DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/4/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sjodell (US PgPub #2025/0326339).
For Claims 1 and 9, figures 53, 67-69, and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose a child restraint system comprising: a seat; a headrest (2300) comprising a rear portion (2322), a first sidewall (2538), and a second sidewall (2536), wherein the headrest further comprises: a first region protruding a first distance from the first sidewall; and a second region protruding a second distance from the first sidewall, wherein the second distance is less than the first distance, wherein the first region is provided between the rear portion and the second region, wherein a slope is formed between the first region and the second region, and wherein the slope extends from the first region at the first distance to the second region at the second distance such that the slope transitions from the first region downward into the second region.
For Claims 2 and 10, figures 53, 67-69, and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the first region comprises a first material of a first firmness, wherein the second region comprises a second material of a second firmness, and wherein the first firmness is greater than the second firmness.
For Claims 3 and 11, figures 53, 67-69 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the first and second material are the same material.
For Claims 4 and 12, paragraph [0703] of Sjodell ‘339 discloses that different materials can be used.
For Claims 5 and 13, figures 53, 67-69 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the first region comprises a sold material and the second region comprises a hollow material (2328 or 2530).
For Claims 6 and 14, figures 53 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the second region comprises a void (2328 or 2530).
For Claims 7 and 15, paragraph [0703] of Sjodell ‘339 disclose
For Claims 8 and 16, paragraph [0189] of Sjodell ‘339 discloses that the headrest can be made of EPP.
For Claim 17, figures 53, 67-69 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose a child restraint system comprising: a seat; a headrest (2300) comprising a rear portion (2322), a first sidewall (2332), and a second sidewall (2334), wherein the headrest further comprises: a first region and a second region, wherein the first region is provided between the second region and a rea portion, wherein the first region comprises a first material of a first firmness, wherein the second region comprises a second material of a second firmness, wherein the first firmness is greater than the second firmness, and wherein a transition between the first firmness and the second firmness causes a motion of a vehicle occupant to be directed from the first region and into the second region during an impact event.
For Claim 18, figures 53, 67-69 and 95-96 of Sjodell ‘339 disclose that the first region comprises a solid material and the second region comprises a hollow material (2328).
For Claim 20, paragraph [0189] of Sjodell ‘339 discloses that the headrest can be made of EPP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjodell (US PgPub #2025/0326339).
For Claims 7, 15, and 19, while Sjodell ‘339 discloses varying the reinforcing strength and firmness of the headrest, it is silent about ribbing elements within the material of the first region of the headrest, it teaches in paragraph [0690] using ribs in the seat structure so as to provide reinforcing strength. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to use ribbing elements in a headrest as they would provide an optional known way to provide reinforcing strength to the headrest.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Sjodell ‘339 does not disclose that the slope extends from the first region at the first distance to the second region at the second distance, however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Annotated fig. 96 of Sjodell ‘336 clearly discloses a slope formed between the first region and the second region, and wherein the slope extends from the first region at the first distance to the second region at the second distance such that the slope transitions from the first region downward into the second region.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 3/19/2026