearwardly directed nozzle 25, where some jet thrust may be recovered.”).
Regarding claim 8, Wood discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 7, wherein the fan (Fig. 1, fan 37) is configured to increase pressure of the air in the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37) when the fan is driven by the turbine (Col. 3, lines 48-50, “The expansion turbine 16 is provided with a shaft, 3S which extends into the discharge duct 24. On the end of the shaft a fan 3 is provided which absorbs the energy output of the turbine and serves to induce or aid the flow of coolant air across the primary section of the heat exchanger.”).
Regarding claim 14, Wood discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 7, wherein the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37) comprises the fan (Fig. 1, fan 37) positioned downstream from a first heat exchanger (Fig. 1, primary section 20) and a second heat exchanger (Fig. 1, exchanger section 21).
Regarding claim 15, Wood discloses a method of creating thrust (Col. 3, lines 48-51, “The expansion turbine 16 is provided with a shaft, 3S which extends into the discharge duct 24. On the end of the shaft a fan 3 is provided which absorbs the energy output of the turbine and serves to induce or aid the flow of coolant air across the primary section of the heat exchanger. The primary coolant air is discharged to the ambient atmosphere through rearwardly directed nozzle 25, where some jet thrust may be recovered.”) in an aircraft (Col. 1, line 5, aircraft), the method comprising:
receiving air from an exterior of the aircraft in a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37) with the ram air circuit comprising a fan (Fig. 1, fan 37), and one or more heat exchangers (Fig. 1, primary section 20 and exchanger section 21 and Col. 2, lines 57-62, “primary section 20 of the heat exchanger 15, where it is initially cooled by air from the ambient atmosphere. From the primary section the air passes into the regenerative heat exchanger section 21”);
receiving bleed air from an engine of the aircraft in a bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, ducts leading from supply duct 14 to aircraft cabin 13, which includes at least supply duct 14 and discharge duct 17 and Col. 2, lines 48-50, “air is bled from the compressor of the jet engine by means of a supply duct 14”);
directing the bleed air through the one or more heat exchangers and lowering a temperature of the bleed air (Fig. 1 and Col. 2, lines 55-62, “air for the pressurization of the cabin is extracted from the jet engine compressor 10 and is conducted by means of duct 14 to the primary section 20 of the heat exchanger 15, where it is initially cooled by air from the ambient atmosphere. From the primary section the air passes into the regenerative heat exchanger section 21”);
directing the bleed air that has moved through the one or more heat exchangers to a turbine and powering the turbine (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 48-55, “air is bled from the compressor of the jet engine by means of a supply duct 14, which leads to a heat exchanger, generally indicated at 15, and thence to an expansion or cooling engine 16, preferably, though not necessarily, a turbine as indicated.”; and Col. 3, lines 48-50, “The expansion turbine 16 is provided with a shaft, 3S which extends into the discharge duct 24. On the end of the shaft a fan 3 is provided which absorbs the energy output of the turbine”);
driving the fan in the ram air circuit with the turbine and increasing a pressure of the air moving through the ram air circuit (Col. 3, lines 48-50, “The expansion turbine 16 is provided with a shaft, 3S which extends into the discharge duct 24. On the end of the shaft a fan 3 is provided which absorbs the energy output of the turbine and serves to induce or aid the flow of coolant air across the primary section of the heat exchanger”); and
expelling the air with the increased pressure through an outlet of the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, discharge duct 24) and creating thrust for the aircraft (Col. 3, lines 48-51, as quoted above).
Regarding claim 16, Wood discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising directing the bleed air (Fig. 1, via supply duct 14) through both a first heat exchanger (Fig. 1, primary section 20 and Col. 2, lines 57-62, “primary section 20 of the heat exchanger 15, where it is initially cooled by air from the ambient atmosphere”) and a second heat exchanger (Fig. 1, exchanger section 21 and Col. 2, lines 57-62, “From the primary section the air passes into the regenerative heat exchanger section 21, and thence to the turbine 16, where it is further cooled”) prior to directing the bleed air to the turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
NOTE: Citations are to Beers unless otherwise noted
Claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beers et al. (US20160272329A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/7/25, hereafter Beers) in view of Wood et al. (US2509899A, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/22/25, hereafter Wood).
Regarding claim 1, Beers discloses an environmental control system pack (Par. 0015, ECS pack) for an aircraft (Par. 0015, aircraft), the environmental control system pack comprising:
a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through, heat exchangers 115, 126 and fan 128 and Par. 0016, “The ambient air 113 flowing through or across the heat absorption sides of heat exchangers 115 and 126 can be a ram air flow”) that receives air from an atmosphere on an exterior of the aircraft (Par. 0016, “The ambient air 113 flowing through or across the heat absorption sides of heat exchangers 115 and 126 can be a ram air flow from a forward-facing surface of the aircraft”) and expels the air through an outlet (Fig. 1, outlet of the duct ambient air 113 travels through. To elaborate, end of the duct where fan 128 is located), the ram air circuit comprising a fan to direct the air towards the outlet (Fig. 1, fan 128);
a bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, conduits 116, unnamed conduit from 115 to 120, conduits 124, 132, 138, 142, 143, 145 and the structures that the conduits route between) that receives bleed air from an engine of the aircraft (Fig. 1, 112 air and Par. 0015, “air 112 from a compressed air source (not shown) such as a turbine engine bleed”) and cools the air prior to the bleed air being delivered to an interior space of the aircraft (Fig. 1 and Par. 0016, “The reheated air from conduit 142 exiting from the heat absorption side of heat exchanger 130 flows through conduit 143 to turbine 144, where it is expanded and cooled, and then discharged from the system 100 through conduit 145 to mix manifold 150 where it is mixed with cabin air 152 before being discharged to the aircraft cabin”), the bleed flow circuit comprising a turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 144);
wherein the turbine is operatively connected to the fan (Fig. 1, via power transfer path/shaft 147); and
wherein energy from the bleed air drives the turbine which in turn drives the fan to increase a compression power of the air in the ram air circuit to increase a thrust of the air exiting the ram air circuit (Fig. 1 and Par. 0016, “In conditions under which insufficient airflow is generated by the forward motion of the aircraft for operation of the heat exchangers 115, 126, the air flow can be assisted by operation of fan 128…The environment air conditioning system 100 also includes a power transfer path 147 such as a rotating shaft that transfers power to the compressor 120 and fan 128 from work extracted by turbines 140 and 144”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the fan induces the flow ejected by the ram air outlet, the thrust being thereby higher as compared to if the fan wasn’t working).
NOTE: It appears Beers implicitly discloses the outlet of the ram air circuit expels air back into the atmosphere because Beers does not disclose any structures downstream of the ram air outlet.
However, Beers does not explicitly disclose a ram air circuit that receives air from an atmosphere on an exterior of the aircraft and expels the air through an outlet back into the atmosphere.
Wood discloses an air conditioning system (Col. 2, line 15) similar to the present invention and Wood further discloses it is known to have a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37) that receives air from an atmosphere on an exterior of the aircraft (Col. 3, lines 14-18, “An intake duct 22 leads to the primary section of the heat exchanger and is provided with an intake opening 23, which may be directed into the relative wind as shown”. See Col. 1, lines 5-28) and expels the air through an outlet (Fig. 1, discharge duct 24) back into the atmosphere (Col. 3, lines 17-22, “A discharge duct extends from the primary section of the exchanger to a discharge nozzle 25 directed to the ambient atmosphere rearwardly of the direction of flight of the aircraft.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Beers with the teachings of Wood in order to have a ram air circuit that receives air from an atmosphere on an exterior of the aircraft and expels the air through an outlet back into the atmosphere and thereby recover some thrust (As suggested by Col. 3, lines 47-53 of Wood: “The primary coolant air is discharged to the ambient atmosphere through rearwardly directed nozzle 25, where some jet thrust may be recovered. If properly proportioned the primary coolant circuit can be operated with little or no net pressure drop across it.”). This beneficially results in more efficient system that minimizes drag upon the aircraft (As suggested by Col. 2, lines 14-18, “It is another object of the invention to provide an air conditioning System for very high speed aircraft which is highly efficient in performing its function and which entails a minimum drag upon the aircraft wherein it is installed”).
Regarding claim 2, Beers discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 1, further comprising a shaft (Fig. 1, power transfer path 147 and Par. 0016, “a power transfer path 147 such as a rotating shaft”) that extends between and operatively connects the turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 144) and the fan (Fig. 1, fan 128).
Regarding claim 3, Beers discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 1, wherein the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through) comprises heat exchangers (Fig. 1, heat exchangers 115, 216) and the bleed air from the bleed flow circuit is moved through the heat exchangers to reduce a temperature of the bleed air (Fig. 1 and Par. 0015, in particular, ”the compressed air is directed to a heat exchanger 115 (also referred to in the art as a primary heat exchanger) where it rejects heat to ambient air flowing through or across a heat absorption side of heat exchanger 115… heat exchanger 126 (also referred to in the art as a secondary heat exchanger) where it rejects heat to ambient air flowing through or across a heat absorption side of heat exchanger 126”).
Regarding claim 6, Beers discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 1, wherein the turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 144) is configured to (capable of) drive the fan (Fig. 1, fan 128) just when the aircraft is in flight (Par. 0016, “In conditions under which insufficient airflow is generated by the forward motion of the aircraft for operation of the heat exchangers 115, 126, the air flow can be assisted by operation of fan 128. Check/bypass valve 129 allows for bypass of the fan 128 when ram air flow is sufficient for the needs of the heat exchangers 115 and 126”. Examiner notes “configured to” is a recitation of functional language so the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the turbine is at least capable of driving fan 128 only when the aircraft is in flight, i.e., when ram air flow is sufficient for the needs of heat exchangers 115 and 126).
Regarding claim 7, Beers discloses an environmental control system pack (Par. 0015, ECS pack) for an aircraft (Par. 0015, aircraft), the environmental control system pack comprising:
a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through, heat exchangers 115, 126 and fan 128 and Par. 0016, “The ambient air 113 flowing through or across the heat absorption sides of heat exchangers 115 and 126 can be a ram air flow”) comprising:
a duct (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through) comprising an inlet (Fig. 1, end of duct with arrow labeled 113) that receives air from the atmosphere (Par. 0016, “The ambient air 113 flowing through or across the heat absorption sides of heat exchangers 115 and 126 can be a ram air flow from a forward-facing surface of the aircraft”) and an outlet through which the air is expelled (Fig. 1, end of duct with fan 128);
a fan to direct the air through the duct (Fig. 1, fan 128);
one or more heat exchangers (Fig. 1, heat exchangers 115, 126 and Par. 0016, “The ambient air 113 flowing through or across the heat absorption sides of heat exchangers 115 and 126 can be a ram air flow”);
a bleed flow circuit comprising ducts (Fig. 1, conduits 116, unnamed conduit from 115 to 120, conduits 124, 132, 138, 142, 143, 145 and the structures that the conduits route between) that direct bleed air to the one or more heat exchangers and to an interior space of the aircraft (Fig. 1 and Par. 0016, “The reheated air from conduit 142 exiting from the heat absorption side of heat exchanger 130 flows through conduit 143 to turbine 144, where it is expanded and cooled, and then discharged from the system 100 through conduit 145 to mix manifold 150 where it is mixed with cabin air 152 before being discharged to the aircraft cabin”), the bleed flow circuit comprising a turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 144);
wherein the bleed air from the one or more heat exchangers drives the turbine (Fig. 1 and Par. 0016, “reheated air from conduit 142 exiting from the heat absorption side of heat exchanger 130 flows through conduit 143 to turbine 144…The environment air conditioning system 100 also includes a power transfer path 147 such as a rotating shaft that transfers power to the compressor 120 and fan 128 from work extracted by turbines 140 and 144”); and
wherein the turbine drives the fan to increase a thrust produced by the ram air circuit (Fig. 1 and Par. 0016, “In conditions under which insufficient airflow is generated by the forward motion of the aircraft for operation of the heat exchangers 115, 126, the air flow can be assisted by operation of fan 128…The environment air conditioning system 100 also includes a power transfer path 147 such as a rotating shaft that transfers power to the compressor 120 and fan 128 from work extracted by turbines 140 and 144”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the fan induces the flow ejected by the ram air outlet, the thrust being thereby higher as compared to if the fan wasn’t working).
NOTE: It appears Beers implicitly discloses the outlet of the ram air circuit expels air back into the atmosphere because Beers does not disclose any structures downstream of the ram air outlet.
However, Beers does not explicitly disclose a duct that receives air from the atmosphere and an outlet through which the air is expelled back into the atmosphere.
Wood discloses an air conditioning system (Col. 2, line 15) similar to the present invention and Wood further discloses it is known to have a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37) that receives air from an atmosphere on an exterior of the aircraft (Col. 3, lines 14-18, “An intake duct 22 leads to the primary section of the heat exchanger and is provided with an intake opening 23, which may be directed into the relative wind as shown”. See Col. 1, lines 5-28) and expels the air through an outlet (Fig. 1, discharge duct 24) back into the atmosphere (Col. 3, lines 17-22, “A discharge duct extends from the primary section of the exchanger to a discharge nozzle 25 directed to the ambient atmosphere rearwardly of the direction of flight of the aircraft.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Beers with the teachings of Wood in order to have a duct that receives air from the atmosphere and an outlet through which the air is expelled back into the atmosphere and thereby recover some thrust (As suggested by Col. 3, lines 47-53 of Wood: “The primary coolant air is discharged to the ambient atmosphere through rearwardly directed nozzle 25, where some jet thrust may be recovered. If properly proportioned the primary coolant circuit can be operated with little or no net pressure drop across it.”). This beneficially results in more efficient system that minimizes drag upon the aircraft (As suggested by Col. 2, lines 14-18, “It is another object of the invention to provide an air conditioning System for very high speed aircraft which is highly efficient in performing its function and which entails a minimum drag upon the aircraft wherein it is installed”).
Regarding claim 8, Beers discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 7, wherein the fan (Fig. 1, fan 128) is configured to increase pressure of the air in the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through, heat exchangers 115, 126 and fan 128) when the fan is driven by the turbine (Par. 0016, “In conditions under which insufficient airflow is generated by the forward motion of the aircraft for operation of the heat exchangers 115, 126, the air flow can be assisted by operation of fan 128…transfers power to the compressor 120 and fan 128 from work extracted by turbines 140 and 144” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that when the fan is driven by the turbine, the fan increases the pressure of the air in the ram air circuit, as least as compared to the pressure of the air in the ram air circuit when the fan isn’t operating).
Regarding claim 9, Beers discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 7, wherein the bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, conduits 116, unnamed conduit from 115 to 120, conduits 124, 132, 138, 142, 143, 145 and the structures that the conduits route between) further comprises a compressor (Fig. 1, compressor 120), wherein the one or more heat exchangers comprises a first heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 115) positioned upstream from the compressor and a second heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 126) positioned downstream from the compressor and upstream from the turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 144).
Regarding claim 10, Beers discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 7, further comprising a bypass valve (Fig. 1, bypass valve 129) positioned along the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through, heat exchangers 115, 126 and fan 128), the bypass valve configured to (capable of) direct the air away from the fan (Fig. 1, fan 128) when the aircraft is in flight (Par. 0016, “Check/bypass valve 129 allows for bypass of the fan 128 when ram air flow is sufficient for the needs of the heat exchangers 115 and 126”. Examiner notes “configured to” is a recitation of functional language so the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the bypass valve is at least capable of directing the air away from the fan when the aircraft is in flight, i.e., when ram air flow is sufficient for the needs of heat exchangers 115 and 126).
Regarding claim 11, Beers discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 7, further comprising a bypass valve (Fig. 1, valve 141) positioned along the bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, conduits 116, unnamed conduit from 115 to 120, conduits 124, 132, 138, 142, 143, 145 and the structures that the conduits route between), the bypass valve configured to direct the bleed air from a first heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 126) to a second heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 130) and bypass a section of the bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, bypass turbine 140).
Regarding claim 14, Beers discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 7, wherein the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through, heat exchangers 115, 126 and fan 128) comprises the fan (Fig. 1, fan 128) positioned downstream from a first heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 115) and a second heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 126).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beers et al. (US20160272329A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/7/25, hereafter Beers) in view of Wood et al. (US2509899A, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/22/25, hereafter Wood) and further in view of Army et al. (EP 3219618 A1, hereafter Army).
Regarding claim 4, Beers, as modified above, discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 3.
However, Beers, as modified above, does not disclose the fan is positioned along the ram air circuit upstream from the heat exchangers.
Army discloses an environmental control system (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Army further discloses it is known for a fan to be positioned along a ram air circuit upstream from the heat exchangers (Par. 0049, “with respect to the ram module, the position of the fans can be changed such that they are upstream of the heat exchangers, rather than downstream as shown in the illustrations”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have suitably modified the fan of Beers, as modified above, to be upstream from the heat exchangers. Army teaches a fan positioned along a ram air circuit upstream from heat exchangers. Therefore, because the two fans were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the location of the fan of Beers, as modified above, with the location of the fan of Army. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predicable result, namely increasing air flow in a ram air circuit, renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the invention. See MPEP 2143 B. Furthermore, positioning the fan upstream of the heat exchangers will beneficially distribute airflow more evenly across the heat exchangers, improving heat transfer uniformity for increased efficiency and/or reliability.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beers et al. (US20160272329A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/7/25, hereafter Beers) in view of Wood et al. (US2509899A, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/22/25, hereafter Wood) and further in view of (KR 20130142806 A, hereafter Kutsevol).
Reference is made to the attached Korean to English Translation of Kustevol ‘806
Regarding claim 5, Beers, as modified above, discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 1, wherein the turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 144) regulates the bleed air received from the engine (Par. 0015, “compressed air 112 from a compressed air source (not shown) such as a turbine engine bleed”) through the bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, conduits 116, unnamed conduit from 115 to 120, conduits 124, 132, 138, 142, 143, 145 and the structures that the conduits connect between).
However, Beers, as modified above, does not disclose the turbine comprises variable nozzle guide vanes to regulate the bleed air through the bleed flow circuit and to enable a predetermined flow rate across a range of pressures of the bleed air received from the engine.
Kutsevol discloses a system in which compressed air is exchanged with the atmosphere to lower the temperature of compressed air (Pg. 4, Par. 3) similar to the present invention and Kutsevol further discloses it is known for a turbine (Pg. 2, 4th Par from bottom, turbine) to comprise variable nozzle guide vanes (Pg. 2, 4th Par from bottom, variable nozzle vane assembly) to regulate incoming air and to enable a predetermined flow rate across a range of pressures of the incoming air (Pg. 2, 4th Par from bottom, “variable nozzle vane assembly adjusts the flow rate, temperature and pressure of the air discharged from the turbine by adjusting the flow rate and angle of the air flowing from the turbine, and is located just before the compressed air enters the turbine”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand given the nozzle van assembly controls the flow rate, temperature and pressure of the air discharged from the turbine, it must necessarily regulate the incoming air and enable a predetermined flow rate across a range of pressures of the incoming air).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Beers, as modified above, with the variable nozzle assembly, primary temperature control valve, and third flow control valve as taught by Kutsevol in order to have the turbine comprises variable nozzle guide vanes to regulate the bleed air through the bleed flow circuit and to enable a predetermined flow rate across a range of pressures of the bleed air received from the engine and thereby reduce loss (As suggested by Pg. 2, 1st Par of Kutsevol: “turbine unit having an optimal shape for a system configuration capable of reducing a differential pressure loss”) for increased efficiency and/or increase the effectiveness of the turbine across a wider variety of bleed air conditions and/or better protect the turbine across a wider variety of bleed air conditions.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beers et al. (US20160272329A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/7/25, hereafter Beers) in view of Wood et al. (US2509899A, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/22/25, hereafter Wood) and further in view of Brunskill (US 5145124 A, hereafter Brunskill).
Regarding claim 13, Beers, as modified above, discloses the environmental control system pack of claim 7.
However, Beers, as modified above, does not disclose a control unit configured to control one or more of a turbine nozzle, a compressor bypass valve, an inlet and an outlet of the ram air circuit, a ram flow rate, and a flow rate of the bleed air to minimize fuel burn of the aircraft.
Brunskill discloses an environmental control system (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Brunskill further discloses a control unit (Col. 4, lines 50-54, ECS controller 92) configured to control a flow rate of a bleed air (Col. 4, lines 50-54, “For reduced passenger loading, the ECS controller 92 may then signal the air supply controllers 18 to reduce the flow of bleed air required from the engines 14”) to minimize fuel burn of the aircraft (Col. 1, lines 52-57, “By inputting the number of passengers on board, an electronic flow control valve can be adjusted to provide only the fresh air required for those passengers. This has the benefit of saving fuel while still providing a comfortable cabin environment.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Beers, as modified above, with the control unit as taught by Brunskill in order to have a control unit configured to control a flow rate of the bleed air to minimize fuel burn of the aircraft and thereby save fuel while still providing a comfortable cabin environment (As suggested by Col. 1, lines 52-57 of Brunskill: “By inputting the number of passengers on board, an electronic flow control valve can be adjusted to provide only the fresh air required for those passengers. This has the benefit of saving fuel while still providing a comfortable cabin environment.”). It’s noted that saving fuel beneficially results in cost savings as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
NOTE: Citations are to Beers unless otherwise noted
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Beers et al. (US20160272329A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/7/25, hereafter Beers), or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beers et al. (US20160272329A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/7/25, hereafter Beers) in view of Wood et al. (US2509899A, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/22/25, hereafter Wood).
Regarding claim 15, Beers discloses a method of creating thrust (Par. 0016, “In conditions under which insufficient airflow is generated by the forward motion of the aircraft for operation of the heat exchangers 115, 126, the air flow can be assisted by operation of fan 128…The environment air conditioning system 100 also includes a power transfer path 147 such as a rotating shaft that transfers power to the compressor 120 and fan 128 from work extracted by turbines 140 and 144”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the fan induces the flow ejected by the ram air outlet, the thrust being thereby higher as compared to if the fan wasn’t working) in an aircraft (Par. 0015, aircraft), the method comprising:
receiving air from an exterior of the aircraft in a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through, heat exchangers 115, 126 and fan 128 and Par. 0016, “The ambient air 113 flowing through or across the heat absorption sides of heat exchangers 115 and 126 can be a ram air flow from a forward-facing surface of the aircraft”) with the ram air circuit comprising a fan (Fig. 1, fan 128), and one or more heat exchangers (Fig. 1, heat exchangers 115, 126 and Par. 0016, “The ambient air 113 flowing through or across the heat absorption sides of heat exchangers 115 and 126 can be a ram air flow”);
receiving bleed air from an engine of the aircraft in a bleed flow circuit (Fig. 1, conduits 116, unnamed conduit from 115 to 120, conduits 124, 132, 138, 142, 143, 145 and the structures that the conduits route between and Par. 0015, “compressed air 112 from a compressed air source (not shown) such as a turbine engine bleed”);
directing the bleed air through the one or more heat exchangers and lowering a temperature of the bleed air (Fig. 1 and Par. 0015, “compressed air is directed to a heat exchanger 115 (also referred to in the art as a primary heat exchanger) where it rejects heat to ambient air flowing through or across a heat absorption side of heat exchanger 115. Cooled compressed air is discharged from heat exchanger 115 to compressor 120…further compressed air is discharged from compressor 120 through conduit 124 to heat exchanger 126 (also referred to in the art as a secondary heat exchanger) where it rejects heat to ambient air flowing through or across a heat absorption side of heat exchanger 126”),
directing the bleed air that has moved through the one or more heat exchangers (Fig. 1, heat exchangers 115, 126, 130) to a turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 144) and powering the turbine (Fig. 1, and Par. 0016, “The dehumidified air flows through a heat absorption side of heat exchanger 130 where it is re-heated before being delivered through conduit 138 to turbine 140, where work is extracted as the air is expanded and cooled by turbine 140”);
driving the fan in the ram air circuit with the turbine and increasing a pressure of the air moving through the ram air circuit (Par. 0016, “In conditions under which insufficient airflow is generated by the forward motion of the aircraft for operation of the heat exchangers 115, 126, the air flow can be assisted by operation of fan 128…transfers power to the compressor 120 and fan 128 from work extracted by turbines 140 and 144”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that when the fan is driven by the turbine, the fan increases the pressure of the air in the ram air circuit, as least as compared to the pressure of the air in the ram air circuit when the fan isn’t operating); and
expelling the air with the increased pressure through an outlet of the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, outlet of the duct ambient air 113 travels through. To elaborate, end of the duct where fan 128 is located) and creating thrust for the aircraft (Fig. 1 and Par. 0016, “In conditions under which insufficient airflow is generated by the forward motion of the aircraft for operation of the heat exchangers 115, 126, the air flow can be assisted by operation of fan 128…The environment air conditioning system 100 also includes a power transfer path 147 such as a rotating shaft that transfers power to the compressor 120 and fan 128 from work extracted by turbines 140 and 144”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the fan induces the flow ejected by the ram air outlet, the thrust being thereby higher as compared to if the fan wasn’t working).
With regards to the limitations “method of creating thrust” and “creating thrust for the aircraft”, Examiner notes that Beers doesn’t explicitly disclose thrust in terms of its interpretation of a forward thrust of the aircraft, per se.
However, Beers discloses thrust in terms of its interpretation of expelled with increased pressure because when the fan 128 is driven by the turbines 140, 144, the pressure of the air being expelled through the outlet of the ram air circuit is increased. This creates thrust/air expelled with increased pressure that is either directed overboard or used in downstream systems of the aircraft.
To the extent that the Applicant disagrees and finds the claimed method and prior art method different, than the following teaching reference is provided.
Wood discloses an air conditioning system (Col. 2, line 15) similar to the present invention and Wood further discloses it is known to have a ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct comprising intake duct 22 and discharge duct 24, primary section 20, exchanger section 21, and fan 37) that receives air from an atmosphere on an exterior of the aircraft (Col. 3, lines 14-18, “An intake duct 22 leads to the primary section of the heat exchanger and is provided with an intake opening 23, which may be directed into the relative wind as shown”. See Col. 1, lines 5-28) and expels the air through an outlet (Fig. 1, discharge duct 24) back into the atmosphere (Col. 3, lines 17-22, “A discharge duct extends from the primary section of the exchanger to a discharge nozzle 25 directed to the ambient atmosphere rearwardly of the direction of flight of the aircraft.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Beers with the teachings of Wood in order to have a ram air circuit that receives air from an atmosphere on an exterior of the aircraft and expels the air through an outlet back into the atmosphere and thereby recover some thrust (As suggested by Col. 3, lines 47-53 of Wood: “The primary coolant air is discharged to the ambient atmosphere through rearwardly directed nozzle 25, where some jet thrust may be recovered. If properly proportioned the primary coolant circuit can be operated with little or no net pressure drop across it.”). This beneficially results in more efficient system that minimizes drag upon the aircraft (As suggested by Col. 2, lines 14-18, “It is another object of the invention to provide an air conditioning System for very high speed aircraft which is highly efficient in performing its function and which entails a minimum drag upon the aircraft wherein it is installed”).
Regarding claim 16, Beers discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising directing the bleed air (Fig. 1, compressed air 112 and Par. 0015, “compressed air 112 from a compressed air source (not shown) such as a turbine engine bleed”) through both a first heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 115) and a second heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 126) prior to directing the bleed air to the turbine (Fig. 1, turbine 144).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wood et al. (US2509899A, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/22/25, hereafter Wood) in view of Sieme et al. (US20140345305A1, hereafter Sieme)
Regarding claim 17, Wood discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising a nozzle (Fig. 1, discharge nozzle 25) at an outlet of the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, discharge duct 24) and creating the thrust for the aircraft (Col. 3, lines 47-51, “primary coolant air is discharged to the ambient atmosphere through rearwardly directed nozzle 25, where some jet thrust may be recovered.”).
However, Wood does not disclose adjusting a nozzle at an outlet of the ram air circuit and creating the thrust for the aircraft.
Sieme discloses an aircraft cooling system (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Scherer further discloses adjusting a nozzle at an outlet of a ram air circuit (Par. 0055, “a ram air duct outlet flap and/or an outlet nozzle 48 is provided. The operation of the ram air duct outlet flap 48 or the operation of an actuator 50 for actuating the ram air duct outlet flap 48 is controlled by the control unit 36, as is the operation of the ram air duct inlet flap 22 or the actuator 24 and the operation of the conveying device 26, in such a manner that sufficient air flows through the ram air duct 16 to ensure a proper cooling of the heat exchanger 14 arranged in the ram air duct 16”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wood with the adjustable nozzle as taught by Scherer for adjusting a nozzle at an outlet of the ram air circuit and thereby ensure proper cooling of the heat exchangers (As suggested by Par. 0055 of Sieme: “a ram air duct outlet flap and/or an outlet nozzle 48 is provided. The operation of the ram air duct outlet flap 48 or the operation of an actuator 50 for actuating the ram air duct outlet flap 48 is controlled by the control unit 36, as is the operation of the ram air duct inlet flap 22 or the actuator 24 and the operation of the conveying device 26, in such a manner that sufficient air flows through the ram air duct 16 to ensure a proper cooling of the heat exchanger 14 arranged in the ram air duct 16”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Beers et al. (US20160272329A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/7/25, hereafter Beers), or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Beers et al. (US20160272329A1, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/7/25, hereafter Beers) in view of Wood et al. (US2509899A, as cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/22/25, hereafter Wood), and further in view of Army et al. (EP 3219618 A1, hereafter Army.
Regarding claim 19, Beers discloses the method of claim 15, comprising directing the air through the fan (Fig. 1, fan 128) and into a first heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 115) and a second heat exchanger (Fig. 1, heat exchanger 126) along the ram air circuit (Fig. 1, duct ambient air 113 travels through, heat exchangers 115, 126 and fan 128).
However, Beers does not disclose directing the air through the fan and into a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger with the fan positioned upstream from the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger along the ram air circuit.
Army discloses an environmental control system (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Army further discloses it is known for a fan to be positioned upstream from a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger along a ram air circuit (Par. 0049, “with respect to the ram module, the position of the fans can be changed such that they are upstream of the heat exchangers, rather than downstream as shown in the illustrations”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have suitably modified the fan of Beers to be upstream from the heat exchangers. Army teaches a fan positioned along a ram air circuit upstream from heat exchangers. Therefore, because the two fans were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the location of the fan of Beers, with the location of the fan of Army. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predicable result, namely increasing air flow in a ram air circuit, renders the claim obvious before the effective filing date of the invention. See MPEP 2143 B. Furthermore, positioning the fan upstream of the heat exchangers will beneficially distribute airflow more evenly across the heat exchangers, improving heat transfer uniformity for increased efficiency and/or reliability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Richardson et al. (EP 3663203 B1) discloses an air conditioning pack with a water removal unit.
Bammann et al. (DE 102015217804 A1) discloses an air conditioning system with a control unit for controlling the air mass flow through the ram air duct.
/E.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762