DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
This objection is withdrawn due to the amendments made to the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Narasimhan (U.S. Pat. No. 11,052,940).
Regarding claim 1, Narasimhan discloses a method to control a steer-by-wire steering system (fig. 4b) for a road vehicle, the steer-by-wire steering system including
a steering wheel (141), a road wheel actuator (154) to actuate road wheels (191), and a feedback actuator (144) to apply a feedback torque to the steering wheel, the method comprising: if an ingress situation is detected (820), switching on the feedback actuator and providing a resistance torque against rotation of the steering wheel in an ingress mode (830); and if a normal steering system shut down procedure is finished, activating an egress mode of the feedback actuator and providing the resistance torque against rotation of the steering wheel,
wherein the resistance torque is provided in a position control mode of the feedback actuator, the position control mode maintaining an initial position of the steering wheel by resisting against rotation of the steering wheel (col. 19, lines 4-20) when the ingress mode or the egress mode is activated (the 830 mode maintains the position by providing resistance torque).
Regarding claim 3 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses wherein the ingress mode and/or the egress mode is terminated due to at least one signal (194 in figure 8b, and col. 19, lines 21-23) and/or after a certain time period has elapsed (signal option addressed).
Regarding claim 4 which depends from claim 3, Narasimhan discloses wherein the at least one signal is a detection of a decrease in grid voltage below a certain value (request option addressed) and/or a vehicle request signal (194 in figure 8b, and col. 19, lines 21-23 are states that are in response to a request).
Regarding claim 5 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses wherein the feedback actuator is shut down when the egress mode is terminated (shown in fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses wherein the normal operation mode of the feedback actuator is started or the feedback torque actuation is ended when the ingress mode is terminated (col. 19, lines 21-30).
Regarding claim 7 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses wherein the ingress situation is detected based on:
signals from a vehicle communication module (810);
a steering angle signal; and/or a steering torque signal (“other” option addressed); and/or other signals which represent a hands-on situation on the steering wheel (col. 19, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 8 which depends from claim 1, Narasimhan discloses a steer-by-wire steering system for a road vehicle configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 5-8 that the claims require that the steering wheel remain in place when forces are applied to it and that the cited reference does not. In reference to the 830 mode that the reference uses it states “As noted above, resistive torque 164 is used to counter the torque applied to steering wheel 141 by driver 190 and to prevent steering wheel 141 from rotating by driver 190. As such, driver 190 can use steering wheel 141 for support while entering or exiting vehicle 100.” The cited reference is making it clear that it is doing what the claim requires which is providing a torque such that the steering wheel will not move. Applicant argues that their application provides sufficient torque that nothing can move the steering wheel which is different than the citation but there are tolerances even on the applicants vehicle which will limit how much counter torque can be applied to stop the wheel from moving. The citation is construed as performing the same steps.
Applicant argues on pages 8 and 9 that the cited reference does not maintain an “initial” position of the steering wheel. But the position that is maintained when 164 is applied is what is being construed as the “initial” position. If applicant is arguing that it is a same initial position every time the ingress or egress mode is activated that is not found in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747