Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-21) in the reply filed on 12/4/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue search burden on the examiner to search the method claims. This is not found persuasive because of the search would require a different field of search as they include divergent subject matter.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 22-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/4/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to because in the first line of each, the term “a mass fraction” has antecedent basis should read as –the mass fraction--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 12, it is unclear whether the average geodesic length is for all cellulose and/or lignocellulose fibers or just for the elongated or rounded fibers.
With respect to claim 21, it is indefinite due to the word “obtainable” which should be replaced with “obtained.” It is not understood how one can claim something (a composite article) which does not yet exist, but which is obtainable through some future step or means.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, “mechanical fibers intended for medium density fiberboard” are not necessarily cellulose and/or lignocellulose fibers.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 13-17, 20, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bledzki (Bledzki, et al., Composites: Part A 74 (2015) 132-139).
With respect to claims 1, 2, 4, 13, and 14, Bledzki discloses biocomposites comprising polypropylene and polylactic acid (both thermoplastic resin) reinforced with short man-made cellulose fibers and softwood flour (abstract). Exemplified cellulose fibers (Cor) have average aspect ratio of 55 (Figure 1, legend), and exemplified softwood flour (WF) has average aspect ratio of 2.08 (Figure 2, legend). Because claimed average elongation is the inverse of aspect ratio, the average elongation exemplified by Bledzki is 0.018 (elongated) and 0.48 (rounded), respectively. In Figure 3, compositions include polymer/Cor/WF (polymer/elongated/rounded) of 60/10/30 and 60/20/20, i.e., higher mass fraction of rounded WF relative to elongated Cor and equal mass fraction, respectively.
With respect to claims 5-7, 9, and 15, in Figure 3, compositions include polymer/Cor/WF (polymer/elongated/rounded) of 60/10/30 and 60/20/20, i.e., 40 wt % cellulose and/or lignocellulose fibers in the composite.
With respect to claim 8, in Figure 3, composition includes polymer/Cor/WF (polymer/elongated/rounded) of 60/10/30, which provides for an amount of rounded fibers based on fibers of 75 wt %.
With respect to claim 10, Bledzki teaches that the elongated fibers (cor) are man-made and cut (mechanically pulped) (page 133, first column, last three lines of text that is not in a Table) rounded fibers (softwood flour) is milled (mechanically pulped (page 135, 1st column, lines 15-22 that are not from a figure).
With respect to claims 16 and 17, Bledzki teaches using maleic acid anhydride grafted PP wax as a compatibilizer between polypropylene and man-made cellulose fibers (elongated), i.e., coupling agent (page 133, second column, lines 12-14).
With respect to claims 20 and 21, Bledzki teaches extruding the composition and forming into pellets and then injection molding to form molded articles (page 133, 2.2.1. Compound section).
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato (US 11,655,358).
With respect to claims 1-5, 7-9, and 13-15, Sato discloses a cellulose fiber-reinforced polyolefin resin composition and exemplifies compositions comprising polypropylene, 6.8 pbw Arbocel FD600-30 (cellulose fiber having average fiber diameter of 35 µm and average length of 45 µm, i.e., average elongation = 0.78, i.e., rounded), and KC Flock W-100 (cellulose fiber having average aspect ratio of 8.5, i.e., average elongation = 0.12, i.e., elongated) and (Table 1; col. 7, lines 60-67). In Examples 7-10 and 12, a greater amount of rounded fibers (Arbocel FD600-30) than elongated fibers (KC Flock W-100) is used. In Example 11, an equal amount of the cellulose fibers is added. Specifically, Example 7 includes 100 parts by weight (pbw) polypropylene, 27.3 pbw Arbocel FD600-30 (rounded), and 14.5 pbw KC Flock W-100 (elongated), which provides for a weight ratio of rounded to elongated of 65:35 and composite comprising 55 wt % polypropylene and 23 wt % cellulose fibers.
With respect to claim 12, the exemplified fibers have average length of 315 µm (col. 7, lines 64-67) (calculated from average aspect ratio and average fiber diameter) for elongated fiber and 45 µm for rounded fiber (col. 7, lines 60-63).
With respect to claims 16 and 17, Example 7 (Table 1) comprises maleic anhydride-modified ethylene-butene copolymer as compatibilizer.
With respect to claim 19, Sato discloses that additives include filler, antioxidant, UV absorber, a flame retardant, or colorant (col. 5, lines 1-4).
With respect to claims 20 and 21, Sato discloses mixing and extruding the composition and forming into a composite article by injection molding and cutting into a test piece (i.e., a granulate) (col. 9, lines 16-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 11,655,358).
The discussion with respect to Sato in paragraph 7 above is incorporated here by reference.
With respect to claim 6, Example 7 of Sato includes 23 wt % cellulose fibers (Table 1).
Sato does not exemplify a composition comprising a mixture of rounded and elongated cellulose fibers in a total amount of 30-50 wt %, however, Sato discloses adding 6-95 parts by weight (pbw) of total cellulose fiber to 100 parts by pbw polypolefin (polypropylene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the amount of cellulose fiber in the composite and still remain within the disclosure of Sato.
With respect to claim 18, in Example 7, Sato includes 30.9 parts by mass (i.e., 17 wt % of maleic anhydride-modified ethylene-butene copolymer as compatibilizer).
This total amount of polymeric compatibilizer is outside the claimed range of 0.5-5 wt %, however, Sato teaches the amount of acid (maleic anhydride) grafting is 0.1-10 wt %. Based on Example 1, the amount of maleic anhydride (i.e., the portion that compatibilizes the polypropylene to the cellulose) is present in an amount of 0.017-1.7 wt %.
Give that Sato teaches the compatibilizing amount of maleic anhydride in the acid-modified polymer that overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5-5 wt %, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art utilize the maleic anhydride of Sato within the claimed range.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 11,655,358) in view of Kimura (US 5,810,796).
The discussion with respect to Sato in paragraph 7 above is incorporated here by reference.
Sato fails to disclose that the cellulose fibers are sourced from pulp fibers derived from chemical or mechanical ways.
In Example 11, Sato includes a cellulose fiber of tradename KC Flock W-100.
Kimura teaches that KC Flock W-100 that hydrophilic cellulose fine fiber prepared by hydrolyzing, washing with water, drying, and mechanically grinding (col. 12, lines 49-53), i.e., chemithermomechanical pulp fibers.
Given that Sato exemplifies cellulose fibers that are prepared by hydrolyzing, washing, drying, and mechanically grinding as taught by Sato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include chemi-thermomechanical pulp fibers as source of all cellulose fibers.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 10-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 10-21 of copending Application No. 18/675,209 (published as PGPub US 2024/0400772). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US appl ‘209 claims a cellulosic composite comprising a thermoplastic polymer matrix and 5-80 wt % cellulose and/or lignocellulose fibers comprising a mixture of elongated fibers having average elongation equal to or less than 0.300 and rounded fibers having an average elongation equal to at least 0.325—wherein the mass fraction of elongated fibers is equal to or larger than the mass fraction of rounded fibers. The instant claims and the claims of US appl ‘209 overlap when the mass fractions of rounded fibers and elongated fibers are equal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a cellulosic composite comprising equal parts rounded and elongated fibers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Vickey Nerangis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
vn