DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2012/0248414).
Kim discloses a patterned structure, comprising: a polymeric patterned layer; and a graphene layer coupled to the polymeric patterned layer and separated from a substrate according to a pattern of the patterned layer, wherein the polymeric patterned
layer provides support for the graphene layer that is separated from the substrate, wherein the separated graphene layer has the same pattern as the patterned layer, wherein the patterned structure is a free-standing structure that is separated from the substrate, wherein the patterned structure is configured to be coupled to a base substrate (paragraphs [0011-0014], [0026-0028], [0057], [0079-0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2013/0098540) in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0248414).
Lee discloses a workpiece (graphene transferring member 200; figure 4A; paragraph (0078)), comprising: a second substrate (insulating layer 320 and transfer-target substrate 310 (collectively second substrate); figure 4A; paragraph (0078)); a patterned layer of graphene disposed on the second substrate (graphene layer 23.0 (layer of graphene) is patterned and disposed on the insulating layer 320 and transfer-target substrate 310 (second substrate); figure 4A;- paragraphs (0070, 0074, 0078, 0080, 0084); and a patterned layer of a first material disposed on the patterned layer of graphene (metal thin-film layer 220 using a metal (layer of a first material) is patterned and disposed on the graphene layer 230 (layer of graphene); figure 4A; paragraphs (0070, 0072, 0074, 0080, 0084).
Lee does not disclose a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer.
Kim discloses a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer in a workpiece comprising graphene for the purpose of providing uniformity in characteristics and good operation characteristics (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer in Lee in order to provide uniformity in characteristics and good operation characteristics as taught or suggested by Kim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20, 1-22 and 1-19 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,546,987, 10,165,679 and 9,930,777 respectively in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0248414). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because over claims 1-20, 1-22 and 1-19 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,546,987, 10,165,679 and 9,930,777, respectively, substantially encompass the scope of instant claims 1-5.
Claims 1-20, 1-22 and 1-19 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,546,987, 10,165,679 and 9,930,777 do not disclose a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer.
Kim discloses a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer in a workpiece comprising graphene for the purpose of providing uniformity in characteristics and good operation characteristics (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer in claims 1-20, 1-22 and 1-19 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,546,987, 10,165,679 and 9,930,777 in order to provide uniformity in characteristics and good operation characteristics as taught or suggested by Kim.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/016,718 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/016,718 substantially encompass the scope of instant claims 1-5.
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/016,718 do not disclose a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer.
Kim discloses a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer in a workpiece comprising graphene for the purpose of providing uniformity in characteristics and good operation characteristics (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a polymeric patterned layer wherein the polymeric patterned layer is coupled to the graphene layer in claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/016,718 in order to provide uniformity in characteristics and good operation characteristics as taught or suggested by Kim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
May 3, 2026