DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant’s arguments indicate that these claims have been canceled, however they remain in the claim listing. The claims should be properly canceled or amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2003/0134426, hereafter Jiang) in view of Monteiro (US 9,562,430)
With respect to claim 1, Jiang teaches a method comprising: disposing a fluid sampling tool (testing apparatus 710) into a wellbore (714) wherein the fluid sampling tool comprises: at least one probe (sample probe 736) to fluidly connect the fluid sampling tool to a formation (742) in the wellbore; and at least one passageway (channel 722) that passes through the at least one probe and into the fluid sampling tool; drawing a formation fluid from a first sampling zone, as a fluid sample, through the at least one probe and through the at least one passageway; and passing the fluid sample over a thin film (hydrogen sulfide sensor 724) deposited on a measurement region, wherein the measurement region is part of the at least one passageway; analyzing the fluid sample in the fluid sampling tool for a target analyte. (par. 102-107, 114-116, Figs. 6A-7)
Jiang does not explicitly teach wherein the thin film comprises at least one metal selected from the group of metals consisting of a chromium, a tin, an indium, a silver and any combination thereof.
However, it is known to use these elements. For example, Monteiro teaches a fluid sample testing apparatus comprising passing the fluid sample over a thin film, wherein the thin film comprises at least one metal selected from the group of metals consisting of a chromium, a tin, an indium, a silver and any combination thereof. (col. 5, lines 31-58)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a thin film having a composition, as taught by Monteiro, in order to analyze the sample in an efficient and well-understood manner.
With respect to claim 2, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the target analyte is hydrogen sulfide, carbon dioxide, mercury, or any combination thereof. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 3, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the thin film comprises at least one metal selected from the group of metals consisting of silver, chromium, tin oxide, silver doped with tin oxide, indium tin oxide, and any combination thereof. (par. 10-11)
With respect to claim 4, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the thin film has a material change when the target analyte comes into contact with the thin film. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 5, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the target analyte is H2S and H2S changes the material property of the thin film in a concentration of more than 1%. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 6, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the change of one of the properties of thin film is proportional to the concentration of the target analyte. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 7, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the thin film changes optical properties when the target analyte comes into contact with the thin film. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 8, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches identifying the change in optical properties of the thin film with an optical measurement tool, wherein the change in optical properties is proportional to a concentration of the target analyte, and wherein the concentration of the target analyte can be determined from a linear, multivariate, or non-linear calibration model. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 9, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein one or more electrical properties of the thin film changes when the target analyte contacts the thin film. (par. 24)
With respect to claim 10, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the one or more electrical properties comprise conductance, resistance, or inductance. (par. 24)
With respect to claim 11, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches passing the fluid sample over a plurality of thin films. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 12, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the plurality of thin films are disposed in an array or a pattern. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 13, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches selecting one or more of the thin films to be measured using a physical mask or a polarized mask. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 14, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the pattern is a four-quadrant circle or a unique pattern generated by the physical mask or the polarized mask. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
With respect to claim 16, Jiang teaches a system comprising a fluid sampling tool (testing apparatus 710) comprising: at least one probe (sample probe 736) to fluidly connect the fluid sampling tool to a formation in a wellbore; at least one passageway (channel 722) that passes through the at least one probe and into the fluid sampling tool; a sensor section (62) comprising a measurement region in fluid communication with the at least one passageway; and a thin film (hydrogen sulfide sensor 724) deposited on the measurement region, wherein the thin film changes at least one of its physical properties upon exposure to a target analyte found in the at least one passageway. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
Jiang does not explicitly teach wherein the thin film comprises at least one metal selected from the group of metals consisting of a chromium, a tin, an indium, a silver and any combination thereof.
However, it is known to use these elements. For example, Monteiro teaches a fluid sample testing apparatus comprising passing the fluid sample over a thin film, wherein the thin film comprises at least one metal selected from the group of metals consisting of a chromium, a tin, an indium, a silver and any combination thereof. (col. 5, lines 31-58)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a thin film having a composition, as taught by Monteiro, in order to analyze the sample in an efficient and well-understood manner.
With respect to claim 17, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the thin film comprises at least one metal selected from the group of metals consisting of silver, chromium, tin oxide, silver doped with tin oxide, indium tin oxide, and any combination thereof. (par. 10-11)
With respect to claim 18, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches wherein the change of the at least one of the physical properties of the thin film is proportional to a concentration of the target analyte. (par. 102-116, Figs. 6A-7)
Claim(s) 15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Monteiro, as in the above rejection, and further in view of Pelletier et al. (US 2020/0141874, hereafter Pelletier)
With respect to claim 15, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except for teaching further resetting the thin film after exposure to the target analyte by annealing the thin film under exposure to a gas transported downhole in a sample chamber.
Pelletier teaches a fluid sensor (backside reflectance sensor 100) having a reactive surface which can be reset after exposure by annealing the surface under exposure to a gas. (par. 37)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the invention of Jiang to include surface regeneration, as taught by Pelletier, in order to be able to easily reuse the sensor.
With respect to claim 19, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except for teaching at least one sampling chamber filled with a gas used to reset the thin film after exposure to the target analyte.
Pelletier teaches a fluid sensor (backside reflectance sensor 100) having a reactive surface which can be reset after exposure by exposure to a gas. (par. 37)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the invention of Jiang to include surface regeneration, as taught by Pelletier, in order to be able to easily reuse the sensor.
With respect to claim 20, Jiang, as modified by Monteiro, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except for teaching an annealing system to heat the thin film to reset it after exposure to the target analyte.
Pelletier teaches a fluid sensor (backside reflectance sensor 100) having a reactive surface which can be reset after exposure by annealing the surface. (par. 37)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the invention of Jiang to include surface regeneration, as taught by Pelletier, in order to be able to easily reuse the sensor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Although Jiang discusses the use of silver in a hydrogen sulfide detector, the reference does not explicitly disclose all of the claimed elements. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, the claimed subject matter is rendered obvious by other prior art, in particular the teachings of Monteiro, as in the above newly applied rejection.
Conclusion
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853