DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the providing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear to one of skill in the art if “the bonding” recited in line 5 refers to the bonding step that is recited in claim 14 or the bonding step that is recited in claim 14. Claim 17 is indefinite because of its dependence from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bhushan et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0421030 A1), hereafter referred to as Bhushan.
As to claim 1, Bhushan discloses a semiconductor structure (fig 2, 200; [0015]) comprising:
a logic die (fig 2, 242; [0019]);
a plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’ [0015]) located above the logic die (242) with a plurality of gaps located between the plurality of memory die stacks (gaps between 244 and 244’; [0019]); and
a high thermal conductive material (220; [0029]) located within the plurality of gaps (gaps between 244 and 244’).
As to claim 2, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a redistribution layer (fig 2, layer including 222/226) located atop the logic die (242) and between the logic die (242) and the plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’).
As to claim 3, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 2 (paragraphs above),
wherein the RDL (222/226) includes a dielectric material (222; [0016]).
As to claim 4, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 2 (paragraphs above),
wherein the RDL (222/226) includes a material selected from a group consisting of diamond, aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal ([0016]).
As to claim 5, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a heat spreader (208) located above the plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’) and in contact with the high thermal conductive material (220) located within the plurality of gaps (between 244, 244’).
As to claim 7, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the high thermal conductive material (220) within the plurality of gaps surrounds sides of at least one of the plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’).
As to claim 8, Bhushan discloses a semiconductor structure (fig 2, 200; [0015]) comprising:
a logic die (242) including a redistribution layer (222/226);
a plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’) located on the RDL (222/226) with a plurality of gaps located between the plurality of memory die stacks (gaps between 244 and 244’); and
a high thermal conductive material (220) located within the plurality of gaps (gaps between 244 and 244’).
As to claim 9, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
wherein the RDL includes a dielectric material ([0016]).
As to claim 10, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
wherein the RDL includes a material selected from a group consisting of diamond, aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal ([0016]).
As to claim 11, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
a heat spreader (208) located above the plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’) and in contact with the high thermal conductive material (220) located within the plurality of gaps (between 244 and 244’).
As to claim 13, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 8 (paragraphs above),
wherein the high thermal conductive material (220) within the plurality of gaps surrounds sides of at least one of the plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’).
As to claim 14, Bhushan discloses a method of forming a semiconductor structure (figs 3-9B; [0006]), the method comprising:
providing a logic die (242) prepared with a redistribution layer (222/226);
bonding a plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’) to the RDL (222/226); and
providing a high thermal conductive material (220) within a plurality of gaps located between the plurality of memory die stacks (244 and 244’), wherein the high thermal conductive material (220) is in contact with the RDL (222).
As to claim 15, Bhushan discloses the method of claim 14 (paragraphs above),
providing a heat spreader (208) on top of the plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’) and in contact with the high thermal conductive material (220) within the plurality of gaps (gaps between 244, 244’).
As to claim 18, Bhushan discloses the method of claim 14 (paragraphs above),
wherein the RDL includes a dielectric material ([0016]).
As to claim 19, Bhushan discloses the method of claim 14 (paragraphs above),
wherein the RDL includes a material selected from a group consisting of diamond, aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal ([0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhushan in view of Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0361068 A1), hereafter referred to as Sun.
As to claim 6, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Bhushan does not disclose wherein the high thermal conductive material is selected from a group consisting of aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, diamond, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal.
Nonetheless, Sun discloses wherein a high thermal conductive material is selected from a group consisting of aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, diamond, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal (fig 10, gap fill materials 100, 102, 92; [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the high thermal conductive material of Bhushan from a material as taught by Sun since this will improve thermal dissipation.
As to claim 12, Bhushan discloses the semiconductor structure of claim (paragraphs above).
Bhushan does not disclose wherein the high thermal conductive is selected from a group consisting of aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, diamond, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal.
Nonetheless, Sun discloses wherein a high thermal conductive material is selected from a group consisting of aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, diamond, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal (fig 10, gap fill materials 100, 102, 92; [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the high thermal conductive material of Bhushan from a material as taught by Sun since this will improve thermal dissipation.
As to claim 20, Bhushan discloses the method of claim 14 (paragraphs above).
Bhushan does not disclose wherein the high thermal conductive material located within the plurality of gaps is selected from a group consisting of aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, diamond, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal.
Nonetheless, Sun discloses wherein a high thermal conductive material is selected from a group consisting of aluminum nitride, beryllium oxide, beryllium nitride, silicon carbide, graphite, diamond, copper, and a composite of dielectric material and metal (fig 10, gap fill materials 100, 102, 92; [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the high thermal conductive material of Bhushan from a material as taught by Sun since this will improve thermal dissipation.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhushan in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0365593 A1), hereafter referred to as Chen.
As to claim 16, Bhushan discloses the method of claim 14 (paragraphs above),
wherein the providing the plurality of memory die stacks (244, 244’) includes:
providing a plurality of memory wafers ([0015]);
bonding the plurality of memory wafers ([0015]); and
after the bonding, singulating the plurality of gaps in the plurality of memory wafers to form the plurality of memory die stacks ([0015]).
Bhushan does not disclose that the singulating is performed by etching.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses wherein singulating a plurality of dies is performed by etching ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to perform the singulating of the wafers of Bhushan using an etching process as taught by Chen since this will improve the manufacturing speed by simultaneously cutting the die streets.
As to claim 17, Bhushan in view of Chen disclose the method of claim 16 (paragraphs above).
Chen further discloses wherein the etching is selected from a group consisting of wet etching, dry etching and a combination of both ([0056]).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210375827 A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 7/28/2026