DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an optical device configured (Claim 1-4, 6-9)
sensing device configured (Claim 1-4. 6-8, 10-11, 16)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 104637500.
Claim 1
CN 104637500 discloses an optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) configured to inspect a position of the lens (Fig. 1, Ref. 6)(See Page 7 of translation), a sensing device (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) configured to inspect an inclination of the lens relative to a reference plane (See Page 6 of translation), and an optical arrangement (Fig. 1, Ref. 15) arranged to direct a light beam reflected from the lens (Fig. 1, Ref. 6) to both the optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) and the sensing device (Fig. 1, Ref. 11), for conducting concurrent inspection of the position and inclination of the lens (Fig. 1, Ref. 6) by the optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) and the sensing device (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) respectively (See Page 7).
Claim 2
CN 104637500 discloses the optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) is configured to receive a first incident light beam from the optical arrangement (Fig. 1, Ref. 15) and the sensing device (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) is configured to receive a second incident light beam from the optical arrangement (Fig. 1, Ref. 15), the first and second incident light beams being perpendicular to each other (See Fig. 1).
Claim 3
CN 104637500 discloses the optical arrangement (Fig. 1, Ref. 15) includes a beam splitter (Fig. 1, Ref. 14) configured to split the light beam reflected from the lens into the first incident light beam to be received by the optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) and the second incident light beam to be received by the sensing device respectively (Fig. 1, Ref. 11).
Claim 4
CN 104637500 optical arrangement (Fig. 1, Ref. 15) further includes a light box (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) for holding the beam splitter (Fig. 1, Ref. 14), the sensing device (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) being mounted to face a first side (top side) of the light box (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) and the optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) being mounted to face a second side (right side) of the light box (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a), the first side and second side being perpendicular to each other (See Fig. 1).
Claim 5
CN 104637500 discloses the light box (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) includes a container designed to hold the beam splitter (Fig. 1, Ref. 14) and a diffuser to diffuse light from a light source (See Page 6; LED and a diffusion plate).
Claim 6
CN 104637500 discloses the optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) is configured to receive a first incident light beam from the optical arrangement (Fig. 1, Ref. 15) and the sensing device (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) is configured to receive a second incident light beam from the optical arrangement (Fig. 1, Ref. 15), the first and second incident light beams being parallel to each other (See Fig. 1, light beams parallel to each other).
Claim 12
CN 104637500 discloses the inspection system includes a down-look inspection system mounted (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) above the image sensor (Fig. 7, Ref. 5; mounted on the head) for inspecting the image sensor (Fig. 7, Ref. 5) before bonding the lens (Fig. 7, Ref. 6) to the image sensor or for inspecting the bonded image sensor (Fig. 1, Ref. 5).
Claim 13
CN 104637500 discloses the sensing (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) device of the down-look inspection system includes a tilt measurement sensor (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) for inspecting a tilting angle of the lens (See Page 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 104637500.
Claim 7
CN 104637500 discloses the claimed invention except for a beam splitting arrangement and a beam directing arrangement which are arranged in a stack along a direction perpendicular to the first and second incident light beams, the beam splitting arrangement being configured to generate and direct the first incident light beam into the optical device and the beam directing arrangement being configured to generate and direct the second incident light beam into the sensing device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify CN 104637500 with the stacking of optical elements since it was well known in the art that using a beam splitting arrangement and a beam directing arrangement stacked perpendicularly to the incident beams allows for efficient, independent, and compact routing of two light paths one to an optical device, one to a sensing device while minimizing cross-talk and simplifying system design. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 8
CN 104637500 discloses the beam splitting arrangement includes a first beam splitter (Fig. 1, Ref. 14) configured to split the light beam from the lens (Fig. 1, Ref. 6) to generate and direct the first incident light beam into the optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 11).
Claim 9
CN 104637500 discloses a beam splitting (Fig. 1, Ref. 14) arrangement further includes a first light box (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) for holding the first beam splitter (Fig. 1, Ref. 14), the optical device (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) being mounted to face a first side (top side) of the first light box (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a), a surface of the first side being perpendicular to the first incident light beam (See Fig. 1).
Claim 10
CN 104637500 discloses the claimed invention except for a second beam splitter configured to receive a light beam from the beam splitting arrangement, generate and direct the second incident light beam into the sensing device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify CN 104637500 with a second beamsplitter since it was well known in the art that using a second beam splitter after the first is a common optical design choice to match path lengths, and route the beam optimally into the sensing device. Therefore, improves measurement accuracy, stability, and flexibility in interferometric and other optical sensing systems. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 11
CN 104637500 discloses the claimed invention except for a second light box for holding the second beam splitter, the sensing device being mounted to face a second side of the second light box, a surface of the second side being perpendicular to the second incident light beam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify CN 104637500 with the second light box since it was well known in the art that the second light box provides optical isolation, alignment control, and geometric precision for the second beam splitter and its sensing device. By mounting the sensor to face a perpendicular surface of the box, you ensure optimal beam capture and minimize interference, which is essential for accurate and stable optical measurements. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 14
CN 104637500 discloses the claimed invention except for the down-look inspection system is mounted on a positioning table on which a dispenser for dispensing adhesive fluid on the image sensor is also installed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify CN 104637500 with positioning table since it was well known in the art that the positioning table with an adhesive dispenser on a down-looking inspection system creates a co-located, repeatable, and adaptive workflow, therefore improving the bonding. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 15
CN 104637500 discloses the claimed invention except for the inspection system includes an up-look inspection system mounted below the lens when the lens is held by a bond head of the bonding system, for inspecting the lens before bonding the lens to the image sensor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify CN 104637500 with inspection system mounted below the lens since it was well known in the art that Using an up-look inspection system below the lens before bonding ensures optical quality, correct alignment, and defect detection without damaging the lens. It is a key quality control step in precision optical assembly, helping to maintain high yield and performance in imaging and sensor manufacturing. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 16
CN 104637500 discloses the claimed invention except for the sensing device of the up-look inspection system includes a tilt measurement sensor for inspecting a tilting angle of the lens being held by the bond head. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify CN 104637500 with a tilt measurement sensor since it was well known in the art that mounting the down-looking inspection system on a positioning table with an adhesive dispenser creates a vision-guided, closed-loop dispensing cell. It ensures that adhesive is applied with micron-level accuracy, corrects for part positioning errors, and verifies quality inline, which is essential for high-reliability manufacturing. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 17, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious concurrently inspecting a position and an inclination of the image sensor with a first inspection system, concurrently inspecting a position and an inclination of the lens with a second inspection system, wherein each inspection system includes an optical device for inspecting the position of the lens and/or the image sensor and adjusting a position and tilting angle of the lens with a bond head that is holding the lens based on the position and inclination of the image sensor and the lens to align the lens with respect to the image sensor before bonding the lens to the image sensor, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 17. Claim 18 would be allowed by the virtue of dependency on the allowable subject matter of claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious a mothed of bonding a lens to a camera with the steps of controlling a dispensing operation of a dispenser based on the position and a tilting angle of the image sensor so as to form an adhesive layer with a uniform thickness on a bonding surface of the image sensor prior to bonding the lens to the image sensor, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claim 19.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 July 30, 2026