DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 8.24.26. Claims 1-11 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made amendments to the independent claim 1 and its dependent 10 which will be examined below.
Specification objection is withdrawn in light of title amendment.
Claim objections related to claims 7-8,10 are withdrawn light of clarification and amendments.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the
Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: However, Seki does not specify the axial position at which the cross- section shown in FIG. 4 is taken along a plane perpendicular to the axial direction of the brushless motor (60). On the other hand, from FIGS. 1, 2A-2C, and 3A-3B of Seki, it is clear that, in the brushless motor disclosed in Seki, the connecting rings (or connection portions) 34U, 34V and 34W of the insulators 18U, 18V and 18W are located on one axial side of the stator core 20 (i.e., on one axial side of the core constituent parts 14U, 14V and 14W). Therefore, any cross-section of the brushless motor disclosed in Seki which is taken along a plane perpendicular to the axial direction thereof cannot include both the cross-sections of the connecting rings 34U, 34V and 34W of the insulators 18U, 18V and 18W and the cross- sections of the core constituent parts 14U, 14V and 14W of the stator core 20. As such, it is not possible to derive from the disclosure of Seki that "each of the connecting rings of the insulators has an inner diameter set to be greater than an outer diameter of the rotor" as claimed.
Examiner Response 1: Fig 2A discloses insulator ring 18U which main body portion 32U1 and extending portion 32U2. It is clear looking at Fig 2A that 32U1 has surface that is radially further inside than 32U2. It is also clear looking at Fig. 2A that 32U2 surface lies on the inner diameter surface of insulator ring 18U. Given the stator coil and core magnetic interactional structure with rotor which is shown in Fig 4, 32U1 must inherently have larger inner diameter than rotor outside diameter. Looking at Fig 20A and 20B, it is reasonable to infer that Fig 20B which shows a configuration where all three insulator rings has the same inner diameter which is the diameter of the insulator connection 34U which is same as 18U insulator ring. This being the case, Fig 2A along with Figs 20A and 20B taken together discloses that "each of the connecting rings of the insulators has an inner diameter set to be greater than an outer diameter of the rotor".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Seki (US20130200742A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Seki discloses (Figs 1,2A,4) a brushless motor (60) [0003] comprising a stator (10) and a rotor (50) that is arranged inside the stator,
the stator comprising:
a stator core (14) constituted of a plurality of core constituent parts (14U,14V,14W), each of the core constituent parts including a corresponding one of a plurality of yoke constituent parts (22U,22V,22W), which together constitute an annular yoke that is segmented (Fig 1) in a circumferential direction thereof, and a corresponding one of a plurality of teeth (24U,24V,24W) that radially protrude respectively from the yoke constituent parts;
a plurality of windings (26U,26V,26W) each having a plurality of winding sections (26U, 26U, 26U, 26U) each of which is wound around a corresponding one of the teeth; and
a plurality of insulators (18U,18V,18W) each having a plurality of insulating parts (32U,32U,32U,32U), each of which is mounted to a corresponding one of the core constituent parts (Fig 2A) to insulate the corresponding tooth included in the corresponding core constituent part and the corresponding winding section wound around the corresponding tooth from each other, and a connecting ring (34U) that connects the insulating parts,
wherein:
each of the connecting rings (34U,34V,34W) of the insulators has an inner diameter (D1) set to be greater than an outer diameter (d1) of the rotor (50) but does not explicitly disclose that the entire rotor is located radially inside each of the connecting rings.
Seki further discloses that the entire rotor is located radially inside each of the connecting rings (Fig 2A discloses insulator ring 18U which has main body portion 32U1 and extending portion 32U2. It is clear looking at Fig 2A that 32U1 has surface that is radially further inside than 32U2. It is also clear looking at Fig. 2A that 32U2 surface lies on the inner diameter surface of insulator ring 18U. Given the stator coil and core magnetic interactional structure with rotor which is shown in Fig 4, 32U1 must inherently have larger inner diameter than rotor outside diameter. Looking at Fig 20A and 20B, it is reasonable to infer that Fig 20B which shows a configuration where all three insulator rings has the same inner diameter which is the diameter of the insulator connection 34U which is same as 18U insulator ring. This being the case, Fig 2A along with Figs 20A and 20B taken together discloses that "each of the connecting rings of the insulators has an inner diameter set to be greater than an outer diameter of the rotor").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brushless motor of Seki with entire rotor located radially inside each of the connection rings as further taught by Seki in order to have the required electromagnetic interaction between rotor and stator required for motor operation.
Regarding Claim 2, Seki discloses the brushless motor as set forth in Claim 1. Seki further discloses wherein: each of the connecting rings (Fig 22A,318U) of the insulators has an outer diameter (318Uod) set to be less than an inner diameter (314Uid) of the stator core (314U)(extending portion 362U has a curvature that extends beyond 318Uod in the radial direction before 314Uid starts).
Regarding Claim 3, Seki discloses the brushless motor as set forth in Claim 1. Seki further discloses (Figs 20A,20B,20C) wherein: all the connecting rings (34U,34V,34W) of the insulators are arranged radially between the stator core (14) and the rotor (50).
Regarding Claim 4, Seki discloses the brushless motor as set forth in Claim 1. Seki further discloses wherein: all the connecting rings (34U,34V,34W) of the insulators are arranged in alignment with each other in an axial direction of the stator (Figs 20A,20B,20C. All have same centerline).
Regarding Claim 9, Seki discloses the brushless motor as set forth in Claim 1. Seki further discloses wherein: each of the windings (26U,26V,26W) includes a plurality of bridging wires (28U,28V,28W) that connect the winding sections of the winding with one another; and all the bridging wires of the windings are arranged radially Figs 2A,2B,2C)outside the connecting rings (34U,34V,34W) of the insulators.
Regarding Claim 10, Seki discloses the brushless motor as set forth in Claim 9. Seki further discloses wherein: the stator is constituted of a plurality of stator constituent parts (12U,12V,12W) each of which includes a predetermined number of the core constituent parts(14U, 14U,14U,14U) one of the windings (26U) and one of the insulators (18U); the stator constituent parts are configured to be assembled to one another in an axial direction (Z1,Z2) of the stator(Fig 41A); and the bridging wires (28U) of the winding included in one of the stator constituent parts are configured to be arranged at positions where they do not interfere with the core constituent parts included in the remainder of the stator constituent parts during the assembly of the stator constituent parts to one another in the axial direction of the stator (Bridging wire is wrapped around connection ring, therefore there is no interference with core constituent part).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki in view of Seki3414 (JP2013223414A English translation).
Regarding Claim 5, Seki discloses the brushless motor as set forth in Claim 1, wherein: a first connecting ring (34U), which is located furthest (Fig 20A,20B) toward a first axial side (Z1) of the stator among all the connecting rings of the insulators but does not explicitly disclose has a first-axial-side end thereof located further toward a second axial side of the stator than first-axial-side ends of the winding sections of the windings are (Examiner interprets first axial side end at first axial side of stator).
Seki3414 discloses (Fig 2) a first-axial-side end (34U1) thereof located further toward a second axial side (Z2) of the stator than first-axial-side ends of the winding sections (32Uw-32U with winding 16U will be farther in Z1 direction than 34U1) of the windings are.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brushless motor of Seki with winding position in relation to connecting ring as taught by Seki3414in order to have the design choice of location of windings relative to connection ring which is determined by packaging requirements.
Regarding Claim 6, Seki in view of Seki3414 discloses the brushless motor as set forth Claim 5. Seki in view of Seki3414 does not explicitly disclose wherein: a second connecting ring, which is located furthest toward the second axial side of the stator among all the connecting rings of the insulators, has a second-axial-side end thereof located further toward the first axial side of the stator than second-axial-side ends of the winding sections of the windings are.
Seki3414 further discloses (Fig 2) wherein: a second connecting ring (34W), which is located furthest toward the second axial side (Z2)of the stator among all the connecting rings of the insulators, has a second-axial-side end (34W2) thereof located further toward the first axial side of the stator than second-axial-side ends of the winding sections (32Ww-32W with winding 16W will be farther in Z2 direction than 34W2) of the windings are.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brushless motor of Seki with winding position in relation to connecting ring as taught by Seki3414in order to have the design choice of location of windings relative to connection ring which is determined by packaging requirements.
Regarding Claim 7, Seki in view of Seki3414 discloses the brushless motor as set forth Claim 5. Seki in view of Seki3414 further discloses wherein: all the connecting rings (34U,34V,34W) of the insulators are arranged at a first-axial-side end of the stator (Fig 20A-C discloses all rings together which can be towards any axial end) .
Regarding Claim 8, Seki in view of Seki3414 discloses the brushless motor as set forth Claim 6. Seki in view of Seki3414 discloses the first connecting ring (Seki, 34U) is arranged at a first-axial-side end (Z1) of the stator but does not explicitly disclose the second connecting ring is arranged at a second-axial-side end of the stator.
Seki3414 further discloses (Fig 2) the second connecting ring (34W) is arranged at a second-axial-side end (Z2) of the stator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed brushless motor of Seki in view of Seki3414 with connecting rings on opposite ends as further taught by Seki3414 in order to uniformly and symmetrically position the connecting rings across axial length of stator based on design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 11 recites “ The brushless motor as set forth in Claim 10, wherein: the bridging wires of the windings have been shaped, from a state of spreading toward a radially outer side of the stator constituent parts, toward a radially inner side of the stator constituent parts”. In Seki, the bridging wires are towards the connecting ring and do not spread towards outer side of stator. Seki 3414 also does not explicitly show this configuration. Therefore claim 11 is allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834