DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
It is not seen as to how the future use of the composition further limits the composition itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Canada Patent Specification No. CA 1221113 A.
The reference teaches, in Example 1:
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the gypsum meets the gypsum component. The sand meets the natural sand component. The gypsum retarder (Retardan P) meets the modified amino acid component and the polymer powder (Vinapol ® 1070) meets the polymer comprising vinyl acetate. The composition is capable of being used as a grout.
As for claim 3, the composition is mixed with water. It would follow that that the flowability would be determined by the amount of water added.
As for claim 7, no metal is added.
As for claim 9, the flexural tensile strength and the compressive strength meets the claimed ranges.
As for claim 10, the gypsum meets the gypsum component. The sand meets the natural sand component. The gypsum retarder (Retardan P) meets the modified amino acid component and the polymer powder (Vinapol ® 1070) meets the polymer comprising vinyl acetate. The composition is mixed with water and is capable of being used as a grout.
Claims 1, 3, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hagen et al (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0121303 A1).
The reference teaches, in Comparative Example 3, a tile adhesive composition. The composition is suitable for use as gypsum mortars, coating material, adhesive mortars, bedding mortars, plasters, etc. (see paragraph [0042]).
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the Hard plaster of Paris meets the calcium sulfate component. The silica sand meets the natural sand component. The Retardan P retardant meets the modified amino acid and the VINNAPAS 4023 N meets the polymer of vinyl acetate. The composition is capable of being used as a grout.
As for claim 3, the composition is mixed with water. It would follow that that the flowability would be determined by the amount of water added.
As for claim 7, no metal is added.
As for claim 8, the composition is cement free.
As for claim 10, the Hard plaster of Paris meets the calcium sulfate component. The silica sand meets the natural sand component. The Retardan P retardant meets the modified amino acid and the VINNAPAS 4023 N meets the polymer of vinyl acetate. The composition is mixed with water and is capable of being used as a grout.
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Europe Patent Specification No. EP 1785406 A1.
The reference teaches, in Example 2:
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the alpha calcium sulfate meets the calcium sulfate component. The silica sand meets the natural sand. The calcium salt of an amino acid known as B ® meets the modified amino acid and the latex of vinyl acetate/vinyl versatate meets the polymer of vinyl acetate. The composition is capable of being used as a grout.
As for claim 7, no metal is present.
As for claim 8, the composition is cement-free.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canada Patent Specification No. CA 1221113 A.
The reference was discussed previously, above. Further the reference teaches, on page 8, lines 14+, that water is added to the composition is such an amount that the composition is given a consistency suitable for applying a surface layer.
The instant claims are obvious over the reference.
As for claims 4 and 5, while the reference does not recite the same amount of water, it does teach that the water is added to produce a given consistency and therefore the amount of water is considered to be a result effective variable. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Therefore, it is within the level of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of water absent evidence showing otherwise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach the components in the claimed amounts.
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg September 10, 2026