DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Narasimhan (U.S. Pat. No. 11,052,940).
Regarding claim 1, Narasimhan discloses a method to control a steer-by-wire steering system (fig. 4b) for a road vehicle, the steer-by-wire steering system including
a steering wheel (141), a road wheel actuator (154) to actuate road wheels (191), and a feedback actuator (144) to apply a feedback torque to the steering wheel, the method comprising:
if an ingress situation is detected (820), switching on the feedback actuator and providing a resistance torque against rotation of the steering wheel in an ingress mode (830); and if a normal steering system shut down procedure is finished, activating an egress mode of the feedback actuator and providing the resistance torque against rotation of the steering wheel (the system monitors “vehicle being turned off” disclosed in col. 18, lines 47-50. Regardless of whether the system has a “normal” shutdown or not it provides the torque when detecting ingres or egress which includes after a “normal” shutdown.),
wherein the resistance torque is provided in a position control mode of the feedback actuator, the position control mode maintaining an initial position of the steering wheel by resisting against rotation of the steering wheel (col. 19, lines 4-20) when the ingress mode or the egress mode is activated (the 830 mode maintains the position by providing resistance torque);
the ingress mode and/or egress mode is terminated due to a detection of a decrease in grid voltage below a certain value (No electronic device operates below its operational voltage and certainly not at zero disclosed in col. 9, lines 26-39. The system does monitor voltages outside of the operation range disclosed in col 21, lines 50-55. Also the system is able to terminate its process as shown in 194 in figure 8b, and col. 19, lines 21-23).
Regarding claim 5 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses wherein the feedback actuator is shut down when the egress mode is terminated (shown in fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses wherein the normal operation mode of the feedback actuator is started or the feedback torque actuation is ended when the ingress mode is terminated (col. 19, lines 21-30).
Regarding claim 7 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses wherein the ingress situation is detected based on:
signals from a vehicle communication module (810);
a steering angle signal; and/or a steering torque signal (“other” option addressed); and/or other signals which represent a hands-on situation on the steering wheel (col. 19, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 8 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses a steer-by-wire steering system for a road vehicle configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses wherein the position control mode maintains the steering wheel at a fixed angular position corresponding to a steering wheel position when the ingress mode or the egress mode is activated, and wherein the resistance torque is sufficient to prevent rotation of the steering wheel when the steering wheel is used as a handle during vehicle entry or exit (col. 19, lines 15-20 discloses providing resistive torque sufficient for support).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 4-7 for the amendments made to the claims which have been addressed above.
Applicant argues on page 6 that the system does not monitor for a steering system shutdown to finish. The system does monitor for shutting down the vehicle disclosed in col. 18, lines 47-50.
Conclusion
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747