Prior Art of Record
The applicant's attention is directed to additional pertinent prior art cited in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, which, however, may not be currently applied as a basis for the following rejections. While these references were considered during the examination of this application and are deemed relevant to the claimed subject matter, they are not presently being applied as a basis for rejection in this Office action. The pertinence of these documents, however, may be revisited, and they may be applied in subsequent Office actions, particularly in light of any amendments or further clarification of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rantala (US 2016/0338169 A1) in view of Chua et al. (US 2007/0108463 A1).
Claim 1. Rantala teaches a lighting apparatus (Rantala ¶95 &, Fig. 5), comprising:
a substrate 100/150 (Rantala ¶95 &, Fig. 3/5);
a first light emitter 154 disposed on the substrate and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 300 nm to about 470 nm (Rantala ¶95 &, Fig. 5 - LED semiconductor chip 154 emitting at 438 nm);
a second light emitter disposed on the substrate and configured to emit ultraviolet light of UVB (Rantala ¶18 & 95 &, Fig. 3&5 - teaches an emission spectrum between 315-280 nm as UVB & LED chip 161 in third emission area 159 disposed on substrate 150); teaching an emission spectrum between 315-280 nm as UVB); and
a circuit configured to supply power to the first light emitter and the second light emitter, (Rantala, ¶124], 125, Fig. 5& 6 (four-wire control interface 152, power supply 201, and switch-circuitry 202);
wherein the first light emitter includes a light emitting diode and a wavelength converter configured to convert a wavelength of light emitted from the light emitting diode (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 -LED semiconductor chip 154 and wavelength conversion material layer 155);
wherein the light emitted from the first light emitter comprises a color temperature, and (Rantala, , Fig. 9 - light emitted from converted LED chip 154 providing a defined spectral emission band);
wherein the second light emitter is spaced apart from the wavelength converter (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - third emission area 159 containing chip 161 physically spaced apart on substrate 150 from wavelength conversion layer 155).
Rantala may be silent upon explicitly teaching that the secondary UV LED chip in emission area 159 is configured to emit in the narrow 280 nm–315 nm (UVB) spectral band.
Chua is applied to teach solid-state LED dies configured to emit within the specific 280 nm–315 nm (UVB) wavelength range (¶18]) were a known and commonly used LED chip for producing UV wavelengths in the desired spectrum.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to modify the multi-channel LED array of Rantala by selecting a secondary LED chip that emits in the UVB wavelength range (280 nm–315 nm) as taught by Chua. Selecting specific semiconductor material bandgaps to yield targeted LED emission wavelengths within known UV and visible spectral bands represents routine design optimization (MPEP § 2144.05) to customize physical output spectra across a shared substrate structure.
Claim 2. Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light emitting diode has a peak wavelength in a range of a blue color (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - LED chip 154 having a peak emission at 438 nm, within the blue spectrum).
Claim 3. Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the wavelength converter includes a plurality of converters (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - wavelength conversion material layer 155 and wavelength conversion material layer 108); and
the first light comprises a first peak wavelength and a second peak wavelength that is different from the first peak wavelength (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - first peak wavelength at 438 nm from LED chip 154 and second peak wavelength at 630 nm from conversion layer 155).
Claim 4 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first peak wavelength is generated by the light emitting diode, and the second peak wavelength is generated by one of the plurality of converters (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - 438 nm peak generated by LED chip 154, and 630 nm peak generated by conversion layer 155).
Claim 5 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a third light emitter disposed on the substrate and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a range of about 605 nm to about 935 nm (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - LED chip 157 and layer 108 yielding a peak emission near 660 nm, within the range of 605 nm to 935 nm).
Claim 6 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of light sources spaced apart from one another (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - isolated emission areas 151, 156, and 159 physically spaced apart on substrate 150);
wherein each light source includes the light emitting diode and the wavelength converter covering the light emitting diode (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - emission area 151 with chip 154 covered by converter layer 155, and emission area 156 with chip 157 covered by converter layer 108).
Claim 7 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 6, wherein the light sources are configured to emit white light having a same or different color temperatures (Rantala Fig. 5, 9 & ¶95 - isolated emission areas independently driven to yield specific combined spectral output).
Claim 8 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 5, further comprising a fourth light emitter configured to emit light that causes sterilization of pathogenic microorganisms (Chua ¶18 -teaching short-wavelength UV light emission); Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - LED chip 160 or 161 in third emission area 159).
wherein the fourth light emitter is spaced apart from the wavelength converter (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - third emission area 159 physically spaced apart from conversion layers 155 and 108).
Rantala is silent upon explicitly specifying that the fourth light emitter radiates in a short-wavelength UV band.
Chua is applied to teach solid-state LED dies configured to emit within the specific 280 nm–315 nm (UVB) wavelength range (¶18]) were a known and commonly used LED chip for producing UV wavelengths in the desired spectrum as addressed with regarding claim 1.
The statement "configured to emit light that causes sterilization of pathogenic microorganisms" is an intended use statement that does not modify the physical structure of the LED die. The physical structure is defined solely by an unmasked solid-state LED die spaced apart from the wavelength converter. It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to include a short-wavelength UV LED die as taught by Chua within the multi-emitter array of Rantala as a matter of routine optimization of multi-channel LED emission profiles.
Claim 9 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 8, wherein the fourth light emitter has a peak wavelength in a range of about 400 nm to about 420nm (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - LED chip 160 or 161 emitting in the 400 nm to 420 nm spectrum).
Claim 10 Rantala in view of Chua teaches a lighting apparatus, comprising:
a substrate (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - substrate/frame structure 150);
a first light emitter disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a first light having a first peak wavelength in a range of about 300 nm to about 470 nm (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - LED chip 154 emitting at 438 nm);
a second light emitter disposed on the substrate and configured to emit ultraviolet light of UVB (Chua ¶18 - teaching light between 315-280 nm as UVB) and US 2016/0338169 A1, paragraph [0095], Fig. 5 (LED chip 161 in third emission area 159);
a third light emitter disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a second light having a second peak wavelength that is different from the first peak wavelength (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - LED chip 157 emitting at 425 nm); and
a circuit configured to supply power to the first light emitter and the second light emitter (Rantala Fig. 5-6 & ¶95, 124-125 - four-wire control interface 152, power supply 201, and switch-circuitry 202);
wherein the second peak wavelength is in a color range that is different from a color range of the first peak wavelength (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - converted layer 108 excited by chip 157 emitting peak at 660 nm vs chip 154/155 peak at 630 nm).
wherein the first light emitter includes a light emitting diode and a wavelength converter configured to convert a wavelength of light emitted from the light emitting diode (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - LED chip 154 and conversion layer 155), and
wherein the second light emitter is spaced apart from the wavelength converter (Rantala Fig. 5 & ¶95 - third emission area 159 spaced apart from layer 155).
Primary Reference Missing Element: US 2016/0338169 A1 fails to explicitly disclose that the second light emitter is configured to emit specifically in the 280 nm–315 nm (UVB) range.
Chua is applied to teach solid-state LED dies configured to emit within the specific 280 nm–315 nm (UVB) wavelength range (¶18]) were a known and commonly used LED chip for producing UV wavelengths in the desired spectrum as addressed with regarding claim 1.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Rantala by selecting a secondary LED chip that emits in the UVB wavelength range (280 nm–315 nm) as taught by Chua. Selecting specific semiconductor materials to output defined wavelengths across an array represents routine optimization of known LED structural components.
Claim 11 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 10, wherein:
the wavelength converter includes a plurality of converters (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - conversion layers 155 and 108); and
the first light comprises a first peak wavelength and a second peak wavelength that is different from the first peak wavelength (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - 438 nm primary LED peak and 630 nm converted phosphor peak).
Claim 12 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first peak wavelength is generated by the light emitting diode, and the second peak wavelength is generated by one of the plurality of converters. (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - 438 nm peak generated by LED chip 154, 630 nm peak generated by converter layer 155).
Claim 13 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of light sources spaced apart from one another (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - isolated emission areas 151, 156, and 159 spaced apart on substrate 150).
wherein each light source includes the light emitting diode and the wavelength converter covering the light emitting diode (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - emission areas 151 and 156 with LED chips covered by conversion layers 155 and 108).
Claim 14 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 13, wherein the light sources are configured to emit white light having a same or different color temperatures (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - independent control of multi-channel light sources to modify composite color output).
Claim 15 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a fourth light emitter configured to emit light that causes sterilization of pathogenic microorganisms, (Chua ¶18 - teaching short-wavelength UV light emission & Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - (LED chip 160 or 161 in emission area 159);
wherein the fourth light emitter is spaced apart from the wavelength converter (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - area 159 spaced apart from conversion layers 155 and 108).
Rantala may be silent upon specifying that the auxiliary UV light emitter radiates in a short-wavelength UV band.
Chua is applied to teach solid-state LED dies configured to emit within the specific 280 nm–315 nm (UVB) wavelength range (¶18]) were a known and commonly used LED chip for producing UV wavelengths in the desired spectrum as addressed with regarding claim 1.
The recitation "configured to emit light that causes sterilization of pathogenic microorganisms" is an intended use statement that imparts no physical structure to the claimed LED apparatus. The physical apparatus requires only a discrete UV LED die spaced apart from a wavelength converter. It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to include a short-wavelength UV LED die as taught by Chua in the package of Rantala as an obvious selection of known optical components.
Claim 16 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 15, wherein the fourth light emitter has a peak wavelength in a range of about 400 nm to about 420nm (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - LED chip 160 or 161 emitting in the 400 nm to 420 nm spectrum).
Claim 17 A lighting apparatus, comprising:
a substrate (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - substrate 150);
a first light emitter disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a first light having a first peak wavelength in a range of about 300 nm to about 470 nm (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - LED chip 154 emitting at 438 nm);
a second light emitter disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a second light having a second peak wavelength in a range of ultraviolet light of UVB (Chua¶18 - teaching light between 315-280 nm as UVB) & (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - chip 161 in third emission area 159);
a third light emitter disposed on the substrate and configured to emit a third light having a third peak wavelength in a range of about 605 nm to about 935nm (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - LED chip 157 and conversion layer 108 emitting peak at 660 nm); and
a circuit configured to supply power to the first, the second, and the third light emitters, (Rantala Fig. 5, 6 & 9 & ¶95, 124-125 - four-wire control interface 152, power supply 201, and switch-circuitry 202);
wherein the second peak wavelength is in a color range that is different from a color range of the first peak wavelength, and (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - UVB wavelength vs blue/converted wavelength);
wherein the second light emitter is spaced apart from the wavelength converter (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - third emission area 159 spaced apart from conversion layer 155).
Rantala is silent upon explicitly disclosing that the second light emitter is configured to emit in the 280 nm–315 nm (UVB) range.
Chua is applied to teach solid-state LED dies configured to emit within the specific 280 nm–315 nm (UVB) wavelength range (¶18]) were a known and commonly used LED chip for producing UV wavelengths in the desired spectrum as addressed with regarding claim 1.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of the invention to modify US 2016/0338169 A1 by selecting a secondary LED chip emitting in the UVB spectrum (280 nm–315 nm) as taught by US 2007/0108463 A1 to operate alongside the long-wavelength (605 nm–935 nm) and short-wavelength primary emitters on the substrate, representing a routine optimization of spectral bandwidths across standard solid-state LED components.
Claim 18 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 10, wherein:
the wavelength converter includes a plurality of converters (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - conversion layers 155 and 108); and
the first light comprises a first peak wavelength and a second peak wavelength different from the first peak wavelength. (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - 438 nm primary LED peak and 630 nm converted
Claim 19 Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first peak wavelength is generated by the light emitting diode, and the second peak wavelength is generated by one of the plurality of converters. (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - 438 nm peak generated by LED chip 154, 630 nm peak generated by conversion layer 155).
Claim 20. Rantala in view of Chua teaches the lighting apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of light sources spaced apart from one another, (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - isolated emission areas 151, 156, and 159 spaced apart on substrate 150).
wherein each light source includes the light emitting diode and the wavelength converter covering the light emitting diode (Rantala Fig. 5 & 9 & ¶95 - emission areas 151 and 156 with LED chips covered by conversion layers 155 and 108).
Conclusion
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
9/8/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898