DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application No. 17/004,432 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
Claims 1-20 recite a non-specified semiconductor processing apparatus.
The disclosure of the parent application fails to support a non-specified processing apparatus. The disclosure of the parent application provides description of a plasma processing apparatus. No adequate description for a non-specified apparatus is provided by the disclosure of the parent application. The disclosure of the parent application fails to provide adequate description for the entire scope of the claims.
Claims 1-12 recite a chuck and a lower electrode below the chuck.
The disclosure of the parent application fails to support such for entire scope.
The disclosure of the parent application only provides description of an apparatus wherein the lower electrode is below the electrostatic chuck and wherein the lower electrode and the chuck are electrically insulated from the sidewalls of the processing chamber. The disclosure of the parent application fails to provide adequate description for the entire scope of the claims.
Claims 9-20 recite a non-specified substrate chuck.
The disclosure of the parent application fails to support a non-specified chuck.
The disclosure of the parent application provides description of only electrostatic chuck. No adequate description for a non-specified chuck is provided by the disclosure of the parent application. The disclosure of the parent application fails to provide adequate description for the entire scope of the instant claims.
This application repeats a substantial portion of prior Application No. 17/004,432, filed 08/27/2020, and adds disclosure not presented in the prior application. Because this application names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application, it may constitute a continuation-in-part of the prior application. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claims 1-20:
Claims 1-20 recite a non-specified semiconductor processing apparatus.
The original disclosure fails to support a non-specified processing apparatus.
The original disclosure provides description of a plasma processing apparatus. No adequate description for a non-specified apparatus is provided by the original disclosure. The original disclosure fails to provide adequate description for the entire scope of the claims.
As to claims 1-12:
Claims 1-12 recite a chuck and a lower electrode below the chuck.
The original disclosure fails to support such for entire scope.
The original disclosure only provides description of an apparatus wherein the lower electrode is below the electrostatic chuck and wherein the lower electrode and the chuck are electrically insulated from the sidewalls of the processing chamber. The original disclosure fails to provide adequate description for the entire scope of the claims.
As to claims 9-20:
Claims 9-20 recite a non-specified substrate chuck.
The original disclosure fails to support a non-specified chuck.
The original disclosure provides description of only electrostatic chuck. No adequate description for a non-specified chuck is provided by the original disclosure. The original disclosure fails to provide adequate description for the entire scope of the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,027,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite a method, which utilizes a processing apparatus that has all structural parts recited by the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 11, 13, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2007/0221331).
As to claims 9 and 13:
Lee teaches an apparatus as claimed.
The apparatus comprises:
A processing chamber 5 with a cylindrical shaped sidewall 11;
An electrostatic chuck [0037];
A lower electrode 17;
A cylindrically shaped sidewall electrode 21, 23.
See at least Figures 1, 5 and 7 and the related description.
A cylindrical shape of the part 11 is disclosed at least at [0044-45].
The electrode 21, 23 is disclosed as coupled to a generator 26 (at least Figures 1, 5 and 7).
The electrode 17 is disclosed as connected to generators 27, 28 (at least Figures 1, 5 and 7).
As to claim 11:
The electrodes 21 and 23 are disclosed as coils. Such meets the limitations recited by the claim.
As to claim 16:
Lee teaches a gas inlet 31 positioned as claimed (at least [0037]).
As to claim 18:
The limitations recited by this claim are shown at least on Figures 1, 5, and 7.
As to claim 19:
The electrode 21, 23 is disclosed as coupled to a generator 26 (at least Figures 1, 5 and 7).
The electrode 17 is disclosed as connected to generators 27, 28 (at least Figures 1, 5 and 7).
As to claim 20:
The limitations recited by this claim are shown at least on Figures 1, 5, and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12, 14, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2007/0221331).
Lee teaches an apparatus.
The apparatus comprises:
A processing chamber 5 with a cylindrical shaped sidewall 11;
An electrostatic chuck [0037];
A lower electrode 17;
A cylindrically shaped sidewall electrode 21, 23.
See at least Figures 1, 5 and 7 and the related description.
A cylindrical shape of the part 11 is disclosed at least at [0044-45].
The electrode 21, 23 is disclosed as coupled to a generator 26 (at least Figures 1, 5 and 7).
The electrode 17 is disclosed as connected to generators 27, 28 (at least Figures 1, 5 and 7).
Thus, Lee teaches the apparatus as claimed except for the recitation of the sidewall electrode extending from below a top electrostatic chuck (claims 1-8), from below a bottom of the interior cavity (claims 10, 14), from below a lower electrode (claim 12, 17), from below the substrate chuck (claim 15).
However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
The applicants have not demonstrated any unexpected results achieved by the recited relative dimensions. The applicants have not demonstrated that the claimed relative dimensions will result in different functioning.
Thereby, the recitation of the claimed relative dimensions does not differentiate what is claimed from the apparatus of Lee.
As to claim 2:
The insulation as claimed is provided by insulator 19 (at least [0037] and Figures 1, 5 and 7).
As to claim 3:
The pedestal recited by this claim is readable on part 15 (at least Figures 1, 5 and 7).
As to claims 4 and 5:
For these claims the side electrode is readable on part 23, the claimed antenna is readable on part 21, the claimed insulator is readable on the space between parts 23 and 21 (at least Figures 1, 5, 7).
As to claim 6:
The electrode 21, 23 surrounding cylindrical part 11 have the claimed shape.
As to claim 7:
Lee teaches a gas inlet 31 positioned (at least [0037]). Lee does not specify how the gas port 31 is extended.
However, it has been held that the particular position/placement of a part of a device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 CCPA 1975); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
As to claim 8:
The height as claimed is shown at least on Figures 1, 5, 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show the state of the art with respect to processing apparatuses. The publications of the related applications and the patents issued on the related applications are made of the record.
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711