ELECTRODE PLATE, ELECTRODE ASSEMBLY, BATTERY CELL AND ELECTRIC DEVICE
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/674,947 Art Unit: 1727 September 1, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on May 27, 2024 have been received. Claims 1-17 are currently pending and fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the plurality of tab portions" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-11 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Tanaka (JP 2014-022116; as found in IDS dated 01/02/2026 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 1, 9-10 and 14-17, Tanaka discloses an electric device (battery), comprising: a battery cell having an electrode assembly, comprising: first and second electrode plates 30,40 and a separator 50 arranged therebetween (paragraphs [0001 and 0027]). Tanaka discloses wherein the electrode plates comprise: a body 33,43 having a surface partially coated with an active material; and a tab portion 35,45 extending from a side of the body portion; wherein the tab comprises an opening (slit/cutout/notch) S penetrating in a thickness direction; the opening S having a first end and a second end sequentially arranged away from the body along a predetermined path (Fig. 3-4 and 7 and paragraphs [0028-0029]).
As to Claim 2, Tanaka discloses wherein the opening S extends to an edge of the tab portion away from the body along a path (Fig. 3-4).
As to Claim 3, Tanaka discloses wherein the opening S has a first spacing formed between the opening and the body portion (Fig. 3-4 and 7).
As to Claims 5-6, Tanaka discloses wherein the tab portion is arranged on a side of the body portion in a first direction and the first and second ends of the hole are sequentially arranged in a direction perpendicular to the first direction along the predetermined path (Fig.3-4 and 7).
As to Claim 11, Tanaka discloses wherein the first and second ends have an arc-shaped wall surface (Fig. 7).
As to Claim 13, Tanaka discloses wherein the tab portions comprise a plurality of openings S arranged at intervals in the first direction (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2014-022116; as found in IDS dated 01/02/2026 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claim 4, Tanaka discloses a second spacing formed between the edge of the tab portion away from the body portion and the body portion (Fig. 3-4). Tanaka does not specifically disclose the claimed spacing relationship. However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A. In addition, there are a known finite number of options for the claimed spacing relationship (either they are equal, or one is greater than the other). The courts have held that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see KSR, MPEP 2143, I, E. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spacing relationship of Tanaka to read on the claims because Tanaka teaches that an electrode plate capable of suppressing deformation of the tab is provided (Abstract).
As to Claim 7, Tanaka discloses the claimed first and second side edges and the claimed third and fourth spacings (Fig. 3-4 and 7). Tanaka does not specifically disclose the claimed spacing relationships. However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A. In addition, there are a known finite number of options for the claimed spacing relationship (either they are equal, or one is greater than the other). The courts have held that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see KSR, MPEP 2143, I, E. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spacing relationships of Tanaka to read on the claims because Tanaka teaches that an electrode plate capable of suppressing deformation of the tab is provided (Abstract).
As to Claim 8, Tanaka discloses the claimed plurality of tab portions having the claimed first and second side edges in the first direction and the claimed seventh spacings (Fig. 3-4 and 7). Tanaka does not specifically disclose the claimed different seventh spacings among the tabs. However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A. In addition, there are a known finite number of options for the claimed spacing relationship (either they are equal, or one is greater than the other). The courts have held that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see KSR, MPEP 2143, I, E. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the spacing relationships of Tanaka to read on the claims because Tanaka teaches that an electrode plate capable of suppressing deformation of the tab is provided (Abstract).
As to Claim 12, Tanaka does not specifically disclose the claimed width of the notch at any position along the path. However, the courts have held that the mere scaling up of the prior art capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the size of the cutout to read on the claim because Tanaka teaches that an electrode plate capable of suppressing deformation of the tab is provided (Abstract).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727