DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 14, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scullin et al. (US 2022/0076933 A1), hereinafter “Scullin”, and further in view of Denieffe, K., et al. "Retarding field energy analyser ion current calibration and transmission." Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics 44.7 (2011): 075205, hereinafter “Denieffe”.
Regarding claim 11, Scullin teaches a method for measuring a plasma property with a sensor device (abstract, Figs. 1, 2), comprising:
inserting the sensor device (Fig. 2a, ref 201, paragraph [0098]) for measuring the plasma property into a chamber (ref 105paragraphs [0095]-[0096]), wherein the sensor device comprises a sensor (as shown in Figs. 1, 2; paragraph [0098]) .
Scullin is silent regarding measuring an ion transmission value with the sensor; and applying a scaling factor to the ion transmission value, wherein the scaling factor is determined through a calibration process.
However, Denieffe teaches a method for measuring a plasma property with a sensor (abstract) including measuring an ion transmission value with the sensor (pages 2-3, Sec. Experimental configuration); and applying a scaling factor to the ion transmission value, wherein the scaling factor is determined through a calibration process (pages 4-6, Sec. 3, RFEA calibration).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Scullin with the teaching of Denieffe by including measuring an ion transmission value with the sensor; and applying a scaling factor to the ion transmission value, wherein the scaling factor is determined through a calibration process in order to calibrate the measurements made with a retarding field energy analyzer.
Regarding claim 13, Scullin teaches wherein the sensor is a retarding analyzer sensor (paragraphs [0005], [0146]-[0147]), but silent regarding a retarding energy analyzer sensor.
However, Denieffe teaches a retarding energy analyzer sensor (page 1, Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Scullin with the teaching of Denieffe by including wherein the retarding analyzer sensor is a retarding energy analyzer sensor as the RFEA has a small size and low cost, page 1, Introduction.
Regarding claim 15, Scullin teaches wherein the sensor device has a form factor compatible with automated movement throughout a processing tool (paragraphs [0006], [0096]-[0097], ref 107).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scullin and Denieffe as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Osawa et al. (US 2017/0010214 A1), hereinafter “Osawa”.
Regarding claim 12, Scullin is silent regarding wherein the scaling factor and the ion transmission value are multiplied with each other.
However, Osawa teaches an optical calibration method (abstract) including wherein the scaling factor and the ion transmission value are multiplied with each other (paragraph [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Scullin with the teaching of Osawa by including wherein the scaling factor and the ion transmission value are multiplied with each other in order to properly calibrate the system.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scullin and Denieffe as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Soyemi et al. (US 2007/0112258 A1), hereinafter “Soyemi”.
Regarding claim 16, Scullin teaches wherein the sensor device comprises a plurality of sensors (Fig. 2(a), ref 201, paragraphs [0098]-[0099]), but is silent regarding wherein a different scaling factor is applied to each of the plurality of sensors.
However, Soyemi teaches calibration of a sensor (abstract) including wherein a different scaling factor is applied to each of the plurality of sensors (paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0086], [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Scullin with the teaching of Soyemi by including wherein a different scaling factor is applied to each of the plurality of sensors in order to more accurately calibrate the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a method of calibrating a device sensor, the method comprising, among other essential elements, inserting the device sensor into the calibration system; measuring a transmission value of the amount of light from the light source that is transmitted through the device sensor towards the photonic detector; and calculating a scaling factor for the device sensor, wherein the scaling factor equalizes the transmission value of the device sensor to the reference transmission value of the reference sensor, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the above claim. Claims 2-10 are dependent from claim 1 and therefore are also included in the allowed subject matter.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a method for measuring a plasma property with a sensor device, the method comprising, among other essential elements, wherein the calibration process uses a light source and a photonic detector to determine a transmission value of an amount of light from the light source that is transmitted through the sensor, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 11 and the above claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Russ (US 2012/0305756) teaches a conventional sensor calibration device, but does not include the above cited inventive limitations.
Heil (US 2014/0103808) teaches a conventional device for measuring plasma with a sensor, and could be combined with prior art of record to render claim 11 obvious.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877