DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claims 1 and 9, each of the claims define that there are “at least two discrete slopes formed between the first and second region, and wherein at least two discrete slopes extend from the first region at the first distance to the second region at the second distance such that the at least two discrete slopes transition from the first region downward into the second region”. However, the specification does not define this limitation. While the first and second regions appear to be straight lines having discrete slopes this is not defined in the specification and it appears that the Applicant is arguing and attempting the claim that those slopes are straight lines. The specification only states that that the first and second region slope away from one another. For example paragraph [0048] of the current specification states, “a slope 210 is provided between the first region 206 and the second region 208. The slope 210 may be formed as a part of the first region 206 and/or second region 208. The slope 210 transitions from the first region 206 and downwards into the second region 208. In this manner, the head of the child may first come into contact with the material of the first region 206, travel down the slope 210, and eventually come into contact with the second region 208. Thus, the head of the child travels down the sidewall 212 during a crash event and the time during which energy dissipation occurs is extended”. Figures 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 clearly show to distinct slopes, one for the first region and one for the second region that meet at a transition point. These two slopes create the desire effect of what the Application defines in paragraph [0048]. Figure 95 of Sjodell ‘339 clearly discloses the desired “the head of the child may first come into contact with the material of the first region 206, travel down the slope 210, and eventually come into contact with the second region 208. Thus, the head of the child travels down the sidewall 212 during a crash event and the time during which energy dissipation occurs is extended”. As such the claims are unclear and therefore indefinite. Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are indefinite as being dependent on Claims 1 and 9.
For Claim 17, the claim defines “a second region having a second slope that is discrete from the first slope”. However, the specification does not define this limitation. While the first and second regions appear to be straight lines having discrete slopes this is not defined in the specification and it appears that the Applicant is arguing and attempting the claim that those slopes are straight lines. The specification only states that that the first and second region slope away from one another. For example paragraph [0048] of the current specification states, “a slope 210 is provided between the first region 206 and the second region 208. The slope 210 may be formed as a part of the first region 206 and/or second region 208. The slope 210 transitions from the first region 206 and downwards into the second region 208. In this manner, the head of the child may first come into contact with the material of the first region 206, travel down the slope 210, and eventually come into contact with the second region 208. Thus, the head of the child travels down the sidewall 212 during a crash event and the time during which energy dissipation occurs is extended”. Figures 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 clearly show to distinct slopes, one for the first region and one for the second region that meet at a transition point. These two slopes create the desire effect of what the Application defines in paragraph [0048]. Figure 95 of Sjodell ‘339 clearly discloses the desired “the head of the child may first come into contact with the material of the first region 206, travel down the slope 210, and eventually come into contact with the second region 208. Thus, the head of the child travels down the sidewall 212 during a crash event and the time during which energy dissipation occurs is extended”. As such the claims are unclear and therefore indefinite. Claims 18-20 are indefinite as being dependent on Claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated as best understood by Sjodell (US PgPub #2025/0326339).
For Claims 1 and 9, figures 53, 67-69, and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose a child restraint system comprising: a seat; a headrest (2300) comprising a rear portion (2322), a first sidewall (2538), and a second sidewall (2536), wherein the headrest further comprises: a first region protruding a first distance from the first sidewall; and a second region protruding a second distance from the first sidewall, wherein the second distance is less than the first distance, wherein the first region is provided between the rear portion and the second region, wherein at least two discrete slopes are formed between the first region and the second region, and wherein the at least two discrete slopes extend from the first region at the first distance to the second region at the second distance such that the at least two discrete slopes transition from the first region downward into the second region.
For Claims 2 and 10, figures 53, 67-69, and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the first region comprises a first material of a first firmness, wherein the second region comprises a second material of a second firmness, and wherein the first firmness is greater than the second firmness.
For Claims 3 and 11, figures 53, 67-69 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the first and second material are the same material.
For Claims 4 and 12, paragraph [0703] of Sjodell ‘339 discloses that different materials can be used.
For Claims 5 and 13, figures 53, 67-69 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the first region comprises a sold material and the second region comprises a hollow material (2328 or 2530).
For Claims 6 and 14, figures 53 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the second region comprises a void (2328 or 2530).
For Claims 7 and 15, paragraph [0703] of Sjodell ‘339 disclose
For Claims 8 and 16, paragraph [0189] of Sjodell ‘339 discloses that the headrest can be made of EPP.
For Claim 17, figures 53, 67-69 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose a child restraint system comprising: a seat; a headrest (2300) comprising a rear portion (2322), a first sidewall (2332), and a second sidewall (2334), wherein the headrest further comprises: a first region having a first slope; and a second region having a second slope that is discrete from the first slope, wherein the first region is provided between the second region and a rea portion, wherein the first region comprises a first material of a first firmness, wherein the second region comprises a second material of a second firmness, wherein the first firmness is greater than the second firmness, and wherein a transition between the first firmness and the second firmness causes a motion of a vehicle occupant to be directed from the first region and into the second region during an impact event.
For Claim 18, figures 53, 67-69 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the first region comprises a solid material and the second region comprises a hollow material (2328).
For Claim 20, paragraph [0189] of Sjodell ‘339 discloses that the headrest can be made of EPP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjodell (US PgPub #2025/0326339).
For Claims 7, 15, and 19, while Sjodell ‘339 discloses varying the reinforcing strength and firmness of the headrest, it is silent about ribbing elements within the material of the first region of the headrest, it teaches in paragraph [0690] using ribs in the seat structure so as to provide reinforcing strength. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to use ribbing elements in a headrest as they would provide an optional known way to provide reinforcing strength to the headrest.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the first argument that the newly amended language is not disclosed in the Sjodell ‘339 reference, the Examiner holds that the newly amended language is not specifically taught by the figures and the specification as such it is unclear as rejected above in the 112 rejection. As such as best understood the Examiner holds the Sjodell ‘339 still teaches the claims as defined above.
Conclusion
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 7/16/2026